newbie to scuba's activity reviews | Book tours, activities & fun things to do on HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Oahu Categories


Reviews by newbie to scuba
Last review on 2013/12/28
# of Reviews: 15

original ribs

Posted on: 2013/12/28

I had the original ribs. It was good. There is not much else to say.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/12/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Excellent Show

Posted on: 2013/12/25

The artists were great and they allowed even the standard ticket people to take pictures with them after the show.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Zipe lining

Posted on: 2013/12/22

The garden had many varieties of plants. The zip rides were kind of short. There was also a suspension bridge we walked across. They need to add more and longer zip lines. The few seconds that we zipped across were hardly enough. The guides provided some fruit snacks from the trees as we walked between zip lines and talked about different trees. The water fall and the surrounding ranches with cows sleeping were a nice sight. Though those ranches do not belong to botanical gardens. Staff was very friendly and professional. I did not take Segway tour and chose instead to drive by myself to Hilo. Make sure to drive to Liliuokalani Park in Hilo when you are there. It was a very impressive Japanese garden design.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Excellent bike experience

Posted on: 2013/12/22

We had very knowledgeable guides that knew everything about Hawaiian culture and volcanoes. We rode the shuttle from designated points and learned about Hawaiian history and volcanoes. At the mount we rode mountain bikes and had to actually use the gears to go up some small hills. It was good exercise. We stopped our bike so that our guide could show us volcano from different vantage points and also to walkthrough the tunnels left behind by magma. After the morning show we drove around to different scenic points around Hawaii and then wen back to the summit and watched the reddish steam rise from the crater. We did not see any active lava flow and it was raining pretty hard at night. so the night portion was not impressive due to that. So I would not do the night tour unless you could see active lava flow and weather is good. Also we had an excellent lunch at a restaurant at the black sand beach. We did get to see the black sand beach. So I liked that about the evening tour.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for joining us for a day of adventure! We appreciate you taking the time to write a note. We hope that you will visit us again in the future! Enjoy the rest of your vacation here in the islands!

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

How Kona cofee is made, turtles, Petroglyphs, rainforest

Posted on: 2013/12/22

The really longest experience was Kona coffee tasting. I am not really a big Coffee drinker. (They did not let you roast your own coffee. It was more a show for marketing Kona coffee) Petroglyphs were kind of a disappointment. Ancient Hawaiians had not discovered writing. So they just drew doodles. Not very impressive. We did visit the rainforest but because it was raining we hurried through the canopy. We also went to a fishing village which consisted of a single recreated tent. We also saw two turtles basking in the sun. They seemed to like the noises my Nexus 5 smartphone was making when pressing the button to take their pictures. They both raise their head to look at me and one tried to come closer to investigate.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Lots of Dolphines and best snorkeling experience

Posted on: 2013/12/22

We kayaked to the middle of a pods of dolphins and watches them swim around us. They exhaled loudly when swimming. We then kayaked to Captain Cooks memorial all the while getting a history lesson by our guide and the low and dirty on Captain Cook. At the memorial the corels were right in our face and then there was a drop into abyss all within a 10-20 feet from the shore. We saw many corels and fish when snorkeling and everything was crystal clear and right in front of us.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Looked the Ray in the eyes

Posted on: 2013/12/22

I enjoyed this experience greatly. We kayaked a few minutes to the middle of the bay and hang on to a board with a light on it. The light attracted the plankton at night and the Rays came to feed on the plankton. I was pretty close to a light from a ship and a sting ray came very close to me and circles in place a few times to eat all the plankton near me. It seemed comfortable around me once I stopped moving so it could eat. There were several sting rays that came for feeding including a huge one. It seemed to be a sting ray watching party. There were other boats and kayak tours, 10-20 snorkelers including a few scuba divers from other companies as well.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

crystal clear at Molokini

Posted on: 2013/12/17

It was my first time snuba diving. Molokini was crystal clear and we could see everything. After the snuba dive we were allowed to snorkel some more. We then went to turtle town. I think the corals were spawning. The water was not very clear. But we did see some more turtles. On the way back we even saw some whales.
Wet suit and the second snuba dive price were not included in the voucher. I wish hawaiiactivities would collect these added fees up front rather than we pay in the boat.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Muddy trek

Posted on: 2013/12/17

We kayaked and then hiked to the waterfall where we ate lunch.
The only bad part was that it had been raining the past few days and the road was muddy. My shoes were completely muddy and others chose to just walk bare feet in the muddy road. I think I will stay with beach activities since I can hike the Shenandoah back home. FYI- There were roosters and chickens even at the waterfall.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Excellent show

Posted on: 2013/12/15

It was an excellent show! Honestly I was told this is like Cirque de solei shows so my expectation was high. But once I walked into a movie theater my expectations was lowered. I was expecting the Grand stages like Los Vegas, "O". But the show surprised me. It was a great show with focus on music, dancing and acting. Customs and the set was ok but it was on a budget. Overall I think it was an excellent show on a budget.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |