(All Reviews) Oahu Best Luaus (Hawaiian Luaus), Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

All Reviews for Oahu Best Luaus in Oahu

Overall Rating

4.47 4.47 / 5

Reviews

1532 reviews

Germaine's Luau - Traditional Hawaiian Luau with Fire-Knife Show

Affordable & Entertaining Luau

Reviewed by: Ericka A, 2022/01/25

This was our first luau experience & loved how friendly and welcoming everyone was. The staff did a phenomenal job with the experience of taking photos. Show was funny and entertaining! Love how they included the audience and showed all the different type of cultures dances! Talented dancers as well!

Food was good and it was nice to be able to go back and get seconds!
Only thing I was sad about was the gift shop was closed but other than that it was amazing! I highly recommend it !

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Famous Paradise Cove Luau on the Beach at Ko Olina Resort

Loved this luau!!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/01/24

Paradise Cove luau was spectacular. It is right on the beach, and it has beautiful stage features! The evening was wonderful all around, loved the traditional imu ceremony! Great learning experiences.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2022/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Germaine's Luau - Traditional Hawaiian Luau with Fire-Knife Show

Just OK.

Reviewed by: David Shirk, 2022/01/22

Food was mediocre, show was repetitive, fire show was good and the funny guy was the best just not enough of it. Walking to amphitheater to see uncovering of pig was unorganized.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing

Avoid during COVID times, if you can

Reviewed by: vkmr, 2022/01/17

Horrible food! No quality check on food, it seems. No COVID precautions beyond entry check point on vaccination card. People were going around without masks. Sitting tables were very close and congested. For food and drinks, people have to take out masks for 1 hour or so. To actually run it with safety and precaution, should have been run with half the capacity. Entertainment part of the show was good without doubt. Great fire and dance show from multiple islands. It's a great experience, if not for COVID.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2022/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aha Aina Royal Hawaiian Luau - Waikiki Beachfront Luau Dinner Show

Beautiful Waikiki Luau

Reviewed by: Yes to Hawaii, 2022/01/17

Loved experiencing this right in Waikiki! The location at the Royal Hawaiian hotel was really convenient (no long bus rides) and the food was 10 out of 10. It started to rain a bit during the show and within minutes, the servers brought out towels to everyone so we could stay dry and catch the last bit of the show. Service was fantastic. Would recommend the extra to get the Premium seating closer to the stage.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2021/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center All-Day Pass with Dinner & Show

The Polynesian Culture Center is a must see!!

Reviewed by: Alaskan Adventurers, 2022/01/17

I would highly recommend that anyone who visits the islands go explore the Polynesian Culture Center. There is rich culture and knowledge and pride to be embraced. The tribes are welcoming and the proceeds go toward supporting the local college students. They engage the crowds and make it fun. The food and entertainment is amazing. There are several local artists with shops for souvenirs to take home. I’ve made it a point to visit the center every time I’ve visited the island and it’s always amazing.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2021/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Germaine's Luau - Traditional Hawaiian Luau with Fire-Knife Show

Very informative and good food

Reviewed by: Erin Deen, 2022/01/13

Very informative and very good food. I was a little disappointed in how rushed we were. No time to socialize

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Erin,
Thank you your feedback, I'm don't understand why you say didn't have time to socialize because there's usually time before the luau actually starts, when music is playing, the sun is setting, as well as during dinner time. However, I am happy that you enjoyed the food, and "information" I assume you mean the Luau show? Thank you for spending your time with our family at Germaine's Luau. Mahalo, Germaine's Luau Ohana

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2022/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center All-Day Pass with Dinner & Show

Great experience learning about the different polynesian culturals..

Reviewed by: Tim & Meosha, 2022/01/10

Great time and experience, did all 6 villiages and most of the activities and/or performcances. All very insightful and interesting in their own way with each of the 6. Would easily go back again and do it all over. Everyone there was helpful and always asking if you needed any help or to answer questions in general. Great for the family or take your date. Show in the evening was outstanding as well.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Germaine's Luau - Traditional Hawaiian Luau with Fire-Knife Show

Great luau

Reviewed by: Marinos, 2022/01/07

Great show, delicious food, great location, authentically-cooked pork

Comments from activity operators

Aloha to the Marino Family,
Thank you so much for choosing to spend an evening with our family at Germaine's Luau on your recent vacation. So happy that you enjoyed our show and our "local style" food, especially our "imu" cooked Kalua pua'a, or the pig, cooked in our underground oven. We are one of the few luaus that actually cook the pig in the old Hawaiian style of cooking. We appreciate you taking time to send your feedback. Hope you and visit us again in the future! Mahalo, Germaine's Luau Ohana.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2022/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Mike B, 2022/01/05

The Chief and his crew put on an excellent show. Highly recommended!! Since everyone was vaccinated, we could all enjoy normal life even if masks are still required. Would definitely go again! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2022/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing

I loved it

Reviewed by: Nanie, 2022/01/05

I loved it, food was great. Show was amazing.10 out of 10 I would go again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2022/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Valley Toa Luau & Free Admission Entry Ticket to Waimea Falls

super fun MUST do experience

Reviewed by: rich crumley, 2022/01/03

Thank you for the great evening!!! Our family enjoyed everything and even learned a little Polynesian tradition and history - Thanks!!!!!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2021/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Famous Paradise Cove Luau on the Beach at Ko Olina Resort

BEST LUAU ON ISLAND!!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/01/02

The staff is super friendly, the food is spectacular. Bonus points for a christmas eve event. They made my family feel very special on this special trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2021/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Germaine's Luau - Traditional Hawaiian Luau with Fire-Knife Show

Germaine’s luau

Reviewed by: Becky , 2022/01/01

All in all this was a great experience. It would have been even better with more interaction with the crowd.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Becky, Thank you for your feedback, and sorry you felt there wasn't enough interaction with the crowd. With all the Covid guidelines in place, there are several interactive segments in the Luau format that we can't do right now due to social distancing. Those are the segments when we invite guests on stage to learn the Hula, and also the Tahitian segment but we couldn't do that when you attended. We are looking forward to getting back to our normal format, so I hope you can return one day to experience our luau once things get back to "normal"...We appreciate you choosing Germaine's Luau as a fun activity to do while you were on vacation here. Mahalo, Germaine's Luau Ohana

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Germaine's Luau - Traditional Hawaiian Luau with Fire-Knife Show

Good Experience

Reviewed by: Familyoffive, 2021/12/29

Germaine's Luau was very entertaining for my family and I. However, there was a lot of sitting around and waiting for things to happen. We were met with a mediocre box of lettuce and fruit to start with, there was some entertainment and then 1.5 hours later we were able to get other food; buffet style. The food was delicious but by the time my kiddos were fed, they were cranky and had enough. I am happy to say that I have been to a Luau and experienced the food and entertainment.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Family of Five, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that your family had to wait so long for your dinner. It has a lot to do with the strict guidelines in place from our State Government that we have to follow, from the Check process, to how we serve the food, and it all takes time. I hope you were able to enjoy the scenery by the ocean, perhaps the beautiful sunset! I'm happy that you enjoyed the food as a luau should also be relaxing and entertaining...away from the hustle and bustle of the resort area. Thank you for choosing Germaine's Luau, and hope you will return to our island again, when we get back to normal. Mahalo, Germaine's Luau Ohana

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2021/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Germaine's Luau - Traditional Hawaiian Luau with Fire-Knife Show

It's an okay experience

Reviewed by: Jul H, 2021/12/17

Our group can see the stage just fine but couldn't really hear everything they were saying or shouting from middle to back sections since they don't always use the mic. They definitely need to do better with the sound system. The food is all you can eat but taste mediocore at best. Love the souvenir refill glass, and they're pretty generous for a $5 refill. Another plus point is that they invite a few audiences to the stage to do a couple games, though it seems like only the front row crowd get to be picked. The venue only open right on the check-in time. Not recommended to arrive early since there's nothing much around to look at. The location is inside the industrial area, so yeah... there might be some smell. There's absolutely no reason to be an early bird cuz the seatings are numbered or reserved for the groups.
Overall, I think it's a good first time experience with the price, but our group wouldn't come back for the second time.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Jul, l will let our staff know about the sound. Most people enjoy our food, however, when feeding over 300ppl, it's not easy to please everyone. We suggest coming earlier for parking,because it's limited. Assigned seating was for contact tracing. We do reserve tables for the Plumeria guests, or groups larger then 10, but now we are back to open seating for Original guests. Not sure what "games" you're speaking of, however, our Emcee asks for volunteers from the mountainside, the center, and the ocean side to come up, maybe they were all up front that night. We are in an industrial area, and we have been there on the beach since 1976, before that Industrial park was every built, and surrounded by sugar cane Fields,...the road wasn't even paved. We do have some of the most beautiful sunsets out there. Hope you were able to catch photos of that!! Mahalo, Germaine's Luau Ohana

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2021/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing

Like warm food

Reviewed by: Toni Everhart , 2021/12/15

What a neat idea to use wet & wild for this event. I expected more for $155. The food was cool & the lime was closed by the time I wanted to go back for more desert. The piece of cake was so small. )1”inch square)
The show with the dancers & fire eaters was pretty good

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Famous Paradise Cove Luau on the Beach at Ko Olina Resort

Great time in Paradise

Reviewed by: Brooke 3205, 2021/12/14

From transportation provided to/from the venue on the beach, which was absolutely beautiful, delicious food, Polynesian show and our tour guide Mo who provided side splitting entertainment along the way, we thank you for such a fun and memorable evening.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center All-Day Pass with Dinner & Show

Must see!!

Reviewed by: Alesia C, 2021/12/07

I went on my actual birthday and it was theeeee best birthday present I could’ve ever given to myself! The breath of life show was amazing!!! The buffet was delicious!!! The learning of everything was soooo beneficial and the overall experience was very knowledgeable and fun!! Loved it!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2021/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Germaine's Luau - Traditional Hawaiian Luau with Fire-Knife Show

A True Hawaiian Cultural Experience

Reviewed by: FaMilay, 2021/12/01

Experiencing Germaine’s Luau is a must-have on everyone’s bucket list when in Oahu. It’s a True Polynesian experience, Hands down. The professionalism of the entertainment is nothing less than Beautiful. Everyone was beautiful and they set the tone of a family environment when I was there as well as my entire time on the island.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha and Mahalo for taking time to send such beautiful comment about your experience at our Family luau. We hope you will share your experience as well as some of your photos with your family and friends!! We would love for you to post some photos to our Facebook page...Germaine's Luau & Special Events, or #germainesluau, #experienceohana,
We hope you will come back to our island one day, and visit us again!! Mahalo, Germaine's Luau Ohana.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing

Best Luau

Reviewed by: Tasha, 2021/11/30

My family and I enjoyed the performance very much. It was a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Germaine's Luau - Traditional Hawaiian Luau with Fire-Knife Show

Funny activity. Long time to get food

Reviewed by: Paula, 2021/11/28

It was fun! Waited a long time for food though. We missed a hula hula class or some activity that allowed people to dance and participate more.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Paula,
Thank you so much for your feedback, and I'm so sorry that it took so long for you to get your food. It's been a little challenging for us with all the safety guidelines in place during this pandemic. Even the dinner process takes a little longer because our Servers have to pre-plate the items on each plate, and set them up for guests to "grab and go", and so it takes a little longer to serve everyone. We don't do any audience participation type activity while guests are going through the dinner line, but I believe what you heard was our "People of Polynesia" presentation, where our dancers come out and present each of the costumes that represent, Hawaii, Tahiti, Samoa, and New Zealand with a little dance for each native island. Now that some of the restrictions have been lifted, things are slowly getting back to normal, so I hope you will be able to come back and visit us again some time in the future.!! Mahalo, Germaine's Luau Ohana

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Famous Paradise Cove Luau on the Beach at Ko Olina Resort

Favorite thing we did on the island

Reviewed by: Mary K, 2021/11/26

Everything was wonderful. From our driver, Mo, Mary to our guides and the entire experience, the . The entertainment was spectacular, and the fire dancer was particularly amazing. We will definitely be back. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Valley Toa Luau & Free Admission Entry Ticket to Waimea Falls

Best Luau on the Island. Not just a show, a real family experience.

Reviewed by: Michael B, 2021/11/22

Easily the best Luau on the island. Real hands on experience for the whole family.
This was certainly the highlight of our week in Hawaii. We stayed at the Hilton Lagoon Resort in Waikiki. Our condo overlooked their Luau which we watched twice from our balcony. I can only describe their Luau as trip to McDonald's. It was big and all but was certainly nothing special and nothing personal. They seat about 400 people with most tables seated far away from the stage. Compare that to our experience at Toa Luau and it was like fine dining as compared to a trip to McDonalds. Toa opens up with hands on experiences for everyone. While the guests do not get to climb a coconut tree they do show how it has been for hundreds of years. Guests are given the opportunity to peel off the husks, crack a coconut, and shred the meat. The above ground cooking oven was quite interesting. From there we started with the stage show and took a tour of the Pacific Islands. This is the Luau you want to attend, you will not be disappointed.

  • The after Luau Pic.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Germaine's Luau - Traditional Hawaiian Luau with Fire-Knife Show

Germaines Luau

Reviewed by: MissinHawai’i, 2021/11/07

We have done a couple of other Luaus since the pandemic, and this by far is best one so far that is closet to a normal luau prior to covid. We got the plumeria package, totally worth it. The show was spectacular and food was great! Compared to other luaus completely recommend Germaines and would do this again. Booked through Veltra, it was easy and seamless.

Comments from activity operators

ALOHA MissinHawaii, So happy that you were able to make a trip over to our beautiful island, and that you chose to spend an evening with our Ohana at Germaine's Luau!! We really appreciate you taking the time to write your comments about your experience! We also appreciate that you booked thru Veltra, as we love their staff as well, they do a great job there! If you have time, we hope you will post your comments online at Yelp or Trip Advisor, since we know you did attend our luau recently and maybe do #experienceohana, #germainesluau....We hope you will come back sometime in the future and visit us again! Sincerely, Germaine's Luau Ohana

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Valley Toa Luau & Free Admission Entry Ticket to Waimea Falls

Awesome Experience

Reviewed by: Kara, 2021/11/07

This luau was super great and family oriented. The whole staff puts so much effort into a great show! As well it is so awesome to get a free pass to Waimea falls, great purchase for your buck!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center All-Day Pass with Dinner & Show

Too Commercial

Reviewed by: Gina Cruz, 2021/11/01

The day-long activities that are advertised are very commercial and scripted and inauthentic. Students from Brigham Young host most of the activities rather than local Polynesian community. The “luau” is also not what you would expect as they have you sitting in a huge stadium with projector screens and loud speakers showcasing a movie scene along with live “dancing” and “acting”. I would not recommend anyone I know to attend this event. Sorry to say but it was lame.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2021/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing

Good Food and GREAT show

Reviewed by: Ed From PHX, 2021/10/26

Went as 2 couples to the show and it was a blast. We got two free Mai Tai's each and they were good, not watered down. The show was AWESOME, it told a lot of history and the Chief was quite funny. The fire spinning was great and very cool. They have a few world champions doing the show.

It is buffet style, and they have two different lines when you go to the buffet. There is a Pick your own food, and a server prepared plate. The server prepared they give you a little of each things. You can go back later and get more of what you want. The Pick your own food is slow and it will take time, but the other line is very very quick.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center All-Day Pass with Dinner & Show

Educational and entertaining

Reviewed by: Barry, 2021/10/22

Great place to visit. Highly recommend going but honestly will next time rent a car or take an Uber and just pay at the park or on line for tickets. We went with buffet and stayed for the show. Things could get hairy at the end because the bus you arrive in may not be the same you head back on. There are multiple buses waiting and you have to ask each driver if they are going to your stop. We were very lucky to hit the right bus on the first try. Need a better system. Great place to visit with kids. Folks there are super friendly.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing

Chiefs Luau, great family event!

Reviewed by: Birsa, 2021/10/15

This luau was nothing short of awesome! The chief is awesome and so hilarious. Food was pretty delightful too! Would certainly recommend to a friend who is heading to Oahu!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Oahu Categories