(All Reviews) Haleakala National Park Tours (Top Maui Attractions), Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Haleakala National Park Tours in Maui

Overall Rating

4.53 4.53 / 5

Reviews

284 reviews

ハレアカラ山頂 日の出鑑賞ツアー<午前/英語ガイド/朝食付>

大変良いです

Reviewed by: おもたろう, 2017/08/08

家族4名で8月に参加しました。うち、子供は9才6才です。Westin Mauiに滞在していたので、ホテルのGroup EntranceというWhale's Villageの横の入口(SPG系列のホテルとラハイナまでの巡回バスが停まるところ)で、午前2時20分待ち合わせでした。前日までに再確認の電話をする必要があります。
その場所で待っていると予定時間より早く最初のバスが到着。このバスで行くのか少し不安でしたが、カフルイでより大型のバスに乗り換えることになりました。結局日本人は私達だけでした。このバスのドライバー兼ガイドさんの女性がすごかったです。ガムとか噛むことを勧めていました。空気が耳に詰まることを防ぐためのようです。私は噛まなくても大丈夫でしたが、気になる方は準備されてもよいでしょう。ガムは、カフルイでの乗り換え時にコンビニみたいな所で買うことができるようです。カフルイからハレアカラまで、車は多くはなかったですが、夜の山道なので運転技術に自信がない方はツアー参加をおすすめします。動物も道路に出てくるみたいです。ガイドさんの話によると、事前にインターネットで登録して料金を支払っていないと今はすくなくとも日の出の時に入山できないようです。実際、前にいた何台かの車が引き返していく様子を見ました。
日の出を見るスポットには午前5時前には着いたと思います。まず、バスが二台とも結構空調が利いて寒いので厚着をしていてもいいと思います。日の出スポットに行くためのバスの停車場所と、日の出スポットの間にトイレがあります。子どもたちはその前で厚着をさせました。結構寒いです。薄手のダウン、手袋、マフラー、帽子、カイロをおすすめします。トイレから日の出スポットまでほんの少し歩きます。暗いので懐中電灯があってもいいですが、この道とカメラの調節以外は使わないので必須ではないです。日の出は午前5時50分位だったので1時間近く外で待つことになりました。ツアーでいくと、日の出を見る良い場所に案内してくれました。その女性バスガイドさんの知り合いである別の男性ガイドさんが、日の出スポットで色々と面倒を観てくれて子どもたちの面倒をみてくれたり、写真を撮ってくれました。三脚を持っていくかは悩ましいです。日の出前の星空をどうしても撮影したいとか、荷物が苦にならないのであればありだと思います。
当日は天気予報にも拘わらず、日の出スポットは晴れており、最高の日の出を見ることができました。これは言葉や写真で上手く説明できないてすが、人生において一度は見ておく価値があると思います。眼下のクレーターのような感じも圧巻てす。午前6時15分にバスに戻りました。ここから、バスで山頂へ移動しました。ここでも三カ所位写真スポットがあります。写真をとらなくても、海や島が見える景色はかなり見応えがあります。事前によく調べていればわかるみたいですが、慣れない人間には、そこに行っていいのか微妙な感じでしたので、この点もツアーに参加した甲斐がありました。バスに戻ってから、コーヒーとデニッシュ(スーパーとかで売っている・何種類か味がある)の提供がありました。その後朝食に向かいました。途中、写真スポットでバスが停車しましたのでそこでも美しい写真を撮りました。
朝食は、車中でパンケーキ、フルーツ、ベーコンのようなものの三種類から選択します。ゴルフ場併設のレストランで食べますが、味はそれ程期待しない方がよいと思います。
英語は解らなくてもなんとかなりますが、ガイドさんの話に何かと参考になることもあるのでできるにこしたことはないです。これを書いている時点ては日本語日の出ツアーは催行されていなかったはずです(星空ツアーはある)。これも前述の入山規制と関係あるのかもしれかせん。
このツアー以外にホテルのコンシェルジェによると、一人250$くらいのリムジンみたいなので行くツアーもあるようです。ちなみにこちらは予約一杯で参加できませんでした。
我々が参加した夏場は、アメリカ本土からマウイに来る人が多く早めにいっぱいになるようです。日程が決まったらキャンセルできるのでとにかく早めに予約する事をおすすめします。

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ハレアカラ山頂 日の出鑑賞ツアー<午前/英語ガイド/朝食付>

また行きたい

Reviewed by: JIRU, 2016/07/06

サンライズツアーで日本語ガイドのツアーを探しましたが見つからず、まぁ英語ガイドでも見られるものは一緒!と思ってこのツアーに参加しました。
現地に着いてからのリコンファームからドキドキでしたが、ベルトラさんの「英語でのリコンファームの仕方」をまるまるそっくり自分に置き換えて伝え、無事にクリアできました!
早朝2:20ピックアップで混載バスに乗りガイドさんのたぶんハワイの歴史と思われる話を聞きながら山頂に向かいました。同乗の外人さんたちはびっくりするはどの薄着でしたが、高度が上がるにつれて着膨れしていく方もいました。
山頂付近のビジターセンターまで上がりバスを降りるとガイドさんもびっくりするほどの強い風で吹き飛ばされるほどでした。息を吸うのもやっとな感じです。そんな中ビューポイントまでやってきてそこで待機。じーっと寒さと風に耐えながら真っ暗な中待っているとオレンジ色の光がうっすらさしてきます。本当にゆっくりゆっくり日が昇っていき雲を染めていきます。本当に今までに見たことのない光景です。太陽の光が差した瞬間現地の方達が歌い始めます。本当に神聖な荘厳な空気があたりに満ちました。感動的な体験で一生忘れないと思います。
サンライズを見た後は山頂まで行き、そこからの展望を楽しみました。360度の大パノラマです。東京の◯◯ツリーから見る建物のパノラマでなく、自然のパノラマにも感動!高山植物の銀剣草も20年に1度しか花を咲かせないそうですがたーくさん咲いていました。
英語がもっとわかればもっとよかったかもしれないけれど、なんとなくわかる程度でも大丈夫。また今度マウイに行った時には是非参加しようと思いました。

  • 日の出の瞬間

  • 月もでています

  • 銀剣草満開

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Haleakala Summit Sunrise Tour with Breakfast & Transportation

Once in a lifetime sunrise

Reviewed by: Callie, 2017/12/23

A few things to be aware of before you book this excursion:
1) The road is very windy: consider ginger candy or Dramamine if you're prone to motion sickness.
2) Cell phone reception will be terrible.
3) It's very cold at an elevation of 10,000 feet. It was 40degrees for us. Dress warmly.
4) The air is also very thin at 10,000 feet: look out for shortness of breath and dizziness.
3) You may not see a picture perfect sunrise. No one can control the weather or even perfectly predict it. There will also be tons of other people there enjoying the view with you.

With all that in mind, we had a great time. At 3am, our driver picked us up and drop us off right in front of our condo in Kihei (pick up may not be available for your particular location - verify with PolyAd/GrayLine first if this is a dealbreaker for you). Stopped at a Kahului convenience store: buy snacks here if you don't like the pastries/coffee onboard.

Uneventful drive up. The 25-ish seater van/bus is heated, but once we arrived in the parking lot, our driver obviously had to turn off the engine/heat to conserve gas. We arrived 1 hour prior to sunrise, and in that 1 hour, the weather went from so clear and being able to see thousands of stars to sprinkling rain to so foggy I could barely see a few feet in front of me and back and forth. There is a tiny visitors center with giftshop, and restrooms (with ice cold water toilet seats), but not much else to explore. So we hung out on the bus until just a few minutes before sunrise.

The sunrise was partially obstructed by clouds, but the sky and landscape was still so beautiful. 30 minutes after sunrise, our driver drove us up a wee bit higher to the next parking lot for more photos, and then down to a golf course for breakfast. Breakfast was ok - I would have much rather saved my appetite for something else. We were dropped off at our condo at 11am.

We had a great driver and saw a beautiful sunrise from the top of a volcano. It was AWESOME.

  • The view after sunrise.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour

Wow! What a Day!

Reviewed by: Ozzie's Mom, 2014/10/03

I will be forever grateful that a friend talked me out of renting a car and driving the Road to Hana. We are not spring chickens and weren't sure how we would like a helicopter trip to Hana with a road trip back to the cruise port in a 6-passenger luxury van. We knew we didn't want to do a 12-hour bus ride (cruise excursion) but we didn't want to miss Hana.

THIS IS THE BEST WAY TO DO IT!

We thoroughly enjoyed the helicopter flight to Hana and were able to see from the air the majesty of the island which would not have been as apparent from the land. Then we had a delicious lunch on the beach (provided by our tour guide, Surfer Sue) and experienced in all it's surface beauty, the road to Hana. There is no way we could have enjoyed this nearly as much had we driven both directions and certainly not at all had I decided to drive it myself. Sue taught me more about Hawaiian native flora and fauna than I would have learned in weeks on my own.

Because we wanted to make so many photo stops on the way back to port, we returned later than expected. Sue was kind enough to call the folks at Blue Hawaii Helicopters and ask them to send some articles we had purchased that morning and left behind at the shop for convenience sake, to us at the cruise port. No worries!

We could not have enjoyed this excursion any better than we did! Above and beyond treatment at every turn. Highly recommend for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/09/21
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Classic Haleakala National Park Sunrise Tour with Breakfast at Maui Kula Lodge

Once in a lifetime!

Reviewed by: Whitney, 2018/03/07

What an amazing trip! you will not be disappointed! Diane picked us up at our Condominium and we picked up other passengers and went to have a continental breakfast. While at the home base, they give you extra layers of coats, ear muffs, and gloves to wear. We were prepared and had our heavy winter coats, but took these extra provisions just in case. I was so glad that we did! It was awesome to layer up as it is very cold before sunrise at the top and you do stand out in the cold as the sun begins its ascent.

One of the other guides or park rangers performed a chant as the sun rose which was very special.

Our Guide Diane was really great! So cheerful and personable the entire time. She drove safely up and down the mountain (we were SO glad we chose to do the tour instead of attempting to drive it ourselves). Diane peppered the journey with insightful facts and history. We learned so much about the history of Maui, culture of Hawaii, indigenous and protected species, and so much more! Truly a joy!

After sunrise, we also went up to the Summit, then stopped at several places on the way back down the mountain for sight seeing before heading to Breakfast. The Hot Chocolate was the best I have ever had! Great food!

Could not be more thrilled with this tour! Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour

Excellent, well worth the money

Reviewed by: Don Henry, 2018/01/07

My wife, myself and my sister with her husband were able to get this trip. We were told that normally they like to do this trip with 6 people. We had only four in our group but they still ran the trip. We took the early morning van ride to Hana and the helicopter ride back. You can do this trip either way. We had a brand new GMC custom van, it was great. Greg our driver said that this company only has newer vans. The only thing better than a new van was a very experienced driver. Greg was great, he knew all the places to slow down and where you could get the best pictures. My wife and sister are very much into flowers, Greg was very knowledgeable on the subject. Many years ago I drove this road and I missed so much, having a driver/guide is the best way to to this. I have a commercial driving licence so I can recognize and appreciate a professional driver. Lunch was very good and light, you want that for the helicopter flight back. The pilot, Glenda was very smooth and safety was always a big concern. The helicopter company was Blue Hawaiian, top notch outfit. I could not think of one negative comment or even a constructive criticism. Is it cheap no, is it value for your money yes.

  • one of the many water falls on the road to hana

  • they is time to swim in one of the many waterfalls

  • Glenda was our pilot back , very good

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ハレアカラ山頂 日の出鑑賞ツアー<午前/英語ガイド/朝食付>

ハレアカラサンライズ最高でした。

Reviewed by: 新太郎, 2018/02/13

一人で参加、英語が話せないので英語ガイドさんで不安もありましたが
どうしてもサンライズを観たくて参加しました。当初レンタカーで行こうと
考えていましたが、ツアーにして正解でした。あのくねくね道を運転しなくて良いだけでも充分でしたが、ガイドさんが何かと気を使ってくださり
素晴らしい景観をサンライズのチャント?オリ?を聞きながら自身の目で
観れた事は一生の思い出となりました。山頂はとても寒いので結構な時間サンライズを待つので防寒着と帽子、持って行けませんでしたが出来ればカイロが有った方が女性、お子様には良いかと思います。サンライズを観終わると
バスで温かいコーヒー紅茶とパンで暖をとり山を下り朝食へと向かいます
行き帰りの道中ガイドさんの説明を解らないながらも必死?で聴き半分位は
理解出来ました。朝食をゴルフ場のレストハウスで食べてホテルまで送迎して
いただき解散とても良いツアーでした。

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ハレアカラ山頂 日の出鑑賞ツアー<午前/英語ガイド/朝食付>

sexy sunrise !

Reviewed by: fantastic, 2019/11/03

太陽は、肝心なところで雲隠れしてしまいましたが、素晴らしいドライバー兼ガイドのネリさんの言によれば、5パーセント程度での確率でしたか見ることの出来ないセクシーサンライズ!を拝むことが出来てラッキーでした。
とにかく、このハレアカラツアーで一人しかいないという女性ドライバーのネリさんは、ガイドはこの上なく上手く、ドライブテクニックも完璧でした。
さて、8月16日のツアーでしたが、とにかく寒くヒートテックのタートルネックにウルトラライトダウンを着込んでも震えが来るような体感温度でした。
耳あて、ホッカイロ、毛布ようなマント?のようなものも備えとしてあれば良かったかと思います。
なお、同乗者はドイツ、アメリカ(サンフランシスコ、シカゴなど)のメンバーでしたが、十分に楽しむことが出来ました。
英語のガイドですが、何となく半分程度は理解出来たと思いますが、特に問題はありませんでしたよ。

  • サンライズ

  • 2001年宇宙の旅⁈

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Haleakala Sunset Tour with 3-Course Dinner & Park Admission

Amazing Sunset!!

Reviewed by: mblock, 2016/02/24

I enjoyed every moment of the tour, Haleakala is definitely a must-do in Maui!
I'm glad that Polynesian Adventure Tours offers the Sunset tour, I would not be able to do the sunrise tour because of my tight schedule.

The local tour guide Kama was was excellent, very entertaining and knowledgeable about the Island of Maui. He gave us a map and shared interesting facts about Hawaiian history, geology, geography, ecology and legends.

After the pick up we stared our journey to the top of the Haleakala. We made a quick stop at the small, but beautiful Lavender Farm for a bathroom break and to get the coffee and pastries.
We arrived at the visitor center, approximately one hour prior to Sunset, and we had enough time to explore around and take nice pictures of the landscape. I absolutely love sunsets and being able to watch it above the clouds was amazing!
The last stop was at Cafe O Lei, we had a delicious family-style dinner and it was a great way to end the night.

The Sunset tour is great because it is not as crowed as the sunrise. I had a great experience visiting Haleakala with Polynesian Adventure Tours!

  • Haleakala Crater

  • Amazing SUnset

  • Lavender Farm

  • Haleakala Visitor Center

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Summit, Lavender Farm & Vineyard Deluxe Tour

thank you

Reviewed by: Keith & Candy, 2010/06/18

I am writing to thank you for the wonderful tour we booked through your company. My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary in Hawaii, and while we were there, we went on your Summit Lavender Sojourn. The tour was unbelievable, and every single detail was well thought-out and well-executed! The limo-van was very clean, and your guide spent his entire day just trying to make our tour to Haleakala the best part of our vacation, succeeding wildly! He was personable, polite, thoughtful, and HARD WORKING the entire day. He went WAY out of his way to do anything and everything he could to assure that we had a great time. He spent as much time as he could with each individual, while making sure he didn’t neglect the group as a whole. Great service was clearly your guide's goal and he absolutely achieved it! After traveling for 9 straight days, in and out of hotels and airplanes, and taking SEVERAL different tours, it is still RARE that you feel totally and completely “pampered” at the end

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Haleakala Sunrise Small-Group Tour

Cold but worth the Wait

Reviewed by: Val, 2008/10/11

This is a tour am glad that finally happened. I wondered if we would have enough to do it and the tour agency at the last moment waived the minimum 4 and went with 3. I booked months ago since I knew I wanted to go to see the sunrise of Haleakala which I didn't see years ago at my first visit to Maui. The tour guide provided some light snacks with coffee and tea. Most importantly, he had blankets for the cold weather and recon where it was best for us to stand to see the sunrise before the crowd came. We hugged the rails and wrapped ourselves in the blankets for about 45 minutes after standing some 20 minutes or so without the blankets. We were there before the buses started arriving. Later, the tour agent walked us around some of Haleakala before driving us to the Kula Lodge for breakfast. We toured the gardens and visited the art gallery on the premises. We didn't see any nenes (Hawaiian goose) while on Haleakala but he told us tidbits about the homes and foliage we passed a

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlights of Maui Scenic Tour - Haleakala Crater & Iao Valley

Haleakala Adventure Tour

Reviewed by: Pat from Austin, 2008/09/17

Thanks so much for showing us so many of the nicest parts of Maui. Charles, our tour guide, showed us around the island, while filling us in on the political and natural history of the area. It seemed to us that this was a wonderful way for first time visitors like us to get an overview of Maui.

Things we especially liked about this tour: being picked up at our hotel promptly at 7am, as advertised; the view from the top of Haleakala; the opportunity to see rare plants and birds on the mountain, such as silversword plants in bloom, and the unique Hawaiian Geese (Nene); our guide's amazing knowledge of the places we saw and their history; the wonderful lunch at Casanova's in Makawao; the beautiful scenery around the park at the Io Needle.

The opportunity to take this tour with a knowledgable guide and driver was wonderful. It permitted us to concentrate on the scenery, rather than worrying about driving on unfamiliar roads and trying to read a map and sightsee at the same t

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Volcano Sunrise Excursion with All You Can Eat Breakfast Buffet

Absolutely stunning!!

Reviewed by: Christine, 2015/08/23

Was picked up from Kihei hotel at 2:30am on Aug. 18. It is quite early but was worth the lack of sleep and every penny. Sunrise was stunning!! They do a little chant before the sun shows up, which sounds really cool. After the sunrise, you get to tour around the mountain to take pictures of silverswords and perhaps the Big Island you can see in a clear day.
As for how cold it is up there, I am pretty warm blooded, so I thought it wouldn't be much of a big deal. Oh boy was I wrong! The temperature itself isn't too low, but keep in mind that up in 10,000 ft. the wind slashes at you in all directions and that you need to keep standing there for at least an hour if you want a good spot for beautiful pics. I even saw people wrapped up in thick blankets (not the thin ones but the fluffy ones for bed) and padded outerwear. So do prepared! :)
Oh and the breakfast afterwards was okay. For the last stop the guide takes you to a local market so that you could shop for souvenirs.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Haleakala Summit Sunrise Tour with Breakfast & Transportation

Perfect Sunrise for our Honeymoon

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2013/07/10

My husband and I heard wonderful things about the Haleakala sunrise, and knew that it was going to be one of our activities on our honeymoon. However, we knew that the bike tour option was a little more daring than we had hoped. After doing some research and finding this tour, we knew that this was the route we wanted to take.

The tour picked us up EARLY (just before 2am), and we boarded the bus. On the way up, our driver gave us the "disclaimer," that nobody can control the weather except mother nature, and it will either be crystal clear and beautiful...or...cloudy and disappointing. Luckily for us, it was, quite literally, PERFECT.

As the sun rose, the colors changed so beautifully and two native Hawaiians sung a traditional chant. We stayed for a few more pictures, then took the bus from the lookout point to summit (quick drive), then stopped at another lookout point before heading down to breakfast.

If you are going to Maui, make sure you take this trip!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Volcano Sunrise Excursion with All You Can Eat Breakfast Buffet

sunrise trip

Reviewed by: Cindy P., 2015/11/18

This is one that you do not want to drive on your own. It is best to book your trip with a group. When we booked ours with a group they do a great job of showing some extra places to go and stopped at some shopping places. Our tour person did a wonderful job explaining what you will see and took you around to the different areas and explain what you were looking at. I think his name was Steve very patient and gave us a lot of information along some shopping spots and what to buy. Dress warm it can get cold for a little while in morning i bought a throw but maybe a big towel from the hotel might work. Breakfast was really good and some great choices. They also served a snack with choices of a drink. Tour guide did a good job also taking pictures with me and my spouse. You can do it on your own but i think you would miss a lot of extras. Thank you for a wonderful time and memories . It is also nice to take a nap when you get to the bottom and don't have to drive.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ハレアカラ山頂 日の出鑑賞ツアー<午前/英語ガイド/朝食付>

神秘的で感動しました

Reviewed by: cana, 2019/08/24

7月31日に参加しました。
車はいっぱいになるくらい参加者がいました。
ピックアップが午前2時だったので
車中は爆睡でした
ハレアカラに着いた時はもう明るくなりつつあり、バスから降りて、20分くらいで日の出を見ることができました。
雲が多くて大丈夫かな?と思っていましたが、綺麗なサンライズでした。
気温はめちゃくちゃ寒い!
風もあったので、真冬並みの寒さ!
ダウンは、絶対必須です。
ガタガタ震えながら写真を撮りました。笑
サンライズを見て、車に戻るとパンとコーヒーが貰えました。
あったかいコーヒーがとても嬉しかったです!
そのあと朝食を食べに麓におり、ご飯を食べて10時くらいにホテルに戻ってきました。
とてもすてきな体験でした。

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour

Awesome tour

Reviewed by: HazenGirl, 2017/10/13

It's taken me several trips to Maui to make it to Hana. Why? The idea of spending all day driving my car on a dangerous road with 54 one-lane bridges and 600+ turns (meaning I couldn't even enjoy the scenery) just didn't appeal. But then someone recommended this tour...Instead of driving yourself on this treacherous road (and trust me, with all the amateurs out there it is treacherous), you ride in a comfortable passenger van with an incredibly knowledgeable and enjoyable guide. Instead of driving 3 hours to Hana and 3 hours back along the same route, you take a helicopter for one of the legs and see breathtaking aerial views of this gorgeous island. The tour is well planned, the meals yummy (even the vegetarian and gluten free options were fantastic), and the people were top notch. My only complaint was waiting almost an hour after check in at the heliport to get going. Otherwise, it was a perfect activity.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour

Road th Hana plus Helicopter....perfection

Reviewed by: Reggie, 2018/04/06

Our driver Scottie from Temptation Tours was the best I've ever seen. Kept us engaged the whole ride. Knew everything about the island, people, history. Knew all of the best places to stop, where all of the good and bad bathrooms were down to the minute. Told us when the drive by pic was coming up so that we knew to get our phones/camera ready. Stopped multiple times and took the best video and pics of not only us but something cool on the stop. The wraps at lunch were superb. The captain's chairs in the van were perfect. Flying back with Troy from Maui Air was just as incredible. He played cool music and the ride was smooth. Saw a bunch of the falls and even played a little "chase and ride along" a friend he spotted in an ultralight. Highly recommend this combo. We were back at the hotel by early afternoon! Veltra Tours made it so easy and kept us up to date via email during our trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Summit, Lavender Farm & Vineyard Deluxe Tour

introduction to nature

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/30

My husband brought our family to Maui for vacation and it was the first time our little girl had ever been out of California. We live in LA in the middle of the city, so needless to say...it was an amazing experience for us to introduce her to beautiful nature so unlike back home.

My husband let me pick the tour we would go on from Hawaii Activities site, and I chose the Lavendar fields b/c my daughter just loves going through my lotions and perfumes every morning and trying them on...and lavendar is her favorite. To see her getting out of the limo and SEEING the beautiful lilac blossoms en masse was truly a gift. To show her that what we have in a bottle at home came from the earth, and grows, and is wild and lovely...was priceless.

The drive there was also really relaxing and filled with beautiful scenery. I would even do this tour again, it was that good!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Haleakala Summit Sunrise Tour with Breakfast & Transportation

Spectacular show by Mother Nature

Reviewed by: Longhornhammy, 2016/01/18

I was not looking forward to a 2:50am pickup at the hotel, but the transportation was very comfortable and Rory, our tour guide, was exceptional. He talked most of the way over to Haleakala about Hawaiian culture & traditions so it was informative. When we got to the observation area, Rory took us to 'the best spot' for viewing which also blocked off the wind that was blowing. It is strange at first because the darkness hides the landscape. But the stars were as beautiful as I've ever seen them. Then the horizon began to glow and things moved pretty quickly until full sunrise. We then moved to the 10000 ft observation area and the view was breath taking. Tour finished with a nice breakfast at Café O'lei and we were dropped back off at our hotel in Lahaina. This is a spectacular event and really different from other Maui activities. Pack some warm clothes!

  • top of the world

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ハレアカラ山頂 日の出鑑賞ツアー<午前/英語ガイド/朝食付>

Best experience ever

Reviewed by: Sarina, 2018/11/20

マウイ島ではあいにくの天気が続いてましたが、念願の素晴らしい日の出を見ることができました。
何よりも、ツアーガイドのネリーさんが最高でした!!人生観も変わるステキな出会いだったと思ってます。
山頂は非常に風も冷たく、寒いです。日の出前1時間くらい外にいますので温かい格好は必須です。
私は友達から聞いていたので、ヒートテック、カシミアのタートルネック、ウルトラダウン、スノボのジャケット、ネックウォーマー、ニット帽、手袋とカシミアのストールを着て、貼るホッカイロでちょうど良いくらいでした。外国人の方で半ズボンやスパッツで着てる方は山頂で買ってましたが、現金のみなので要注意です。

  • 曇ってても諦めずに信じて待つべし!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Haleakala Summit Sunrise Tour with Breakfast & Transportation

Up Way Before Dawn

Reviewed by: Diane, 2014/03/23

Ron was out tour leader. Excellent commentary as we drove from 3 am to 10 am. It was rainy and foggy as we drove up to the volcano in the dark but Ron kept up the banter of telling us information while driving carefully and well. Driving excellent! That was a plus for me. Our group of 22 got acquainted over the trip. Great site to see sunrise at 10,000 feet! It was cold but I wore layers with warm polar fleece liner under my jacket, polar fleece hat and warm gloves and I was comfortable. I felt badly for those who came wrapped in blankets. Excellent staff at the National Park. Nan was especially helpful and informative. As we were driven down the hill, we could see the sites (and the curves) we'd missed due to darkness on the way up. The tour ended with a nice breakfast at a Golf Club. Memorable excursion! Thank you Ron and my fellow participants!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlights of Maui Scenic Tour - Haleakala Crater & Iao Valley

An Enjoyable Adventure.....

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/20

We first headed to Haleakala. There was a pleasant stop along the way for drinks and snacks. The views were spectacular and there was ample time to see the sites without being rushed. Judy, our tour director and driver, offered interesting facts and other information but appeared to be very bored and tired of the tour routine. She repeated the blurb about taking nothing but pictures about a gazillion times. Maybe it was just an off day for her. We headed to a very nice town for lunch. This was a pricey place, but the food was excellent and the service good. After lunch we headed to Iao and the rainforest inside. It was beautiful and once again we had ample time to see the sights without being rushed. At Iao we were switched to a different van that met us there and headed back home. All in all, a very pleasant day!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ハレアカラ山頂 日の出鑑賞ツアー<午前/英語ガイド/朝食付>

楽しかった!

Reviewed by: ゆきざる, 2014/10/10

全く英語力がないものの「英語ガイド」に参加して
初めは、不安もあったが
車内の案内は、ほぼ分からなくても
なんとなく時間は、分かるもの!!

山頂での軽食も温かい飲み物もあって嬉しかったし
やや雲が多めだったけど、サンライズも見れたし
ゴルフ場での朝食も美味しく頂きました(グアバジュースは、氷で薄まりすぎ!)
朝食も3種から選べる。

再確認の電話が、飛行機の延着により19:30を過ぎたが
用紙には、23時までOK!とか書いてあったが
電話したら、19時終了!と言われた・・・あせったけど
当日、なんの問題も無く参加できた。

山頂よりも行きのバスの中の寒さに閉口!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ハレアカラ山頂 日の出鑑賞ツアー<午前/英語ガイド/朝食付>

最高でした。

Reviewed by: メロンソーダ, 2019/06/16

マウイ島に来たらハレアカラ山のサンライズを必ず経験すべきだと友人から言われたので参加しましたが、大正解でした。山頂まで案内するガイドさんは現地の方でずっと英語で説明されてましたしツアーに参加されたのはほぼアメリカの方だったので英語が苦手な方だと不安になると思いますが、英語が必要な場面は特になかったのでご安心を。6月の夏だったからかそこまで寒くなかったので、今度また参加したい場合もこちらの時期にしたいと思いました。
下山するときにいろんな展望スポットに寄ったのもすごく良かったです。添付した写真はこの展望スポットで撮りました。

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Haleakala Sunset Tour with 3-Course Dinner & Park Admission

The guide made it

Reviewed by: R. Turner, 2019/06/17

We were picked up at our resort within one minute of the scheduled time in a brand new very comfortable tour bus and the guide Henry immediately set a wonderful tone for the tour. Our entire time together his comedic delivery was flawless but he mixes it with very interesting facts about Maui history and culture which really kept our interest. His content and delivery was perfect and completed the tour rather than overpowered it; a perfect mix.

The tour stops were excellent in timing and again, Henry's information really made the difference. Of course, once we got towards the top his focus was on safety but not overpowering. He's also an excellent photographer!

The scenery of the tour by itself is breathtaking but combined with Henry's expertise it was truly memorable.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ハレアカラ山頂 日の出鑑賞ツアー<午前/英語ガイド/朝食付>

最高でした

Reviewed by: ただし, 2018/03/11

ハレアカラから見るサンライズ、感動しました。おすすめです。
入場制限がかかったとはいえ、毎朝450人位の人達が訪れるとのことで、非常に混雑します。今回のツアーでは、どこで待っていれば良いか色々教えてもらったので、ベストポジションでサンライズを見ることが出来ました。
注意書きにも書いてありますが、日の出の1時間くらい前から3000mの山頂で待つので、スキー場に行く位の防寒準備が必要です。どうしても寒い場合は、ビジターセンターの中からでも見ることが出来るとの事です。ガラス越しにはなりますが、暖房は入っているようです。

  • サンライズ

  • ネネも見られました。

  • 朝日の当たるクレーター

  • シルバーソード

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Haleakala Sunset Tour with 3-Course Dinner & Park Admission

Really nice tour - but can't count on Mother Nature to cooperate...

Reviewed by: Kiki, 2015/12/12

Really nice tour to summit and super dinner at Café O Lei.

While Mother Nature didn't necessarily cooperate (she rained on us the last 2 days of trip, but it might have been our fault as we stupidly asked for her to turn the wind down a bit the first 2 days ;)...) the sunset wasn't brilliant but still awe inspiring (also got a glimpse of how beautiful it could be on the flight out the next day still very cloudy - could see more color and summit as we took off...). Oh lavender farm was nice too - I'm not a lavender person but whole area was beautiful and people at farm nice.

Tour was still great - views were still stunning - dinner was really good and other people on tour were quite a fun group!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour

A must do on a trip to Maui

Reviewed by: MJ Wolf, 2013/10/03

I went on the afternoon excursion. Haleakalā was not visible because of clouds that had come in, but the pilot had said there was good visibility that morning. Instead we spent more time getting wonderful close ups of magnificent waterfalls. The helicopter was beautiful and only 4 weeks old. Blue Hawaiian staff were great. The second half of the trip was the luxury van along the road to Hana, this van had only 6 passengers which made for a nice intimate trip. Our driver Kelly, was fantastic, knowing the road very well, as he has been driving it on excursions for over 20 years. We stopped places most do not get to see. I highly recommend this trip and it was one of the highlights on this trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Haleakala Sunrise Small-Group Tour

We did this one too!

Reviewed by: Bud and Nan D., 2010/06/18

Before leaving, we want to express our sincere thanks to you for providing such a ‘class act’ in the tour service you offer. We had the privilege of doing both the Hana and Haleakala trips with you and we had an unforgettable time; learned a great deal and were as comfortable as could be. You certainly leave no stone unturned to ensure the best possible service toyour clients - we appreciate that. Our tour guides were prompt, courteous, most adept at their jobs and extended to us what we refer to as the real Hawaiian hospitality. We could have asked for nothing more. They thought of everything! Please extend our thanks to each of them too for making us feel like one of the family.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations