(All Reviews) Kayaking (Watersports), Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

All Reviews for Kayaking in Maui

Overall Rating

4.70 4.70 / 5

Reviews

44 reviews

Maui Ocean Sports Lahaina Excursion Kayaking & Snorkeling Tours [Open Now]

Swam with the turtles and enjoyed the scenery on the kayak

Reviewed by: Dina, 2019/12/23

It was just a friend and myself on this tour so we had a private tour. Out tour guide was super knowledgeable about the corals, the locals, and the general are that we kayaked. Our tour guide was friendly and catered towards our needs. We both got motion sick while kayaking so be prepared if you're sensitive to movement. The morning we went was beautiful and we didn't hit any waves but there was a constant bobbing of the water that made us feel seasick. We saw a lot of fish while snorkelling. Our favourite part was swimming beside the sea turtles. Overall, it was an amazing experience and worth trying if it's your first time! I am not a strong swimmer but this was an amazing opportunity to see the sea life! It got a little chilly while snorkelling as there were different currents circulating. Also, Lahaina has a lot of fun shops and is a tourist spot to check out if you have time!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Pure magic

Reviewed by: Sarah F, 2019/07/24

Cole was our tour guide, he was extremely informative and helpful. We were nervous not knowing how difficult the paddle was going to be but it truly was easy. We paddled over to the turtle cleaning station and we’re amazed at all the turtles we literally just hanging out with. Cole showed us different sea life and explained the history of the surrounding islands. It was the best tour we had during all our trips, clear waters, lots of coral and mostly turtles!!! We highly recommend

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Sports Lahaina Excursion Kayaking & Snorkeling Tours [Open Now]

In my happy place

Reviewed by: mtk124@hotmail.com, 2019/04/16

Kayaking on the open ocean is my happy place! I was all set to snorkel as well on this trip but felt so at peace and comfortable kayaking that I just wanted to keep going!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Turtletastic!

Reviewed by: Karen & Randy, 2018/10/30

Our tour guide Matt was remarkably knowledgeable of both the local marine life and also local folklore, history and geography.

He guided us to two spots where we were snorkeling an arms length from some of the most beautiful sea turtles I have ever seen. The best part was because our group was small and coming off of kayaks, we had the entire area to ourselves for the most part. It was truly a breath taking experience.

Matt was engaging, funny, patient and willing to answer any and all questions we all had. I will definitely be doing this tour again, the next time I am in Maui. You will NOT be disappointed! Great value for money - an incredible experience!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Sports Lahaina Excursion Kayaking & Snorkeling Tours [Open Now]

We got to see turtles

Reviewed by: Bill K. , 2018/07/13

It was a fun experience for the two of us. Even tho we were sea sick for half the time, it was cool to kayak out in the ocean then go swim in the reef. Also, it was our First time kayaking and Second time snorkeling.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Fun day with Jake!

Reviewed by: Harris family , 2018/07/12

We had an amazing day kayaking and snorkeling with our fabulous tour guide Jake . He was so knowledgeable about the islands and the ocean and even gave us a Hawaiian language lesson ! He was super hands on and made us feel like he was our friend and not just our tour guide ! Fabulous !

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

One of the favorite things I did in Maui

Reviewed by: Kevin , 2017/11/13

Our guide, I believe his name is Roger, was helpful and informative. He made it enjoyable and a very memorable experience. Told us about the different islands and other facts about the sea life. We saw several sea turtles and other colorful fish.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayak Whale Watching Adventure & Snorkel Tour by South Pacific Kayaks

Best snorkeling tour there is!

Reviewed by: Margarita, 2017/05/15

Kayaking in Hawaii always sounds like a good idea, especially if your tour includes snorkelling wth turtles, seeing reefs and marine life. We have spotted a number of sea turtles that were swimming right next to us. Our guide was very knowledgeable as he shared some interesting facts, let us touch sea urchins and showed the best place to swim with turtles! We didn't manage to see any whales as we arrived quite late in the season, so these could only be seen from a boat that is able to travel further in the open ocean. Our tour guide has also offered refreshments during the trip so we had plenty of energy to keep us going for several hours. All in all great tour for those who like snorkelling.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Sports Lahaina Excursion Kayaking & Snorkeling Tours [Open Now]

Best Morning!

Reviewed by: M & C, 2017/05/08

My husband and I loved this adventure! Our guide Derrick was really knowledgeable about the islands and ocean, and since we had him all to ourselves he let us choose where we wanted to kayak and how long we wanted to snorkel. He took us to great spots and we got to swim with a Monk Seal and 3 Turtles, one of which came close enough to touch! It was amazing and we would definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Great time!!!

Reviewed by: Rachel, 2015/06/28

My family and I had such a wonderful time! Our guide Rusty was awesome and was so informative. He made sure that everyone was enjoying themselves. Definitely will be booking with you again.
Thanks again

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular! [Open Now]

exciting day

Reviewed by: kasing shum , 2015/05/28

Kayaking is fun. We were able to pedal along the shore line and check out different view of the island. We were also able to spot a few turtle along the way and snorkel with them. Highly recommend to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Awesome guide

Reviewed by: Kim Hamilton , 2015/04/17

Steve was our guide who has 24 years of experience and knew exactly where to take us to find the best marine life. We saw an eel, octopus, lots of beautiful turtles and tons of fish! We will do it again next time we come back. Mahalo Steve!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Awesome guide

Reviewed by: Kim Hamilton , 2015/04/17

Steve our guide was so knowledgeable and took us to the best places to see marine life. We saw an eel, octopus, turtles and plenty of fish! Will do it again next time we come back :)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

rusty was great!

Reviewed by: Matt and Alicia, 2015/02/23

Had a rainy start to the morning, but it ended up a beautiful day. Started with a trip out from shore to try and see some whales. Sadly we didn't see any, but we were able to hear them calling under us, which was amazing! Snorkeling was great, rusty was able to point out to us some of the reef life that often gets missed and was great about getting us into the water. Great time!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Disappointed

Reviewed by: Allie, 2014/10/13

I booked the west side snorkel safari online and was initially booked into the wrong time slot due to a glitch in the system. This wasn't a big deal. They were very helpful in sorting this out and assured me that they were working on fixing the glitch. The morning of the tour however, I took a taxi out to the meeting point only to be told that the trip was canceled due to high winds (it seemed calm to me, but I'm not an experienced ocean kayaker) $55 later I was back where I started. To be fair, they did try to phone me, but I did not have my phone turned on because I was trying to avoid roaming charges. I do not feel that one attempted phone call is sufficient customer service. I would have appreciated an email (this is how I had been communicating with the company from the beginning). I would suggest that anyone booking a similar tour contact the office before you leave in the morning to confirm that it will proceed as scheduled.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Lots of fun

Reviewed by: Laura, 2014/09/27

Kayaking tour guide was friendly and informative. He gave us simple directions for basic kayaking and we did well. We followed him away from the crowd up the coast to clearer waters. Saw all kinds of fish, he pointed out a turtle, and also gave us information about the islands. Just the right amount of time. We were also given juice. One item to improve upon is cleaner snorkels as our friend found hair on hers. Although we snorkeled near our hotel and saw as many fish and turtles we enjoyed this kayaking experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular! [Open Now]

Kayaking

Reviewed by: Tammy & Sallie, 2014/07/19

Fabulous!!!! Thanks to James. Enjoyable laid back activity providing time for snorkeling and kayaking.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

South Maui Snorkel & Kayak: South Shore Explorer

Reviewed by: Caitlin Stein, 2014/07/16

I would give this 4 1/2 stars! My husband and I ended up getting a private tour because no one else signed up! Our guide was great (didn't give name)-he constantly was bringing things back up to the surface to show us and was very knowledgable about anything we asked about. I had a very personal and special experience with a female turtle while snorkeling and we saw some while kayaking, but I thought we would see more at the turtle cleaning station. Would recommend this to anyone with experience. The total time was good but we wish it could have been a little longer-our guide didn't want us to be on choppy waters. Our tour was around 3 hrs. They provide you with snacks and water. Our guide was snapping pictures for us and will e-mail them to us for free! Can't wait to see them! Mahalo to our guide and this company!!

Tip: After you are done, ask your guide about the Jaws Food Truck-delicious fish tacos and burritos with snacks and smoothies!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular! [Open Now]

Snorkel & Kayak with Picnic

Reviewed by: Lois, 2014/02/12

A delightful small group of six experience. John was right on top of everything- He was knowledgable on how to use all the equipment and guided us to the best-ever reef for snorkeling.
We saw many whales and two even gently surfaced about 15 feet away from our kayak.
The reef was beautiful and very active with sealife- including giant turtles that hung around to greet us as we snorkled.
Refreshing fresh food picnic. Best deli-style turkey sandwhich ever!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Peaceful and amazing.

Reviewed by: Alex Salmona, 2013/12/09

I have never kayaked or snorkeled before. The kayaking was great the instructor/guide went over everything with us. I liked it so much I will start doing it here at home. My wife loved the snorkeling. I had a bit of an issue in the begging because I sink in water so once I put the life vest on I was good to go. I recommend a gopro camera for some unforgettable footage.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2013/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular! [Open Now]

Great time

Reviewed by: Brian & Kristy, 2013/11/04

We had a wonderful time. Other couple that was supposed to do our tour with us never showed up so we basically got a private tour and lunch. Guide was fantastic and fun

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2013/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular! [Open Now]

Outstanding

Reviewed by: clw, 2013/09/20

I highly recommend this tour. Our guide was exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable. If you want a fun and beautiful excursion book this tour! We saw sea turtles, many tropical fish, and even a shark.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular! [Open Now]

A lot of fun and adventurous

Reviewed by: Wil, 2012/11/29

Get to see and touch urchins, squid, and small sharks. Also, a little description of the fishes in the area.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular! [Open Now]

Wonderful Experience!

Reviewed by: Ashley @ Treasure Travel, 2012/11/03

Our guide Kaleo was really great! He led our snorkel, pointing out and educating us on all kinds of sea life. We saw turtles, an eagle ray, octopus, and lots of fish. The kayaking was fun, too!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Kayak

Reviewed by: Kristy & Tim, 2012/03/31

We had an amazing time with our guide Finch with South Pacific Kayak!! We got to witness so many amazing, beautiful things! Whales breaching out of the ocean, Dolphines dancing 10 feet in front of us and the beautiful, colorful fish and turtles that inhabbit the ocean. Such an amazing time!! We wanted to go back the next day!! This was our first time Kayaking, it was amazing.

Thank you for an amazing adventure!!

Kristy and Tim

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Amazing Time

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2011/10/16

We Took This Snorkeling Trip Over The Molokini Crater Because We Wanted Something Different And Less Crowded. Well This Trip Was Right On The Nose. Our Guide Peter Was AWESOME. He Was Very People Friendly And Knowledgable About The Things He Showed Us And Talked About, It Was Nice To Not Be Sitting On An Over Crowded Boat But Instead In A Kayak With A Group Of 7 Other People. 4 Kayaks Total. We Went To 2 Different Snorkel Sites And Were Out On The Water For A Total Of About 3 Hours Or So.We Saw MANY Turtles And Lots Of Different Fish, Peter Even Showed Us An Octopus And Let Us Hold And Touch It. My Husband And I Really Enjoyed Ourselves On This Trip And Would Totally Recommend It To Anyone Thats Wanting Something Less Crowded. Sorry I Dont Have Any Photos, Were Still Here In Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular! [Open Now]

Awesome..

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/06

My wife and I had a great time. Our guide was excellent. She helped us navigate the reefs with great care and also took some great photos of us :)

Excellent activity that we would definitely recommend to others.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Would definitely do this again...

Reviewed by: Kristi, 2011/02/20

This was one of my and my husbands favorite things we did our first time out to Hawaii. We were thrilled we were in whale infested waters and it was super cool to have the whales literally swimming under us, as we saw and heard them. It was awesome one whale swam right under our guide (Griff) who got amazing photos of the whole experience!

Would definitely do this again during whale season! Snorkeling to see the green sea turtles was amazing too. And all by getting a little exercise, rowing. Nice!

Thanks Griff and South Pacific Kayak!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Kayak/Snorkel

Reviewed by: AmyCat, 2011/01/08

This excursion was worth the money spent. My new husband had never snorkeled before so it was nice to have an experienced guide teach us how to do it. The Kayaking portion was nice and good exercise while we got to go out further than we would have without the kayaks. The guide, Steve, knew tremendous amounts about the area, ocean, animal life and more. He was helpful and funny throughout the entire experience. It was great to see turtles in and out of the water, an octopus, urchins, as well as schools of fish. Small group, us and a family, which the made the experience that much more intimate and special.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours [Open Now]

Snorkel & Kayak: A Good Combination

Reviewed by: AKVisitor, 2011/01/05

Kayaking is a great way to observe different snorkeling sites. Lots of friendly sea turtles and was able to hear the songs of the humpback whales. Would have liked to see more varieties of fish. For a kayaker used to a 1-person boat, the 2-person kayak was more limiting. Our guide provided a lot of information about the sea life in the area. It was very informational. Overall a good day.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations