This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Maui Ocean Center in Maui

Overall Rating

4.54 4.54 / 5

Reviews

39 reviews

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

4 Great Activities

Reviewed by: Hobomike, 2012/11/14

Did all 4 of the activities and enjoyed them all. The submarine ride was nostalgic as we had walked on the sunken ship on previous trips to Maui. Very cool as we cruised past the fish and reefs. Got to take a lot of pictures and the sub went down to 129 feet below the surface.
The Ocean Center was very informative and we got to see so many beautiful fish with varying colors. Turtles, sharks, eels, and sea horses were among the sights. We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed the lunch.
The Maui Plantation was very informative with sights of the many produce that are grown on the island. The tram took us past some towers that we later did the zipline on them. The guide on the tram was very knowledgeable and gave a great presentation. Learned a lot about the pineapples and coconuts grown on the island.
The Bailey House contained many relics of old days and pictures of old Hawaii. Very informative and we were glad that we visited and learned a lot.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Confusing but fun

Reviewed by: Dana, 2012/06/28

The only problem we had is we used your transportation to the Submarine ride. It was VERY confusing. We were staying at the Whaler Condos in Maui and when I booked it she said they would pick us up at the Whaler Village next door, I specifically asked if she meant where the shops were or the condo and she said shops. We were at the front of the village 25 minutes prior to our pick up, at 10 minutes past our pick up we called and were on the phone for 10 minutes back and forth...STILL saying we were at the right place when all along the driver was in front of the Condos. Needless to say our driver was not happy, we almost missed our submarine ride and it was very stressful. You need to clarify when making reservations in Maui at the Whaler whether you want people to meet at the VILLAGE or the CONDOS.
After all of that we all LOVED the Atlantis submarine ride and the Maui plantation was great as well. Highly reccommend this to families.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Great Aquarium

Reviewed by: BeachBoy, 2014/06/18

I didn't know what to expect before I got there, but they surprised me. The facility was very clean and organized, and the exhibitions were great. I learned so much about Hawaii's marine life, and they had a lot of unique species that only available in Hawaii.

I was impressed by the shark exhibition. I could be there all day watching these magnificent creatures. A perfect for everyone who is interested in the marine life. I went to the snorkel tour the next day, and I got to see some of the fish I saw at the Maui Ocean Center so it was very educational.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Value Pass

Reviewed by: Sam M, 2009/10/10

We have been to Hawaii a few times, but never with all the kids. We have a 3, 6, 14 and 16 year olds. We bought the value pass and have to say that it was totally worth it. The sub ride was awesome and my daughter has been excited about the shark she saw. We went to the Ocean Center and it was a great experience also. I would recommend this to everyone so they get a nice well-rounded list of activities to do and see. Hawaii Activities were extremely professional and even sent reminder emails for the activities we had coming up. Thanks.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Sub Tour was Great

Reviewed by: Ed and Linda in LV, 2009/05/03

We purchased the inclusive package (sub tour with plantation, sea center, etc.) The sub tour is fantastic. Great ride and crew. We went to the plantation and Maui Ocean Center. We did not have time to go to the nature center. The plantation was OK but the ocean center is GREAT. You can easily spend a half a day at the ocean center alone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

A really great time

Reviewed by: alsbrat, 2008/11/20

The submarine was terrific! A very unique adventure and well worth the money. The crew was very knowledgeable and enteraining. The Maui Ocean Center was beautiful and I learned a lot. I didn't get a chance ti visit the platation, but hope to get there the next time. I highly reccomend these two venues for everyone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Extensively informative!

Reviewed by: Susan - Oregon, 2017/03/09

Pleasant and informative venue. I went with a lifelong friend of mine and we enjoyed every moment of it. All of the displays were well thought out and enjoyable. I bought the CD so I could review it when I get home and share it with my nine-year-old grandson.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Awesome!

Reviewed by: The Starr Family, 2010/05/28

Our kids loved this ocean center, after a few days of water activities (snorkeling and surf lessons), it was great seeing them learn about some of the ocean habitats that make Maui such a special place to visit. Very informative and such a fun day.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Pretty good deal

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/06/18

The Hawaiian Aquarium was cool, admission was cheap and we got to see a lot for what we paid. You can stay as long as you like but we saw everything in about two hours and took our time. We recommend this especially if you have children.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Atlantis Submarine

Reviewed by: Karen Yip, 2014/12/06

My husband really wanted to go, I'm not to keen on going underwater, however once on and down, it was amazing! This is a real submarine, not a boat with glass bottom. The crew is very entertaining. Everyone should try it :)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Submarine tour

Reviewed by: Floyd Wilson, 2016/06/24

I have done this tour many times and this one was the best. Lots of fish to look at this time. Such a beautiful tour. We need to add Nemo at the end. I think the children would get a kick out of finding NEMO. Just a thought.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Aquarium of Hawaii

Reviewed by: Marty, 2017/09/18

We enjoyed it immensely. We got to see things not available in the natural habitat. We found the demonstrations to be very good and informative. The seven day pass was a terrific value and we used it 3 times.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Maui Ocean Center

Reviewed by: Tony, 2015/09/21

The center had great sea life tanks. We saw sharks, turtles and all the types of fish you see in the ocean around the island. the staff was very informative and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Highly recommend

Reviewed by: JAK, 2016/08/08

Wonderful way to spend a few hours; the displays & sea life are awesome, the grounds beautifully maintained. Perfect for families; the young and the older will be delighted.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Maui Ocean Center would like to say "Mahalo" for visiting us during your Maui vacation.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Well worth the money

Reviewed by: Joe C, 2012/04/08

I found it very interesting and well worth the money. The total cost was what the cruise ship charged for the submarine alone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Love it

Reviewed by: Karen , 2016/07/23

We had the best time. So much to see and do.
First time visiting the Ocean center, we did lunch as well. Food was excellent


  • Two happy campers !

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Happy Campers,
So glad to hear that you had a nice time at Maui Ocean Center. Thank you for your review.
Best fishes,
Sue

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Best time at all places!!!

Reviewed by: Carla Vertrees, 2018/10/16

Highly recommend it. Even though they were all good. That Maui Plantation was our ultimate favorite!!


  • Plantation


  • Plantation


  • Plantation


  • Bailey House Museum


  • Atlantis Submarine


  • Atlantis Submarine


  • Atlantis Submarine


  • Ocean Center


  • Ocean Center

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Untitled

Reviewed by: Wendy from Colorado, 2007/10/27

Be sure and watch the diver in the tank feed the sting rays..It's amazing !! A must see for everyone.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Janet, 2015/01/09

This was the most incredible experience ever! It's definitely a must-do while in Hawaii#


  • So cool! Awesome!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Great Place to Go

Reviewed by: DHS, 2016/04/25

Not only visually great but also quite informative. Would be a great time for families.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Shark Tank was Awesome

Reviewed by: Dhaval, 2016/04/07

Great place to learn about Sea Live detailed information great exbit very clean place.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

AMAZING

Reviewed by: Joel, 2017/08/17

The tour was amazing and very informative!! Probably the best $15 we spent on maui!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Maui Ocean Center

Reviewed by: Dave Hall, 2013/11/25

Very enjoyable day at Maui Ocean center. Always good to see marine life.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2013/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Great Value!!!!

Reviewed by: David, 2012/07/15

Great value for all activities included. I enjoyed all so much.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Submarine ride

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/07/05

Wonderful experience! Enjoyed seeing all the fish underwater.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Untitled

Reviewed by: Danielle McCain, 2007/08/20

We had a wonderful time - its worth every penny...

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Value Pack

Reviewed by: jc1074, 2008/06/16

This was a great activity and was better than expected. The submarine ride was really unique and we saw 4 sting rays very near to where we were, along with eels, and many tropical fish. The sub emerges from the open water just like the Red October. Very impressive! We were worried about how to board the craft and how safe it might be, but those worries were quickly put to rest. It's very easy and extremely safe. We had many elderly and several physically handicapped people on our tour and there were no problems at all. I would definitely do that activity again.

The Tropical Plantation was really beautiful although the tram ride seemed a bit abbreviated. It was worth the trip but I'd combine it with another activity to make it more worth while (we drove from Lahaina). NOTE: The gift shop here had some of the BEST deals on Maui. We bought shirts, hats, necklaces, hair ties, coffee (4 bags), and two sets of jewelry for less than $50! Anyone who's been to Maui can say that's a great de

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: NorthSouth, 2015/12/31

The submarine trip was wonderful. Beautiful fishes were swimming at the bottom of the ocean and around the sunken ship. My kids had wonderful time and insisted going on another kind of submarine trip (64 seats).

The aquarium is small but full of interesting fishes that I have never seen. As the aquarium is not as crowded as other aquariums I have been to, I enjoy taking my time and reading through the descriptions of each kind of fish.

The plantation trip beat my expectation. I didn't have high expectation and thought it was added to the combo for business strategy. The planation was well organized and very neat. The commentary and demonstration along the tram journey is wonderful. I wish I can spend more time over there.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2015/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Enjoyed the experience

Reviewed by: Lindsay, 2013/09/18

I expected it to be bigger & have more to it but the experience was still really nice & you get to see some really interesting species along with a hammerhead shark, turtles & the tunnel where they fish, stingrays & sharks swim all around you.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2013/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Center - The Aquarium of Hawaii

Maui Ocean Center

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/07/02

Visited on 6/28/07. Was very nice and interesting. Wanted to stay longer, but ran out of time.

The biggest treat was seeing the divers in the pools with the various sharks and other critters!

thanks for a great time.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations