This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for ATV & 4WD / Off-Road Tours in Kauai

Overall Rating

4.88 4.88 / 5

Reviews

93 reviews

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Awesome ride & breathtaking waterfall!

Reviewed by: Missy W, 2019/05/31

My husband and I had an awesome time with our guides Joshua and Lumbo. They took us on a fun, wild-ride ATV adventure and told us some cool history about the Kipu Ranch, including details about Hollywood movies filmed there. One stop along the route included an opportunity to swing from a rope swing from the same tree (same tree, new rope) Harrison Ford used as Indiana Jones in the movie Raiders of the Lost Ark!

Another stop included a delicious lunch of sandwiches, fruit, chips, cookies, and water. I was impressed with the tablecloths and individually wrapped moist towels (actual towels) handed out to clean off all the dirt on our hands and face from our ride. It was also really interesting to chat with the guides about their lives on the island and pick their brains about Kipu Ranch trivia. Joshua just had his third child last week, and Lumbo has 6 kids!

Our final stop was at a picturesque waterfall where we were all able to swim to the waterfall!

Tips: Wear closed toed shoes you don’t mind swimming in because you must wear shoes in the water. Wear a swimsuit under your clothes if you want to swim at the waterfall or swing on the rope swing into the water. Bring a towel unless you don’t mind air drying. Also, your clothes will definitely get dirty! Keep a change of clothes in the car unless you don’t mind the dirt in your car. In case you’re wondering, the water is definitely cold.

A nice bonus is that the company gives you complementary bandannas to wear over your nose and mouth to keep the dirt out. The bandanna serves as a cool souvenir afterwards! Also, one of our guides, Joshua, was especially gifted at taking cell phone pictures. If you luck out with him as your guide, let him take your pictures!

  • Waterfall you get to swim in!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

Such a fantastic way to "tour Kauai"!!!

Reviewed by: MAof4, 2018/06/26

Everything about this adventure was so incredible! Kipu Ranch is an amazing ranch with an incredible amount of territory to explore! We saw some marvelous sights while covering some exciting terrain (such a perfect combo for a couple consisting of one who likes to hike and one who doesn't; but loves motorcycles/ off-road vehicles).
The employees at the ranch were all kind and helpful. Definitely want to give a huge shout out to our guides; Joshua and Marlin!! They really make this experience special! It was like exploring this new and gorgeous region with a couple of your close friends, They were so kind and considerate of each individual in the group. I especially enjoyed hearing some back-story of this incredible place and the people who made such an impact.
Safety was top notch. Treats were delicious. This adventure left both my husband and I overjoyed!! Thank you so much, Kipu Ranch, for a quality tour/adventure and true ~Aloha~ hospitality and kindness! It really made our trip special!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Excellent adventure

Reviewed by: Travel4fun Group, 2014/07/07

What a blast! We rode in the Teryx 4 seaters and everyone had a fantastic time. The staff was great (James and Marlon). They were very knowledgeable about the ranch and history of the island. It had rained heavy the night before and still a little rainy when we started out which made the adventure even more fun in the mud. We enjoyed it so much we went back the next week and did their 'Teryx and BBQ tour' with James, which was completely different from the waterfall tour. We saw other parts of the ranch plus the food was great. This tour is only on Wednesdays for no more than 6 Teryx and not advertised. On our second tour the roads were dry and DUSTY. It was still fun but you will get dirty. If You only had time for one tour, I recommend the waterfall tour. It's a 4 hour tour (the BBQ tour is only 3 hours) because you will see more parts of the ranch and will get to swim under a waterfall towards the end of your adventure.

Comments from activity operators

We are pleased to hear you had a great time out on tour! When you come back next time we hope you have a chance to come back. Thank you for including Kipu Ranch Adventures in your vacation to Kaua'i.

Mahalo,

Management

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

The highlight of our Kauai trip!

Reviewed by: Amy Ray - Olympia, WA, 2010/04/03

My boyfriend and I, plus another couple, had a fabulous day on Kipu Ranch with Kimo as our guide. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather and a small group, both of which probably made the whole thing more fun. Kimo stressed safety, but we had plenty of opportunities to open our Rhino up a bit as well, and lots of bumpy terrain and hills to enjoy. He also shared great history about the area, and pointed out plenty of interesting plant and animal life. And the views! They are truly spectacular. Swimming in the river was a lot of fun, as was swimming in the pool at the waterfall. I recommend reapplying the bug spray as you're getting ready to swim, as the mosquitoes only seemed bad at the waterfall. To top it all off, lunch was delicious. After a morning of riding, it was a real treat to eat lunch outdoors in the sunshine with a small stream nearby. We would definitely do this again and would recommend it to almost anyone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Great experience

Reviewed by: Lora Keller, 2014/07/09

This excursion was originally booked for my daughters 17th birthday celebration, as your description states that you only have to be 16 to drive with a valid drivers license ,however apon check in it was discovered that this policy changed over 2 years ago.
Rules are rules, and she was not allowed to drive.....HOWEVER......everyone bend over backwards to correct the situation and make my daughters day still special. It was hard
to stay upset as everyone did what they could do and did so quickly. While still on the ride, I got a voicemail from VELTRA apologizing for their error and that it was taken care of before we even returned .
The staff and guides were the nicest people and made the whole experience a wonderful one. Thank you to VELTRA for correcting your error so quickly....she can't wait till next time to be old enough to drive, and thank you to the staff for being so awesome!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

The Best ATV Tour!

Reviewed by: The Desio's, 2008/03/28

This was an amazing experience. We went in March with our 9 yr old son. My husband got a 4-wheeler and we got the Rhino. The guides were great, making sure everyone was safe before we got going. If someone was unable to operate safely, they would end up riding with the guides. Everyone in our group was respectful and followed the rules so we were able to get extra riding time. The stops were great, my son loved using the rope swing to jump into the river. The lunch spot was great, there was a kitten and small boars that would eat the left overs. The second waterfall was great, a little cold but worth getting in. We were able to see amazing scenery, the views were spectacular. We took some amazing pictures. This is a tour that you must experience. When we return we will definitely be doing this again. THANK YOU for an amazing experience that we will never forget.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Kipu Ranch ATV

Reviewed by: ZNmez, 2014/03/08

Mark and Mano were our guides for the 4 hour ATV waterfall tour. It was kinda wet out but that didn't stop any of us from having a great time. It had been raining for three days prior as well so the trails were muddy and lots of fun! We rode in a side by side (tyrex) and slip and slide through the mud we got to see some of the most amazing views of the island! Kipu ranch is gorgeous with two waterfalls on the tour and a giant bamboo forest you have never seen before! Plus a chance to swing into the same river as Harrison Ford in Indiana Jones!! So much fun! The guides are careful considerate and knowledgeable! The lunch was the best deli sandwiches I've ever had with Marks mothers home made bread and cookies! Yum! So good. Recommend this tour! The best on the island! Cool photo opportunity at the end with a large Kipu Ranch frame!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

Great Afternoon Adventure

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/03/27

We had the best time on this ATV ride! Saw some beautiful views and our guides were great. Very knowledgeable about the area, as well as very funny. Kept us entertained. My husband and I rented the side by side ATV because I had never ridden on one before and I am glad we did as we went through some muddy parts but was protected by the little side doors. Others on the single ATV's got a little muddy :). It was very bumpy so I wouldn't recommend it to people who have bad backs/necks or who get headaches easily. I also wouldn't recommend it to families with small kids. There were a couple on our tour and they seemed to get bored everytime we stopped so the guides could explain about the history of the land. Definitely worth the price of the tour and maybe next time we will do the all day tour. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princeville Ranch Off-Road ATV Ride, Zipline & Waterfall Swim with Picnic Lunch

Awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Jaime Peñate, 2018/10/21

This was one of the best activities on the Island. I had booked it before our trip but when I was telling the hotel staff what we where doing they all high high praises for this experience. Highly recommend doing this activity with your family or even just your spouse. Our guides Omar and Tyler (I think) where super awesome. There guide jokes where on point, they gave us a bit of history of the land and scenery. The speed of the ATVs where great, I've been on other ATV tours and this one has been the best so far. The zipline experience was perfect and the dip in the water was amazing. You get a little bit of everything on this tour..ATV, history, a couple nice short hikes, ziplining, a swimming hole, a nice satisfying lunch and great entertaining guides. Great job to the Princeville Ranch for the awesome experience!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

Amazing Off-Road Fun in Kauai!

Reviewed by: Hula Girl NYC, 2017/10/23

What an incredible experience this was! From the moment we checked in until we hopped out of our vehicles, the awesome guides and employees made this an adventure that I will remember forever! We were all given a thorough briefing on how to operate the vehicles and did a few test laps before heading out onto the open road. The ranch and the surrounding areas are so incredibly beautiful and there were just too many picture perfect opportunities for us. Since I don't drive, my friend was my chauffeur and it was definitely some rough off-roading sections that had us bouncing all over the place. We even got to see where Indiana Jones jumped into the river and flew off in the first movie! So neat! I seriously can't wait to go again on my next Kauai visit :)

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

ATV Tour in Kauai

Reviewed by: Pat Wattam, 2008/01/24

I was a little apprehensive about doing the ATV tour but my husband insisted that we have two separate vehicles so I figured, why not! The staff was fantastic! Troy made sure that we felt comfortable with our vehicles and that we could actually handle them - to the point of showing us how far the 4 wheeler could go before it turned over! That made me feel really great. I ended up being a speed demon at the end! This is our 4th visit to Kauai so we had already done a lot of things, but this rates up there with the best things we have done here. We will probaby do it next visit too! Troy and Randon were great guides who made sure everyone had fun! Randon even went swimming first to encourage the others to join in!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

Outstanding Adventure in a beautiful area

Reviewed by: Wayne&Brenda Thomas, 2019/03/05

We were so impressed with the staff, facilities, equipment and respect for the land at Kipu Ranch Adventures. Our guide Josh and his "tailgunner" Chase did and outstanding job. Josh, though not a native Hawaiian has been on the Island for 18 years and is quite a historian on this region. It was such a pleasure watching his enthusiasm for preserving the history and ambiance of this beautiful land.

The Rice Family who owns this property is blessed to have Kipu Ranch Adventures here to protect this land and inspire each of us to promote the protection of this historical property. Thank you to Kipu Ranch and the Rice Family, we had a wonderful visit and will be back soon.

  • Wayne and Brenda Thomas

  • Our gang

  • Beautiful streams

  • Chase, our "tailgunner"! Great guy

  • River used in "Raiders of the Lost Ark" movie

  • Unspoiled beauty

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

Kipu Ranch ATV Adventure

Reviewed by: Peggy - World Traveler, 2012/08/06

one word - AWESOME!
This is a great tour. They have all sorts of ATV that match each person or family's needs. This definitely not for any pregnant or with special health care needs as you do get off the ATV's and hike a bit to a FANTASTIC WATERFALL !!!

They also let you swing off a rope into a fabulous river at one spot.

The tour guides are fun, helpful, informative and very safe conscious. You will get dirty, you will have fun and the views are AMAZING!

Loved every part of it.

Have fun fellow travelers! Safe travels to you!
Peggy

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Only single rider on the trip!

Reviewed by: Lora Keller, 2014/07/09

Family review is posted separately, my single rider experience was AWESOME!!!!
It was an amazing experience and the guides were very good at giving direction on how to handle sticky situations. The only thing that would have made the experience better would have been MORE MUD!
The lunch was fresh and delicious, and we even got to share it with some wild pig.
The guides were very informative and couldn't have cared more about you if you were their own family.
I ended up being the only single rider on this trip, and I loved every moment of it!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Lora,

We are pleased to read that you had an awesome time! We would like to thank you for coming out with us & for including us on your vacation to Kaua'i.

Mahalo,
Management

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

Hawaiian Roller Coaster

Reviewed by: Bonnie M., 2019/04/05

I had a grand time! The weather was perfect (partly cloudy) and it had rained the day before, so the trail wasn't dusty.

They did a good job teaching us how to drive the ATVs and making sure we were comfortable with the machines.

The guides had great personalities and they wanted to make sure we were having a good time.

Highly recommended. I took the 3-hour tour, which includes the view of Kipu Kai.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

Great Experiences

Reviewed by: Kit, 2007/08/29

This was the first time I join this kind of activity. It was a great experience!!! The guide Kevin was very very professional and create a very nice atmosphere. The whole thing turn out so great and I will never forget the expereice of jumping in the river from the rope!!
Excellent weather, excellent guide make my day perfect and unforgettable!!
I definitely will join again if I have another chance.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Koloa Plantation 3-Hour ATV Ride

Great time, beautiful scenery, very polite and engaged employees

Reviewed by: Donald Musson, 2018/05/30

I had a great time. I was not full aware of how much dirt and mud would hit my face but I still enjoyed the adventure.

I thought the people directing and helping with the driving and tour were outstanding. I also thought their background information about the different locations on the drive was very interesting about the history of the island and the cattle ranch.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Koloa Plantation Afternoon ATV Ride & Waterfall Swim

Exceeded expectations!!

Reviewed by: Kfw, 2019/04/02

We were led to believe that we would get dirty and wet etc, but the day was made twice as good by our guides who took the time to share history of a few of the spots we stopped at. They could have just had us ride from point a to b, but instead we were encouraged to slow down now and then and soak up some local history, trivia, and folklore.
5 stars for sure.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

Best Adventure Yet in Kauai!

Reviewed by: TFortune, 2016/06/25

I had a absolute blast! Busting through mud, powering up hills and getting loose in the dirt... what could be more fun. The guides were great and even though I know much about Kauai, I learned even more. My family had fun holding on and getting a little muddy as I romped on the gas in the jungle and old can fields. I highly recommend this adventure!

  • Do it in the dirt!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

ATV trailride

Reviewed by: Steven M, 2007/10/08

They made sure that you could safely drive the machines and could handle the trails. The guide (Tom) added many interesting stories and stops that made the trip special. The wildlife that we saw really added to the experience. The area was not overcrowded or overused. Ask for Tom as your guide! I would have added photos but my files were too large.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

Great Ride

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/03/12

My husband and I went on the ranch tour in a Rhino. We had a great time and I recommend the Rhino for couples because it is so comfortable and you can take pictures while on the move where you cannot on the other machines. The guides were awesome and fun; really great people. I would definately do this again!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

Fun ride with a lot of history.

Reviewed by: Kevin Cannon, 2018/12/05

On this tour my newlywed wife learned how to drive an ATV, a lot about Kaua’i history, and we got to see where Indiana Jones did his famous rope swing. She is now researching new ATV adventures for us to explore. Giggles and Owen were wonderful tour guides and very gracious. We highly recommend this tour.

  • Go Hawks!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

First timer fun

Reviewed by: Rosalyn Stacho, 2009/09/08

This was my first time on an ATV and I had a pretty good time. Usually I am not one for getting dirty and riding on an ATV but I didn't mind.

The guide was very knowledgeable and showed us how to maneuver the ATV's well. There were parts of the tour that were difficult and wouldn't recommend it for kids.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Loads of Fun

Reviewed by: LAZZ, 2017/12/20

Just had a blast on your ATVs. Mark and Rob were great. Had loads of patience and made sure everyone had a safe and crazy ride.
Lots of background info on the ranch and history of the area made it more than just a nature ride. Wish I could give you guys a 10 star but 5 happy happies will have to do.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

Best tour we have done in kauai!!

Reviewed by: Sam & Susan David, 2018/10/04

We had such a great time! Joshua and Melissa were the best tour guides we have ever had on the island. Joshua was so knowledgeable, friendly, and very engaging. When we bring our kids back, we definitely would go again and request him as our tour guide. Melissa’s banana bread was super tasty.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

BEST Adventure on the island!

Reviewed by: Cynthia , 2018/09/24

What a fun time we had on this tour! So glad we did the earliest time slot available. The weather was perfect, the guides were amazing and so informative, the scenic views at the 5 stops were breathtaking. WOW! Loved this experience so much! Thank you for the wonderful memories Kipu Ranch Tour!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

ATV FUN

Reviewed by: Monica, 2010/07/16

We took this tour with James and Mike and they were wonderful guides. We had been on the tour as a coupe over a year ago and returned this year with our children...they had a great time!! I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys the outdoors and ATV activities. I would go again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

Wonderful time

Reviewed by: TNThompson, 2014/12/01

Went this morning, had such a wonderful time. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and kept the pace moving. Far exceeded our expectations. Thank you Mark and Anthony for the amazing trip! Will be recommending this excursion to family visiting the island in the future.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princeville Ranch Off-Road ATV Ride, Zipline & Waterfall Swim with Picnic Lunch

Very good day!

Reviewed by: Steve Sereda, 2019/04/21

We were very happy with this excursion! My daughter and I had alot of fun. Our guides Troy and Troy were not only knowledgeable but entertaining. From the side by sides to the ziplines to the watering hole where we swam it was all awesome. We would do this again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2019/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Another blast

Reviewed by: Tom, 2018/10/26

Big shoutout to the guides, Giggles and Joshua.
At first I was disappointed that I wasn't going to drive a UTV, but our guide made up for it.
It's really cool to see film locations and get some stories.
Had a great time. If you get the chance, go on this tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations