This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Na Pali Coast Adventures in Kauai

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

249 reviews

ナ・パリ ・コースト ラフティング シュノーケリング付き<エレエレ地区/昼食>

メチャメチャ楽しめました!!!

Reviewed by: Halu, 2018/09/01

夏限定で、ヌアロロ・カイビーチへ上陸できるということでこのツアーを選びました。
初めてのカウアイ島で現地集合大丈夫かな?ラフティング初めてだけど大丈夫かな?英語分からないんだけど…など不安を抱えていましたが、全く問題ありませんでした。ちなみに参加者28名のうち日本人は私たちだけでした。

パイレーツオブカリビアンのテーマ曲と共に出港し、旋回もしてくれてウォー!!!と盛り上がり、アトラクションのようなスタートでした。
海の色がとてもキレイ。まさしく透きとおったブルーです。そんな海にぷかぁ~と背浮き(自分は泳げない)ができて何と気持ちの良かったことか。
しかし沖に出ると、ハリケーン上陸前のせいか波がやや高めでアトラクション度がアップ!!! アップダウンが激しくなり、波しぶきが半端ない!! コンタクトが飛ばされないように、顔を下に向けるしかなかったのが残念。

途中、イルカの群れに出会いました。そのうちの一頭がクルクルクルッと海上でジャンプ回転していて、何とも可愛い。小さいイルカだったのでまだ子供なのかな?まるで練習をしているように何回もジャンプ回転していました。

食事は、たっぷりありました。どれも美味しかったです。
おかわりをするのならば、早く食べないとなくなってしまいます。
食後に散歩するので、どんどん片付けられてしまうのです。食べるのが遅い私には時間が足りませんでした。散歩に行かず、ゆっくりしているのもありですが、散歩先で生のココナッツを食べることができましたし、途中途中で色々ガイドしてくれていました。英語が分からないのが残念でなりませんでした。

海も、山も、渓谷も素晴らしいです。海からすぐあんなに切り立っている姿を真近にすると自然のすごさを実感できます。
波が高かったので洞窟に入ることができませんでしたが、とても満足しました。

このツアーはアトラクション的要素が高いので、そのあたりに強いことが必須です。楽しめます!!

  • ランチのあとの散歩で行った甲羅干し中のウミガメビーチ。

  • 虹が出ているのを発見!

  • ただただ見つめる。

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Sunset Cruise with Dinner & Cocktails by Holo Holo Charters

Amazing - Look no further, just book it.

Reviewed by: Dillon, 2015/05/14

My wife and I knew we wanted to do a boat tour of the Napali Coast but with all the options available we were nervous about picking the right one. Let me save anyone else looking into this the trouble and say just book the Sunset Cruise with Holo Holo Charters. You won't regret it, unless you get sea sick, which I would say probably 3-5 people out of 25-30 or so did on our trip, which was in early/mid May. But the crew took great care of them. My wife and I popped a dramamine each about an hour before we boarded and another right when we got on and felt great.

More about the trip. The crew and Captain Glenn were fantastic. They opened up the bar immediately upon leaving port and made sure we had drinks in our hand for the duration of the trip. The boat was spacious and there was plenty of room to move around. We were able to see the entire coast and even made it up to the northern most tip where the last beach accessible by car starts. I don't think many of the other boats are able to do that because they are not fast enough. The crew was probably the best part of the trip, they were super attentive, even offering to take pictures of us with the coast as a back drop. They were also very interesting to talk to and gave us lots of information about what we were seeing as well as info on local spots to check out when we got off the boat. My wife and I had hiked the Awawapuhi trail earlier that morning, which overlooks the coast, and the crew were nice enough to point out where we were to us as we cruised by. Awesome trail by the way if you like hiking. The crew also made sure you didn't wipe out while you were walking around the boat, it can get a bit choppy. At one point I was exiting the bathroom as we hit a dip and a member of the crew was able to grab me and steady me before I took a tumble.

In a nutshell, book the trip and don't have second thoughts about it. Worth every bit of the money. Holo Holo Charters does an amazing job.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Dillon,
Thank you for taking the time to post this awesome review! We will pass this great info onto Capt. Glenn and Crew.

We hope you had a great time here on Kauai and hope to see you and your wife out on the water again!

Mahaloa Nui Loa,

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Voyage to Niihau & Na Pali Coast - Premier Snorkel Cruise by Holo Holo Charters

Kauai Adventures!

Reviewed by: jqgossard, 2017/08/09

5 Star Yelp Review:
Amazing tour with Captain & crew out to the Na Pali Coast and Niihau island! We had an amazing time! Drew and Kamaile were awesome hosts making us feel comfortable and welcoming us all onboard. The other crew members made sure we were aware of safety and security while onboard and allowing us to experience the underwater world during our snorkeling adventures.

Lunch was light and filling at the same time, beers were always cold! Wine and beer was readily available anytime we wanted one. Fruit and humus was awesome! Homemade ranch dip and homemade humus was so delicious!

We watched the staff engage in great conversations with everyone onboard including the kids! Captain took us out to the sea caves and waterfalls up close and personal! It was such an enchanting tour and we look forward to going on another tour some time!

Bare feet on the boat is a requirement unless you have a medical condition. Dry cubbies available for personal belongings you wanted to keep dry.
I highly recommend you bring a waterproof bag to keep your personal items with you or close by you so you don't have to keep going back and forth into the cabin for the things you need. I had a large Calvin Kline bag that was waterproof and I was able to tuck it right under my seat without worrying about my personal belongings getting wet. You can bring your own snorkel gear otherwise you can use the boats gear anytime. If you haven't been on a boat or it's been quite sometime since you've been on a boat, I recommend you take dremamime or other motion sickness meds before boarding because the ride will and can be rough on the belly. Bring your own towels and don't forget your go pros and or other water proof cameras because you will be seeing lots of amazing things out there!

Holo Holo Charters, thank you for a fascinating experience!!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Explorer Ocean Rafting Snorkel Tour (from Kikiaola Harbor)

This is the way to see the Na Pali coast,

Reviewed by: Christian, 2014/05/06

This tour started at 9 am with a very friendly introduction of the island of kauai as well as how the coast was formed with a local flare. We set out with Captain Dennis shortly after 9:30, he and his crew did a very good job at making sure all of the guest were comfortable and relaxed. We were able to sit on both sides of the boat which made it really fun because of the splashes from the water. We cruised for about 20 minutes before we encountered spinner dolphins, whales, and we also saw a lonely sea turtle floating passed our boat. Throughout the whole trip the deckhands were telling stories, legends and filling us in all the movies that were filmed on the Na Pali coast. We were able to venture passed many waterfalls and sea caves one of which Captain Dennis backed the boat right into the cave so we all could take pictures of the inside. It seemed dangerous but the Captain was fully in control the whole time. On the way back the surf was huge so we snorkeled in a calm area in front of the coast which was crystal clear and we could see all the way to the bottom about 40 feet. One of the deckhands actually went all the way down and pulled up some sand for me bottom. Lunch was good but not great. Bento's were a bit cold from sitting in the cooler but they were still tasty, it needed shoyu and some kind of hot sauce. They ride back was comfortable the whole way with more stories being told about the living in kauai and how the alii influenced the lifestyle. The local long haired deckhand was awesome we even met a pro surfer at the coast. Definitely recommend seeing the Na Pali coast in the water instead of paying three times the amount for 1/4 of the time. Perfect way to spend the morning and afternoon.

  • Na Pali

  • Unreal feeling!!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Christian thank u so much for your review we appreciate all of your comments and welcome u back to Kauai and our Na Pali Ohana anytime! Our goal is to give the very best tour that we can always, and guests like u make it all worthwhile!!
Claire

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Napali Coast Sightseeing & Snorkel Sail by Holo Holo Charters

Na Pali Coast sea sickness

Reviewed by: ZNmez, 2014/03/08

We went on the 5 hour Napali coast snorkel adventure. Within the first 30 minutes we saw 10 whales and 50 dolphins! It was amazing. Giant turtles as well. We had about 30 minutes of snorkel time and a nice little brunch. While snorkeling there was an opportunity to get pretty close to a giant sea turtle and views of about 20 ft deep clear ocean to beautiful corral reef and tropical colorful fish. That's where the fun stopped for me. The further up the napali coast the more brutal the waters became. The waves were bigger than the boat! I have to admit this was nothing like what I expected . I was scared despite knowing that the staff and captain were experienced and careful, the waves and wind were just nothing like I have ever experienced. I've been on the ocean to Catalina island and didn't get sea sick, but this trip was another story. I puked and cried and puked some more! Two hours or more or puking and I missed the best part of the whale show for us. It was hard to enjoy the amazing views of the napali coastline because I was so sick but it truly was amazing!!! Don't do this tour in the winter and I think it would be breathtaking. The crew was amazing an took great care of all of us who got sea sick. They gave us water and new tissues. One of the guides even gave me his rain jacket to wear as long as I didn't puke on it! No gaurantees there, but the crew were lifesavers! Amazing amazing crew! One of the stores near by said that holo holo was the best and I believe them. They really took care of me and made me feel safe and well taken care of despite the circumstances. They even had ginger candy and saltines on board to help out. Crew also offered handy tips for other amazing views on the island

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo for choosing Holo Holo Charters and also for your review. We are sorry to hear you that you got sea sick. We do have an amazing crew and it is always good to hear they are taking care of our guests. If you have the opportunity to come back to Kauai we would be more than happy to have you on board with us again. We hope the rest of your vacation was as memorable as our tour, except for the sea sick part. Mahalo Nui Loa and Aloha, until we meet again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Voyage to Niihau & Na Pali Coast - Premier Snorkel Cruise by Holo Holo Charters

awesome cruise

Reviewed by: Patrick, 2014/11/29

Booked the activities through this website for NaPali and Nihau plus snorkeling.

Checked in the place at 6, and captain met us around 630. However, due to the weather condition, Nhau is not gonna be possible. 3 alternatives were given. We could either take the trip with a 25% discount, reschedule for another day or get a full refund on spot. Given we will only be on the island for one more day, we took the first option. And it didn't disappoint at all.

The ride to NaPali was a little rough, or "exciting" in the sailing world. Some people got sea sick and the threw up, but the crew members were very patient and friendly, didn't complain at all. We also saw a bunch of dolphins and a glimpse of whale during the ride. Captain stopped the boat for everyone to see in each situation.

On the way back, the weather got much nicer. We made a stop near Port Allen where we started for snorkeling. This was about an hour long. Once that's done, food was already waiting for us on the boat.

After lunch, we headed back and 25% refund was ready for us to pick up.

Overall, it was an awesome ride and honestly I couldn't ask for more. They offer both breakfast and lunch to accommodate its early schedule. They offer a large variety of drinks including beer, and all of them are free. The captain gives detailed background stories for every valley and beach we pass.

Just make sure to bring your towel and a camera, and you will be golden.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Holoholo Charters!

Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Voyage to Niihau & Na Pali Coast - Premier Snorkel Cruise by Holo Holo Charters

What a wonderful trip from beginning to end!

Reviewed by: Paul K., 2014/12/11

What a wonderful trip from beginning to end! This was an amazing excursion. It started off early in the morning but I was delighted to see a captain full of energy and passion for his career. Even though the winds caused concern for our safety up the Na Pali coast, he made sure to kick start the trip with high spirits as we sailed off the dock at sunrise. The water was very calm and we got the chance to meet the crew over breakfast and coffee before our first sighting of dolphins! For the entire trip – even when the waters got rough – the crew was always interested in talking to us and telling us stories about the island. You could tell that they really enjoyed connecting with everyone which made our experience that much better. Who wants to be on a boat where the crew only care about getting the job done? – No one! Thus, this was a refreshing surprise. After going up the Na Pali coast we made our way to Nihau and snorkeled off the boat. The lunch served included sandwiches, veggies with dip, pickles and pasta salad. Of course, who can forget the wine and beer served on our way back to port? Overall, this was a wonderful trip with great company and we will definitely recommend to our friends and family. The next time we travel to Kauai we plan on cruising with Holoholo at sunset. Thank you Holoholo!!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for choosing Holo Holo Charters! We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful time and are more than happy to share our beautiful island scenery with all. Our customer are the best. Please feel free to leave a comment on TripAdvisor, Yelp and Facebook. Aloha and Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Sunset Cruise with Dinner & Cocktails by Holo Holo Charters

Amazing views and wonderful crew

Reviewed by: Tony & Bianca, 2014/09/27

I spent a consideral amount of time researching some of the different options for sight seeing tours of the Napali Coast and found this to have the best reviews and all of them were 100% accurate. My girlfriend and I had been very active on our trip to Kauai up to this point and looked to this as a relaxing evening which it was. The Caiptain (his name escapes me) was very funny throughout the trip making sure to update us when we were near items of interest and was also a very skilled navigator, at one point situating the stern of the boat under a waterfall for people who wanted to go under it.

The two deck hands (I am not sure the proper title) were very attentive to all of the guests aboard throughout the entire trip. I forget the gentelmens name that I spoke with but he stood with me for some time explaining to me much of the history of the Napali Coast as well as what it has been like growing up on the Island which made my experience even better. The crew does whatever it takes to make sure you have the best experience possible and my tip to you is to tip them accordingly, they do a great job and deserve it!

I highly recommend this to anyone interested in having an informative relaxing experience. Also, the food was very good and the crew made sure that you always had a drink in your hand.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Sunset Cruise with Dinner & Cocktails by Holo Holo Charters

Our wonderful trip to the Na Pali Coast

Reviewed by: Bernadette & Patrick, 2014/11/17

We had the best trip you can get to the Napali Coast! The weather did it's best to blow away the clouds, but also made the sea rough so we got lots of fun in the waves and went wet in the front of the boat. After half an hour we were completely soaked and decided to go to the back were it is almost dry. There you also have a god view but it is rather bumpy than on the front of the boat. We had a nice and sunny view along the coastline of Kauai. Compared to our trips by helicopter and car the boat trip is the most relaxing way to see the coast and for us the most impressive. The height of the cliffs of Na Pali Coast is best seen from the bottom. From up in the air you'll get a great overview but you wouldn't see the whole scenery. The buffet on board was well organized and we had some delicious snacks on our tour. The crew took very good care of us all along the trip and offered very often to take pictures of us in the beautiful scenery. Nearby the harbor we made an additional stop to watch out for wales and turtles which are often seen on that place. Unfortunately we didn't find any turtle or wale but a lot of flying fish. The beautiful sunset with a glass of champagne was the right ending of a beautiful day on sea. MAHALO to Capt. Kelly and the crew Aaron, Jake and Max!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing Holoholo Charters!

Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Napali Coast Sightseeing & Snorkel Sail by Holo Holo Charters

MUST DO in Kauai!!

Reviewed by: Erika, 2014/12/12

We highly recommend this boat tour! First off, the crew was incredibly knowledgable about sailing, snorkeling, Hawaiian culture and history and they were beyond attentive to all of our needs on board. Our captain, Kelly, and her three crew members, Shakead, Max and Jay were a lot of fun throughout the day too. We had the opportunity to do some snorkeling, seeing sea turtles, spotted rays and an array of tropical fish - not to mention the school of dolphins that were close enough to touch! As we made our way to the NaPali coast, it was raining (something completely out of the control of our crew), but they still made the most of it. We saw the gorgeous coastline, while Kelly expertly navigated the seas. On our way back, the crew put up the sails and turned down the engines - it made for quite a relaxing way to travel back. Just before reaching port, we followed a few whales and did some whale watching. The crew was patient with everyone on board and made sure that if we wanted to stop to see the whales, we did! We appreciated their accommodating approach to our tour and it definitely was one of the highlights of our vacation at Kauai. Again, we highly recommend this activity!!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing Holoholo Charters!

Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Napali Coast Sightseeing & Snorkel Sail by Holo Holo Charters

Great Day!

Reviewed by: Gregg, 2014/12/23

We just finished an outstanding Naplai Coast catamaran/snorkel tour with Holo-Holo tours. What a day! The weather was perfect as was the staff and boat. Our crew of Captain Kelly, Matt, and Wade were friendly, personal, and knowledgeable. They briefed us before we departed on everything we needed to know- from safety and motion sickness to snorkeling to whales and dolphins. Then we departed on a terrific 50’ catamaran that, despite being filled to the maximum with 38 people, never felt crowded. We began with a 45 minute snorkeling stop, followed by brief stops to watch pods of dolphins and whales. Then it was on to the magnificent Naplai Coast, where our crew fielded questions and made us feel at home on their boat. This was followed by a great lunch with terrific service and unlimited food and beverages. They took us alongside caves and inlets, always made sure we were comfortable and had something to eat or drink, and clearly enjoyed their work. I will book my future tours with Holo-Holo.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Gregg,
Thank you for the great review! We are glad that you had a good time with us & that we were able to share some of Kauai with you.

Aloha Nui Loa,
-The Crew at Holo Holo Charters

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Napali Coast Sightseeing & Snorkel Sail by Holo Holo Charters

Great, exciting adventure

Reviewed by: Helen&Bob, 2016/08/18

We had a wonderful time on the morning snorkel /sail with Holo Holo. They are a great company--we've done this trip 3 times before with different operators, and they were great! I strongly suggest that you take Dramamine before sailing, and also take some with you. Several people got sea sick--the crew is amazing and very kind with those who are queasy. None of our family got sick--4 adults and 3 children, but we all took the motion sickness pills before embarking. The food for breakfast and lunch was plentiful and good--the drinks were flowing freely, and the crew was solicitous to every whim! They were really great with watching for safety in every way. The Na Pali Coast was breathtakingly beautiful (and I've seen it 4 times before--it never gets old!) Our captain took us very close, while crew gave us background history and information that was perfect in keeping us entertained. All in all a perfect day in every way! Thanks to Captain and Crew for making our family trip a big hit!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise (from Port Allen)

The best way to end a 2nd honeymoon

Reviewed by: Kimokepi, 2012/09/19

We have done just about everything on this island, which is our favorite island. We had our honeymoon here 10 years ago, and decided to return to the island to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary and we renewed our wedding vows as well. The "perfect" 2nd honeymoon didn't start off too great with another activity that I had planned for my husband and that nameless for now company I will not say, really was horrific. They harrassed us everyday trying to make it up to us; which killed a lot of the mood. Regardless, this sunset dinner cruise happened on our last night on the island and it was the BEST ending to a not-so-"perfect" 2nd honeymoon. The staff was amazing, the food unbelievable, the trip AWESOME!!!! We were even one of the lucky ones that were invited to have dinner with Capt. Dave at the helm. I would definately return for Captain Dave, Tony, Paul, Andrea and I appologize I can't remember the last guy. They were great!! They all made you feel like family, so welcoming. My

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Sunset Cruise with Dinner & Cocktails by Holo Holo Charters

Kauai Sunset Cruise - Na Pali

Reviewed by: Peggy - World Traveler, 2012/08/06

This was one to remember.

We had a ball. The coast line scenery was breathtaking, just wonderful. Remarkable side of Kauai that you can not see any other way as there are no coastal roads on that side of the island. When you go on this trip you will see why.

This one I would recommend for sure.

Planning for this trip - you will want, flip flops (because you won't wear them on the boat so something light you can take off and leave in their storage locker), camera, sunglasses, and ready for a fun time. The boat is a catamaran and built perfect for this. The Captain and crew were awesome.

They serve dinner as per the tour and its a nice but very informal meal, sit where you can. So, if you are expecting 4 or 5 star and want to sit down and eat on china this you will not get that. But its fine food - teenagers loved it so you get the idea. They have a bar so just watch how much you drink becuase the ride can and does get bouncy.

Great guide. Very informative

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Explorer Ocean Rafting Snorkel Tour (from Kikiaola Harbor)

Weather can be a variable

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/17

I was generous with my stars considering our unseasonably bad weather day on the seas. This was certainly not any fault of the team, but be mindful that weather can play a factor in the enjoyment. Biggest negatives of the weather:
choppy seas prevent some of the potential exploration
cloudy skies prevents the sun from heating you up as you get wet/cold from splashing water

We're pretty adventurous and rugged so the weather only notched down the enjoyment 1 level, but one person got sea sick on our trip and I am sure their enjoyment was a ZERO.

Weather aside, a great way to see the wonders of the Napali Coast and of course do some snorkeling. My wife was a first time snorkeler and she had a great time swimming with the fish and TURTLEs. Sadly no dolphins during the dive but we saw some on the boat trip.

If you've done a tour of the coast, this is not the best time spent for snorkeling, but a great combination tour and snorkeling adventure...so good value for your precious

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise (from Port Allen)

What a great experience

Reviewed by: Roxanne Ziola, 2011/02/15

First things first...make sure you take care of any seasickness issues, even if you have never sailed, take all precautions, you don't want to be ill and miss out on any of this!!
Our tour got rerouted due to weather acting up on the north part of the shore, so we toured the south side...WOW, I am amazed that they don't do that more often!!
We were able to see directly under the yacht, because of the trampolines, and we were probably 3 feet over all of the dolphins that were swimming with us. We were able to see 3 different dolphin speices (I remember the spinners and the large bottle nose) we then got to see countless whales and their babies, really close. The skips were very knowledgeable and so was the captain. They all did a really good job of the meal and making sure we always had some sort of beverage in our hand!! I felt like royalty! When I go back I will do the same cruise, in hopes that the northern shore will be toured, and then I can compare, but really I feel that t

Rating:
Attended as: Families
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Explorer Ocean Rafting Snorkel Tour (from Kikiaola Harbor)

Quite an adventure!

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2009/07/21

This was one of the highlights of my whole trip! But first the bad stuff:

Be prepared that riding in a small zodiac very quickly through the extremely bumpy, choppy Pacific Ocean is not for the faint of heart!! You're basically holding on for dear life to a rope and you're bumping and bopping all over the place as you're speeding through the ocean. And then it rains and those drops sting you're eyes as you're speeding in a boat. If you even THINK you have a sore back or neck DO NOT do this! My boyfriend and I are both in excellent shape and we both still had soreness in our backs and butts for two days afterward from the boat ride and our knuckles were rubbed raw from holding onto the rope (we should have used the gloves the captain offered us!).

But it was SO worth it!! We even boated over a whole group of dolphins and you're seeing them way up close and personal in this zodiac rather than on a big high boat. It was so amazing!! The snorkeling is wonderful, the Na Pali Coast is

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Napali Coast Sightseeing & Snorkel Sail by Holo Holo Charters

Sail Away

Reviewed by: Reid Family, 2014/01/06

This tour had two main components. The first was the actual experience of sailing on the ocean. This was fantastic! Most of us loved the waves and wind, while a couple not so much. The crew were attentive and kind to our seasick companions. We listened to our competent crew tell stories, and share their knowledge. Lunch was outstanding. Fresh salads, make your own sandwich, and homemade cookies for dessert.
The second part is seeing the Na Pali shoreline, which we were unable to do so due to the great swells in the North. Despite this, it was still a neat experience to see the same areas on the South shore that we had visited by land. We were able to see whales.
Snorkeling was not the best I have done, but we did have a sea turtle swim under us. We had to stop in an area that was not the usual, due to the windy weather, and this may have been a factor.
Overall, this was a very good experience with a competent crew, enjoyable scenery and good food.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2013/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Na Pali Ultimate Expedition - Sea Caves, Snorkel & Beach Landing

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Lindsey M, 2012/06/04

I've only been on two Na Pali tours, but I wouldn't hesitate to say I'm sure Captain Andy's is the best. Guided by an expert, very friendly captain, Matt, with a wonderful crew, Scotty and trainee Courtney, we had a blast riding the waves, and yes, getting pretty wet on the way out. We were provided with standard wet bags, so no harm to the belongings. In the first 30 minutes, we saw spinner dolphins and a dozen sea turtles. Matt took us safely through several caves, followed by a beach landing with really fantastic hot lunch buffet (pulled pork, salads, fruit-more than I expected!) and a guided tour of ancient hawaiian ruins. Followed by some of the best snorkeling I've done in my dozen or so snorkeling trips, and a rare sighting of bottlenose dolphins. We couldn't have asked for more, and Matt and the crew were fantastic. Highly recommended! Don't go if you get easily seasick or don't like bumpy rides...it was rough...but that was part of the fun!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise (from Port Allen)

Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: George, 2017/05/23

My wife and I really enjoyed the sunset cruise up the Na Pali coast on Captain Andy's Southern Star. First rate ship, the best on the island, a 65 ft sailing catamaran. Capt. Claire was great at keeping us posted on what we were seeing along the coastline. The crew was very friendly and filled all requested very quickly. Spinner dolphins followed twice so they slowed down for us to get a good look. Also a late season whale surfaced near us. The Na Pali coastline is absolutely stunning. The meal, ribeye and shrimp, was very good. The bar doesn't open till you get up the coast, about 1 1/2 hr into cruise but when it does it was as free flowing as you wanted. We loved all of it. Be sure to take something for motion sickness if that is a problem for you. Thet accepted our Veltra voucher without any problems. Thanks to Veltra and especially to Captain Andys for making our dream vacation extra special.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Napali Coast Sightseeing & Snorkel Sail by Holo Holo Charters

Not to be missed experience in Kauai!

Reviewed by: Sherryl O'Connor, 2014/12/10

Today my husband and I went on the Holo Hola Napali Snorkel Sail tour. The tour exceeded our expectations in every way. The marina was easy to find and the check in process was pleasant and quick.. The boat was a beautiful 45 foot Catamaran; modern, spotless, white, with 2 big high efficiency motors for my comfort in open ocean! Our crew, Shaked and Max, and our Captain Kelly, were all so skilled, helpful, interesting, professional, and fun! We went snorkeling in a great spot and the water was warm! The trip down the coast was magnificent; scenery spectacular! We saw dolphins, turtles, lots of fish, and whales! We got to put the sails up for awhile and had two nice meals; good quality food, very nice people, and lots of room to move around on the boat. This trip was definitely a major highlight of our vacation on Kauai and this tour company is absolutely excellent! not to be missed!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for choosing Holo Holo Charters! We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful time and are more than happy to share our beautiful island scenery with all. Our customer are the best. Please feel free to leave a comment on TripAdvisor, Yelp and Facebook. Aloha and Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Voyage to Niihau & Na Pali Coast - Premier Snorkel Cruise by Holo Holo Charters

What a ride

Reviewed by: dearljade, 2011/09/15

We really enjoyed this cruise. The Na Pali coast is very beautiful. The breakfast and lunch was great. The snorkeling was fantastic. Getting to see a monk seal basking in the sun was really great. The ride home was the only part of the trip that was challenging. I recommend anyone taking this cruise to take a dramimine before departing. On the ride back the crew passed out plenty of buckets, people were getting sick because of the rough ride. It is not the fault of the crew, the seas are especially rough. The only warning we got ahead of time was that it is an "E" ticket ride on the way back. No one on the boat knew exactly what to expect. We were lucky enough not to be the ones who did get sick. Well worth the money and the views are breath taking. It is an experience we will never forget. The crew was very nice and helpful. Thanks y'all!!
Dearl and Jade from Dallas

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise (from Port Allen)

Awesome experience, awesome crew and delish dinner!

Reviewed by: Susie Q, 2018/04/02

We had Captain Sterling, Thomas and Greg for our crew. The Captain said our sailing day was in his top 4 in 20 years of making the voyage. We were able to make it quite a ways down the Northern coast with calm seas allowing us to get very close to shore. The crew ensured every person on board was comfortable and kept happy with drinks (non alcoholic and alcoholic, a wonderful meal and delightful dessert. It is a barefoot cruise and they collect your shoes on the dock before boarding. You are offered water and soft drinks from the start and alcoholic beverages about halfway through. The dinner is buffet style and self serve. We had prime rib, chicken, asparagus, rice, bread and butter. Many were enjoying seconds so we decided we’d better get some grub! It was delish. You can get wet depending on where you choose to sit and the weather. Highly recommend this cruise!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Voyage to Niihau & Na Pali Coast - Premier Snorkel Cruise by Holo Holo Charters

Beautiful scenery and a fun crew!

Reviewed by: Kari, 2019/01/08

We had a great time on this snorkel cruise! The Na Pali Coast is gorgeous and our crew made the experience that much better by being so friendly and accommodating. They were right there if you needed anything, ready to answer any questions you had and give background information on the island, and were even offering to take pictures for you. We were fortunate to get to see so much marine life from the boat--dolphins, whales, sea turtles, manta rays, and a baby octopus. The only downside is that we wish we could have snorkeled for a longer period of time (because we love it!). The ride back to Kauai from Niihau was definitely rough, but we took Dramamine beforehand and wore sea bands, which all seemed to help. The crew definitely lightened the mood with jokes and took efficient care of those unfortunate few who got sick. We would definitely recommend this excursion!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Napali Coast Sightseeing & Snorkel Sail by Holo Holo Charters

Beautiful scenery and Attentive crew--this tour is a must do!

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/04/06

This snorkel sail was by far the highlight of our vacation in Kauai. For years I've dreamed of sailing along the Na Pali coast and it was more beautiful than I ever imagined. The emerald cliffs were absolutely breathtaking. Other passengers spotted whales breaching the water nearby but I couldn't take my eyes of the coast. As we began our sail back to the harbor we were accompanied by a pod of dolphins who swam alongside and in front of our boat for several minutes; it was magical.
My fiance's favorite part of the cruise was the snorkeling. We had so much fun swimming in a secluded cove and spotting unique marine life.
I can't leave out the exceptional crew. As we sailed along the coast they pointed out historic sites, popular film locations, famous (and notorious) hikes, and told us about the local wildlife.
We'll relish in the memories of this tour forever!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Sunset Cruise with Dinner & Cocktails by Holo Holo Charters

Seasick but Impressed

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/10/07

I was one of the unlucky guests who experienced sea sickness. Looking back I think I could have avoided this unfortunate condition if I had consumed more water before and during the tour. I think a motion sickness medicine would have been good for me as well. I haven't had a lot of experience with boat tours, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I will next time. Even though I was sick during half of this tour I would still recommend it. The captain and crew were awesome! They were very attentive and provided a lot of information about the Na Pali coast, which is remote and beautiful. They went out of there way to make sure everyone had what they needed to have a great time. Actually, the next time I'm in Kauai I would try this tour again with the precautions I mentioned earlier. I would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Explorer Ocean Rafting Snorkel Tour (from Kikiaola Harbor)

Beautiful views of Na Pali Coastline

Reviewed by: Travel4fun Group, 2014/07/07

Great trip but do the morning excursion only. The ocean waves and winds can be brutal in the afternoon. We did the morning trip and the ocean waves were not too bad on the way to Na Pali. We saw dolphins and turtles along the way. The coastline is beautiful!!! The snorkeling spot was good but got better the further we got away from the shore. Lunch was very good with a chicken and rice dish. On our way back we went into a cave with the boat. This was very cool. The ride back to the harbor was brutal!!! Big waves and VERY bumpy!!!! If you get sea sick easily or have a bad back or neck then this is not the excursion for you. If you want a full experience of riding the waves then sit in the front. If you want a calmer ride, sit toward the back. Overall, this was a great excursion.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise (from Port Allen)

Wonderful birthday

Reviewed by: Sam, 2015/06/23

My wife and I went on this cruise for my birthday celebration and we both had a wonderful time. The coast was amazing and the steak dinner was excellent. I also loved riding the enormous waves at the bow of the ship (don't do this if you fear getting completely soaked) and watching the beautiful sunset. The experience was only somewhat marred by the fact that my wife got rather seasick towards the end of the trip. The seas can be very rough there. She said she nonetheless really enjoyed the trip however. The crew, especially Allison, were also very helpful in taking care of her. It is certainly highly recommended that if you think you may get seasick you should take precautions beforehand. My wife had no idea she would get sick but will be prepared next time.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise (from Port Allen)

Great Napali Cruise

Reviewed by: Many times visiting Kauai, 2012/06/06

Fantastic cruise on the Southern Star! Make sure to grab a good seat, once aboard. (Not enough seats for all.) Excellent cruise. Lots of great service - plenty to drink - HUGE steak with big prawns. Homemade coconut cream pie. Just the food and drink is worth the price. About 5 hours - sunset time. Went out and circled some whales. Staff was so fun and sincere - not cheesy.
Fantastic views/facts of the Napali Coast. We have sailed it on a private sailboat and thought the tour might be too touristy. Not bad at all. One puker on board - poor guy suffered the entire sail - the staff couldn't have been more caring. It was wonderful to see how kind they were to him. I would do it again. Such a value, I don't know how they are making money on this!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise (from Port Allen)

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: PeteR, 2012/09/15

From the time we left the dock to our return, Captain Tony, Tara, and Thomas provided a trip to remember. The boat was just the right size, the weather was almost perfect, and the scenery was amazing.
We motored out to the NaPali cost, hoisted sail at our turnaround point when dinner was served, and ended up motoring back at dusk to save time. We had drinks on the way out, a nice dinner at the turn around, and drinks on the way back, all included.
The coast line is spectacular, Captain Tony could maneuver close to the shore and the sights will never be forgotten. We saw Spinner Dolphin, Sea Turtles, and most of all that amazing coast. The spectacular sunset on the way back was the final wonderful experience.
Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations