(All Reviews) Hilo Town Attractions (Top Big Island Attractions), Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Hilo Town Attractions in Big Island

Overall Rating

4.69 4.69 / 5

Reviews

13 reviews

Hilo Tropical Wonders - Waterfall Swim & Cacao Farm Tour with Chocolate Tasting

Amazing waterfalls

Reviewed by: Mr.Anonymous, 2018/06/04

At the time of my tour, Hilo had been having rain for one straight month. As such, the waterfalls were massive.

We were lucky enough to have only scattered showers on the day of our tour, but the waters were still too rough to do any water sports. However, in my opinion, it was still worth it because of how spectacular the waterfalls were. We got to see Rainbow Falls from the opposite side of the normal overlook that most tourists go to.

In addition to getting exclusive overlooks of private waterfalls, you also get fresh fruits and nuts at each stop, including macadamias (complete with nut cracker), rambutan, and palm hearts. It was great!

The tour guide, Angela, seemed to have an encyclopedic knowledge of everything Big Island—flora and fauna, myths and legends, culture and history. I learned a lot on this tour, and it was awesome having a guide that was so passionate about the place. I recommend this tour even without going swimming at the waterfall, but with the water sports this is a must-do activity!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Tropical Wonders - Waterfall Swim & Cacao Farm Tour with Chocolate Tasting

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Robin, 2019/06/14

Swimming in a pool of water has been on my bucket for many years. It was amazing. Amanda (Our guide) did a fantastic job taking us to the different falls and telling us about them. They were private falls we would not have been able to see up close had we not taken the tour. She was very knowledgeable about plants and Hawaii. Was able to answer a variety of questions. Many unrelated to the falls. You can tell she enjoys living in Hawaii and sharing her wealth of information with those on her tour. Our group had a wonderful experience I would do this waterfall tour again

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Segway Off-Road Rain Forest Adventure at World Botanical Gardens

Segway Tour Needs Improvement

Reviewed by: Rick, 2014/09/06

For the cost, more than $200 for two of us, this Segway event was not worth it. You only spend a short time on the Segway, and are not permitted to enter the rain forest, which is where we really hoped to go. It also felt like the guide was trying to "fill" the advertised time duration of the trip by over-staying at a simple waterfall site, and riding around the botanical grounds, which we could have easily walked. I would not do this again. Sorry for the negative remarks, but it's how we felt.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Black Sand Beach Guided Snorkel Tour at Sea Turtle Lagoon

Snorkel and turtles everywhere!!!

Reviewed by: Travis, 2019/06/29

Chad and a guys name I can’t remember (lol, sorry guy but he was nice) met us at the general store and took us to the Blacksand beach. At first, my wife was very claustrophobic and was having trouble snorkeling but Chad worked with her and was very patient and before long she was swimming like a guppy! We had a wonderful time and saw a bunch of turtles! I recommend this tour. It was better than what the cruise ship offered for less money. We would definitely go again.

  • Some of the turtle we saw bathing in the sun.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Travis, Thank you for your 5 star review. I am thrilled you and your wife had a wonderful time. Richardson's is a beautiful beach park and and a favorite spot for the honu to gather and sunbathe. We invite you to join us again on one of our many exciting tours in Hilo!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Segway Off-Road Rain Forest Adventure at World Botanical Gardens

This was awesome!!!

Reviewed by: Amy, 2016/06/16

Dylan was fantastic as a guide on this excursion!! The ride on the Segways was a complete blast!! We were able to take the ride as a family (4 people). Dylan explained all the plants and the uses for medicinal ones as well as let us taste some of the ones that we would have never had knowledge of before. We would DEFINITELY do this again!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private VIP Hilo & Haumakua Coast Sightseeing Tours

Private Hilo 6 hour tour

Reviewed by: Amy Glaser, 2019/07/29

Excellent
Lee took us to many off the beaten track places as well as the more popular tourist ones. He was knowledgeable and so very pleasant. We had a ball!!! He was punctual and ended the day with a surprise visit to a chocolate factory!!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Tropical Wonders - Waterfall Swim & Cacao Farm Tour with Chocolate Tasting

WAterfall fruit tour

Reviewed by: Big Matt , 2019/05/17

The staff is great , waterfall was amazing truly the coolest thing to do on the island especially swimming and sitting under the waterfall beautiful house to eat lunch with a spectacular view this tour is a must do peace love

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo nui loa for your review, Matt!
We are glad you had a great time and hope to see you again!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Segway Off-Road Rain Forest Adventure at World Botanical Gardens

Review of Segway Botanical Garden Tour

Reviewed by: Richard Sol, 2014/12/11

Fantastic Tour. Our Guide was excellent, trained us well and the tour of the gardens went very well. She was very knowledgeable and informative. Looking forward to a return visit soon.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley Off-Road Explorer & Waterfalls Tour (Kona & Hilo Departures)

Waipio Valley Explorer, Hilo Botanical Garden & Waterfall Tour (from Kona) / Waipio Valley Review

Reviewed by: Loraine L. , 2018/06/06

This excursion was absolutely amazing. More than we expected. PJ was our tour guide and was incredibly knowledgeable. If you are on Big Island this tour is a MUST!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Tropical Wonders - Waterfall Swim & Cacao Farm Tour with Chocolate Tasting

Great view, great guide.

Reviewed by: Chris A, 2018/04/13

Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us great info. 10/10 would go again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Tropical Wonders - Waterfall Swim & Cacao Farm Tour with Chocolate Tasting

Waterfalls

Reviewed by: Lora johnson, 2017/07/31

Outstanding tour, Kent was a fabulous guide! Would do it again, even fun in the rain!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley Off-Road Explorer & Waterfalls Tour (Kona & Hilo Departures)

Waipio Valley Explorer

Reviewed by: Margaret Inglis, 2018/10/05

This tour took us through lush landscapes of greenery and visits to the waterfalls on Hilio side of Big Island. The drive down the Waipio Valley was interesting with a good knowledgeable guide of the Hawaiian culture of the people who settled in the valley as well as the vegetation. Our guide Rich was a great source of information about the area and its people.
We were very appreciative of the company, KapohoKine Adventures that they ran the tour on Monday for just the 2 of us. Our experience had not been a good one with a particular company who failed to advise us that the tour we had booked was cancelled. So for KapohpKine to run the tour for 2 people was generous and we thank them.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Whale Watch Cruise - Small Group Expedition

Whale watching: go to Maui

Reviewed by: Evialle, 2018/12/29

First of all, our guide was excellent and treated us very well. It was clear from the beginning we wouldn’t see any whales.
I would suggest not offering this tour in december, as there is almost zero whales in the Hilo area this time of the year.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Hawaiian Islands