(All Reviews) Kayaking (Watersports), Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

All Reviews for Kayaking in Big Island

Overall Rating

4.57 4.57 / 5

Reviews

231 reviews

Ocean Safari's Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkeling Adventure Kona [Open Now]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Jeffrey Frye, 2021/06/12

Our favorite activity on our trip! The guides were funny, patient, knowledgeable and personable!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ケアウホウ湾&クアモオ湾 海中洞窟(シーケーブ)探検!シーカヤック&シュノーケリングツアー<午前/英語ガイド/軽食付>byオーシャンサファリ・カヤック

シーカヤックでの船酔いには気を付けて

Reviewed by: スミス, 2021/06/09

ツアー内容自体は良いものでしたが、シーカヤックで船酔いをしてしまい、洞窟まで我慢し到着したのは良かったのですが、気持ちが悪くて一足先に引き返すことになりました。8-10組ペアのシーカヤックが参加していますが、4組ほど早帰りとなりました。船酔いする方は、出発前に酔い止めの薬を飲むことをお勧めします。ツアーガイドの2人の方は、面白くてとても良い方でした。携帯で写真を撮りたい方は、ストラップ付の防水のパウチに携帯を入れて持参することをお勧めします。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Keauhou Bay Ocean Kayak & Snorkel Tour [Open Now]

Kayaking delight

Reviewed by: Joe , 2021/05/20

Kevin was our guide for our two hour tour and he was great! He was very professional and made us feel at ease right away. We learned so much fun and had fun at the same time.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Flumin Kohala Kayak - Family Friendly Hawaiian Lazy River Tour [Open Soon]

Great way to spend an afternoon.

Reviewed by: Eric, 2021/02/24

Fun and informative way to spend the afternoon. Javin (sorry if the spelling is incorrect) our tour guide was great. He has a great sense of humor, knowledge of the tour and pride of his native state, we really enjoyed his company.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha!

Thank you for making Flumin' Kohala apart of your activity itinerary.We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.

On behalf of Javan and Flumin' Kohala we would like to give you a BIG MAHALO for your wonderful review.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Flumin Kohala Kayak - Family Friendly Hawaiian Lazy River Tour [Open Soon]

Gorgeous ride through the lush side of the island!

Reviewed by: Dannielle, 2021/01/23

We had an amazing time floating through such a beautiful area. Our tour guide Austin was very knowledgeable about the history of the caves, cane fields, as well as Hawaii’s history. So grateful for this beautiful experience. Would definitely recommend to anyone including children.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha!

Thank you for making Flumin' Kohala apart of your activity itinerary. We very pleased to hear you enjoyed learning the history of the Kohala Ditch system and the local history of North Kohala.

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and for sharing your time with us . On behalf of Austin and Flumin' Kohala we would like to give you a big MAHALO for your wonderful review.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2020/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ケアウホウ湾&クアモオ湾 海中洞窟(シーケーブ)探検!シーカヤック&シュノーケリングツアー<午前/英語ガイド/軽食付>byオーシャンサファリ・カヤック

日本人はいませんでしたが、楽しかったです

Reviewed by: MA3, 2020/02/21

似たようなツアーで日本語OKのものがあったのですが、値段が安かったのでこちらのツアーに参加しました。日本語ツアー組も途中すれ違ったので、似たようなコースを進んでいました。そちらの参加者は40~60代だったので高めの年齢層でした。

私たちのツアーは、私たち以外は欧米人だったので、英語でしゃべっていました。彼らは30代前後の友好的な人達だったので、私も楽しい雰囲気で楽しめました。
岩場から飛び降りたりしていたやんちゃな人もいたので、若い人ならこちらの英語のツアーの方が楽しめると思います。

日差しが強かったのですが、長袖のラッシュを着ていたので、ひどい日焼けはしなくて済みました。最初、スマホや貴重品を預けるのを躊躇したのですが、水没が心配だったので預けることにしました。案の定、カヤックで帰ってくるときに1回転覆してびしょびしょになったので、これから行く人は迷わず貴重品はカヤックに乗る前に預けた方が賢明です。

  • カラフルな色のボートが、私たちが使ったボートです。

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Flumin Kohala Kayak - Family Friendly Hawaiian Lazy River Tour [Open Soon]

Awesome Adventure

Reviewed by: E Davis, 2020/02/01

Great experience on the Big Island of Hawaii!! Our guide Vernon & Kalye made our experience one of a kind.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2020/01/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ケアウホウ湾&クアモオ湾 海中洞窟(シーケーブ)探検!シーカヤック&シュノーケリングツアー<午前/英語ガイド/軽食付>byオーシャンサファリ・カヤック

サムライの有吉シーカヤック体験談

Reviewed by: osugi, 2020/01/08

快晴のいい天気で気分も最高でした。
15艇ほどが参加しましたが1人漕ぎは当方1艘で行きは付いて行きましたが、帰りは少し疲れたので最後にゆっくり進んでいるとインストラクターがロープで連結して引っ張ってくれました、感謝です。
今回も結構海面はうねりが有りましたが、有吉のツアーで海が荒れて行けなかった洞窟にも入れて感激しました。
帰りに入江でシュノーケリング、あんなに水深の有るところでは始めてでこれも感激。
2班に別れての行動だったので一班目はこの入江で結構またされたかな?シュノーケリングが好きな人は長く出来たけど。
待ち時間にはジュースやお菓子をいただけました。
インストラクターが4~5人付いていたので沈した人も安全に復帰でき、浅瀬も誘導してくれて、年配にも安心して参加できます。
往復3マイル、片道1時間弱かな?
いい天気だったので快適な旅でした。

  • 溶岩洞窟への往路、いい天気で眺めが最高、右奥にマウナ・ロアの裾野も見えました。

  • これから写真右奥の洞窟に、少しうねりがあったが、有吉ツアーが入れなかった内部に無事進入出来て良かった。

  • シュノーケリングポイントに移動、写真は妻と娘の2人乗りカヤック

  • 入江で皆さんシュノーケリング中、陸に近いが珊瑚礁でポイントは結構水深有り、ただし直ぐに波打ち際に行けて、そこでは魚が多数泳いでいた。待ち時間にジュース、スナックを。

  • ケヤウホウ湾に集合して用意されたカヤックに乗挺、湾は波穏やかで風光明媚、クルーズ船の発着ピアーも有り。

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2020/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Keauhou Bay Ocean Kayak & Snorkel Tour [Open Now]

Kayaking, caves, cliff jumping and snorkeling. What more could you want?!

Reviewed by: Mandyl11, 2019/12/22

Such a great tour to end our vacation. Kevin was great. Super friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and a lot of fun. He took us to check out some sea caves, cliff jumping and great spots for snorkeling. Super relaxed adventure. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ケアウホウ湾&クアモオ湾 海中洞窟(シーケーブ)探検!シーカヤック&シュノーケリングツアー<午前/英語ガイド/軽食付>byオーシャンサファリ・カヤック

シーカヤック&シュノーケリング

Reviewed by: かっちやん, 2019/12/14

カヤックのパドリングが、疲れましたが、曳航していただき助かりました
洞窟探検等が無かったので、やってほしかったです!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ケアウホウ湾&クアモオ湾 海中洞窟(シーケーブ)探検!シーカヤック&シュノーケリングツアー<午前/英語ガイド/軽食付>byオーシャンサファリ・カヤック

シーカヤック楽しかった‼️

Reviewed by: しげお, 2019/12/05

インストラクターのチームがとてもフレンドリーでアクティビティを楽しむことが出来ました。
波が高くて洞窟内には入れなかったのが残念ですが、また機会があれば挑戦したいです。

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Flumin Kohala Kayak - Family Friendly Hawaiian Lazy River Tour [Open Soon]

Relaxing fun.

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2019/11/23

What a different and relaxing way to spend a few hours. Easy on the body and mind, informative and fun. We had knowledgeable, local and very happy guides, great to hear about their lives and what they enjoy about life. It was peaceful floating along the ditches and learning about how and why they were created. All in all a great experience for adults and children.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ocean Safari's Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkeling Adventure Kona [Open Now]

Beautiful Adventurous Morning

Reviewed by: Heidi, 2019/11/16

My family and I had a great morning! We kayaked, snorkeled, and cliff jumped! The guides were super encouraging, fun and knowledgeable. I only wish I had a water proof case for my phone because now I have no pictures of our awesome time! (They sell cases at the ABC stores)

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Flumin Kohala Kayak - Family Friendly Hawaiian Lazy River Tour [Open Soon]

A good time, but overpriced.

Reviewed by: ABR, 2019/11/13

The whole experience was fun. We had a very sweet tour guide who seemed to be very knowledgable about the canal, the history, and the area in general. The actual tour was informative, interesting, and fun. If you're interested in just floating down the canal and observing, then this is a good tour for you. Please note: you will be sitting in a cross-legged or legs out position for quite a while, so you need to be able to do that.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Flumin Kohala Kayak - Family Friendly Hawaiian Lazy River Tour [Open Soon]

Fantastic Lazy River with Awesome Tour Guides

Reviewed by: J. Snyder , 2019/11/05

Definitely a trip worth taking. The team at Flumin' Kohala made this experience top notch. Austin, Ikaika & Mana were very entertaining, funny, but most importantly, completely professional and knowledgeable. True ambassadors to their town and Hawaii in general, there wasn't a single question asked on this tour that they could not answer. The history of these irrigation canals was truly fascinating and I would encourage everyone to book early and not miss out on this fantastic lazy river experience.

  • Ikaika rockin' the shaka !!! Good dude, hella smart! Well done brudha!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Flumin Kohala Kayak - Family Friendly Hawaiian Lazy River Tour [Open Soon]

Awesome day flumin!!

Reviewed by: Alicia , 2019/11/03

My husband and I went on this flumin trip and it was such a perfect day. The weather was beautiful, as expected, and the flumin was so relaxing. Our guide Vern was hilarious and had us all laughing the whole time. His Dad jokes were on point!! He was not only funny he gave us a lot of great information on the history of the flume and the surrounding towns. We loved this activity and would definitely recommend it for all ages.

  • I got cropped out.....still a good shot of my hubs.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Flumin Kohala Kayak - Family Friendly Hawaiian Lazy River Tour [Open Soon]

We had great experience.

Reviewed by: Akira, 2019/10/28

Flumin kohala kayak
This was my first experience.
I knew this adventure on TV in Japan past year.
I enjoyed this with wife,my daughter & my grandson. He is 8 years old . The kayak ran through the waterway tunnels . There are 10 tunnels.
We are thankful to the guide Austin . He took care of us. He took the guava fruit for us and caught the crayfish.
The day was sun shine in Waikoloa ,but the north area was cloudy,sunny & rainy. We experienced all situation at one time.
We recommend you to ware swimming pant. We want to try it again. It is worth to experience again. Additionally we learned the history of this waterway.
Thank you, Austin & staffs.
Oct.27,2019

  • Clean water

  • In Tunnel

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ケアウホウ湾&クアモオ湾 海中洞窟(シーケーブ)探検!シーカヤック&シュノーケリングツアー<午前/英語ガイド/軽食付>byオーシャンサファリ・カヤック

カヤック初体験

Reviewed by: コウキ, 2019/10/26

還暦手前の夫婦での初体験でした。
すべてが英語の案内でどうなることかと思いましたが、他の参加者に英語力のある日本人に通訳していただき大変助かりました。結構な距離を岸壁沿いにこいでいきました。途中で野生のイルカ達と遭遇 ラッキーでした。目の前にわんさかウジャウジャって感じでビックリ。折り返し地点で上陸して、シュノーケリング。黄色い魚がきれいでした。雲丹もいっぱいいました。波がややあったのでスリルありのカヤックでしたが、穏やかな時はのんびりと楽しめそうです。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Flumin Kohala Kayak - Family Friendly Hawaiian Lazy River Tour [Open Soon]

Definitely worth going to as a local or tourist!

Reviewed by: Leslie, 2019/10/20

Everything was great from start to finish. Booking online was really easy with no issues. And once we got there it was real fast during check in.

The weather was perfect and Josh our guide was really funny and informative which was nice. He picked some delicious fruit for us to eat while on the kayak. While going through the flumes Josh told us the history of the flumes, the wild life surrounding us, and some life stories of Hawaii. This is a must tour when you visit the big island.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ケアウホウ湾&クアモオ湾 海中洞窟(シーケーブ)探検!シーカヤック&シュノーケリングツアー<午前/英語ガイド/軽食付>byオーシャンサファリ・カヤック

カヤックも十分漕げて、シュノーケリングも楽しく、満喫しました。

Reviewed by: リリー, 2019/09/12

英語でのガイドとのことで少し不安に思っていましたが、
カヤックの漕ぎ方から乗り降りの仕方まで、実践して見せてくれましたし、
身振り手振りでコミュニケーションを図ってもらいましたので、
特に、英語を使う場面はほとんどありませんでした。
集合場所の港から、そのままカヤックを1時間ぐらい漕いで、
シュノーケルポイントについたら軽食(クラッカーなど)後、
シュノーケルを40分程楽しんだのち、またカヤックを漕いで
港まで帰るというコースでしたが、十分、楽しめました。
その他としては集合場所がわからずに苦労しましたが、結局は、
公衆トイレの前の港(カヤックを下ろすところ)でした。

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Keauhou Bay Ocean Kayak & Snorkel Tour [Open Now]

Kayaking and snorkeling in Kona

Reviewed by: Mbowma, 2019/08/20

Wonderful time. Had Kevin and Andre as our guides. They were wonderful and knowledgeable about the area. We were in very good hands. I didn’t listen and left my Apple Watch on when cliff jumping and sure enough it came off. I was sad but it was really my own fault. Kevin took pity on me and was able to find it!! Absolutely above and beyond what I would have expected. Great excursion, lots of fish, fun facts. We felt safe and well looked after the whole time. 10/10 would recommend.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ケアウホウ湾&クアモオ湾 海中洞窟(シーケーブ)探検!シーカヤック&シュノーケリングツアー<午前/英語ガイド/軽食付>byオーシャンサファリ・カヤック

楽しかったけど・・・

Reviewed by: アッシー, 2019/08/13

想像以上に本格的なシーカヤックで当日は波も大きく、家内や中学生男子には少し辛い体験でしたが、個人的にはハワイ島の自然を漫喫出来て楽しいツアーでした。あと、全身日焼け注意。

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ocean Safari's Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkeling Adventure Kona [Open Now]

Excellent time for the whole family

Reviewed by: Becky , 2019/07/26

My husband and I and our two kids did the kayak tour and it was a lot of fun. It was a workout but the tour guides were very helpful and friendly. My kids are 15 and 9 and they both handled it well. We would recommend and probably do it again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2019/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ocean Safari's Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkeling Adventure Kona [Open Now]

Fantastic Adventure

Reviewed by: Ernie, 2019/07/22

Our party of 7 had an absolutely fantastic adventure on our sea cave kayak and snorkeling trip. Devon, our guide, was really knowledgeable and very fun to be with. He was very helpful and made everyone feel very comfortable and at ease.

We had a great time kayaking (about 30 minutes out and 30 minutes back), swimming, snorkeling, and even jumping off of a cliff. The visit to the sea cave was also very neat.

We feel like we had 4 different excursions between the kayaking, cliff jumping, snorkeling and swimming, and the sea cave.

We would highly recommend this trip. It turned out to be one of the highlights of our 10 days in Kona.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ocean Safari's Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkeling Adventure Kona [Open Now]

Amazing trip

Reviewed by: The Fesagaiga’s , 2019/07/18

That was such an amazing trip! Devon was awesome! We got to jump off a cliff, try a fresh Opihi, get some information about the island! Snorkel, and bond with our family. It really is beautiful and an amazing time. You get to see so much history of the island and it’s amazing! Our family highly recommends this!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ocean Safari's Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkeling Adventure Kona [Open Now]

Most memorable to date!

Reviewed by: Adventuress, 2019/06/28

My boys enjoyed the snorkeling, cliff diving, and the caves.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2019/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ocean Safari's Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkeling Adventure Kona [Open Now]

great experience booking the adventure and then actually going to it.

Reviewed by: Kushal, 2019/05/28

Its a great experience to go out in the Pacific. We were on a 2 people Kayak and made our way through the ocean while checking out Lava Tube caves, snorkeling and cliff jumping (30 ft).

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ocean Safari's Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkeling Adventure Kona [Open Now]

Depends on skill level

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2019/05/25

We did not have the best experience, but I think it's based more on our skill level than the tour itself. If you're not in good shape (physically fit) it can be difficult. Make sure you use sunscreen ahead of time. The instructions when we signed up said that you would be provided reef safe sunscreen, however, that was not offered. The rocks are difficult to climb up on and if you don't have proper foot wear you can be easily injured. I think the tour is probably great for more "fit" people... We don't know because we left halfway through. I would stress that there is risk involved in this activity and life jackets are provided but not mandatory (in my opinion should be mandatory).

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ケアウホウ湾&クアモオ湾 海中洞窟(シーケーブ)探検!シーカヤック&シュノーケリングツアー<午前/英語ガイド/軽食付>byオーシャンサファリ・カヤック

お天気に恵まれ、波も穏やか!

Reviewed by: AKG, 2019/05/17

有吉の夏休み、という番組でも紹介されたマリンアクティビティ。まさに、その時番組に出てた男前ガイドさんがサポートしてくれました。
私が参加した日は2組の参加、ナイスガイのガイドさん、日本人男性2名、外国人女性2名の合計5名のツアーでした。
午前9時に現地集合。ケアウホウ湾のビーチにオフィスがあるわけではなく、ピックアップトラックとトレーラーにカヤックを載せて運んでくるスタイル。だいたいの場所を目指して行き、わからなければ他のアクティビティツアー会社の事務所があるので、バウチャーを見せて聞けば親切に案内していただけました。
番組では、波が高く洞窟には入れなかったようですが、私の参加した日は問題なくすべて体験できました。相当な高さのクリフからもダイブすることが出来、アクティビティのやった感は半端ないです。
ツアー終了後にランチに誘われましたが、午後からの予定を別に組んでいたためお断りしましたが、行っても楽しめただろうな~。
シュノーケリングから岩場に上がる際、波の引き戻しで溶岩の岩場で擦り傷切り傷を負うことがあり、実際に同行者が指と足を少しだけ切りました。マリンシューズだけでなくマリングローブの持参がお勧めです。

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ocean Safari's Keauhou Bay Sea Cave Kayak & Snorkeling Adventure Kona [Open Now]

Kayaking adventure for sure!

Reviewed by: Laurie, 2019/05/03

Overall, a beautiful adventure on the ocean. A few comments:

1 - waiting area prior to launching kayaks is full of mosquitoes and my children received many bites
2 - if you are not with a partner and have to go in a single kayak vs. tandem, know this is extra work as simply you don't have 4 arms paddling :-)
3 - the resting spot before heading back to the boat dock requires you to "climb" up a volcanic rock to have your snack/water - make sure you have proper water/outdoor shoes on as you will need that traction to climb up and then walk amongst the rocks; this applies to attire as well as my girls had bikini bottoms on and it was difficult to sit on the rocks with just their bikini bottoms and no towels etc (we did not know we would be stopping at that rock nor climbing up it so hence did not bring anything)
4 - this adventure is going up and back from the boat dock vs. being picked up after a one way paddle

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations