This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Mauna Kea Summit Adventures in Big Island

Overall Rating

4.86 4.86 / 5

Reviews

134 reviews

マウナケア山頂 サンセット&星空観測ツアー<午後/英語ガイド/天体望遠鏡/夕食付> by ハワイフォレスト&トレイル

素晴らしかった☆

Reviewed by: anyo, 2011/09/28

2011年9月24日に夫婦2人で参加しました。他の日本語ツアーが満席だったのでこの英語ガイドツアーにしましたが、小さい頃から英語圏で育った主人には、逆にこちらの外人向けツアーの方が自由がきいて楽しかったようです。

マウナケア山頂から眺める夕日は、この世のものとは思えないほど綺麗で優雅でした。雲海が眼下に広がり、桃色にそまる光景は、なかなか日本では見れない特別な景色でした。山頂はやはり4000m級の山なので、息苦しい感じがしましたが、高山病にはなりませんでした。
夕日のあと、visitor centerまで降りて、星空観察しましたが、とてつもないほどの星の数が見れました。あまりの星数に、夫婦で圧倒されてしまいました。本当に感動的でしたし、季節的にも天の川も見れて良かったです。

安くはないツアーですが、初めてのハワイ島旅行なら、このマウナケア山頂&星空観察ツアーだけは行ったほうが良いと思います。

肝心の英語ガイドですが、とてもよく説明してくれましたし、望遠鏡でさまざまな星を見せてくれました。他の日本語ガイドツアーより長く星空観察してくれて、結局私達のツアーが最後までvisitor centerに居ました。

この英語ツアーに参加する場合は、やはり英語がまったくできないと楽しさも半減してしまうかも知れません。私も6~7割くらい理解できましたが、やはり外人向けなので、星の詳しい内容など分からない専門用語もチラホラ(苦笑)主人が通訳してくれたので助かりましたが。
ガイドのJoeさんは、日本人にも心配りで声を掛けてくれてましたし、英語に多少なじみのある方ならトライしてみても良いかと思います。

防寒対策はしっかりした方がいいです。私達は日本からダウンジャケットや登山用ズボンを持っていき、さらにズボンの下に履くスノーボード用のレイヤーパンツを持っていきました。それでも、私は、ツアー会社から借りたジャケットを重ね着したくらいです。(星空ツアーの時が、日が沈み底冷えするので寒かったです)

このツアーはホテルピックアップ付きではなかったので、集合はツアー会社まで行くのが少々面倒でした。

総合的にみて、とても良いツアーに参加できたと思います。
また行ってみたいです。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

マウナケア山頂 サンセット&星空観測ツアー<午後/英語ガイド/天体望遠鏡/夕食付> by ハワイフォレスト&トレイル

真っ赤な夕日と無数の星に感動!

Reviewed by: 匿名希望, 2011/09/23

旅行の10日ほど前に予約をしようといくつか問い合わせをしましたが、日本語のツアーが全ていっぱいだったためこちらに参加しました。
英語が全く分からない方にとってはあまりオススメはできませんが、説明が英語でも問題ない方は是非こちらに参加してみてください。
2時ごろ集合場所に車で行き、そこからガイドさんの車で移動。参加人数は1グループにつき10人ほど。
2時間ほどサドル・ロードをひたすら走り、マウナ・ケアの麓で夕食がてら高山病予防のため休憩。日本語のツアーはお弁当が出るそうですが、このツアーはコーン・ブレッドとビーフか野菜のスープ(少し物足りないですが美味しいです)。1時間ほど休憩して、また一気に車であがります。
頂上には太陽が沈む直前につき、30分くらい景色を眺める時間があります。体感温度は0度以下です・・・かなり寒いですが、ちゃんと冬用のジャケットと手袋を貸してくれるので大丈夫です。
夕日のあとは少し山を下って星を見ます。裸眼でもかなりキレイに見えますが、望遠鏡も使いながら星座の説明を詳しくしてくれます。1時間半近く外で立っているのでかなり寒いです。ホットココアとクッキーも出ますが、寒さに弱い人は帽子とホッカイロを持参することをオススメします。

燃えるような夕日と無数の星、流れ星もたくさん見えるこのツアーは日本では決して体験できないので絶対オススメです!高山病になりやすい方や乗り物酔いをする方は予め薬を飲んでから参加してください。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Stargazing & Sunset Adventure with Picnic Dinner

What an amazing experience!!

Reviewed by: Karen from MO, 2017/09/24

This trip was the highlight of our trip to the Big Island. We had a great time and enjoyed the experience immensely. I was a little disappointed when they called me that morning and told us the road to the summit was closed and we might not be able to go to the top. Since we were on a limited time schedule we decided to go anyway. Nate was our guide and picked us up in Kona. On the ride to Mauna Kea, he explained about the different kinds of lava flows and some of the myths about Pele. When we got to the sheep station, Nate set up our meal for us and explained about life as a sheep rancher on the island. He promised that if we didn't get to go to the summit, he would make sure we at least saw the sunset from another spot. Supper was very good and it was fun getting to know the other tourists with us. After we ate, we got the good news that the road had opened and we were able to go to the top. What a gorgeous sight!! We saw the sun set on one side and turned around and saw the full moon coming up on the other. After watching the sunset, we went back down to visitor center and did some stargazing. Nate was very knowledgeable about the constellations. We were able to see the rings around Saturn and other constellations that night. The hot chocolate and warm brownies tasted good after being up on the summit where it was pretty chilly! I would definitely recommend this adventure for anyone visiting the Big Island, If we are fortunate enough to return, we will be doing this again!! Thank you Nate for a great evening.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Tour - Stargazing and Sunrise with Nature Guide

First time close to the doors to haven:)

Reviewed by: Darko, 2018/09/12

I recommend this Sunrise tours especially to people who never conquers mountain peak higher then 3000 m.
Of course, I recommend it to everyone else, but for those who are for the first time on a higher elevation this is simply the must.

The flow of emotions I felt when I reached the peak was so overwhelming that I couldn't stop the tears.
It's almost impossible to express the feeling of inner fulfillment when you stand on the top of a high mountain watching the sunrise!

The Veltra crew did outstanding planning by set of small stops so our body can adapt to over 4000 m attitude.
First we stopped at 2000 to adapt to coldness of night and change in altitude. (They distributed parkas to all of us at that time)
Then we stopped at around 3000 m for unforgettable stargazing experience.
I saw shapes of Milky way, before but this was on completely different level.
I think the altitude of 3000 m makes substantial difference. There you don't have any light pollution but also the air is already thin enough to give you unforgettable experience of pure connection with the universe.

Then finally, just when you think that it can not get better then this, on the brink of dawn, we reached the summit and saw and felt unforgettable sunrise that will, at least in my case, stay forever in my memories.

I would like to use this opportunity to thank Veltra team and especially to our guide Stefan for allowing me to experience this unforgettable sunrise.

Sincerely.

  • Sunrise

  • Just we and the stars

  • Observatory

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you very much for joining our sunrise tour and giving us your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the sunrise and stargazing.
Because we are a Japanese tour company, it was our challenge to combine customers who speak different language.
We are very careful about the altitude accommodation of our customers.
Sunrise from the summit and the sky filled with the stars at Mauna Kea is outstanding.
I will tell Stefan about your review and he would be happy.
Thank you for choosing our tour.
We're looking forward to seeing you on Big Island again!

NatureSchool
Sumire

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

This Was The Highlight of Our Hawaii Trip

Reviewed by: Sop, 2018/01/09

Our guides were Arthur and Justin. Both are funny and knowledgeable. This tour surprised us in so many ways. It is crazy that you can go from beach weather to freezing winds in a matter of hours. The parkas definitely help. I would recommend some layers of clothes, jeans, and good shoes. Bring a scarf or beanie. For those who live in the country, you do not realize how fortunate you are to not have light pollution. The stars that we saw were amazing. Your eyes adjust and focus so well on all the bright twinkles because there's no surrounding light. It's hard to explain but you feel like a child who's just seen something new and cool. Light pollution is real. On a good night in the city, I can probably see maybe 10 stars. Here, the volume is overwhelming. The location of Hawaii lets you see a lot more. Not only do you see the stars, but you can see distant galaxies as well our own milky way. Primitive, primal, natural are some other ways to describe experience.

The sunset on Mauna Kea was also a fantastic experience. Arthur and Justin are safe and excellent drivers. You see rental cars driving up the volcano on unpaved roads when they shouldn't. It's better to have the experts take you to the summit.

We attended this tour January 3, 2018. This gave us the rare opportunity to see the wolf moon and all the stars. I never knew how much light the moon provided at night.

I would do this again and recommend it to anybody who visits the Big Island.

  • moon through the telescope

  • sunset

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Stargazing & Sunset Adventure with Picnic Dinner

Very few places could match this experience

Reviewed by: Darra, 2018/07/29

Very few places could match this experience. The location; the slow climb up the giant sloping mountain. We went through rain, sun, even through a cloud; through the lava landscape, ranch lands and very bumpy rocky last stretch of road to reach the top! And wow it was a view from the top.
Be warned; it is very very cold; not what you expect from your Hawaiian break! You get nice warm coats from the tour group though (and later a little hot cocoa and brownie to keep you going!)
As the sun sets; you can see the mountains shadow on the other side; a glimpse of Maui and the glint of the sun off the telescopes preparing for their nights work. You can see the odd bit of movement as they open up. As soon as the suns down; its all go though. We have to leave the area quickly as the lights from the cars interfere with the telescopes (so no, there is no looking around inside them; if that is what you're hoping for in this trip!).
We move down slope a little to a good spot to see the huge expanse of clear, cloudless sky and the abundance of stars.
It is slightly interrupted with the brightness of the moon (so depending how long your stay is in Hawaii, plan for a darker night, unless you love the moon!); but not enough to stop us seeing nebula, planets and stars - its a really interesting spot to see both the northern and southern skies.
We did also spot a bit of the glow from the erupting volcano

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

マウナケア山頂 サンセット&星空観測ツアー<午後/英語ガイド/天体望遠鏡/夕食付> by ハワイフォレスト&トレイル

日本語ツアーとは違った体験ができました

Reviewed by: 匿名希望, 2012/11/23

 日本語ツアーが満席だったので家族でこちらに参加しました。
 ツアーガイドさんは容赦ないスピードの英語でしたので詳しい説明は理解できませんでしたが、雲海の上の夕日と期待以上の満天の星空をみることができたのでとても満足しました。
 他の参加者はアメリカ本土の中年の方が多く、みなさんとても社交的でいろいろ話ができて、そういった意味でもおもしろい体験ができました。
 途中の山小屋のようなところでの食事は事前に選択肢がありましたが、結果的にみなチキンを食べていたと思います。
 山の上では、少し具合が悪くなった方がいましたが、酸素ボンベが準備してあったので途中から復活していました。車での移動だけなので運動量はまったくなかったです。
 天体観測のときは、じっくり説明をしてもらえるので理解できないこともあり寒さが身にしみました。できる限りの防寒具を用意していったほうがよいです。
 事前に星の勉強をしていけばもっとよかったかもしれません。あんなにたくさんのはっきりとした星を見たのは初めてです。
 
 

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Tour - Stargazing and Sunrise with Nature Guide

Once-in-a-life kind of experience

Reviewed by: Shin Taniguchi, 2018/10/01

Many people say sunset is better than sunrise, but sunrise is great, too.
Even though we were on the tour about two days before the full-moon (meaning moonlight is very bright and moon doesn't set until about 5 in the morning), we could enjoy the gorgeous stars in the sky with decent explanation of the stars.
Sunrise was also gorgeous. It was no doubt one of the most beautiful scenaries I have ever seen in my life. Although we were lucky enough to see both stars and sunrise in good weather and it is said that we mostly see clear sky at the peak of Mauna Kea, you may have to keep in mind weather is always a variable you can never tell.

Our guides were good, with a lot of experience and knowledge, trying to do their best to make the tour enjoyable.

If you are okay to go to bed early on the day before and can wake up at 1:30 in the morning, it will let you spend your time more wisely because you have a whole day even after you come back from the tour. (we came back to the hotel around 8:30 am)

Also be noted that the temperature up there is very low. Especially because the weater in Hawaii is hot and you need to face the near-freezing-point weather on the same day, make sure to prepare warm clothes yourself. The ski jackets and pants they lend you will not be enough.

  • Sunrise you can expect

Comments from activity operators

Aloha, this is Sumire from NatureSchool.

Thank you for joining our tour and giving us your feedback.
I 'm glad to hear that you could enjoy the stars and sunrise with the clear sky.
As you said, it's very hard to expect the weather on the summit.
Even though the weather is not good, we try our best to make the customers enjoy the tour.
Our tour guides have much knowledge and many skills.
We would love to do more English tours in the future.
We are looking forward to seeing you again on Bigisland.
Thank you for joining our tour again!

NatureSchool
Sumire

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

マウナケア山頂 サンセット&星空観測ツアー<午後/英語ガイド/天体望遠鏡/夕食付> by ハワイフォレスト&トレイル

沢山の星と素晴らしいサンセットを見ることができました。

Reviewed by: mpb, 2018/05/19

とにかくガイドのヘラルドがフレンドリーで、車の長い道のりもグループを盛り上げてくれました。ハワイのローカル情報もたくさん教えてくれました。英語が分かる方なら日本語ツアーより参加しやすいと思います。
当日はコナの天気は良かったもののマウナケアに近づくほど雨で、山頂の天気を心配しましたが、山頂に着くとそこは雲の上で心配無用でした。
マウナケアの山頂は本当に寒かったです。ライトダウンを着て4枚も着込んだ上に貸してくれる大きなダウンを着ても寒かったです。
あれだけ注意事項に上着必須、長ズボンと書いてあっても用意していない人もいて、かなり寒かったらしくバスの中でほとんどを過ごすこととなり、見ていて残念でした。(そのため、防寒具必須です)
ほかの団体ツアーと一緒になる部分もあり、説明が聞き取れなかったり、星を見るには厳禁の車のライトやホワイトライトが行き交うことも多かったですが、流れ星を何度も見ることができ、感動的でした!お勧めです。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

マウナケア山頂 サンセット&星空観測ツアー<午後/英語ガイド/天体望遠鏡/夕食付> by ハワイフォレスト&トレイル

こんなに素敵な体験は...

Reviewed by: クリスピー, 2017/09/27

以前からテレビで見て気になっていたマウナケア山頂でのサンセット!さらに天体観測もさせてもらえて最高の1日でした!
新婚旅行で夫婦で参加しました。
当初、日本語ガイドのツアーを申し込もうと思っていたところ、既に一杯だったためこちらのツアーに申し込みました。
英語がほぼ出来ないため、多少心配していましたが、ツアーの最中はほぼ100%英語だったにもかかわらず、ツアーガイドさんのお気遣いと、偶然一緒に参加した日本人の家族の方のおかげで、とても楽しむ事ができました!
他の日本語ガイドのツアーの方々もいらっしゃって様子を拝見致しましたが、ツアーの内容や質、お客様への配慮やとても自由な感じでの進行など、このツアーに参加出来てよかったと改めて感じています。
天体観測中のホットチョコレートとブラウニー、あのおいしさはわすれられません。
本当に最高のツアーでした!ありがとうございました!

  • 最高の景色!まさしく絶景でした!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

Excellent Experience

Reviewed by: Sylvia, 2009/12/06

The tour was excellent and the guide had a lot of passion for what he does, so it was kind of contagious. He told us a lot of interesting stories making the trip very entertain. Dinner was very good and they provide us with coats and globes which we really needed. Then we had a second stop to explain to us about the telescopes and what is being measured. Finally we arrived at the top. I must admit I got very sick, but the guide had warned us that it could happen and recommended to sit on the floor. That is exactly what I did. I didn’t like the feeling at all, but I saw the most beautiful sunset that I have ever seen so it was worth the bad 5 minutes feeling LOL but I wouldn’t recommend it to people with heart problems. After the breath taking view we went down and watch the starts through a telescope. The guide explained a lot of things I didn’t know. I am not very knowledgeable about astronomy but I really learned a lot and enjoy the time. I will definitely recommend it as a must see

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

great experience

Reviewed by: Peter Long, 2016/04/20

We went to the top, little lightheaded but no big deal. The stop at the lower altitude helps. Dinner was fun, just like going out camping, no frills, you get your portion and you eat it. Lasagna was actually very tasty, not overcooked, then back into the van( very comfortable), and up we go.

The summit was surreal, enveloped in the mist and clouds with large telescopes all around. We did not see the sunset because of the clouds. But it was still a great experience. We also had bad luck with star watching despite our driver's best efforts. At the end we were told that we will get a full refund minus our food ( $19). That was what convince me that the company stood behind its word. I plan to take the same trip as soon as I get back, and I will. I believe that given all the variables every trip is unique and worth taking. It was a great experience, we felt well taken care of and completely safe. Good job Veltra and our guide and driver Greg. Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Stargazing & Sunset Adventure with Picnic Dinner

Cool Views from the Top of the World!

Reviewed by: Ned from New Jersey, 2018/07/28

Our guide Jeff picked us up from the Pu'u Huluhulu Cinder Cone parking lot, at the base of the road up to the summit. We had a very nice pre-packaged dinner at the base camp, then rode up to the visitor center and onward to the observatories. A bumpy and steep ride, I was very happy to have an experienced driver at the wheel!
At the top the weather was cool and clear and good for viewing a sunset, then we went down to a slightly lower lot to view stars and planets through a good quality Celestron scope.... the clear air and high altitude really added detail! First time I have been able to make out the rings of Saturn, and four of Jupiter's moons were posing really well for us! Some really excellent deep space views too! Check out a cool image of the moon from the Celestron scope....

Highly recommended, especially if you live somewhere with so much haze and light pollution you don't get to see that stars that well!
Mahalo!!

  • A nearly full moon over Mauna Kea 27July2018

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Stargazing & Sunset Adventure with Picnic Dinner

Out of this galaxy experience

Reviewed by: Gabe , 2019/03/03

First off, big thanks to Jeff for being an entertaining and super knowledgeable guide. Great customer service as well. They called us early on in the morning to let us know, to our dismay, that we wouldn’t be able to get up to the summit for our particular trip (due to many weather related circumstances that were out of their control). It was a huge bummer, but like I said, still 100% worth it to attend the abbreviated version of this excursion. I’m more of a street smarts kinda guy if you know what I mean, Jeff made everything so easy to understand and so interesting to everyone attending the trip. He was able to answer every single question we had. I swear the guys a living encyclopedia. Long story short there should be no hesitation on your part to take this once in a lifetime trip. Set aside the funds you need to experience this NO. MATTER. WHAT.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

Absolutely Must Do

Reviewed by: SnowMan, 2008/06/14

This is the most amazing / moving / breathtaking / spectacular tour I've ever taken in my life... Growing up in a city, I've never seen a night sky like that before... i thought i was seeing a cloud, but turned out to be the Milky Way... there were literally millions of stars in the sky... made me feel that we are a part of this vast galaxy...

the drive to Mauna Kea was fun... Pat, the guide, even stopped our vehicle to see the owl by the road... I even got to see the state bird, Nene, at the Onizuka Space Center...

Mauna Kea is such a spritual place, and I will never forget the sunset.. Oh, you have to take a tour to go up to the summit since you need a permit... it's not like Haleakala on Maui where everyone can go..

Do this tour if you are going to be in the Big Island... I recommend everyone to do this tour... Just amazing!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waterfalls, Lava Cave & Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour with Astro-Photographer Guide

Indeed an epic tour! Must do

Reviewed by: Pavan, 2018/11/16

Me and my wife went on this wonderful package tour, we were in for a lot of surprises!! James picked us up at our resort and we joined a group of 4 people who were ready to embark on a night full of adventure. We drove over the saddle road between Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa, Rainbow falls outlook, Japanese garden in Hilo city and had dinner at wikifresh (chipotle style food) which had plenty of options for vegetarians too. Adventure started right after dinner, as we headed towards lava tube cave (Kaumana Caves), followed by Mouna loa for stargazing “in-the-middle-of-nowhere”. It was the best stargazing experience ever, coupled with awesome photography skills by James which made it memorable. He shot amazing photos with milky way in the back drop. I would definitely recommend this tour as it’s the best..

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

Stellar!

Reviewed by: Ultrasonics21, 2014/04/21

It was a very educational tour with a breathtaking view. I just expected astronomy but the tour guide knew a great deal about volcanos, geology and island plant and animal life as well. The guide was awesome and I love taking tours with someone as trained and passionate about his work as this guy was. The food was so-so but it was hot and ready. The bus was cramped but it got us there and had big windows for great viewing. Once at the top, the observatories were incredible to look at as they opened up for evening viewing. The view of the sunset was also breathtaking, and not just from the lack of oxygen on top of the mountain. Once we headed back down for stargazing, our guides did a great job of pointing out astronomy as we used there 11 inch telescopes. Very great tour and highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

Fantastic Tour

Reviewed by: SAR, 2010/07/10

Great transportation, very knowledgeable guides/drivers, wonderful "star gazing," well prepared food (too much for one person to eat at one meal!) with stainless steel table service, warm parkas and gloves provided. Recommend wearing jeans, sneakers and socks, and perhaps a light jacket to wear under the parka. Understand that it will be cold at these altitudes and be wary of altitude sickness if you are normally near sea level. Be well rested when you go and altitude shouldn't be a problem since a couple of rests (and restroom stops) as you ascend are provided. On the ride back after excellent stargazing and a hot drink and cookie, really nice and varied selections of music were played! I've never seen such wonderful sky views! Hope to come again and bring grandchildren!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

just book it!

Reviewed by: patrick, 2015/05/08

As a solo traveller from the UK it was a bit of a lucky dip as there are other providers of similar tours to this one.....worth every penny!our tour guide was Blake,he was very knowledgeable and friendly the sunset was truly amazing and the star gazing was fun and I learned alot about some of the stars..the telescopes was very good pieces of kit and we even saw the moon rising from the cloud horizon which was amazing too....we were very lucky with the weather conditions it wasn't windy at all,still a bit chilly on the summit tho..the parka jackets were good quality and clean....I could carry on,but gonna leave it here as amazing well worth it....one small note,the gloves supplied keep your hands warm but don't make it easy to take pictures on small cameras and mobile phones.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

マウナケア山頂 サンセット&星空観測ツアー<午後/英語ガイド/天体望遠鏡/夕食付> by ハワイフォレスト&トレイル

他のツアーより正解でした

Reviewed by: 井上 美紀, 2011/09/30

ガイド兼ドライバーの Jon さんが感じ良かった。
フェアモントホテルは帰りの送りの対象ではなかったのに送ってくれました。深夜のホテルまでの足を心配してましたが
思いがけないサービスに助かりました。

また星空観察も他の日本人のみのグループが早々と終了した後も、まもなく木星が登ってくるといって木星まで見せてくれました。英語ツアーしか残ってなかったのでやむをえず?の選択でしたが、ここを申し込んだことがかえって幸いしました。

日本人向けのツアーよりお安めでしたし、これからの方はこちらをお勧めします。

Comments from activity operators

参加していただきありがとうございました。ハワイ島の美しい自然を楽しんでいただき、素敵な思い出を作っていただいたようでとても嬉しいです。
帰りのホテル送迎については、送迎できないエリアのホテルもございますが夜遅くなるので出来る限りお客様を送迎できるよう努めています。確約できませんが、もし帰りの送迎が必要な場合はリクエストしてください。

またハワイ島に遊びにきてください。

マハロ!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

Great change-up experience in Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Greg, 2018/01/15

This trip was a really fun experience as a contrast to the normal beach and ocean explorations that a visit to Hawaii normally includes.
The guide was very informative and the trip was planned well. The van was very comfortable (big Mercedes).
Climbing above the clouds made it feel like we were going to another world. The sunset from the top amongst all the observatory domes was incredibly colorful and the photography was cool with the domes.
The second part when we went down the mountain and set up the telescopes was fun too. The guide had an excellent presentation and mastery of the topics.
I highly recommend-it was out of the ordinary and visually spectacular.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Stargazing & Sunset Adventure with Picnic Dinner

Almost Heaven

Reviewed by: Ralphg, 2017/11/12

If you have the opportunity to visit Hawaii and the big island is on your agenda, the tour to the top of Mauna Kea is a must do !! The journey up and down the mountain is exhilarating, the views on the way up, stunning and the views from the top at sunset - unforgettable!!!!
Of course the weather gods can have their say and you could be unlucky.
Very impressed by the capability of our driver Joe who also made our star gazing even more memorable with his explanations and knowledge. You will leave with an impression of how “special” it is to visit the top of Mauna Kea and with an understanding of why the Hawaiian people see it as a place to be treated with respect

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

Awesome tour

Reviewed by: Jason, 2018/09/14

Our guide, Gordon, made sure the shuttle ride was comfortable and enjoyable. the stargazing and sunset views were amazing! It is well recommended to take this tour.

Lasagna was a bit salty for asian taste in my opinion. Browny, cookies and drinks were nice. Jumpers and gloves were provided but it was still cold, so it would be better if you brought more warm clothings.

One thing, i came on this tour with my wife (newly weds) but the seats were limited, so we had to sit separately :( it would be nice if there were seating plans or notice beforehand.

Nonetheless, i would take this tour again if I do ever come back to the big island!

  • I think this was venus.

  • <3

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

Omg one of the highlights of my life!

Reviewed by: Kristyn Taylor , 2015/12/11

What a fabulous tour led by Greg. Full credit to Greg, who was so engaging and informative, he really enriched the experience.
The tour was out of this world literally. The telescopes, scenery, sunset!! I loved that we didn't race off , after the sunset, but stayed as the colours deepened. We were the last tour to leave the sunset location.
The food was good! Lasagne and a very yummy brownie and later hot chocolate and biscotti whilst we star gazed through massive telescopes.
I was totally impressed with this tour. In fact raved about it so much when I got back to the hotel that my friend went the next day and also loved it!!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

マウナケア山頂 サンセット&星空観測ツアー<午後/英語ガイド/天体望遠鏡/夕食付> by ハワイフォレスト&トレイル

見たことない景色

Reviewed by: You, 2014/12/07

雲海に沈む夕日はとにかく凄かったです。夕日が沈んだ後も徐々に空の色が変わっていくのがすごく綺麗でした。
星空も月が三日月くらいだったのでそれほど月あかりは邪魔にもならず、プラネタリウムを見ているような星空が生で見れました☆
ぼんやり眺めていると流星も結構見れましたよ。
今回は日本語ツアーがいっぱいで予約出来なかったので英語ツアーに参加しました。ちょっと心配でしたが、簡単な英語なら何とか理解できるので問題なく楽しめました!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

Outstanding and Educational Tour

Reviewed by: Blake Bastedo, 2015/12/14

I must state that the tour we booked to visit Mauna Kea was the highlight of all our activities on the Big Island. Greg was outstanding in his knowledge of the area and the solar system. My wife and I learned many new things when it came to star systems and planets. Viewing the International Space Station when it came by was unbelievable. The evening was moon free and perfectly clear. The Sunset at the Summit was breathtaking and the effects of 40% less oxygen was quite noticeable. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting or planning to visit Hawaii. Keep up the great work and a big Aloha to Greg and Blake!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Stargazing & Sunset Adventure with Picnic Dinner

I love this trip!

Reviewed by: SFBayArea, 2008/03/18

This was a wonderful, amazing tour! The sunset view from the summit of Mauna Kea is incomparable. I felt like I was standing on top of the world. The stargazing was also wonderful. I never saw the stars so clearly before. My tour guide was Buck, who gave us a great astronomy beginner's lesson. He also was very professional, and knowledgeable about other aspects such as the culture, history, and environmental ecology of the island. I highly recommend this trip to everyone. Bring gloves and a knitted cap--you will use them. The tour company will provide parkas. Cookies and hot chocolate before stargazing was a nice touch!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waterfalls, Lava Cave & Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour with Astro-Photographer Guide

Fabulous time under the Stars!

Reviewed by: Travelooza, 2019/02/07

We enjoyed it a lot. We wish we had gone earlier in our trip so we would’ve had the opportunity to build other activities around what we saw on this trip. James runs this business on his own and he does a lot of research and individualizes each trip to the current conditions of the atmosphere and weather. The photos he took of us were amazing. I could see couples booking this for engagement, honeymoon or anniversary photos. The star gazing was the highlight. We see stars from our house very well but it doesn’t even compare to the clarity of the sky at that altitude. I would definitely recommend this excursion.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Stargazing & Sunset Adventure with Picnic Dinner

Trip to Top of Mona Kea

Reviewed by: Carolyn S. Nelson, 2007/04/26

Over many years of taking tours, I have seen many tour guides. However Buck Pelley ranks at the top of the stack. He is incredibly knowledgeable on such topics as geology, astronomy, plant life, and the history of the area. I hope that Buck remains as a tour guide. I would take another tour with him anytime anywhere.

The only thing that I would improve on the tour is the dinner. Although I understand the challenge of bringing food to the top of Mona Kea, the fish could have been hotter with a lot less salt. While the soup was good it was barely warm. Cookies were excellent

Best wishes,
Carolyn Nelson

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Stargazing & Sunset Adventure with Picnic Dinner

Excellent narration, food and drive

Reviewed by: Richard V., 2017/11/18

This was my second trip up to the summit of Mauna Kea for the Sunset & Stargazing Adventure. The drive up this time was smoother than the first, thankfully, and our guide was excellent. You could tell he was well-informed on all the topics he discussed. The catered Hawaiian dinner was very tasty, and in sufficient quantity to satisfy a good appetite. The only drawback this time was that the clock-drive on the telescope was not working, which took away from our ability to look at celestial objects at high magnification. I recommend this trip, and also that the tour company repair their clock drives!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Hawaiian Islands