Mike's activity reviews | Book tours, activities & fun things to do on HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

To participate in any of our on island activities, all travelers arriving to Hawaii must complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine, and the most up-to-date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Oahu Categories


Reviews by Mike
Last review on 2020/08/28
# of Reviews: 13

Great for game night!

Posted on: 2020/08/28

I wasn’t sure what to expect when joining my friends for this online game. I was expecting a simple trivia type game but it was so much more fun, involved and creative than that. It started with the host asking us each individually a few questions to help her set up the game. The game is broken down into rounds in which you do different fun Hawaiian themed tasks. The most fun round was seeing who in the group could do the best yoga pose initiating their Hawaiian spirit animal. This is great for those who love to have game nights but cannot get together in person to play.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Fun and informative reef conservation class!

Posted on: 2020/08/20

This course was fun, easy and informative. The base course material is from the PADI coral reef conservation course, some of the material seemed a little more advanced but the instructors did a great job in explaining the information in a fun and easy to understand way, making the big biology words not so intimidating. As a SCUBA diver, I found this class fascinating, but you do not need to have any diving experience in order to take this class or to understand the material. I would recommend this class to anyone who has an interest in tropical reefs and oceans and wants to understand how to better protect these ecosystems.

Reply from activity provider

Mike
Thank you for your review. We hope that this is something that every person will benefit from. It will make your next snorkel or dive adventure much more meaningful as you will be able to see the reef from a whole new perspective

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Great cruise with an awesome crew on an amazing boat!

Posted on: 2019/08/12

I cant wait to go back! The new boat is beautiful and rides so incredibly smooth. The crew is what sets Sea Maui apart from the other guys. Throughout the cruise they were attentive and entertaining, treating everyone on board like long time friends. I was having such a good time on the cruise that I had forgotten dinner was included until they announced the buffet was ready! Great food and drinks with the best crew in Maui! Couldn't ask for more!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Epic way to explore Lanai!

Posted on: 2019/08/07

Renting a jeep to explore Lanai was the best decision we made on our vacation! Renting the jeep gave us the ability to really go explore the island. When we arrived to lanai on the ferry we caught a shuttle ride that took us to Lanai City and dropped us off at the jeep rental office. From there we spent a little bit of time checking out some of the small shops in Lanai City before grabbing some lunch to take with us. The first place we went was the Garden of the Gods, which is a rock garden area that resembles the surface of Mars more than Hawaii. It is impossible to describe the overwhelming peace and untouched beauty of this place. From there we continued on to Polihua Beach. The off road trail starts to get a little more rugged and we locked the Jeep into four wheel drive, this is where the real fun began. At the end of the trail was the deserted and untouched Polihua Beach. We made this our lunch spot but did not stay long. Our next destination was Shipwreck Beach. Here we found the hiking trail that leads to the ancient Hawaiian petroglyphs. It was maybe a 10 minute hike from where we parked the jeep to the site with the petroglyphs. At first we were not able to see any, but you must climb up a few feet to see the more well preserved petroglyphs. After the petroglyphs and shipwreck beach we went back to Lanai City to return the jeep and catch a ride back down to the harbor. We intentionally turned the Jeep in a little bit early so that we could have plenty of time to snorkel at Hulopo'e beach before boarding the ferry to return to Maui. Hulopo'e Beach was absolutely incredible. In my opinion, it is the best snorkel spot in the entire state of Hawaii! The only thing I would change would have been to take the early ferry over to Lanai and the last ferry of the day to depart from Lanai. Lanai may be a small island, but there is more there than you can explore in one day.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

The perfect North Shore excursion!

Posted on: 2019/08/07

We couldn't have found a better way to explore the North Shore! My girlfriend and I went out on an afternoon cruise and had a blast! We saw lots of dolphins and even got to stop by a shark dive spot where we could see sharks from the boat! I have never seen as many different large sea animals in one boat ride, it was incredible! We stopped for a while and snorkeled in Waimea Bay which was amazing. We were able to take a bunch of cool underwater pictures and we even saw a turtle! The captain and crew are the friendliest in the Islands and are very passionate about sharing the culture and history of Hawaii. I really enjoyed this because for me, getting to learn about the places I visit really makes the experience so much more memorable. We can't wait to come back during whale watching season!



Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

My new favorite dive company!

Posted on: 2019/08/07

Best dive company on Oahu without a doubt! I wish I could dive everyday with these guys. Incredibly friendly and knowledgeable crew, top-notch gear, a luxurious dive boat and they are on the west side where the best diving on the island is! They really go above and beyond to ensure you have an excellent experience both above and below water. Our guide, Drew, was awesome. He was extremely attentive and pointed out countless different types of marine life that most divers would pass right by without even noticing. After diving, the crew cut up a fresh pineapple and sprinkled li hing powder on it, which was a perfect post-dive snack. I will definitely be back!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

We will be coming back!

Posted on: 2019/08/07

Loved going snorkeling with Trident Adventures! We ended up doing a last minute upgrade from the snorkel package to the PADI Skindiver Program and it was so worth it. The main thing the upgrade got for us was the use of one of their DPVs, which is an Diver Propulsion Vehicle. Its basically an underwater scooter that you hold on to and cruise around. It was a little awkward at first, but with some tips and pointers from the instructor I was able to get the hang of it and had so much fun cruising around the reef! Apparently these things are very expensive, so it's very unique for a dive shop to have them available to non-SCUBA divers.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Beyond Epic!

Posted on: 2019/08/07

This is one of the most epic things I have ever done! Steve (the owner) really does an amazing job getting you ready to make the jump and making the whole experience something you will never forget! The helicopter flight was awesome and the diving was perfect. I couldn't possibly recommend anyone other than Trident Adventures for an incredible, one of a kind dive experience! Also, The dive gear they provide is top end, brand new SCUBAPRO equipement. No sketchy, under-maintained gear with these guys. It doesnt matter how deep or shallow you go, that new, quality gear makes a huge difference in comfort and safety.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

We had so much fun!

Posted on: 2019/08/07

This was a surprise for my girlfriends birthday and she loved it! We saw so many of sharks! We had done one of the other shark dive without a cage on a smaller boat and did not have the greatest experience.(she got seasick, swimming in strong current, only saw one shark, un-attentive crew...) This experience was the complete opposite. The shark cage makes it so easy to relax in the water and just watch the sharks. Not fighting against the current for this type of experience really makes a huge difference. And you are never worried about what is behind you! The boat itself made a big difference as well. It is an extremely stable power catamaran and is one of the smoothest riding boats i have been on. The captain and crew are one of the friendliest I have encountered. They make sure you are taken care of and happy to share their knowledge of literally everything you can see out on the water and on the island.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Great time whale watching!

Posted on: 2019/02/22

Great choice for a whale watch especially if you have children or people in your group who are more sensitive to motion sickness. The thing that sets this whale watch apart from all the others is size and stability of the boat and all of the activities available on board while heading out to look for whales. This could almost be described as a fun Hawaiian tropical lunch cruise with whales. In addition to a delicious lunch buffet and frequent whale sightings there is also hula lessons, lei making and ukulele lessons. The captain and crew are always on the look out for whales, so while you are doing the activities the captain will announce which side of the boat the whales are on so you do not miss any of the whale action while eating or participating in the activities. With whales being wild animals and not always predictable in where they will be, having activities to keep the kids occupied makes this a great option for families

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |