Mike's activity reviews | Book tours, activities & fun things to do on HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.


Reviews by Mike
Last review on 2019/08/12
# of Reviews: 11

Great cruise with an awesome crew on an amazing boat!

Posted on: 2019/08/12

I cant wait to go back! The new boat is beautiful and rides so incredibly smooth. The crew is what sets Sea Maui apart from the other guys. Throughout the cruise they were attentive and entertaining, treating everyone on board like long time friends. I was having such a good time on the cruise that I had forgotten dinner was included until they announced the buffet was ready! Great food and drinks with the best crew in Maui! Couldn't ask for more!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Epic way to explore Lanai!

Posted on: 2019/08/07

Renting a jeep to explore Lanai was the best decision we made on our vacation! Renting the jeep gave us the ability to really go explore the island. When we arrived to lanai on the ferry we caught a shuttle ride that took us to Lanai City and dropped us off at the jeep rental office. From there we spent a little bit of time checking out some of the small shops in Lanai City before grabbing some lunch to take with us. The first place we went was the Garden of the Gods, which is a rock garden area that resembles the surface of Mars more than Hawaii. It is impossible to describe the overwhelming peace and untouched beauty of this place. From there we continued on to Polihua Beach. The off road trail starts to get a little more rugged and we locked the Jeep into four wheel drive, this is where the real fun began. At the end of the trail was the deserted and untouched Polihua Beach. We made this our lunch spot but did not stay long. Our next destination was Shipwreck Beach. Here we found the hiking trail that leads to the ancient Hawaiian petroglyphs. It was maybe a 10 minute hike from where we parked the jeep to the site with the petroglyphs. At first we were not able to see any, but you must climb up a few feet to see the more well preserved petroglyphs. After the petroglyphs and shipwreck beach we went back to Lanai City to return the jeep and catch a ride back down to the harbor. We intentionally turned the Jeep in a little bit early so that we could have plenty of time to snorkel at Hulopo'e beach before boarding the ferry to return to Maui. Hulopo'e Beach was absolutely incredible. In my opinion, it is the best snorkel spot in the entire state of Hawaii! The only thing I would change would have been to take the early ferry over to Lanai and the last ferry of the day to depart from Lanai. Lanai may be a small island, but there is more there than you can explore in one day.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

The perfect North Shore excursion!

Posted on: 2019/08/07

We couldn't have found a better way to explore the North Shore! My girlfriend and I went out on an afternoon cruise and had a blast! We saw lots of dolphins and even got to stop by a shark dive spot where we could see sharks from the boat! I have never seen as many different large sea animals in one boat ride, it was incredible! We stopped for a while and snorkeled in Waimea Bay which was amazing. We were able to take a bunch of cool underwater pictures and we even saw a turtle! The captain and crew are the friendliest in the Islands and are very passionate about sharing the culture and history of Hawaii. I really enjoyed this because for me, getting to learn about the places I visit really makes the experience so much more memorable. We can't wait to come back during whale watching season!



Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

My new favorite dive company!

Posted on: 2019/08/07

Best dive company on Oahu without a doubt! I wish I could dive everyday with these guys. Incredibly friendly and knowledgeable crew, top-notch gear, a luxurious dive boat and they are on the west side where the best diving on the island is! They really go above and beyond to ensure you have an excellent experience both above and below water. Our guide, Drew, was awesome. He was extremely attentive and pointed out countless different types of marine life that most divers would pass right by without even noticing. After diving, the crew cut up a fresh pineapple and sprinkled li hing powder on it, which was a perfect post-dive snack. I will definitely be back!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

We will be coming back!

Posted on: 2019/08/07

Loved going snorkeling with Trident Adventures! We ended up doing a last minute upgrade from the snorkel package to the PADI Skindiver Program and it was so worth it. The main thing the upgrade got for us was the use of one of their DPVs, which is an Diver Propulsion Vehicle. Its basically an underwater scooter that you hold on to and cruise around. It was a little awkward at first, but with some tips and pointers from the instructor I was able to get the hang of it and had so much fun cruising around the reef! Apparently these things are very expensive, so it's very unique for a dive shop to have them available to non-SCUBA divers.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Beyond Epic!

Posted on: 2019/08/07

This is one of the most epic things I have ever done! Steve (the owner) really does an amazing job getting you ready to make the jump and making the whole experience something you will never forget! The helicopter flight was awesome and the diving was perfect. I couldn't possibly recommend anyone other than Trident Adventures for an incredible, one of a kind dive experience! Also, The dive gear they provide is top end, brand new SCUBAPRO equipement. No sketchy, under-maintained gear with these guys. It doesnt matter how deep or shallow you go, that new, quality gear makes a huge difference in comfort and safety.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

We had so much fun!

Posted on: 2019/08/07

This was a surprise for my girlfriends birthday and she loved it! We saw so many of sharks! We had done one of the other shark dive without a cage on a smaller boat and did not have the greatest experience.(she got seasick, swimming in strong current, only saw one shark, un-attentive crew...) This experience was the complete opposite. The shark cage makes it so easy to relax in the water and just watch the sharks. Not fighting against the current for this type of experience really makes a huge difference. And you are never worried about what is behind you! The boat itself made a big difference as well. It is an extremely stable power catamaran and is one of the smoothest riding boats i have been on. The captain and crew are one of the friendliest I have encountered. They make sure you are taken care of and happy to share their knowledge of literally everything you can see out on the water and on the island.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Great time whale watching!

Posted on: 2019/02/22

Great choice for a whale watch especially if you have children or people in your group who are more sensitive to motion sickness. The thing that sets this whale watch apart from all the others is size and stability of the boat and all of the activities available on board while heading out to look for whales. This could almost be described as a fun Hawaiian tropical lunch cruise with whales. In addition to a delicious lunch buffet and frequent whale sightings there is also hula lessons, lei making and ukulele lessons. The captain and crew are always on the look out for whales, so while you are doing the activities the captain will announce which side of the boat the whales are on so you do not miss any of the whale action while eating or participating in the activities. With whales being wild animals and not always predictable in where they will be, having activities to keep the kids occupied makes this a great option for families

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Five Star was Perfect! Will be back for sure!

Posted on: 2019/02/22

Worth it! I was always skeptical about going on dinner cruises and did not know what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised. To start off, the crew really does go above and beyond to ensure a perfect experience. You start the evening off with a Bellini toast and some delicious appetizers on the top, back deck where there is a ukulele player and a hula dancer. From there they take your party to your table on the inside top deck of the ship. Throughout the course of 7 course dinner, which was amazing, there are musicians playing. The music was perfect for dinner. Not too loud but made for a very enjoyable, entertaining evening. I would recommend the 5-star dinner for couples more than families with children. While it is enjoyable for the whole family, the ambiance make for an exceptionally romantic and memorable evening in Hawaii with that special someone.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Epic day of adventure for my girlfriend and I!

Posted on: 2018/10/01

We had a blast at Coral Crater! We booked the ultimate package that included zipline, tower,and ATV and it was so worth it! The day started off zip-lining. We had zip-lined at a few other places here which I remember being somewhat bored. This wasn't the case here. The lines fly through the tree top and it definitely felt a lot faster than our previous zip tour. No one got stuck on the lines because you go more than fast enough! I wish I was able to post some of the video here! After zip-lining we had a much needed hour break for lunch before the tower activity. It does get very hot as the adventure park is literally built into a crater and is protected from the wind. Taking a break to cool off and drink lots of water was very nice. The tower was a ton of fun, some obstacles were pretty easy while others were fairly challenging. I am not a climber so being up in the air really took me out of my comfort zone which made even the simple obstacles exciting! The safety equipment they use is top notch, high-end gear, so when you do fall you can rest easy knowing that you are safe.There was a 3rd grade boy in the group who was flying through the course, his parents (not old) could barely keep up! So its safe to say this great for kids. The most intimidating part is the "freefall" from 70 ft using the auto-belay device.It looks terrifying but is actually pretty fun. The climbing wall was a lot of fun also. We all got to take as many attempts as we wanted. I made it up to the bell both times I went and was exhausted after that. The final activity was ATVs. These are not normal ATVs, they are custom 800cc v-twin mid-engine off-road machines. I had a blast drifting and sliding the ATV around. I got the ATV almost sideways multiple times and at one point we almost hit 30MPH! This is not a slow, sightseeing ATV ride, so do not expect that. Driving skill will play a role in how exciting this ATV is. If you want to tear up the trail and get dirty, these are the ATVs to do it on!

Reply from activity provider

Mike, Thanks for the kind review. It was great having you at the park and we hope to welcome you back for another fun time.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Loved the tandem zip

  • Zipping through the trees

  • The tower!

  • Climbing wall was definitley a challenge but I made it to the top!

  • Tore it up in an 800cc mid-engine off-road machine!

Page Previous | 1 | 2 |