(All Reviews) Inter-Island Day Trips, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Inter-Island Day Trips in Oahu

Overall Rating

4.34 4.34 / 5

Reviews

146 reviews

Big Island One Day Circle Island Sightseeing & Volcano Tour from Honolulu

A Great Way to Spend a Rainy Day

Reviewed by: Kentucky Traveler , 2014/04/13

We chose to take this tour after doing some online research. Our day started early with a trip to the Honolulu Airport. There we met others in our group and a company representative who took care of our tickets and boarding on a Hawaiian Airlines flight to the Big Island. We were met at the Kona Airport by Cousin Greg, our tour guide. Cousin Greg was exceptional. His knowledge of the Big Island, its past, its present, and its people was amazing. He made a rainy day, that could have been a real disappointment, into a great trip. As advertised we circled the island and stopped at several must see sites, including the: Black Sand Beach, Volcanoes National Park, and Rainbow Falls. We made stops at a coffee plantation, a candy factory, and macadamia nut processing plant. Some of the online reviewers complained about these stops, but at each stop we were greeted by a friendly staff and offered plenty of free samples. Most of our tour group made some purchases along the way. Also each stop provided some time for leg stretching and restroom breaks. From the bus we saw several other historical sites and scenes of natural beauty like the: Naha Stone, Parker Ranch, several water falls, beaches, lava flows, and many other sites. We decided to take our lunch after reading several negative reviews about the lunch stop. However, we ate inside the restaurant and were treated well by the staff. Our fellow travelers seemed to have no complaints about their lunch. My wife was very apprehensive about this trip because it made for such a long day, but she and I thoroughly enjoyed it. One more time I must say thank you to Cousin Greg for outstanding service. If you are on Oahu and only have one day to see the Big Island, this is definitely the way to go.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Kauai One Day Tour from Honolulu - Waimea Canyon & Wailua River Cruise

A great way to see the island

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/04/07

This was a great tour, but a lot of driving. Our driver, Juan ( might be misspelled) is a native hawaiian and shared a lot of fact and fable. He played a video about how Jurasic Park was made, and as we drove around you can see where parts of the movie were filmed. We had plenty of time at each stop. I thought the fern grotto was a bit lame. The ferns were destroyed in a hurricane years ago, so the ones that were there were small. It wasnt what I expected. And there were mosquitos at the grotto. It would be nice if the driver had bug spray or something. We came back with a lot of bites. The boat ride was frustrating. It is a wide boat, with a low roof. The guide kept talking about the mountains or things on top of the hills, and most of us couldnt see what he was referring to because of the low roof. On one hand, seeing the island through a tour is a great way to learn a lot about the island. On the other hand, renting a car allows you to stop where you want to (little s

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Kauai One Day Tour from Honolulu - Waimea Canyon & Wailua River Cruise

Wonderful tour

Reviewed by: Linda, 2011/03/15

Having lived on Oahu for 5 1/2 years in the '50s and never having visited any of the other islands, my sister and I were expecting to see something different and unique. This tour certainly filled the bill and was both those things - and more! Our tour guide - Patty -was very knowledgeable about local and island history and places of interest. She stopped at more than the expected stops and we had plenty of time at each one of them to take pictures, visit any shops that were there and generally get a feel for the place. The fact that we were a small group - just 8 of us on a mini-bus - was fantastic and we turned into a group of 6 after lunch after dropping one couple off back at their Kauai hotel.

It was wonderful to see the unspoilt beauty of Kauai, much as Oahu was when we knew it and before development spoiled it. We were so happy to hear that there has been a limit put on the number of stories hotels there can have, albeit after Marriott built their 8-storey one. At lea

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park & Rainbow Falls

Mrs.

Reviewed by: Cathy, 2008/06/23

This is a very long day, so be sure to get a good night's sleep the night before! We started off the morning with a 4:30 am pickup at our Oahu hotel and were driven to the airport. The driver was on time but the flight out to the Big Island on Island Air was not until after 6:30am, so we did have a but of a wait. The flight out was good, with one stop in Maui to pick up more people.

Once in Hilo, we were placed in a comfortable, air conditioned mini coach that could hold approximately 24 people. Our driver, Steve, was wonderful. He was friendly and constantly speaking to us with a wealth of information.

We are a family of five that went on this tour. I would not recommend this tour for really young children, as this is a long day and there is about a 1 mile hike on uneven hardened lava, but our youngest child is 9 and she did great. Our family enjoyed this tour very much and thought that this tour was a great value. We would definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park & Rainbow Falls

The best ever

Reviewed by: Jane, 2012/01/12

Me and my daughter recently did the Volcano Tour and we were lucky enough to have a wonderful, knowledgable Tour Guide by the name of Jane. I hope you relay to her once again how much we enjoyed the Tour. I have traveled 18 different countries and been on many tours but I enjoyed the casual way that she conducts her tour. She tells you what you need to know - answers all questions. She keeps you entertained full time and is very careful about what her people do and where they are. She stays with her visitors. I truthfully, enjoyed her tour better than any I have ever been on. She really is an asset to your company and good at what she does. I am really glad we took the tour as we have been to Hawaii 7 times and this is on the top of the list of what we have experienced. All other tours were good but this one was really good. Thank you and Thank Jane for such a wonderful - educational amount of entertainment you provided. Thanks again.......Audra E. LeGasse

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park & Rainbow Falls

Completely unforgettable!

Reviewed by: Marina Erickson, 2008/08/02

It was a long day, but one that I will not soon forget! From the moment we were picked up, till we were dropped back off, the staff was excellent. They were fountains of information and made the tour that much better.

Once we arrived into Hilo, I was thrilled to be able to see the crater and recent lava flows. It is amazing that this island is still growing and too see where new land is being created was quite the experience. Also being able to have lunch at the Volcano House was a wonderful touch and I am glad that we were able to have lunch in such a unique environment (and it was really yummy too)!

There was so much to see even once we were done with at the National Volcano Park, and the waterfalls were quite breathtaking. Must thank our river for the stop at the macadamia nut factory, since the ice-cream just hit the spot!

Thank you all for everything!!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Day Trip to Molokai Island (from Honolulu)

Great experience with a great tour guide

Reviewed by: ZiadKhamo, 2018/03/09

A great day for anyone wanting to learn about this Gem of an Island.The flight to the Island was an amazing experience alone, as it was sunny, we could take fantastic photos of Oahu and Molokai.

When we got to the Island, our Tour Guide (Rudy) was waiting for us, and I cannot thank him enough for making this such a memorable trip. His knowledge and information sharing about the island were just mindblowing. Big hats off to Rudy.

We had the pleasure of seeing amazing locations, take even better photos and bring back some memories we will cherish forever. If you want to experience a day sightseeing, learning and experiencing some amazing stories, I would highly advise you to visit this Island.

We were lucky the weather was fantastic but even luckier we had Rudy showing us around. Will definitely come back one day.

Thank you

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Kauai One Day Tour from Honolulu - Island Sightseeing & Helicopter Tour

Excellent Day Trip to Kauai

Reviewed by: TravelNut, 2018/01/22

We wanted to save time but not transfer hotels so we booked a day trip to Kauai from Oahu. It was an excellent overall experience. We were picked up on time but I'm not sure why it was so early because we waited a couple hours before the flight. Our guide was lovely and we enjoyed the movie tie-in to many scenic spots. Lunch was very good at the cafe used in The Descendants film. I would have liked a little more time to explore Hanalei but we did have time for a yummy shave ice. The beach with the long pier was memorable. The helicopter tour was exciting and gave us an entirely different perspective of the island. Once back at the airport we had to wait more than 2 hours for the flight. Not sure why these day trips are set up this way. It makes for a longer day than should be necessary.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park & Rainbow Falls

Great Trip

Reviewed by: Mr. Lynn Smith, 2008/05/25

This was a really great trip. Everything was just about as advertised. It was awesome to see the waterfall at Rainbow Falls and to see an active volcano, craters, walk on a lava field, see plumes of smoke from an active volcano. The only downer of the trip is when we got to the airport to return to Oahu, our flight was delayed 1.5 hours. Of course, the tour company can't be responsible for this. The airline (Island Air) did put us on another flight (Hawaiian Airlines) which was also delayed. So we got back to Oahu over two hours later than expected. We left our hotel at 4:30am and didn't get back until 10pm. A very long day so be well rested, especially for the 1 mile (total round trip) hike over the lava field but it was well worth it and I'm glad we did it.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure

Treat yourself!

Reviewed by: Lynette, 2019/07/18

We had a fabulous day on this tour. You do need staying power as it starts early and ends late but it is worth it. The bus tour of the Volcano Park was interesting but it was the helicopter ride that made the day. The professionalism of the company chartered for our ride was outstanding and our pilot had everyone feeling safe, secure and excited for the whole flight. Flying over the volcanos was amazing, even without any red lava on our day.
The one thing that was missing from the day was a little bit of time to explore Hilo itself - it looked so interesting and non touristy that we would have loved half an hour there.
This is not a cheap day, but certainly a once in a
lifetime experience we won’t ever forget and worth every cent.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park & Rainbow Falls

Comments

Reviewed by: Pauline, 2009/07/04

What a fantastic trip! I was overwhelmed by the beauty of the Park and could have spent the whole trip there. Maybe the bus couldn't make it down some of the other roads.


Needed more time for the Jasper museum at the Park.

Lunch was so late that when we got to Volcano House there was no food left in the sandwich area. Many people on the tour did not want the buffet but had to have it as there was no food available.

You should promote the arts and craft building at the park. There were wonderful things there but I only had 5 minutes to look at the whole building. Also no opportunity to look at the exhibits at the visitor center due to time constraints. All day at the park would be awesome!!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park & Rainbow Falls

Excellent tour

Reviewed by: GregZ, 2015/10/03

A bit of a rocky start as we were to meet group picked up at Waikiki at airport. Group was late and no contact with Veltra guide had us nervous for a while. Once settled and arrived at Hilo, 'Captain' Bob took over as our guide. Our group of 10 toured all sites as mentioned and Bob was an excellent guide throughout. He made the tour much more interesting with his extensive knowledge of the island history, geography, plant and animal life, food, climate, etc. He also shared quite a bit science knowledge related to the volcanoes. All was delivered with humor and was very enjoyable. Keep in mind Hilo is known for the amount of rain received - you are advised to bring appropriate clothing.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Road to Hana One Day Tour from Honolulu - Rainsforest & Waterfall Adventure

Great Fun in a Joint Family on the Road to Hana Adventure

Reviewed by: Larry, 2016/11/12

Really nice to have Larry -- a knowledgeable, eloquent, humorous and considerate buddy-- as our group's driver and tour guide. We all enjoyed a great deal on the road to Hana and all the way along the breathtaking Pacific Ocean!

I personally had a specially great time in this tiny and yet magic band, I should say. You know I was a solo traveller, but when we got together at breakfast time that day I was lucky enough to join a " Shanghai Family", which endowed me with much love and care on the Road to Hana Adventure!

When I got back to Waikiki that night, the gala of Halloween had just started. What a wonderful continuation of the wondeful day trip! Warmest mahalo! :-)

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Kauai One Day Tour from Honolulu - Waimea Canyon & Wailua River Cruise

The Garden Isle

Reviewed by: Menehune, 2007/09/19

This was my first trip to the island of Kauai, and I must say I fell in love with the island. The people are much more relaxed than Honolulu, and the sceneries were just beautiful. Waimea Canyon was definitely the highlight of this trip, and I'm glad that I was able to see the "Grand Canyon of the Pacific". The breathtaking view of the art of the mother nature is worth every penny. The Wailua River Cruise was very nice, and the Smith family did such a wonderful job entertaining us on the boat and at the Fern Grotto. We thoroughly enjoyed their hospitality. This is definitely recommended if you are only staying on O'ahu, and want to see Kauai for a day.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park & Rainbow Falls

What a great day!

Reviewed by: Linda, 2008/11/03

I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Though the day started out a bit rainy (we did get an awesome rainbow) it cleared up quickly so by the time we were hiking the lava tube the weather was very pleasant. Viewing the volcano plume while having lunch at the Volcano House was awesome! Did enjoy the side trips to the orchid store and the Macadamia Nut factory, but the highlight was of couse hiking the lava beds and getting close enough to the water to see that tremendous grey and white plume where the lava meets the sea. Our driver was very knowledgable and did enjoy the information he provided us. Am tired but happy and would defnitely do this again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park & Rainbow Falls

Tour beyond expectations. FLIGHT WARNING!!!!

Reviewed by: dylanbarter, 2013/09/18

We had such an amazing time. We had Capt Rob as our guide and he was great. The volcano tour was great and Rob was very accomodating for breakfast and lunch needs knowing most of us had come over on planes from Oahu.

Flight was a huge disappointment. If you have the choice fly Hawaiian not Go! Airlines. We were dropped off at the airport in Hilo at 6pm and our flight back to Oahu didn't depart till 8:30. Not much to see or do at such a small airport. It ruined our day and destroyed our dinner plans for the evening. Everyone else on the tour were flying with Hawaiian and departed straight away. We were not given a choice in airlines but wish we had.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2013/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island One Day Circle Island Sightseeing & Volcano Tour from Honolulu

Fun Tour!

Reviewed by: pdkf9, 2017/08/09

I really enjoyed the tour. It is A LOT of time on the bus, but you get to see a lot of sights and views, so you don't miss anything. I enjoyed our stops and felt like we got enough time, though I would have liked more at the volcano park. I personally wasn't a huge fan of the macadamia nut shop stop. Lunch at the Volcano House was excellent and our tour guide was enjoyable and informative. If I could change something, it would be the logistics for those coming from Oahu. It is a very early morning and I would have done without the breakfast stop and pickups for all those on the big island in order to be able to leave Oahu later.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park & Rainbow Falls

Volcano Tour Review

Reviewed by: John Gleeson, 2010/09/18

The all-day tour was awesome. No time was wasted - it was fully occupied with interesting things to see. The highlight was having "Captain Rob" as our guide - he has an incredible wealth of knowledge on the geology, flora and fauna, and history of the island/volcanoes. And all comments/narration were presented in a very comfortable and "user-friendly" manner. The other guides may be equally commendable, but for us, we couldn't see how the "Capt" could be improved upon.
The only negative element in the tour was Go! Airlines - 30-35 minutes late leaving Honolulu and 35-40 minutes late returning from Hilo - please don't use them !!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure

Great tour, loads to see, well organised

Reviewed by: Sally Robinson, 2017/08/31

Early pickup in Waikiki and flight to Hilo on The Big Island. Well organised with your group being led easily through the whole day. Exciting helicopter flight over the lava and craters and plenty of info given throughout. Coach tour for rest of day to see the National Volcano Museum, plenty of stops at different sites including the walk through the old lava tube, walking on old lava, seeing craters and steam vents. Also stopped at macadamia nut factory and fuschia gardens. It's a long day but well worth it. We were picked up at 4.30am and didn't get back to Waikiki until 8.30pm.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Kauai One Day Tour from Honolulu - Waimea Canyon & Wailua River Cruise

Really awesome tour

Reviewed by: Elly, 2015/01/17

My friend and I really wanted to see the filming location of Jurassic Park so we signed up for this tour to the least visited island in Hawaii. We were very impressed with the scenery. Everything was also very organized and arranged very professionally (no lateness). What made the tour really stand out though, was our tour guide Juan who told us many stories which gave us a greater understanding into life on the island. We loved the tour a lot. The only drawback was we had to wake up really early but I guess that can't be helped considering we did a day tour from O'ahu.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Road to Hana One Day Tour from Honolulu - Rainsforest & Waterfall Adventure

A Plan for return

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/16

I could not have imagined how beautiful Maui was going to be! The entire day felt magical...like I had stepped into a completely different world somehow. My boyfriend felt the same way. The guide was really up on all the facts that we would want to know as tourists not being from there...and she made it a fun day, not boring or overly talkative like some tours we have been on either.

We are already decided that we WILL be coming back to Maui on our honeymoon, and driving the road to Hana as husband and wife...we loved it THAT much! Thanks for a great day.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Road to Hana One Day Tour from Honolulu - Rainsforest & Waterfall Adventure

Road to Hana Adventure

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/09/29

This excursion was above and beyond what we had hoped for. This trip has it all beauty, adventure, romance. I loved the amazing views of the coastline, the black sand beach and especially the Seven Sacred pools. The driver offered much information along the way. The lunch was delectable ( mahi sanwiches with pineapple slaw and macadamia nut pie) and was one of the best meals we had.
This trip offered so many sights that I had never seen and was one of our favorite excursions. I highly recommend it- and thank to all who provided service in connection to it.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Day Trip to Molokai Island (from Honolulu)

Ask for Rudy!

Reviewed by: Lynn, 2018/11/27

I should start this review by saying that our flight to Molokai was great - the ride was smooth, and the staff & pilot at Makani Kai Air were very friendly.

Upon our arrival on Molokai, our tour guide Rudy greeted us with a very warm welcome. My mom and I had such a wonderful day chatting with Rudy, learning about Molokai and seeing so many beautiful vistas across the island. Rudy was so very friendly and eager to share not only the history and culture of Molokai - but also sharing personal stories. Would definitely recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park & Rainbow Falls

Best Tour

Reviewed by: Dale, 2012/12/20

It was our first time to visit the islands and we based out of Oahu. The flight on Go! Airlines over to Hawaii was excellent, I've been on smaller planes. Sharon our tour guide gave us a lot of history and knowledge about the islands and we were glad that we chose this tour at the beginning of our trip because every where we went after that was much better because of Sharon's explanations during the tour about the history of the islands, plants and even the hula dance. Thanks to everyone that made this tour a very enjoyable experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park & Rainbow Falls

Volcano Nat'l Park

Reviewed by: d52matthe, 2014/06/29

Really great tour that included so much of the island. Loved the stop at Mona Loa and the Orchid Producers. Jani, our driver was extremely knowledgeable and gave us a great deal of inside information about the island, Hawaii. The stop at Rainbow Falls gave us a beautiful view info about Hina's home. If I could change anything, I'd shorten the tour by about one hour. The kids (6 and 10 years old) were really exhausted by the end of the day. Then again, no trouble getting them to bed that night :-)

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2014/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Kauai One Day Tour from Honolulu - Waimea Canyon & Wailua River Cruise

Kauai Inter-Island Tour

Reviewed by: Evva Morgan, 2008/12/12

First I have to say you MUST ask for JUAN as your guide. He is a native of Kauai. He is not only EXTREMELY knowlegeable of the Island, Juan has a great sense of humor, full of great stories retold to him by his grandfather, native histories, is a wealth of information. The Canyon is fasinating to see, as well as the Water Falls that we stopped along the way to witness. Juan told us local folk lore regarding the Sleeping Giant; Sprouting Horn.
Juan is WORTH THE TRIP in himself!

Aloha
Evva

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park & Rainbow Falls

Big Island Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Garry & Tracey, 2007/04/29

This trip was absolutely the highlight of our stay in Hawaii. It was the most amazing experience to walk on the crater floor of an active volcano and take a wander on a lava field. I would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone with any interest in volcanoes or anyone just looking for a fabulous way to spend a day. Our tour guide was an absolute fountain of knowledge, you could tell he had a deep interest in the subjects he talked about and in the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Day Trip to Molokai Island (from Honolulu)

Day trip to Molokai with John McBride

Reviewed by: Don Fischer, 2018/02/23

John McBride was a wealth of knowledge and excellent host. Even if the weather that day hampered us during part of the day he arranged the tour to accommodate and made certain we had the best views. He had everything arranged in advance and kept us informed via email or phone. Would highly recommend John if you want a relaxing day seeing a sleepy island. It gave you a look back in time before Hawaii got commercialized.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island One Day Circle Island Sightseeing & Volcano Tour from Honolulu

Great adventure at Big Island

Reviewed by: supers78, 2014/06/10

This was an absolutely wonderful experience. Don't miss it! Our guide was so knowledgeable of the Big Island history. Nine stops from the volcanoes, coffee plantation, nut factory etc. Caution, it is a very long day. It is very difficult to take pictures out the bus windows because of the mirror reflections from the other side. Highly recommend this tour for a great over view of the big island!

  • Kilauea Volcano

  • Big Island Landscape

  • Sugarcane

  • Rainbow Falls

  • Black Sand Beach

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Road to Hana One Day Tour from Honolulu - Rainsforest & Waterfall Adventure

Oahu to Maui Day Trip

Reviewed by: Gerry, UK, 2012/06/04

A wonderful trip brilliantly organised. Gives ample opportunity to view the beautiful island of Maui. As we have always found with all the trips, the tour guide is superb, giving us plenty of information about the island and providing lots of stops so that we can enjoy the beauty of our surroundings. A long day but well worth it.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Oahu Categories