This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Hiking Tours in Oahu

Overall Rating

4.73 4.73 / 5

Reviews

423 reviews

タンタラスの丘ダウンヒル(自転車)&ハイキングツアー

いい汗かきました

Reviewed by: ベジー・サンドウィッチ, 2013/01/18

8歳の息子を含む、家族5人で参加しました。この日の参加者は他に、日本の方2組2名と、メキシコからの若い女の子2名、ロサンゼルスからのカップル2名の、計13名でした。

バスに乗り込んだら、早速ガイドさんがナチュラルスピードの英語で話されるので、英会話の苦手な方は戸惑うかもしれませんが、アクティビティ自体は、身振り手振りの意思疎通で、やっていけると思います。

まず午前中にマウンテンバイクでダウンヒル、午後からハイキングでした。

ダウンヒルは景気も良く、とても爽快でした。他の体験談で、スピードが物足りないと書いておられましたが、子供を含む13名もおりますし、少しですが車も走っている道路で、カーブも多いので、ちょうどよいスピードだったと思います。

静かな住宅前の公園のようなところで、サンドウィッチなどのランチを食べました。野菜も新鮮そうで美味しかったです。
いろんな種類のドライフルーツやナッツが、ジップロックに入っていて、これが運動後のアウトドアで、とても美味しく感じられました。

少し移動して、別の公園でトイレタイム、また少し移動して、長靴に履きかえてウエストポーチを身につけ、ハイキングに出発です。

登山道入り口は日差しもあり、みるみる汗が流れてきましたが、そのうち木陰に入ってきて、快適でした。

ハイキングは、全般的に結構な運動量だったと思います。日ごろ、体を動かすことの少ない方だと、きつく感じるかもしれません。

我が家も、息子が心配でしたが、楽しいのか、終始ガイドさんにピッタリくっついて(英語はわからないのに)、最後までペースを崩すことなく歩けました。

途中、ガイドさんに、「僕のかかとを踏まないでね。サンキュー」と言われていました(笑)

夏だと蚊がもっと多いのかもしれませんが、休憩時に、1か所さされただけでした。

子供たちに、ビーチや買い物だけではない、また英語しか通じない環境を体験させたかったので、我が家にはとても楽しいアクティビティでした。

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

オアフ島 熱帯雨林ハイキング

野生のマダラヤドクガエルを観察出来ました!

Reviewed by: かけさん, 2016/08/04

 2年前に「マノア滝ハイキングツアー」に参加してなかなか良かったので、今回は違うツアーに…と思ってこのツアーを選びました。
 熱帯雨林の自然を満喫したいというのに加えて、出来たらハワイに移入されて野生化しているマダラヤドクガエルとジャクソンカメレオンの姿を見てみたい希望もあったのです。
 日本語ガイドでないというので一抹の不安はありましたが、まあ何とかなるだろうと思って参加しました。
 僕の他にはカリフォルニアから来た母子3人組。ガイドはテリーさんと言うハワイ生まれの方でした。
 現地に着いて「マダラヤドクガエルとジャクソンカメレオンが見たい。」と言うと流石にちょっと驚いた風情でしたが、「マダラヤドクガエルは多分いると思うよ。カメレオンはいるにはいるが、動きがゆっくりしていて見つけづらいんだ。」と言ってくれました。
 目的地は実はマノア渓谷の近くで、マノア滝トレッキングとはルートも目的の滝も違うものの、よく似たコースです。今回のコースの方がちょっと狭くて勾配も強く、難易度が高いかなと思いますが、決して厳しいコースではありません。
 テリーさんは、植物の名前だけでなく、由来、更にはハワイの植生の歴史まで丁寧に説明してくれました。ただ、完全にネイティブ・イングリッシュなので、聴き取って理解するのはちょっと大変かもしれません(^_^;)
 そして、嬉しい事にマダラヤドクガエルを同行者の男の子が見つけてくれ、写真に収める事が出来たのです!
 冒頭にマニアックな発言をしたものだから、ガイドさんだけでなく、同行者も一緒になって探してくれたおかげです。
 滝に辿り着いた時の達成感もありましたし、何と言っても念願のヤドクガエルを見られたのだから、大満足です。残念ながらジャクソンカメレオンは見つけられませんでしたが、参加してよかったと思っています。

  • 野生のマダラヤドクガエル

  • 道は結構狭いです。

  • 小川越えのルートも。

  • 目的地の滝。

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

タンタラスの丘ダウンヒル(自転車)&ハイキングツアー

ハワイは山もステキです

Reviewed by: まるきち, 2015/01/03

主人が前からやってみたいと行っていたのが、このバイクで山を下るツアー。
せっかくならハイキングもつけてみようということで、今回このツアーに参加しました。
ダイヤモンドヘッドやココヘッドとも違う、なかなかなサバイバル系山登りです。
マノアフォールトレイルと雰囲気が似ていますが、こちらは私有地に入れてもらっているのでさらにジャングル感が濃いです(笑)
途中に川を渡ったり、道なき道を進んだり、ちょっとワイキキのウキウキ感とは離れて楽しめると思います。

バイクは車でスタート地点まで連れて行ってくれます。風をきって走っていくのは本当に爽快です。個人的にはもう少しビュンビュン走ってみたかった気もしますが・・・でも楽しかったです。ワイキキを一望できる高台で食べるランチはプライスレス♪
ほぼ1日がかりの行程ですが、海に飽きちゃった人にはおすすめです。

ポイントは一切日本語がありませんので、それなりに覚悟を決めて車に乗り込んでください。
私たちは他に2つのファミリー、個人参加の方が2名の12名のチームでしたが、日本人は私たちのみ。会話はすべて英語です。お迎えの車の中から一気に英会話教室に放り込まれたような感覚でそれはそれは刺激的でした(笑)
きっと英語が分かればもっともっと楽しめるのにな~というのが残念です。

山に入る前に、長靴をはきますか?と聞かれます。私たちのチームは誰も手をあげなくて、何だかその流れで私たちもスニーカーで山登りに突入したのですが・・・・かなり泥んこになりホテルで靴洗い(涙)
靴洗いが嫌な方は勇気を持って「長靴はきます!」で手を挙げてくださいね。

ファミリーにもご夫婦にもグループにもおすすめです。楽しい想い出を作ってください!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

オアフ島 熱帯雨林ハイキング

自然大好きにはたまりませんよ!!

Reviewed by: てん, 2007/08/31

 8月25日に一人で参加しました。英語ガイドということで不安でしたが、英語がしゃべれなくても自然を愛する人たちはすぐにうちとけられます。参加者は7名で私以外は外国の方ばかりでしたが、お互いを気遣いコミュニケーションは言葉だけではないと痛感しました!!書き込みが1件もなかったので不安でしたが、ホテルの送迎も時間どおりだし別の場所で待っていたのですがわざわざ探しに来てくれました。長ズボン着用となっていますが膝したくらいのズボンと靴下を用意すれば大丈夫です。また、長靴を履きますので足のサイズは事前に申告し、サイズがあわなくても余分な靴があるので自分にあうものを履けます。虫除けスプレーも準備してくれていますし、行程はさまざまな樹木や景色を楽しむことができて最高です。なにしろ、「蛇がいない」ことが素晴らしい!滝までの道はほどよく汗をかいて気持いいですよ。また用意されたナッツやドライフルーツがおいしい。滝は大きいものではないですが、このツアーに参加した人だけしか見ることができない秘密の景色です。あとさらに感動したのが、帰りの道です。グリーンバンブーの中を滑らないように降りていくのですが、登るときとは違う植物や動物たちの声が心をスーッとさせてくれます。本当にエコトレッキングでした。
熱帯雨林なので雨が降りますが、用意したレインコートも全く必要がないくらい木々が傘になります。他の参加者はずべってお尻が汚れたりしましたが、最後に小川に入ってきれいに洗えるので大丈夫ですよ。きつさは、200メートルくらいの山に登る程度です。私たちのペースにあわせてくれますので、みなさんどんどん参加してみましょう。

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

オアフ島 熱帯雨林ハイキング

オハナ熱帯雨林ハイキング

Reviewed by: abb, 2014/05/26

当日は大体15人ぐらいのグループで、日本人は私たちだけでした。
場所は通常マノアフォールハイキングに行く入口よりかなり手前からマノアに入ります。ツアーの体験談に軍隊の訓練のように黙々と歩くと書いてあったので、少し心配でしたが、実際はツアーの参加者のペースに合わせて無理なく進み、所々でガイドさんがとても丁寧にハワイの自然や動物について説明してくれて本当に楽しかったです☆☆
また、小川の近くを歩いて滝まで行くので、水の音が心地よく、鳥や風の音にも癒されました。
マノアフォールハイキングとは違うコースで、ゴールの滝も違いますし、帰り道は竹林を戻りました。ぬかるんでいる所や、川を渡ったりするので、始めに長靴を借りる事をオススメします。少し冒険みたいな感じですごく楽しかったです!長靴だと水や泥も気にせずどんどん進めます。
ツアーは日本人向けではなく、ガイドさんも日本語は話せないので、ある程度英語が出来たほうが楽しめるとは思いますが、私有地を行くハイキングで、マノアの通常のコースとは違い自分では行けないコースなので、ハワイの自然が大好きという方には是非オススメしたいです。本当に癒されます、そしてすごく楽しい!
ツアーの参加者と協力しながら登ると思うので、いろんな方とコミュニケーションが出来て楽しいですよ!
次回もまた是非参加したいです♪

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo ABB, We are happy you enjoyed the tour. Please come again and try a different adventure to experience more of Hawaii..

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

タンタラスの丘ダウンヒル(自転車)&ハイキングツアー

最高でした~。

Reviewed by: ルルワン, 2016/06/18

ガイドさんもガイド歴の中で1,2番の悪天候という大雨の中、ポンチョをもらい半信半疑で準備。全員ポンチョを着てジャングルハイキングスタート。この時はまだ「この天気でも本当に行くの~?」という気持ちでいっぱいでした。
住宅街から一歩入るともうそこは濃い緑のジャングルの中。歩き始めて間もなく鮮やかなピンクのジンジャーの花。真っ赤なストレチア。増水した小川を超えて、竹藪の中を進んでいくうちに目の前に大きな滝。なみなみとした水量をたたえた滝の前で記念撮影。帰りはさらに水量を増した小川を超えて進むうちに、雨のおかげで一層濃くなった緑を楽しむ自分を発見。こんな経験ができてよかった~。
ハイキング終了後マウンテンバイクのスタート地点まで車で移動。自転車を準備してもらっている間に雨も止みスタート。ガイドさんとスタッフの方が安全確保をしてくれて、ゆっくりペースで下っていくので景色を楽しむ余裕もありました。途中ワイキキが一望できる場所でランチ。景色も素晴らしく、サンドイッチもとても美味しかったです。
英語のツアーということで日本人は私達だけでしたが、英語ができなくても大丈夫!楽しめました。
また、ぜひ参加したいと思います。



Comments from activity operators

Mahalo for you kind words! Come visit us again soon.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

Awesome Hike!!!

Reviewed by: webstersway, 2015/06/19

We met Keola Nui at the North Shore Market Place, he introduced himself and let us know we would be the only ones on the hike that day. We could not have asked for a better guide. Nui was very knowledgeable about the land we were going to be hiking on, letting us know about the different farms along the road to the trail. He explained the history behind the current lay out of the farms. When we arrived at the trailhead, there was a light mist falling as Nui offered a prayer to the land in the native tongue to reassure it that we were there on peaceful terms. The trail itself was unbelievably beautiful. There were moments where we were complete enclosed in the jungle, then, it would open up to expose the sky and the mountain stream below. Again, Nui was very knowledgable about the flora and fauna, explaining the difference between the native and invasive plants. We encountered a few berries along the trail that we were able to sample, they tasted very much like raspberries. We hiked in for a couple of hours and ended up having lunch on some rocks in the middle of the stream, very cool!!! We then headed back, though there was much more to be seen, we were on a schedule and did not have the time to hike any further. When we had packed away our gear, Nui drove us the the Boy Scout Camp nearby to an absolutely incredible overlook...we did not want to leave!!! This is definitely a hike everyone should try, you'll learn so much about Oahu. Thank you Nui for a truly outstanding experience!!!

Comments from activity operators

Thanks so much for your kind words! We're so happy you all enjoyed your hike!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

タンタラスの丘ダウンヒル(自転車)&ハイキングツアー

癒されました

Reviewed by: skysora, 2016/04/30

ピックアップの時間が30分もずれていたので
焦ったけど
自転車など 日本では乗らないけど
ハワイで満喫でき とっても気持ちがよかったです
公園で食べるランチも とても気持ちよかったし
美味しさが倍増された
お菓子も頂けたし ジュースも
ハイキングはこれまた滅多に足を運ぶ事が無い場所
足場が悪い場所もあったけど 人との触れ合いに とても満足できる時間でもあった
急に雨が降りカッパも頂いたのですが
サウナ状態に陥りそうになったので 雨に濡れる方を選びました
英語のガイドオンリーだけど それなりに楽しめました
他のレビューにもありましたが
確かに トイレ場所は1回と少ないので それを考慮し
行動したので 思ったほど 苦にはならなかった

ハイキングの時 荷物は貸し出されるポーチ以外は持たない方が良いと思います
なので 貴重品などはホテルなどにおいていた方が良いと思います

結構 サバイバル的なハイキングです 平坦な場所は殆ど無かった

また機会があれば自転車には乗りたいと^_^
ハイキングは 体力に自信がついたら。。。。

楽しい時間を過ごせ 良い経験が出来たと思います

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

Educational, Cultural, & Beautiful!!!

Reviewed by: ----------RHO----, 2015/03/26

I have hiked many of the popular attractions here on Oahu like Diamond Head, Manoa Falls, and Koko Head, but they have nothing as elegant as what the Huakai Iki hike has. We booked our tour, and was informed that the check in location is at the Aloha General Store. We were greeted by our wonderful guides Keola and Holly. We started venturing off on the private roads owned by Kamehameha Schools, Bishop Estate. We had excellent views of the agricultural land, the coastline of Haleiwa, the mountain ranges of both the Ko'olaus and Waianae! We had learned so much Hawaiian historical facts, such as endemic versus native species of plants and animals, special trees and plants such as the Koa tree, ohia lehua, and the strawberry guava tree. Keola and Holly are excellent guides! The one thing that I highly valued is that you can ask them anything! They will tell you if they know about it, and if they don't they will either call you or email me and give you the answer! Many other tour guides on other hikes, tend to come up with excuses, or falsified facts. But not Keola or Holly. We had great views of the swimming pools (water ponds), nice high clouds, and wonderful native plants. This is the best hiking tour that I have been on by far. I will definitely go out with north Shore Eco Tours again, for their Huakai Nui Hike! Mahalo Keola & Holly!

  • Beautiful Day in Hawaii-ne!

  • Our guide Keola

  • The Ohia Lehua

  • One of the landing zones for our military helicopters for training purposes.

  • High up in the mountain range.

  • Did you know Oahu has it's own Grand Canyon too?

  • The big lunch, after our hike was through!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

Eco tours hike was informative and very nice

Reviewed by: Dan and Denise, 2015/04/27

Me and and my girlfriend both liked the young guides who picked us up at the North Shore Marketplace parking lot. It was just us two so we felt very privilidged. The Hawaiian guide drove for about 20 min through many farms and got to know much abut them and who owned them, unfortunately much of the land were rented by Monsantos. Part of the drive was very bumpy but became much better when we got unto the military roads. The hike was not that hard mostly because the water wasn´t that high this time. It was partly slippery but our sneekers was enough to manage it. There were some very niice sceneries and crossig over the river and the mountain pool swim at the summit was very pleasent and just what we needed after a 2.5 hours hike. We got to use helmets but just for a very short time. The lunch was two wraps each and was more than enough for us.
The hawaiian native guide told us much about the the hawaiian culture and the problems hawaiians have had keeping their language alive. We also got to know about much about the different plants and trees, and the tight bond to nature hawaiina have had, he also made a hawaiian chant to the forrest when we just started the hike which was very nice to hear. We would recommend this hike to all our friends.

  • Great view at the end of the hike

Comments from activity operators

Thanks so much for the kind words... we're so glad you two enjoyed yourselves!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/25
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

Loved the Guided Diamond Head Hike!

Reviewed by: Mrs. D, 2015/09/06

The Diamond Head Hike was one of our favorite activities on Oahu! My 13 year old daughter and I booked this hike and, while we could have done it alone, I'm glad we were part of a group. We were picked up at our hotel and taken to diamond head. Our guide was friendly and helpful....I have to note that while he walked with the group, everyone climbed at their own pace...some were way ahead and others followed up from behind but we had meeting points at the mid way range and then at the top to be sure we had everyone. Our group was great and everyone watched out for one another. The climb itself is not overly difficult. There were people of all ages climbing. There are stopping points to take breaks if needed. Of course coming down is easier than going up!! Once we were down, our guide allowed time for the restroom and to grab a bottle of water if needed. Upon boarding the van for the return back to the hotel, we were all given our own individual 'I climbed Diamond Head' certificate which can be personalized and framed...my daughter loved this! I'd highly recommend this tour. I'd also recommend to book the early morning climb as it was getting very hot by 8:30 as we were finishing up. You'll also want a bottle of water.

  • At the top overlooking the inside off the crater

  • That's where we're headed

  • Sweeping views from the top

  • Top view

  • View of Makopu'u Lighthouse from the top

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Mrs. D,

We are thrilled that this hike was something you and your daughter both enjoyed! Your kind words and Great review mean a great deal to us, and your pictures turned out fantastic! The group support experience and educational part of the tours is exactly why we love our Diamond Head hike as well, and to be able to share that with Visitors makes it all worthwhile. Join us again for another adventure the next time you are in Oahu!

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Oahu Nature Tours

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

More than Moderate, but great experience

Reviewed by: Valgal, 2014/10/30

My sister insisted we had physical activity on our Hawaiian vacation...so she signed us up for the Diamond Head Crater Hike. We had a great experience! We were picked up at our designated location within the allotted 20 minute pick-up grace period and we were greeted by a very friendly guide. I am still amazed how he remembered everyone's name and where they were from instantly!

We felt safe the entire time and our guide (I think his name was Mike) was very upbeat and extremely knowledgeable about Hawaii, Diamond, the history of the island as well as the science behind the island formation, etc. I will say the trail was more challenging than I anticipated, but that could be because I haven't worked out in a few weeks. We were huffing and puffing at some points but were always given ample time to stop, rest and enjoy the scenery. The view once we reached the top was breathtaking and totally worth it.

The experience working with Veltra was enjoyable, they called to confirm our hike the day before and confirm our pick-up time and location. I would definitely recommend them and they would be my first choice for another adventure the next time I return to Hawaii.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Val,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your hike. Thank you for your kind words and great review. It is always satisfying to hear that our guests are able to share in our passion for the nature and beauty of Hawaii. Our guides love hearing the positive feedback and take pride in their work, training, and knowledge. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Oahu Nature Tours Management

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Downhill Bike Ride & Outdoor Adventure Combos - Bike, Hike & Snorkel

Highlight of my vacation in Hawaii!!

Reviewed by: Tami, 2015/06/14

This was the highlight of my vacation in Oahu. It was very well organized. We were a group of about 7 adults and 5 kids (mostly 9 year old)). The van picked us up on time and drove us to a privately owned rain-forest. Our tour-guide was extremely knowledgeable and patient. The hike wouldn't have been the same without his interesting facts. The hike itself was easy (even for the kids) but can get slippery/muddy. I would recommend using the rainboots they offered.The time went by fast; it was a nice break to be outside in a totally shaded area. We were later joined by more kids (12 kids total) and grown ups for the downhill bike ride. At first it seemed intimidating, but the tour guides did an excellent job in making sure we were safe (there was a van behind the group that alerted the guide upfront if any cars were coming by). The lunch provided (sandwiches) was delicious. The snorkeling part was my least favorite (for personal reasons...I just couldn't get the hang of it...first timer). I would recommend wearing the swimsuits underneath the hike/bike clothes, that way you don't have to change on the boat (crammed).

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2015/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Shuttle from Waikiki - Self-Guided Hiking Tour & Combo Adventures

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Dan B, 2016/11/21

We were picked up on time by a friendly driver who explained everything we needed to know regarding our hike. He was right on with his explanation. We walked along with several others up the trails which we easy then got to some of the curves and switchbacks where the footing was a little difficult. Be sure to wear good tennis shoes or hiking boots not sandals or heels for this hike. We came to a series of steps that were steep then into a tunnel that was a few minutes long. Outside the tunnel there were 2 routes to the top. One set of steps much steeper than the other but can stop and rest along the way if needed. Once on the top the views were spectacular and well worth the climb. I'm 65 years old and have 3 stents in my hear and made this "moderate " hike with only a few stops. There are some rough areas in this hike so people with walkers, wheel chairs and buggies will not make it. We will definitely do this event next time we're in Hawaii. We did the hike up to the top, looked around for 15-20 minutes and hiked back down in 1 - 1/2 hours.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

オアフ島 熱帯雨林ハイキング

おばちゃんはオージーよりも足が達者でした

Reviewed by: 50代のおばちゃん, 2014/06/14

海外では後になって森の印象が残るので、ハワイでも行ってみたくて一人参加しました。ほかの日本語版ツアーは時間が合わず、英語版のこちらに一人参加になりました。長靴を全員に貸してくれました。何インチといわれ8と答えジャスト(私は24cm)すこし大きめでいいみたい。交換もききました。ぬかるみもあったけど、火山の硬い岩のうえの渓流なので、歩くのは簡単でした。数回小川をまたいだけど、こどものころを思い出し水の中に足を突っ込んでちゃぷちゃぷと。長靴なので平気。最後にマノウの滝で記念撮影でした。英語だけどガイドさんが日本語もじょうずでした。いっしょのオージーのグループはぬかるみでおしりがどろだらけでした。なんでかなあ?たぶん、みんな普通はだいじょうぶ。楽しかったですよ。コーヒーの森のかおりも経験できました。

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Downhill Bike Ride & Outdoor Adventure Combos - Bike, Hike & Snorkel

Awesome !

Reviewed by: Vicky & Bryce Cooper, 2012/07/22

Book this tour - if you love the outdoors and want a 'real experience' you will not be disappointed.

The bike ride is a great way to see the sights and is very relaxing. The bikes are very easy to ride and is mostly downhill.

The Hike allows you to get out of the concrete jungle and commercial centre of Waikiki, but be warned this is not a gentle 'stroll' this is a decent bush walk around 2 hrs, so make sure you read the recommended 'what to wear' list that is on the voucher. You will walk through a real rain forest and learn about the unique forest of Oahu along the way, so don't let a little mud scare you.

The boat ride and snorkel is a magical way to end an action packed day. Gear is provided. It was refreshing that the boat was not packed to capacity, and again was a 'real' experience. We swam with turtles and then sailed back to the marina, this was also a great way to see Waikiki from the water.

This was a very refreshing tour and a highlight of our trip. It was gre

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Downhill Bike Ride & Outdoor Adventure Combos - Bike, Hike & Snorkel

Oahu Bike and Hike Tour

Reviewed by: Perry Klahr, 2011/07/28

My family (wife and 2 teenagers & I) did the bike and hike tour last week. Our excursion lead was Mateais and he was very knowledgeable, friendly and somewhat entertaining with his canned one liners that he's been working on for quite a while. The tour started with a bike ride (mostly downhill) in a very scenic neighborhood with great view of downtown and into the valley. The hilight of the tour was the hike into the rain forest. It was quite a kick being able to get lost so close to civilization on a path that not many people have been on. The hike was not strenuous and the rain forest definitly lived up to its name. Recommend you wear the rain boots they offer as its is very wet at times and muddy in parts. The path was scenic taking you through deep brish, through small streams, up to an isolated waterfall and then through a mile long stretch of a bamboo forest. The kids & I enjoyed doing something unique on Oahu and they have told me this was one of the hilights for them and some

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

Wow, what an experience

Reviewed by: CrazyCanadian, 2009/08/12

As a premise to this review, we have never hiked before.

We were picked up directly from our hotel and did the 9:30am trip. It was a hot day but we were provided water for the trip. Terry was our tour guide and we could not have asked for a better one at that. He was very informative and even allowed us breaks along the way. It is not a tough hike at all even for people who don't usually walk anywhere. The toughest part was the first set of stairs but even that passed by with very minimal discomfort.

There are great views along the way and amazing views at the summit so a camera is a must. Along the way, our guide explained the geological origins, biological phenomena and military history of the Diamond Head Crater. He also answered any questions we had about Hawaii and was very informative. The hike up itself is about 45 minutes and the hike down is even faster. Overall a great experience and the view was definitely worth it. A must do for anyone visiting Hawaii and is not hind

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

A Good Workout for A Great View

Reviewed by: Val, 2008/10/11

Tour guide was interesting and attentive to how the group was making it on the trail. For the faster he'd let us go ahead and express to wait at an area; and he then would walk with the not so fast group. The view is great at the end ?though sometimes you might wonder ?why am I doing this :) The Tour guide said flashlights were not necessary since they have lighted the tunnel area. I read the old literature and had my little flash light which worked good while your eyes adjusted to the lighted darkness in the tunnel. They also provided water and I had taken 2 of my own bottles of water - which is still a good idea because I wasn't sure water would be included. I drank my 2 bottles of water and at the end; I had one the tour guide supplied. After the long trail up negotiating some of the rocky trail, you get the steps and some winding steps. Then to the bunker and you do a little bending to get outside the outer area of the bunker to go up a few more steps for the best view. The

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manoa Falls Guided Hiking Adventure

This was wonderful!

Reviewed by: The, 2008/04/28

I have to say that our guide was absolutely amazing. I even at one point asked if he was a naturalist. His degree was in polynesian studies, so he wasn't just a 'cab driver' and hiking 'escort'. We felt like we really were educated not only on Oahu, but all of the Hawaiian islands. The hike was an easy one for anyone who has any hiking experience at all. It can be muddy, but it is well worth it. The falls for us were just a trickle as it hadn't rained in a few days and the strength of the falls are obviously directly related to the amount of rainfall. We still felt the hike was worth it, even if it was more like a 'drip' than a 'fall' the education we got about the tree's, plants, history, nuts, animals....you name it. I just can't say enough good things about our guide (Greg or maybe Craig, we can't remember) he was just so knowledgeable and friendly. He spoke with everyone, left no one straggling behind, made sure we all had water and anything else we needed, and really just

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Downhill Bike Ride & Outdoor Adventure Combos - Bike, Hike & Snorkel

Best thing I did in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Ed, 2007/11/16

After suffering through hokey luaus and the miserable submarine and magic shows, we went on this tour and it absolutely made our trip. The rainforest hike was unique, as expected. The tourguide had everything thought out for us: we were provided with rubber boots, food, water, waist packs, and water bottles.

The downhill bike portion of the day made for some great views and excellent photo ops. We took a picture of us holding hands with the entire coastline visible about 5 miles behind us and lots of ocean behind that.

The highlight of the trip was the sailing and snorkeling during which we (both first timers) played among a school of fish, got up close to sea turtles, swam to the coral reef about 25 feet down, and enjoyed a trip a mile or so offshore. As we sailed back in, we saw dolphins swimming beside the boat. We saw more sea life during this trip than during the entire submarine tour.

The tour guide was totally helpful and fun to talk to at the same time. We'd do t

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Downhill Bike Ride & Outdoor Adventure Combos - Bike, Hike & Snorkel

Awesome Adventure!!!!

Reviewed by: Brian, 2017/07/16

This tour was worth every penny on its own, but our guide ELON made it even better!

We were picked up on time and taken up into the hills of Manoa Valley and went on a hike in the rain forest all the way to the waterfall and back. Hike was not super difficult, but definitely wear shoes (no flip flops).

Next part of the tour was lunch up on Mt Tantalus and then a 30 minute downhill bike ride down the mountain. We stopped halfway down for a pretty nice photo op. The views were amazing! Must point out that the staff made sure we were very safe on the downhill bike ride.

Once we got to the bottom, we were take to the marina, where we boarded a catamaran and went out to the Pacific and snorkelled at the "turtle cleaning station" for about an hour. We saw about 4 or 5 turtles and a ton of fish. Snorkel boat also had sodas and snacks.

We were returned to our hotel around 5pm after a full day adventure.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED and HUGE thank you to Elon!!!!!!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha and mahalo for your comments Brian. We hope that you will return again soon and try some of our other tours to remote Oahu. We love our job!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Shuttle from Waikiki - Self-Guided Hiking Tour & Combo Adventures

Finally hiked Makapu'u!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/05/30

After several trips to Oahu and never having the opportunity to hike Makapu'u since I don't rent a car and the nearest bus stop is over a mile from the trailhead, I was happy to see Kaimana Tours offering transportation from Waikiki hotels to the trailhead.

As the only person taking the tour that day, I was put on a shuttle with a group headed to Hanauma Bay. Pickup from my hotel was prompt, the driver was both professional and entertaining, and pickup from the trailhead was efficient (all I had to do was call the office when I finished the hike, and the driver was there within 10-15 mins)!

As for the hike itself, it is actually a walk on a paved, slightly inclined one mile-ish road. The sights were beautiful all the way to the top, and people of all activity levels should be able to handle this without any issues.

All-in-all, Kaimana Tours delivered an A+++ experience, and I hope to partake in their other tour offerings the next time I'm in Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Shuttle from Waikiki - Self-Guided Hiking Tour & Combo Adventures

Great experience

Reviewed by: Maryann , 2018/10/27

I did the Diamond head and Moana hike. Both great! Was picked up in morning a little earlier only because we were out there waiting already. Our driver was friendly and informative of things around town to try. Unfortunately it was our last day there so no time to go and try out. But we had an incident where a women was not happy because a family was late arriving for their pick up ( they said they thought it was somewhere else- so call to confirm but from my experience it’s usually at the entrance of the hotel.) But the lady wasn’t happy cause she was going to miss the sun rise...well driver told her he had to at least give people some time after pick up time to be there. But after all that we were all happy and headed our way. Bring rain jacket if you can to Moana falls hike and good shoes- wet slippery. They have ponchos though just in case. Thanks for the great experience!!! I would use them again next time I come back. Till next time!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

This is the Way to See the North Shore!

Reviewed by: MeSoHappy, 2015/03/25

I learned a lot about the history of the North Shore on this tour and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. Our guides Keola and Holly were knowledgeable in Hawaiian history and culture. They have exclusive access to this trail and I highly recommend going on this tour as you will not get the chance to see the North Shore like this with anyone else. It was a real treat for me. I appreciated that Keola asked for permission to enter the hiking trail in a traditional way.The hike itself was wonderful. We saw a lovely lehua blossom on the trail! The area is home to a number of rare native trees that I will leave to you to figure the name of. This hike is not for people who are out of shape. You will get a workout on the hike! If you appreciate learning about Hawaiian culture with legitimate information shared, the natural beauty of the North Shore, and to spend a day of your vacation in nature, this hike is for you. Way better than a luau!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Downhill Bike Ride & Outdoor Adventure Combos - Bike, Hike & Snorkel

M.D.

Reviewed by: Ken Mack, 2007/08/16

Rarely do I take the time to be a reviewer, but my family so enjoyed the bike, hike, sail, and snorkel combo that I felt compelled to give a review. The excursion starts with a high through a beautiful rainforrest. The guides were well prepared providing boots that were definitely needed for the muddy terrain, as well as mosquito repellant( A MUST!) and ponchos. My wife is recovering from ACL surgery 8 months ago and I was concerned she would not be able to complete the hike. We were able to go at a slower pace than the main group and the guides were very accomodating.
The bike ride comes next. It was very scenic and all downhill. You do mostly braking-coasting with very little peddling. Ending the day with the sail and snorkel is like icing on the cake. We got to see sea turtles up close while snorkeling!
I would highly recommend this outing and would definitely do this excursion again if/when I return to Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

North Shore Hike

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2015/06/07

I live here on the island and do a good amount of hiking. I thought this hike was pretty cool! Our guide, Nui, was extremely knowledgeable about the Hawaiian culture and plants in the area. The trail has TONS of strawberry guava and mountain apple trees along it. He pointed out plants that were native. He also pointed out the invasive plants, the problems they cause, and how or why they were brought here. It was very interesting! What made this hike special for me was is that we were hiing deep into the mountains where there aren't any houses or sign of urban development in view. This is quite rare for me. Most of the hikes I've done, known or less known, have some area that shows a city or buildings or concrete structures. Nui also stopped at a campsite to let us get some beautiful scenic pictures. This was my favorite part of the trip. The view of rows of ridges and the valley that we were hiking in was breathtaking.

  • The creek

  • Mountain apples

  • This is where you are probably guaranteed to get wet. We crossed the rocks on the way past but the way back was harder.

  • Cooling off on the way back :D

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Ashley,

Mahalo nui for your thoughtful and much appreciated review.

We are glad that you had a wonderful time, and you have taken great pictures of all the fun that you could have on our hike. We look forward to seeing out on our other tours as well!

Mahalo Nui Loa
Reid Oshiro

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

Aloha! Bring your hiking shoes!

Reviewed by: Stoner, 2015/06/17

If your family is into the outdoors and adventure that is totally off the beat and path, book this tour. It is exclusive as the park is not accessible to the public. So you know, our family age ranges from 13 to 51. It was breathtaking- literally - not only from the views, but from the hiking. We hiked up the mountain trails crossing streams.
Our guides, Nui and Holly we very knowledgeable not only with the history but the plants and trees of the land.
The treat was to hike to a secluded pond and jump into the cool waters! Wow!
A bit of advice, wear comfortable shoes and water shoes are a must! Crossing the streams can be a bit challenging, as are some areas during the hike. Definitely grab a walking stick. It is about a 6 mile hike, 3 up and 3 back. All was about 6 hours.
Lunch is provided and we packed extra water. Nui and Holly were hands on assisting the entire hike. Awesome people! Mahalo!

Comments from activity operators

Thanks so much Stoner family for joining Nui and I, it was great meeting you folks! I'm so glad you all had fun, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

Thanks again!
Holly :)

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

Amazing guided diamond tour

Reviewed by: Jeff , 2018/06/15

Me and my wife booked a guided walking tour to the summit of diamond head crater with Oahu nature tours for June 12, our guide Tori was very friendly, knowledgeable and very informative, she went at a pace where we could all keep up and we stopped at a few spots along the way to take photo opportunities and to make sure everyone in the group was alright before continuing to the summit, once we arrived at the summit we had an unbelievable, breathtaking view of all of downtown Waikiki, she was more then willing to take pictures of me and my wife with the incredible picturesque views, once we got down we were all given certificates as a souvenir and a reminder of the achievement that we all accomplished, I would highly recommend booking a tour with Tori, she truly made one of our experiences here on Oahu a very memorable one, thank you so very much Oahu nature tours and a special thanks toTori.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Honolulu Waterfalls Hiking Tours with Expert Nature Guide

Highly recommended

Reviewed by: Mamacita, 2011/05/29

We did the hike-only portion up to a waterwall. Beautiful rainforest hike on the way up, and impressively thick bamboo forest on the way back down. We appreciated that bug spray, water, and snacks were provided. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable, and patient with the occasional extra time it took our 6-year old daughter to navigate some slippery and steep areas. Bike Hawaii was understanding and flexible with us when we accidentally started on the wrong activity, and easily re-scheduled us to another day so we could enjoy the activity we meant to attend. I'm sure we will use their business again when we return to Oahu.

Sidenote: our transportation back to the hotel was a 6-seater vehicle, with 7 intended passengers. Much Thanks to the cab driver who insisted that it was not safe for me to simply "hold my daughter on my lap" for the return ride! I totally agree.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Oahu Categories