(All Reviews) Scuba Diving (Watersports), Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

All Reviews for Scuba Diving in Oahu

Overall Rating

4.88 4.88 / 5

Reviews

64 reviews

Waikiki Dive Center 2 Tank Certified Scuba Diving Boat Dive [Open Now]

We could not have had a better morning diving!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2018/10/01

This was my dads first dive in Hawaii while visiting and we could not have had a better morning diving with Divemaster Red! The first spot we dove for our deep dive was the Sea Tiger ship wreck which sits in about 115' of water yet is only about a half mile out. The wreck was full of life. We saw a big sea turtle, eels, a white tip reef shark and many different fish species including a frog fish. Our divemaster Red is insanely good at finding all kinds of difficult to spot marine life. There was also a few spots on the wreck that are opened up and safe to swim through if you are comfortable. The second spot we dove was the old Kewalo drain pipe. The visibility at this spot was absolutely perfect. There were so many different fish swimming around the reef. Red did not disappoint on this dive either! He found a tako (octopus) that we were able to take pictures of. He also found a few other rare, very difficult to find reef fish that I had never seen before! We couldn't have possibly enjoyed our time underwater more! The captain of the boat was hilarious keeping everyone entertained while top side. Due to the proximity of these awesome dive sites to the boat harbor it seemed like the longest amount of time spent on the boat was for our surface interval, which would be nice for those who get sea sick easily. Lucky for us, conditions were calm and perfect and we couldn't have had a better morning of diving. My best advice is to stay close to the Divemaster and pay close attention because they are looking for awesome things to show you that you would otherwise miss.

  • My dad on the deck of the Seatiger. Big turtle below him!

  • Dad following Red through a swim through

  • Frog fish. Would have never seen him without Red

  • The Seatiger

  • Heading back up from the Seatiger

  • Dad in his happy place

  • Tako!

  • Divemaster Red

  • Another hard to spot fish

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Awesome Scuba Dive!

Reviewed by: Marisa, 2014/06/09

All-in-all, I recommend this tour from Waikiki Dive Center. They have great instructors!

When I first walked into the dive shop it was fairly clean, but a little disorganized. The displays were a little difficult to reach and could be made better by putting out a single style and have customers ask for a size from the stock to sell in the back.
Everybody there was pretty nice, and very laid back. It was busy so I could understand that things were running late.
Once we got our gear, our driver Waylon took us to the boat at Kewalo Basin. He was friendly and nice to talk to but this is for scuba diving so don't expect a flamboyant tour bus operator.
The initial instruction was done by Gracie. She was really nice and did a great job at explaining things to keep everyone safe and having a good time. This was my first time and I had a little anxiety, but the breathing in scuba diving really is like yoga breathing. It was very calming, a different world in the ocean. I kind of felt like an astronaut. We had two dives, and everyone was very helpful in instructing us. Lacey worked with my group. She was nice and very much about safety for us newbies. We saw all kinds of sea critters. I took it easy and did the 'yoga' breathing and it turned out quite well.
If you want your scuba certification, Waikiki Dive Center is a great place to get it. This first intro dive counts towards it, so you're practically half way there already.
Nice people + Nice scuba diving = Awesome!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaron's Dive Shop - Introductory Two-Tank Boat Scuba Diving [Open Now]

Outstanding!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2013/12/03

This is, by far, Oahu's top dive shop. Before beginning to dive, I shopped around, spoke with various instructors, and got a pretty good feel for what was available. In the end, I selected Aaron's and it turned out to be an awesome decision. All of the employees, whether they be sales associates, divemasters, captains, or instructors, are very professional, friendly, and immensely helpful. When it comes to diving, safety is always their first priority and they go to great lengths to ensure each diver is as comfortable as possible, both on the surface and underwater. There is no pretentious acting, bad attitude, or disrespect whatsoever; these guys are down-to-Earth, honest, and treat you like old friends. The number of people on a charter is kept small making every dive trip an enjoyable experience (I can say this with quite a bit of confidence after doing over two dozen dives with them from the boat), and the crew goes out of its way to cater to each person individually. This is the only operation I will dive with from now on, and if anyone expresses an interest in scuba this is where I tell them to go.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aqua Zone Introductory Waikiki Scuba Diving with Free Pool Lesson [Open Soon]

Sea Tiger

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/12/11

Who knew there was a 170-foot wreck just a short 5-10 minute boat ride outside of Waikiki? I definitely did not and was in for an amazing day as our small group of 5 dove down to the Sea Tiger for an extremely excellent morning of diving fun. Located 115 feet below the surface, we spent about 15-20 minutes with the schools of fishes and a giant Moray Eel.

The second dive, Nautilus, was also memorable, with endless overhangs and fairly abundant coral. Unfortunately, we did not see a turtle that morning, but it was still a great two dives (and the huge eel probably made up for that) with almost perfect weather. If you do tend to get seasick it was a bit choppy in the morning so I would recommend an over the counter or something to help calm your stomach before you head out on the boat.

Thanks to Ben (or Brandon?) and the Captain for a great time out on the water and for the water, cookies and juice all ready when we came up.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaron's Dive Shop - Introductory Two-Tank Boat Scuba Diving [Open Now]

To our friends at Aaron's Dive Shop

Reviewed by: Bruce and Liz, 2010/06/02

I can't thank you enough for your assistance and professionalism working with us while we were in Hawaii. You were recommended by my son serving in the Navy, based in Pearl Harbor. My (newly open water certified) daughter and I wanted to dive while we were in Hawaii. We had a very small window of opportunity available and you made it possible for us to have a dream come true dive in Shark's Cove. Our instructor/guide Josh came in on his day off to take us on two amazing dives. With Josh's leadership we saw many species of fish, spiny starfish, eels, swam through lava tubes, along walls of lava all with 100+ visibility. Liz and I could not have imagined more perfect dives, or a better guide. Thank you for being flexible to our schedule, and helping us have the time of our lives. If we have the opportunity to visit Oahu again, we will be sure to call ahead.Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Experience of a life time

Reviewed by: fcevallos, 2017/01/05

If you must do 1 thing in Hawaii then chose this one and forget everything else! This is a true experience of a life time. There is nothing above ground that could get similar to this Dive.
I had never done this before and my wife and I decided to try it for the first time. The instructors are super knowledgeable and will show you each and every step of the way. From the very basic hand signals used under water all the way down to show you an octopus once you are at the bottom of the ocean.
I brought a gopro camera with me but I forgot to get the case to go below 33feet under water so I couldn't take any pictures myself but the instructor took one of us and sent us via Facebook.
These guys are amazing and I would love to do it again; in fact, we are going to do Scuba Diving again in Florida and the Bahamas since we loved it so much

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Fantastic Day Out

Reviewed by: Scott Taylor, 2013/10/08

Had an absolutely great day. I have only done one other dive about 20 years ago, so I booked an introductory 2 tank dive. The instruction by Bob was excellent. There was just myself and 1 other customer on our first dive then on the second we were joined by another instructor. We had encounters with Scorpion Leaf Fish, Moray Eels, Star Fish and not forgetting the best of all, the Octopus, which decided to attach itself to Bobs face. We were allowed to touch many of the different species under the close observation of our instructors. We spent at least 20-25 mins on the first dive and probably 30-35 minutes on the second. A truly memorable day from collection from my hotel to being dropped back off again. Wish I'd done it at the beginning of my holiday to then get certified from PADI. I'll just do it the next time.....

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaron's Dive Shop - Introductory Two-Tank Boat Scuba Diving [Open Now]

PADI Open Water Certification

Reviewed by: HK, 2008/04/18

I've always wanted to be a certified scuba diver, and I'm so glad that I just decided to do it finally. The instructors at Aaron's Dive Shop were very professional and friendly, and they made the whole process easy. I had to do a bit homework but it was totally worth it, and I got to learn a lot. They answered all the questions I had, and explained throughly until I understood. So by the time I finished all the academics, I had a confidence to go underwater and play!

The two dives took place in Hawaii Kai, and I got to swim with a lot of Hawaiian sea turtles! They are the most relaxing animals. I also go to see some octopus, eels, etc.

I am now a certified diver, and I am ready to move on to advanced diver course. Thank you Aaron's Dive Shop!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Try Scuba Honolulu - Waikiki Diving Lesson for Beginners [Open Now]

Super amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Priscilla, 2018/02/03

My boyfriend and I went to this event on the first day of our trip. Our coach is so nice and accommodating. The oxygen tank is heavy and I couldn't really carry it. So he actually carried it for me and helped me wear it when I was in water so it didn't feel heavy haha.
For the next half an hour, we dived around and saw so many small, tropical fishes swimming around us. We saw coral reefs and even a starfish.
It was our first time scuba diving, and our coach is so patient and nice and explained the procedures and things to keep in mind to us in detail. He also answered all the questions I had. He took photos and videos of us scuba diving.
Overall, it was such an amazing experience!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Two Tank Intro Dive Review

Reviewed by: John, 2019/07/26

Waikiki Dive Center is a small dive shop that works with both beginners and experienced divers. The boat is small (no bathroom). We had 7 divers on the boat, including instructors. Water is provided, but you must bring your own food.

Since this was my sixth time diving (not certified), they did a quick review of skills with me, but I did not need much instruction. My dive instructor pointed out some interesting sea creatures including a small octopus (too fast for me to get a picture). Lots or turtles at this dive site.

Only down side was the second dive was at the same site, but we did explore more on the 2nd dive.

I am considering going back there to get certified.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scuba Diving in West Oahu with Diver Propulsion Vehicles [Open Now]

My new favorite dive company!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/08/07

Best dive company on Oahu without a doubt! I wish I could dive everyday with these guys. Incredibly friendly and knowledgeable crew, top-notch gear, a luxurious dive boat and they are on the west side where the best diving on the island is! They really go above and beyond to ensure you have an excellent experience both above and below water. Our guide, Drew, was awesome. He was extremely attentive and pointed out countless different types of marine life that most divers would pass right by without even noticing. After diving, the crew cut up a fresh pineapple and sprinkled li hing powder on it, which was a perfect post-dive snack. I will definitely be back!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

US Navy SEAL Doors-Off Helicopter Jump into Scuba Dive or Snorkel [Open Now]

Beyond Epic!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/08/07

This is one of the most epic things I have ever done! Steve (the owner) really does an amazing job getting you ready to make the jump and making the whole experience something you will never forget! The helicopter flight was awesome and the diving was perfect. I couldn't possibly recommend anyone other than Trident Adventures for an incredible, one of a kind dive experience! Also, The dive gear they provide is top end, brand new SCUBAPRO equipement. No sketchy, under-maintained gear with these guys. It doesnt matter how deep or shallow you go, that new, quality gear makes a huge difference in comfort and safety.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanauma Bay Introductory Scuba Diving Lesson with Expert Guide [Open 2021]

Simply the best.

Reviewed by: Marc, 2016/10/31

Dan was amazing from introduction to the activities end. He really took the time not only to teach us properly, yet he was friendly and personable. This was my wife's and my first time diving and it was experience to a new world. My wife was a bit scared at the start, but once in the water she started to love the dive. I attribute this due to Dan's expert teachings and calm manner. When I'm in Oahu again, I'd love to dive with Dan again. Would and will recommend him to everyone and anyone. After this dive, my wife and I are interested in getting our divers licenses.

Comments from activity operators

Hi guys, glad you enjoyed, it was a fun dive. Hope you get your license.
Thanks,
Dan.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaron's Dive Shop - Introductory Two-Tank Boat Scuba Diving [Open Now]

Nervous mainlander

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/29

I have to admit I was pretty nervous about my first experience. I am from the mainland, born and raised, and really haven't spent much of any time in waters other than YMCA swimming pools!

But from the minute I got there the guide was so friendly and welcoming. As shy as I am, I felt completely comfortable and at ease. THIS in itself made the trip for me.

But then we got in the cove, and oh my gosh! The number of fish and ocean critters we saw were amazing! A whole new world was opened up to me, and I LOVE it! Go on this tour, for sure!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaron's Dive Shop - Introductory Two-Tank Boat Scuba Diving [Open Now]

First Timer

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/03/15

We've never done a scuba diving before so we were a bit afraid of it, but we ended up having a great time. The divers were very safety-oriented, friendly and patient. Actually, one of my friends had to be escorted to the surface because he was not aware that he was running out of air!

The sea was a bit rough that day, so I did my portion of throwing up. TAKE A MOTION SICKNESS MEDICINE if you are prone to seasickness. It's not fun.

Overall, excellent experience though. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aqua Zone Introductory Waikiki Scuba Diving with Free Pool Lesson [Open Soon]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/01/17

My husband and I don't swim very well so we got very worried at first, but after the swimming pool learning it make easier for us. Scuba Diving actually didn't require a lot of swimming, as long as you can padle your legs you should be fine. Our instructor is very nice and knowledge, and he will take care his group and make sure everyone is safe for sure. I had a lot of fun in this scuba diving. I saw the biggest sea turtle ever in my life which make this a wonderful experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aqua Zone Introductory Waikiki Scuba Diving with Free Pool Lesson [Open Soon]

Great way to explore new worlds

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2016/07/30

I chose this scuba introductory dive because there was a pool lesson first. My entire family are divers except me, and they suggested that a pool introduction was important to become familiar with the equipment. The instructor was very thorough and we were all watched closely in the water to be kept safe. He was a great photographer, too, and I got beautiful pictures with fish and turtles in the open ocean dive. I am planning to certify with them on my next trip to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Excellent Diving!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/08/28

Waikiki Diving Centre has good equipment and a good boat. Capt. Dave and Dive Instructor Marco were fun, friendly and professional. Dove on "Sea Tiger" wreck ... awesome dive to deck level at 100' and then to Horseshoe Reef ... Saw a Dragon Eel there ... very rare and very cool. Don't know how Marco found it buried in a coral hole but he did and made sure we all got a look.
Only 6 experienced divers on this outing ... excellent diver to guide ration. Was a great trip!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aqua Zone Introductory Waikiki Scuba Diving with Free Pool Lesson [Open Soon]

BEST EXPERIENCE EVER

Reviewed by: Jeremy , 2015/06/27

The employees of Aqua Zone Dive Shop were all very helpful, I have never scuba dived before and is definitely worth the time. After our intro in the pool we meet up with experienced divers who were very happy with the dives and the amount of time they were allowed to dive for ranging from 20 mins to more than 45mins. Jason our instructor took his time to explain and make everything run smooth and enjoyable. Would highly recommend doing scuba diving with aqua zone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Highly Recommened

Reviewed by: Caleb, 2017/04/15

This is my first time with the Waikiki Dive Center. Amazing and Unforgettable experience.

Although it is introductory scuba diving, the instructor will actually give you freedom to swim around while accompanying you based on your needs and previous experience. (Other company's instructor will actually hold your tank while diving, which is annoying)

99% safe and they will never force you to do anything uncomfortable.

Highly Recommended.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanauma Bay Introductory Scuba Diving Lesson with Expert Guide [Open 2021]

Highly recommend it!

Reviewed by: Andy, 2014/12/01

I had my scuba dive with Dan and it definitely exceeded my expectations. I was rather nervous about it, but he was very patient and allowed me to take my time getting accustomed to the breathing and teaching me all the basic safety procedures. The dive itself was great, saw lots of fish and a sea turtle as well. Would highly recommend this for anyone that is doing their first dive!

Comments from activity operators

Thanks Andy, hope to see you again.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaron's Dive Shop - Introductory Two-Tank Boat Scuba Diving [Open Now]

Certified!

Reviewed by: Danielle & Andy, 2010/05/20

I just wanted to say a big THANK YOU for the amazing experience while we were there. Andy and I were certified during our stay on Oahu and we are so stoked!! Cameron was an awesome instructor, as was the rest of the staff at Aaron's. So kind, helpful, and friendly! We had such a great time. I cannot think of a better beginning for 2010 and an experience we will never forget.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Everyone Should Do This!

Reviewed by: The Tsuji Family, 2014/01/04

We loved everything about this place. The experience was very personal the group was only 5 people. I have only been 10 times and it was my husbands first time it was slow enough for beginners but we still covered a lot of water. We saw so many turtles and even got to hold an octopus that out instructor found under some rocks. It was in unforgettable experience!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aqua Zone Introductory Waikiki Scuba Diving with Free Pool Lesson [Open Soon]

Aqua Zone Scuba

Reviewed by: Karen, 2010/06/13

What a fabulous time! My children of 12 and 16 were apprehensive at first but by the time they finished the trial at the poolside, they were ready to dive in! The crew made my boys comfortable and ready to come home to get certified like their mom and dad. Highly recommend for any new comers or even those that are already certified!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Just dive in

Reviewed by: Maj Juul, 2011/07/13

Apparently I was affraid of diving, but didn't know until I was already in the water with the gear on. But the instructor was vere understanding and did the things in my pace. Actually he held my hand during the entire dive. I've definetly overcome my fear of diving and enjoyed the fish and turtles. Absolutely magnificent.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanauma Bay Introductory Scuba Diving Lesson with Expert Guide [Open 2021]

Great early morning scuba

Reviewed by: Matt, 2014/12/27

Our pick up time was at 6:20am which seemed extremely early at the time but i am glad we went early because we were one of the first people in the water. The scuba instructor was patient with the first time scuba diver in our group and he was very professional and knowledgable. This tour is definitely worth the money

Comments from activity operators

Thank you Matt, glad you enjoyed. Hope to see you again.
Dan

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Amazing

Reviewed by: LindaMae, 2013/08/06

I had so many questions about this tour that I called Veltra 7 times- and each time the gentleman was kind and courteous and told me to call back if I had any more questions. It was easy dealing with this company and very affordable.
Thank you for making this experience memorable. My whole family thanks you!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2013/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Try Scuba Honolulu - Waikiki Diving Lesson for Beginners [Open Now]

Great time

Reviewed by: Nick , 2017/12/25

For my first time scuba diving, this was a great experience. The instructor, octo, was amazing. He was very knowledgeable about diving and had great humour. Overall made the introduction to diving great and am looking forward to my next dive, thanks to Tey Scuba Diving and their amazing instructor, octo.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Great time with our three kids! For their first time diving, I couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Reviewed by: The Hall family , 2019/05/06

Liz was great. She and the other staff were super friendly, knowledgeable, attentive, and helpful. She gave us a couple of nice dives....we didn't have to do a thing, the crew took care of all the hard work of loading tanks and equipment, so just got to have fun. 10 out 10 would do again!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Great Couple of Dives

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/09/02

We dove to a downed Course Air at 120 ft and Koko Crater about 30 ft. The Course Air was very cool and second dive to Koko Crater was great too, lots of sea life including a half dozen sea turtles. The dives were both led by Scott a master dive instructor who was fun and professional.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Oahu Categories