(All Reviews) Scuba Diving (Watersports), Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

All Reviews for Scuba Diving in Oahu

Overall Rating

4.88 4.88 / 5

Reviews

66 reviews

Waikiki Dive Center 2 Tank Certified Scuba Diving Boat Dive [Open Now]

Great Trip!

Reviewed by: JDP, 2021/02/09

What a great experience with Waikiki Dive Center. 2 Tanks off the coast of Waikiki. Saw some awesome wild life and the staff was super friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating for our skill level. Would totally recommend them!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Try Scuba Honolulu - Waikiki Diving Lesson for Beginners [Open Now]

Great first scuba experience! Great Instructor!

Reviewed by: Natalia, 2020/10/30

It was our first scuba dive experience and we could not have had a better time!
All thanks to our instructor, Zola, he was super helpful from diving safety to the techniques and made us enjoy every second of the dive.
We want to point out and send a special thanks to Zola on how patient he was. He made sure I was comfortable in the water, since I was a bit scared at first, still getting used to the equipment and picking up the new breathing pattern.
We'll definitely do it again!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scuba Diving in West Oahu with Diver Propulsion Vehicles [Open Now]

My new favorite dive company!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/08/07

Best dive company on Oahu without a doubt! I wish I could dive everyday with these guys. Incredibly friendly and knowledgeable crew, top-notch gear, a luxurious dive boat and they are on the west side where the best diving on the island is! They really go above and beyond to ensure you have an excellent experience both above and below water. Our guide, Drew, was awesome. He was extremely attentive and pointed out countless different types of marine life that most divers would pass right by without even noticing. After diving, the crew cut up a fresh pineapple and sprinkled li hing powder on it, which was a perfect post-dive snack. I will definitely be back!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

US Navy SEAL Doors-Off Helicopter Jump into Scuba Dive or Snorkel [Open Soon]

Beyond Epic!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/08/07

This is one of the most epic things I have ever done! Steve (the owner) really does an amazing job getting you ready to make the jump and making the whole experience something you will never forget! The helicopter flight was awesome and the diving was perfect. I couldn't possibly recommend anyone other than Trident Adventures for an incredible, one of a kind dive experience! Also, The dive gear they provide is top end, brand new SCUBAPRO equipement. No sketchy, under-maintained gear with these guys. It doesnt matter how deep or shallow you go, that new, quality gear makes a huge difference in comfort and safety.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Two Tank Intro Dive Review

Reviewed by: John, 2019/07/26

Waikiki Dive Center is a small dive shop that works with both beginners and experienced divers. The boat is small (no bathroom). We had 7 divers on the boat, including instructors. Water is provided, but you must bring your own food.

Since this was my sixth time diving (not certified), they did a quick review of skills with me, but I did not need much instruction. My dive instructor pointed out some interesting sea creatures including a small octopus (too fast for me to get a picture). Lots or turtles at this dive site.

Only down side was the second dive was at the same site, but we did explore more on the 2nd dive.

I am considering going back there to get certified.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Great time with our three kids! For their first time diving, I couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Reviewed by: The Hall family , 2019/05/06

Liz was great. She and the other staff were super friendly, knowledgeable, attentive, and helpful. She gave us a couple of nice dives....we didn't have to do a thing, the crew took care of all the hard work of loading tanks and equipment, so just got to have fun. 10 out 10 would do again!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Dive Center 2 Tank Certified Scuba Diving Boat Dive [Open Now]

We could not have had a better morning diving!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2018/10/01

This was my dads first dive in Hawaii while visiting and we could not have had a better morning diving with Divemaster Red! The first spot we dove for our deep dive was the Sea Tiger ship wreck which sits in about 115' of water yet is only about a half mile out. The wreck was full of life. We saw a big sea turtle, eels, a white tip reef shark and many different fish species including a frog fish. Our divemaster Red is insanely good at finding all kinds of difficult to spot marine life. There was also a few spots on the wreck that are opened up and safe to swim through if you are comfortable. The second spot we dove was the old Kewalo drain pipe. The visibility at this spot was absolutely perfect. There were so many different fish swimming around the reef. Red did not disappoint on this dive either! He found a tako (octopus) that we were able to take pictures of. He also found a few other rare, very difficult to find reef fish that I had never seen before! We couldn't have possibly enjoyed our time underwater more! The captain of the boat was hilarious keeping everyone entertained while top side. Due to the proximity of these awesome dive sites to the boat harbor it seemed like the longest amount of time spent on the boat was for our surface interval, which would be nice for those who get sea sick easily. Lucky for us, conditions were calm and perfect and we couldn't have had a better morning of diving. My best advice is to stay close to the Divemaster and pay close attention because they are looking for awesome things to show you that you would otherwise miss.

  • My dad on the deck of the Seatiger. Big turtle below him!

  • Dad following Red through a swim through

  • Frog fish. Would have never seen him without Red

  • The Seatiger

  • Heading back up from the Seatiger

  • Dad in his happy place

  • Tako!

  • Divemaster Red

  • Another hard to spot fish

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Scuba Diving Tour - Waikiki Turtle Reef Afternoon Boat Dive [Open Now]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Dave, 2018/06/18

My whole family loved it. All want to get certified now! It was a great experience!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Try Scuba Honolulu - Waikiki Diving Lesson for Beginners [Open Now]

Super amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Priscilla, 2018/02/03

My boyfriend and I went to this event on the first day of our trip. Our coach is so nice and accommodating. The oxygen tank is heavy and I couldn't really carry it. So he actually carried it for me and helped me wear it when I was in water so it didn't feel heavy haha.
For the next half an hour, we dived around and saw so many small, tropical fishes swimming around us. We saw coral reefs and even a starfish.
It was our first time scuba diving, and our coach is so patient and nice and explained the procedures and things to keep in mind to us in detail. He also answered all the questions I had. He took photos and videos of us scuba diving.
Overall, it was such an amazing experience!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Try Scuba Honolulu - Waikiki Diving Lesson for Beginners [Open Now]

Great time

Reviewed by: Nick , 2017/12/25

For my first time scuba diving, this was a great experience. The instructor, octo, was amazing. He was very knowledgeable about diving and had great humour. Overall made the introduction to diving great and am looking forward to my next dive, thanks to Tey Scuba Diving and their amazing instructor, octo.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

West Oahu Introductory One-Tank Scuba Diving (from Ko Olina / Aulani Resorts)

Amazing world 42ft under

Reviewed by: Disha , 2017/07/17

The best experience of my life going scuba. Mark is a great instructor and helped me get thru my first scuba so well. Totally mesmerising and unbelievably good!!!!

  • The best experience ! N

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Amazing Scuba and Snorkling outing!

Reviewed by: Woolley Family, 2017/05/18

From check in with the staff at the office to Our instructor Christian and Captain Steve and the rest of the crew, the whole day was outstanding! Great instruction, kindness, patience, and clean equipment.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Great Time Diving!

Reviewed by: Brent, 2017/05/09

I had a great time diving. It had been a long time since my last dive so I considered myself a "beginner". Great staff and very helpful every step of the way.

I highly recommend them!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Excellent Dive Shop

Reviewed by: Jeryn, 2017/04/29

Really truly awesome, friendly, and knowledgeable people. Honestly they were just as cool as the actual diving experience. If I'd been able to spend more time on the island I would have just completed my certification through them. 5 stars.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Highly Recommened

Reviewed by: Caleb, 2017/04/15

This is my first time with the Waikiki Dive Center. Amazing and Unforgettable experience.

Although it is introductory scuba diving, the instructor will actually give you freedom to swim around while accompanying you based on your needs and previous experience. (Other company's instructor will actually hold your tank while diving, which is annoying)

99% safe and they will never force you to do anything uncomfortable.

Highly Recommended.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Lots fun!

Reviewed by: James, 2017/02/28

It's a bit difficult to understand specialized vocabulary in English. But still had fun! The driver who picked me up said they will have Chinese version handbook very soon.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Easy going and organized

Reviewed by: MTK, 2017/02/03

Nice professional group of divers all eager to take us newbies down! They took the time to ensure we were all feeling safe and comfortable. Great bunch of people.

  • Getting ready to hop in the water

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Experience of a life time

Reviewed by: fcevallos, 2017/01/05

If you must do 1 thing in Hawaii then chose this one and forget everything else! This is a true experience of a life time. There is nothing above ground that could get similar to this Dive.
I had never done this before and my wife and I decided to try it for the first time. The instructors are super knowledgeable and will show you each and every step of the way. From the very basic hand signals used under water all the way down to show you an octopus once you are at the bottom of the ocean.
I brought a gopro camera with me but I forgot to get the case to go below 33feet under water so I couldn't take any pictures myself but the instructor took one of us and sent us via Facebook.
These guys are amazing and I would love to do it again; in fact, we are going to do Scuba Diving again in Florida and the Bahamas since we loved it so much

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Amazing adventure

Reviewed by: Mike and Virginia, 2016/12/17

As first timers we were naturally nervous. The instruction was so reassuring. I would definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanauma Bay Introductory Scuba Diving Lesson with Expert Guide [Open Soon]

Simply the best.

Reviewed by: Marc, 2016/10/31

Dan was amazing from introduction to the activities end. He really took the time not only to teach us properly, yet he was friendly and personable. This was my wife's and my first time diving and it was experience to a new world. My wife was a bit scared at the start, but once in the water she started to love the dive. I attribute this due to Dan's expert teachings and calm manner. When I'm in Oahu again, I'd love to dive with Dan again. Would and will recommend him to everyone and anyone. After this dive, my wife and I are interested in getting our divers licenses.

Comments from activity operators

Hi guys, glad you enjoyed, it was a fun dive. Hope you get your license.
Thanks,
Dan.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Daniel , 2016/09/08

Very friendly and knowledgable staff at Waikki Diving. I would recommend this to anyone that loves the water or has interest in becoming a certified diver! Thanks for the great day!!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aqua Zone Introductory Waikiki Scuba Diving with Free Pool Lesson [Open Now]

Great way to explore new worlds

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2016/07/30

I chose this scuba introductory dive because there was a pool lesson first. My entire family are divers except me, and they suggested that a pool introduction was important to become familiar with the equipment. The instructor was very thorough and we were all watched closely in the water to be kept safe. He was a great photographer, too, and I got beautiful pictures with fish and turtles in the open ocean dive. I am planning to certify with them on my next trip to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

The most amazing dive ever

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2016/06/03

What a great day. We swam with turtles and saw reef sharks, octopus, moray eels and beautiful fish. The visibility was incredible and as a certifued diver the best ive ever experienced. Amanda our guide was fantastic and we felt very safe. Wouls do it again definitely!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aqua Zone Introductory Waikiki Scuba Diving with Free Pool Lesson [Open Now]

BEST EXPERIENCE EVER

Reviewed by: Jeremy , 2015/06/27

The employees of Aqua Zone Dive Shop were all very helpful, I have never scuba dived before and is definitely worth the time. After our intro in the pool we meet up with experienced divers who were very happy with the dives and the amount of time they were allowed to dive for ranging from 20 mins to more than 45mins. Jason our instructor took his time to explain and make everything run smooth and enjoyable. Would highly recommend doing scuba diving with aqua zone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

awesome experience

Reviewed by: john, 2015/06/06

As a beginner diver. The instructors were great. Patient and understanding. The underwater experience is something everyone should put on their bucket list. It's A WHOLE NEW WORLD down there

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

awesome experience

Reviewed by: john, 2015/06/05

The instructors were great. Very patient with me and the beginner divers. Eventually I was the only beginner diver that made it to the bottom of the ocean. Unbelievable experience with sea turtles and the other marine life. It's a whole new world down there

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanauma Bay Introductory Scuba Diving Lesson with Expert Guide [Open Soon]

Great early morning scuba

Reviewed by: Matt, 2014/12/27

Our pick up time was at 6:20am which seemed extremely early at the time but i am glad we went early because we were one of the first people in the water. The scuba instructor was patient with the first time scuba diver in our group and he was very professional and knowledgable. This tour is definitely worth the money

Comments from activity operators

Thank you Matt, glad you enjoyed. Hope to see you again.
Dan

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanauma Bay Introductory Scuba Diving Lesson with Expert Guide [Open Soon]

Highly recommend it!

Reviewed by: Andy, 2014/12/01

I had my scuba dive with Dan and it definitely exceeded my expectations. I was rather nervous about it, but he was very patient and allowed me to take my time getting accustomed to the breathing and teaching me all the basic safety procedures. The dive itself was great, saw lots of fish and a sea turtle as well. Would highly recommend this for anyone that is doing their first dive!

Comments from activity operators

Thanks Andy, hope to see you again.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

Awesome Scuba Dive!

Reviewed by: Marisa, 2014/06/09

All-in-all, I recommend this tour from Waikiki Dive Center. They have great instructors!

When I first walked into the dive shop it was fairly clean, but a little disorganized. The displays were a little difficult to reach and could be made better by putting out a single style and have customers ask for a size from the stock to sell in the back.
Everybody there was pretty nice, and very laid back. It was busy so I could understand that things were running late.
Once we got our gear, our driver Waylon took us to the boat at Kewalo Basin. He was friendly and nice to talk to but this is for scuba diving so don't expect a flamboyant tour bus operator.
The initial instruction was done by Gracie. She was really nice and did a great job at explaining things to keep everyone safe and having a good time. This was my first time and I had a little anxiety, but the breathing in scuba diving really is like yoga breathing. It was very calming, a different world in the ocean. I kind of felt like an astronaut. We had two dives, and everyone was very helpful in instructing us. Lacey worked with my group. She was nice and very much about safety for us newbies. We saw all kinds of sea critters. I took it easy and did the 'yoga' breathing and it turned out quite well.
If you want your scuba certification, Waikiki Dive Center is a great place to get it. This first intro dive counts towards it, so you're practically half way there already.
Nice people + Nice scuba diving = Awesome!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center [Open Now]

awesome experience in Waikiki

Reviewed by: Jude, 2014/01/05

We had scuba diving in Waikiki. It was more than awesome to do scuba diving in waikiki beach, swimming with sea turtle. It seemed sea turtle family . So excited seeing sea turtle under the sea.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2013/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Oahu Categories