(All Reviews) Scuba Diving (Water Sports), Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

All Reviews for Scuba Diving in Oahu

Overall Rating

4.87 4.87 / 5

Reviews

82 reviews

Waikiki Dive Center Two-Tank Certified Scuba Diving Boat Tour (from Waikiki)

We could not have had a better morning diving!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2018/10/01

This was my dads first dive in Hawaii while visiting and we could not have had a better morning diving with Divemaster Red! The first spot we dove for our deep dive was the Sea Tiger ship wreck which sits in about 115' of water yet is only about a half mile out. The wreck was full of life. We saw a big sea turtle, eels, a white tip reef shark and many different fish species including a frog fish. Our divemaster Red is insanely good at finding all kinds of difficult to spot marine life. There was also a few spots on the wreck that are opened up and safe to swim through if you are comfortable. The second spot we dove was the old Kewalo drain pipe. The visibility at this spot was absolutely perfect. There were so many different fish swimming around the reef. Red did not disappoint on this dive either! He found a tako (octopus) that we were able to take pictures of. He also found a few other rare, very difficult to find reef fish that I had never seen before! We couldn't have possibly enjoyed our time underwater more! The captain of the boat was hilarious keeping everyone entertained while top side. Due to the proximity of these awesome dive sites to the boat harbor it seemed like the longest amount of time spent on the boat was for our surface interval, which would be nice for those who get sea sick easily. Lucky for us, conditions were calm and perfect and we couldn't have had a better morning of diving. My best advice is to stay close to the Divemaster and pay close attention because they are looking for awesome things to show you that you would otherwise miss.

  • My dad on the deck of the Seatiger. Big turtle below him!

  • Dad following Red through a swim through

  • Frog fish. Would have never seen him without Red

  • The Seatiger

  • Heading back up from the Seatiger

  • Dad in his happy place

  • Tako!

  • Divemaster Red

  • Another hard to spot fish

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center

Awesome Scuba Dive!

Reviewed by: Marisa, 2014/06/09

All-in-all, I recommend this tour from Waikiki Dive Center. They have great instructors!

When I first walked into the dive shop it was fairly clean, but a little disorganized. The displays were a little difficult to reach and could be made better by putting out a single style and have customers ask for a size from the stock to sell in the back.
Everybody there was pretty nice, and very laid back. It was busy so I could understand that things were running late.
Once we got our gear, our driver Waylon took us to the boat at Kewalo Basin. He was friendly and nice to talk to but this is for scuba diving so don't expect a flamboyant tour bus operator.
The initial instruction was done by Gracie. She was really nice and did a great job at explaining things to keep everyone safe and having a good time. This was my first time and I had a little anxiety, but the breathing in scuba diving really is like yoga breathing. It was very calming, a different world in the ocean. I kind of felt like an astronaut. We had two dives, and everyone was very helpful in instructing us. Lacey worked with my group. She was nice and very much about safety for us newbies. We saw all kinds of sea critters. I took it easy and did the 'yoga' breathing and it turned out quite well.
If you want your scuba certification, Waikiki Dive Center is a great place to get it. This first intro dive counts towards it, so you're practically half way there already.
Nice people + Nice scuba diving = Awesome!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaron's Dive Shop - Introductory Two-Tank Boat Scuba Diving

Outstanding!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2013/12/03

This is, by far, Oahu's top dive shop. Before beginning to dive, I shopped around, spoke with various instructors, and got a pretty good feel for what was available. In the end, I selected Aaron's and it turned out to be an awesome decision. All of the employees, whether they be sales associates, divemasters, captains, or instructors, are very professional, friendly, and immensely helpful. When it comes to diving, safety is always their first priority and they go to great lengths to ensure each diver is as comfortable as possible, both on the surface and underwater. There is no pretentious acting, bad attitude, or disrespect whatsoever; these guys are down-to-Earth, honest, and treat you like old friends. The number of people on a charter is kept small making every dive trip an enjoyable experience (I can say this with quite a bit of confidence after doing over two dozen dives with them from the boat), and the crew goes out of its way to cater to each person individually. This is the only operation I will dive with from now on, and if anyone expresses an interest in scuba this is where I tell them to go.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

West Oahu Introductory One-Tank Scuba Diving (from Waikiki)

Excellent Scuba Instruction

Reviewed by: Marisa, 2014/07/29

I was picked up very timely by the driver and she was pleasant to talk to on the long ride. I was a little concerned about the text and drive thing, but otherwise we got from point A to point B just fine. There was a good mix of both certified and newbie divers like myself and was glad that I was given good advice to keep from getting too nervous. Hawaii Nautical is great at teaching the skills needed for scuba diving. However, I was not prepared for the skills based training that I would receive. We went over the basics and our instructor was good about making sure that we understood the benefits and risks of scuba diving as well as how enjoyable it can be when you are doing all of the necessary steps to be safe. Everyone was as accommodating as possible considering it was a very full boat. While I enjoyed the learning aspect of the scuba dive, I would recommend this more for people genuinely interested in becoming a certified scuba diver, rather than the casual tourist experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aqua Zone Introductory Scuba Diving with Free Pool Lesson (from Waikiki)

Sea Tiger

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/12/11

Who knew there was a 170-foot wreck just a short 5-10 minute boat ride outside of Waikiki? I definitely did not and was in for an amazing day as our small group of 5 dove down to the Sea Tiger for an extremely excellent morning of diving fun. Located 115 feet below the surface, we spent about 15-20 minutes with the schools of fishes and a giant Moray Eel.

The second dive, Nautilus, was also memorable, with endless overhangs and fairly abundant coral. Unfortunately, we did not see a turtle that morning, but it was still a great two dives (and the huge eel probably made up for that) with almost perfect weather. If you do tend to get seasick it was a bit choppy in the morning so I would recommend an over the counter or something to help calm your stomach before you head out on the boat.

Thanks to Ben (or Brandon?) and the Captain for a great time out on the water and for the water, cookies and juice all ready when we came up.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaron's Dive Shop - Introductory Two-Tank Boat Scuba Diving

To our friends at Aaron's Dive Shop

Reviewed by: Bruce and Liz, 2010/06/02

I can't thank you enough for your assistance and professionalism working with us while we were in Hawaii. You were recommended by my son serving in the Navy, based in Pearl Harbor. My (newly open water certified) daughter and I wanted to dive while we were in Hawaii. We had a very small window of opportunity available and you made it possible for us to have a dream come true dive in Shark's Cove. Our instructor/guide Josh came in on his day off to take us on two amazing dives. With Josh's leadership we saw many species of fish, spiny starfish, eels, swam through lava tubes, along walls of lava all with 100+ visibility. Liz and I could not have imagined more perfect dives, or a better guide. Thank you for being flexible to our schedule, and helping us have the time of our lives. If we have the opportunity to visit Oahu again, we will be sure to call ahead.Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center

Experience of a life time

Reviewed by: fcevallos, 2017/01/05

If you must do 1 thing in Hawaii then chose this one and forget everything else! This is a true experience of a life time. There is nothing above ground that could get similar to this Dive.
I had never done this before and my wife and I decided to try it for the first time. The instructors are super knowledgeable and will show you each and every step of the way. From the very basic hand signals used under water all the way down to show you an octopus once you are at the bottom of the ocean.
I brought a gopro camera with me but I forgot to get the case to go below 33feet under water so I couldn't take any pictures myself but the instructor took one of us and sent us via Facebook.
These guys are amazing and I would love to do it again; in fact, we are going to do Scuba Diving again in Florida and the Bahamas since we loved it so much

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center

Fantastic Day Out

Reviewed by: Scott Taylor, 2013/10/08

Had an absolutely great day. I have only done one other dive about 20 years ago, so I booked an introductory 2 tank dive. The instruction by Bob was excellent. There was just myself and 1 other customer on our first dive then on the second we were joined by another instructor. We had encounters with Scorpion Leaf Fish, Moray Eels, Star Fish and not forgetting the best of all, the Octopus, which decided to attach itself to Bobs face. We were allowed to touch many of the different species under the close observation of our instructors. We spent at least 20-25 mins on the first dive and probably 30-35 minutes on the second. A truly memorable day from collection from my hotel to being dropped back off again. Wish I'd done it at the beginning of my holiday to then get certified from PADI. I'll just do it the next time.....

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

West Oahu Introductory One-Tank Scuba Diving (from Waikiki)

First Wreck Dive!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/23

I have been a certified scuba diver for a little more than a year, and I finally got to do my first wreck dive last weekend! Went out with Captain Lonnie & Dave as our dive lead, and they were absolutely fantastic!

The first dive, to the Mahi wreck, was really cool, and saw an eel, lots of fish & an eagle ray. Swimming around something that was sunk underwater and had coral growing off of it was surreal, and an incredibly unique experience that I'm glad to say I've checked off my bucket list.

The second dive was a shallow-ish reef dive where we saw a few huge turtles, eels, and did a really cool swim through. This is definitely one of the best diving options on the island and I recommend them to any and all certified or intro divers who wish to experience life under the sea!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaron's Dive Shop - Introductory Two-Tank Boat Scuba Diving

PADI Open Water Certification

Reviewed by: HK, 2008/04/18

I've always wanted to be a certified scuba diver, and I'm so glad that I just decided to do it finally. The instructors at Aaron's Dive Shop were very professional and friendly, and they made the whole process easy. I had to do a bit homework but it was totally worth it, and I got to learn a lot. They answered all the questions I had, and explained throughly until I understood. So by the time I finished all the academics, I had a confidence to go underwater and play!

The two dives took place in Hawaii Kai, and I got to swim with a lot of Hawaiian sea turtles! They are the most relaxing animals. I also go to see some octopus, eels, etc.

I am now a certified diver, and I am ready to move on to advanced diver course. Thank you Aaron's Dive Shop!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Try Scuba Honolulu - Waikiki Diving Lesson for Beginners with Free Photo & Video

Super amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Priscilla, 2018/02/03

My boyfriend and I went to this event on the first day of our trip. Our coach is so nice and accommodating. The oxygen tank is heavy and I couldn't really carry it. So he actually carried it for me and helped me wear it when I was in water so it didn't feel heavy haha.
For the next half an hour, we dived around and saw so many small, tropical fishes swimming around us. We saw coral reefs and even a starfish.
It was our first time scuba diving, and our coach is so patient and nice and explained the procedures and things to keep in mind to us in detail. He also answered all the questions I had. He took photos and videos of us scuba diving.
Overall, it was such an amazing experience!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center

Two Tank Intro Dive Review

Reviewed by: John, 2019/07/26

Waikiki Dive Center is a small dive shop that works with both beginners and experienced divers. The boat is small (no bathroom). We had 7 divers on the boat, including instructors. Water is provided, but you must bring your own food.

Since this was my sixth time diving (not certified), they did a quick review of skills with me, but I did not need much instruction. My dive instructor pointed out some interesting sea creatures including a small octopus (too fast for me to get a picture). Lots or turtles at this dive site.

Only down side was the second dive was at the same site, but we did explore more on the 2nd dive.

I am considering going back there to get certified.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scuba Diving in West Oahu with Diver Propulsion Vehicles

My new favorite dive company!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/08/07

Best dive company on Oahu without a doubt! I wish I could dive everyday with these guys. Incredibly friendly and knowledgeable crew, top-notch gear, a luxurious dive boat and they are on the west side where the best diving on the island is! They really go above and beyond to ensure you have an excellent experience both above and below water. Our guide, Drew, was awesome. He was extremely attentive and pointed out countless different types of marine life that most divers would pass right by without even noticing. After diving, the crew cut up a fresh pineapple and sprinkled li hing powder on it, which was a perfect post-dive snack. I will definitely be back!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

US Navy SEAL Doors-Off Helicopter Jump into Scuba Dive or Snorkel Tour

Beyond Epic!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/08/07

This is one of the most epic things I have ever done! Steve (the owner) really does an amazing job getting you ready to make the jump and making the whole experience something you will never forget! The helicopter flight was awesome and the diving was perfect. I couldn't possibly recommend anyone other than Trident Adventures for an incredible, one of a kind dive experience! Also, The dive gear they provide is top end, brand new SCUBAPRO equipement. No sketchy, under-maintained gear with these guys. It doesnt matter how deep or shallow you go, that new, quality gear makes a huge difference in comfort and safety.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanauma Bay Introductory Scuba Diving Lesson with Expert Guide

Simply the best.

Reviewed by: Marc, 2016/10/31

Dan was amazing from introduction to the activities end. He really took the time not only to teach us properly, yet he was friendly and personable. This was my wife's and my first time diving and it was experience to a new world. My wife was a bit scared at the start, but once in the water she started to love the dive. I attribute this due to Dan's expert teachings and calm manner. When I'm in Oahu again, I'd love to dive with Dan again. Would and will recommend him to everyone and anyone. After this dive, my wife and I are interested in getting our divers licenses.

Comments from activity operators

Hi guys, glad you enjoyed, it was a fun dive. Hope you get your license.
Thanks,
Dan.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaron's Dive Shop - Introductory Two-Tank Boat Scuba Diving

Nervous mainlander

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/29

I have to admit I was pretty nervous about my first experience. I am from the mainland, born and raised, and really haven't spent much of any time in waters other than YMCA swimming pools!

But from the minute I got there the guide was so friendly and welcoming. As shy as I am, I felt completely comfortable and at ease. THIS in itself made the trip for me.

But then we got in the cove, and oh my gosh! The number of fish and ocean critters we saw were amazing! A whole new world was opened up to me, and I LOVE it! Go on this tour, for sure!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanauma Bay Scuba Diving Tour - One-Tank Introductory Shore Dive

Great introduction to scuba

Reviewed by: Louise, 2016/04/24

I have been to Hanauma Bay many times over the years, and often felt frustrated that I was seeing only part of its beauty.
Scuba diving was the perfect way to experience the magic and wonder of the bay. I saw so many different species of fish, that I couldn't even recall how many.
Nate, our instructor was excellent. He gave very thorough instruction, and guided us perfectly. I felt so safe, and was able to just relax and enjoy the under water world. My favourite moment was spying the resident eel in his hides hole under a rock.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaron's Dive Shop - Introductory Two-Tank Boat Scuba Diving

First Timer

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/03/15

We've never done a scuba diving before so we were a bit afraid of it, but we ended up having a great time. The divers were very safety-oriented, friendly and patient. Actually, one of my friends had to be escorted to the surface because he was not aware that he was running out of air!

The sea was a bit rough that day, so I did my portion of throwing up. TAKE A MOTION SICKNESS MEDICINE if you are prone to seasickness. It's not fun.

Overall, excellent experience though. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aqua Zone Introductory Scuba Diving with Free Pool Lesson (from Waikiki)

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/01/17

My husband and I don't swim very well so we got very worried at first, but after the swimming pool learning it make easier for us. Scuba Diving actually didn't require a lot of swimming, as long as you can padle your legs you should be fine. Our instructor is very nice and knowledge, and he will take care his group and make sure everyone is safe for sure. I had a lot of fun in this scuba diving. I saw the biggest sea turtle ever in my life which make this a wonderful experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aqua Zone Introductory Scuba Diving with Free Pool Lesson (from Waikiki)

Great way to explore new worlds

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2016/07/30

I chose this scuba introductory dive because there was a pool lesson first. My entire family are divers except me, and they suggested that a pool introduction was important to become familiar with the equipment. The instructor was very thorough and we were all watched closely in the water to be kept safe. He was a great photographer, too, and I got beautiful pictures with fish and turtles in the open ocean dive. I am planning to certify with them on my next trip to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center

Excellent Diving!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/08/28

Waikiki Diving Centre has good equipment and a good boat. Capt. Dave and Dive Instructor Marco were fun, friendly and professional. Dove on "Sea Tiger" wreck ... awesome dive to deck level at 100' and then to Horseshoe Reef ... Saw a Dragon Eel there ... very rare and very cool. Don't know how Marco found it buried in a coral hole but he did and made sure we all got a look.
Only 6 experienced divers on this outing ... excellent diver to guide ration. Was a great trip!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aqua Zone Introductory Scuba Diving with Free Pool Lesson (from Waikiki)

BEST EXPERIENCE EVER

Reviewed by: Jeremy , 2015/06/27

The employees of Aqua Zone Dive Shop were all very helpful, I have never scuba dived before and is definitely worth the time. After our intro in the pool we meet up with experienced divers who were very happy with the dives and the amount of time they were allowed to dive for ranging from 20 mins to more than 45mins. Jason our instructor took his time to explain and make everything run smooth and enjoyable. Would highly recommend doing scuba diving with aqua zone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center

Highly Recommened

Reviewed by: Caleb, 2017/04/15

This is my first time with the Waikiki Dive Center. Amazing and Unforgettable experience.

Although it is introductory scuba diving, the instructor will actually give you freedom to swim around while accompanying you based on your needs and previous experience. (Other company's instructor will actually hold your tank while diving, which is annoying)

99% safe and they will never force you to do anything uncomfortable.

Highly Recommended.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanauma Bay Introductory Scuba Diving Lesson with Expert Guide

Highly recommend it!

Reviewed by: Andy, 2014/12/01

I had my scuba dive with Dan and it definitely exceeded my expectations. I was rather nervous about it, but he was very patient and allowed me to take my time getting accustomed to the breathing and teaching me all the basic safety procedures. The dive itself was great, saw lots of fish and a sea turtle as well. Would highly recommend this for anyone that is doing their first dive!

Comments from activity operators

Thanks Andy, hope to see you again.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanauma Bay Scuba Diving Tour - One-Tank Introductory Shore Dive

Most amazing experience ever!!

Reviewed by: Cat, 2016/09/17

This was our first time scuba diving and our instructor was incredible! He made us feel very safe and helped us feel comfortable with the gear. He also took time to make sure we were ready and safe to go under. We saw the most beautiful fish and wild life with him. He also took fantastic pictures for us and even uploaded them to our Google account!..its a five star in my book!

  • Amazing

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaron's Dive Shop - Introductory Two-Tank Boat Scuba Diving

Certified!

Reviewed by: Danielle & Andy, 2010/05/20

I just wanted to say a big THANK YOU for the amazing experience while we were there. Andy and I were certified during our stay on Oahu and we are so stoked!! Cameron was an awesome instructor, as was the rest of the staff at Aaron's. So kind, helpful, and friendly! We had such a great time. I cannot think of a better beginning for 2010 and an experience we will never forget.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

West Oahu Introductory One-Tank Scuba Diving (from Waikiki)

Amazing

Reviewed by: Alexander, 2011/08/11

I have never been scuba diving before and it was totally amazing. would recommend this for anyone looking for an intro dive. The instructors were very friendly, informative and extremely patient. I am now totally hooked on scuba and investigating how to become certified. What a wonderful experience that everyone should at least try once to see if its your thing!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center

Everyone Should Do This!

Reviewed by: The Tsuji Family, 2014/01/04

We loved everything about this place. The experience was very personal the group was only 5 people. I have only been 10 times and it was my husbands first time it was slow enough for beginners but we still covered a lot of water. We saw so many turtles and even got to hold an octopus that out instructor found under some rocks. It was in unforgettable experience!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanauma Bay Scuba Diving Tour - One-Tank Introductory Shore Dive

Introductory Shore Dive

Reviewed by: Austin H, 2016/06/21

Our instructor Nate was very patient, and took us to 15-20 feet on the shore dive. We got to see some awesome things, including an eel, the Hawaiian state fish (the Humuhumunukunukuapua`a, which I can't say haha), and a large school of fish that followed us around.

It was a great experience, and has motivated us to go get our certification!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aqua Zone Introductory Scuba Diving with Free Pool Lesson (from Waikiki)

Aqua Zone Scuba

Reviewed by: Karen, 2010/06/13

What a fabulous time! My children of 12 and 16 were apprehensive at first but by the time they finished the trial at the poolside, they were ready to dive in! The crew made my boys comfortable and ready to come home to get certified like their mom and dad. Highly recommend for any new comers or even those that are already certified!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Oahu Categories