(All Reviews) Surfing / Windsurfing / SUP (Water Sports), Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Surfing / Windsurfing / SUP in Maui

Overall Rating

4.83 4.83 / 5

Reviews

35 reviews

サーフィンレッスン カラマビーチパーク<英語インストラクター> by アクション・スポーツ・マウイ

カラマビーチパーク サーフィンレッスン

Reviewed by: hiro, 2017/08/18

57歳で初めてサーフィンをしました。妻も初めてです。私は1発で乗れました。妻も2回目で乗れました。波が来たタイミングで、先生が「パドリング!」と言って、ちょうどいいタイミングで、ボードを押してくれるので、後は立つだけだからかな。波は、50cmから1mくらいかな。最初は、2時間レッスンの後、自分たちだけで居残り練習しようと思いましたが、パドリングがキツイ!2時間でゲームセット。また、砂浜からスタートではなく、波打ち際は大きな石があるので、ボードを運び込む時は、滑りやすいスロープを先生の指示に従って、運びます。波があるので少し難しいです。戻るときは波があり、自分達では、安全に上がれないかもしれません。そのため、浜辺で休憩して、また、練習というわけには行きません。つまり、先生と居る2時間しか実質できませんが、体力は2時間持ちません。ということで波に乗れて満ち足りた気分で、上がってこれました。集合場所は、駐車場のトラックです(ショップを想像すると見つけられません)。そこにボードが積まれています。同じようなトラックが4,5台あります。そこの駐車場に停められます。車のカギは預かってくれますので、貴重品は車に入れればOKです。車は、日陰に置かないと、暑くて、スマホやナビがおかしくなりますよ。後、先生は英語で教えてくれます。基本は、見ながら学ぶのですが、多少注意事項があるので(例えば、海の下は岩場なので、落ちる時は、自分からジャンプする。飛び込むように落ちると怪我するなど)。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

Fabulous for everyone!

Reviewed by: Victoria Dame, 2012/09/10

We surprised our 10 year old son with surfing lessons on our recent trip to Maui. He was so excited when he finally found out what we were doing.

When we finally found Goofy Foot they were already getting people suited up and checked in. It is a little difficult to find, but worth the search. (Just so you know, it's past the school in a small shopping center on Front Street in Lahaina. Not in the main shopping district).

We checked in and they got him all suited up, he was the only kid that morning. They have small groups, only five people per instructor. They also have a photographer, $20 for 20 pictures. The pictures were good, not fantastic, but the price was great and we have a few really good ones.

The photographer took everyone down to the beach and gave them a lesson in hamming it up for the camera. Then the instructor came down and the lesson started.

They learned all the moves to get up, stay up, speed up and slow down on the sand before moving the board

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

Great experience...

Reviewed by: Curran Family, 2008/05/22

This was our family's first trip to Maui and we wanted it to be special for our two teenage boys. The day we were supposed to have the lessons turned out not to have the best surfing conditions, so they called us to reschedule. We really appreciated them wanting us to have a good experience with some success. As parents, we were very pleased with the care and attention for safety and detail. The class size was pretty small (only 5 or 6) so there was plenty of opportunity for individualized questions. They explained everything thoroughly and made sure the boys understood what they were doing. They both caught several waves and it completely made the trip for them. We came back a few days later to rent gear for them to surf one more time... they remembered all of the instruction and had a blast! Wonderfully nice people - there is also a photographer that can capture the moment you ride your first wave - memories worth paying the few extra bucks for!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Group & Private Surfing Lessons for Beginners in Kihei

Kind and patient instructors who know how to make learning fun

Reviewed by: basic surfer, 2018/11/27

We've done a few surfing lessons over the past decade. Our instructor this time topped them all. He was funny, kind, patient with our autistic son to the point of putting him on his own board and riding tandem. He spent half the class putting the extra effort to building up our boy's confidence before he was ready to try surfing on his own.

The picture of our kid's face when he stood up and surfed on his own was something worth buying - and we don't often purchase the pictures taken over the course of the lesson.

Josh didn't just teach him to surf, he gave him a lesson in confidence and perseverance that our son won't easily forget. The fact that he had the time of his life was just the umbrella on top of the coconut.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Group & Private Surfing Lessons for Beginners in Kihei

WONDERFUL SURFING EXPERIENCE!!!!!

Reviewed by: Melissa Scott, KY, 2009/12/02

Surf lessons with the Maui Beach Boys were GREAT! They were so fun, laid back, goofy, relaxed, knowledgable, helpful, funny... you name it! I am EXTREMELY un-coordinated but love water so surfing looks fun for me but is something that is kind of unthinkable...the paitence and one on one instruction that we got durring out lesson was do helpful! The other instructors in the water even chiped in and helped push us off and give tips too! and when we were waiting for the waves to come in the conversation was very fun and smiles were a constant! This was a GREAT way to start our vacation!!! I will deffinatley do this again!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

サーフィンレッスン カラマビーチパーク<英語インストラクター> by アクション・スポーツ・マウイ

丁寧でした

Reviewed by: saki, 2014/02/14

サーフィン初心者でしたが、説明も丁寧だし、すぐに立てました(^^)v
とにかく楽しめばいいとのことで、ジャンプしてスタンスを変えたりして遊んでました(*´ω`*)
日本語が通じませんでしたが、単語だけをわかるまでジェスチャーで教えてくれるし、ずっと笑顔でgood言ってくれるし…
自分がもっと英語しゃべれたらなーと思うくらい、ホントに親切でした(^^)v
優しい!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Action Sports Maui Beginner Surfing Lessons (Kihei)

Action Sports Maui Surfing School

Reviewed by: Bill duLaney, 2012/02/29

The song says"Catch a wave and your sitting on top of the world" I DID IT!! On Feb. 13th I had the unique chance to learn how to surf. Let me say I am 65 years old and our(my) instructor Stacey did it all right. I had good "pre-flight" instruction and indeed got up on 3 waves. I did not stand up, but the feeling of being on a board on my knees was remarkable. From check-in to instruction to surfing..it was all ONO. Mahalo guys it was SUPER.
Bill du Laney..the old guy

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

Goofy foot surf school

Reviewed by: TexasMom, 2007/08/11

An awesome experience and a great value. I went with my 10 year old son and we were both able to stand on the board and stay up (for a little while, at least)in our first 2 hour lesson. Our instructor, John, took individual time with each of the students in our group(there were 5 overall)and made sure to go over the basics before we even hit the water. A wonderful, fun, and safe experience - I highly recommend this school. They created 2 new lifelong surfers!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

The best surfing instructors

Reviewed by: da boyz, 2011/07/07

I have taken surf lessons before on other islands and with other surfing school. Goofy Foot is without a doubt the best instructions I have ever had. I was able to stand up and surf after 2 runs. My boys (10 & 6) caught on even faster. I'd recommend private lessons for couples and group of friends. You'll get more surfing time with private lessons. I would only go back and do intermediate lessons with these guys.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Windsurfing Lesson at Kanaha Beach Park Kahului

Thank you

Reviewed by: Tom and Jodi, 2010/06/23

Dave and Suzy you guys are the best. We always love coming to Maui and meeting up with the Action Sports Maui team. We observed your instructors to be the best on Maui. You provide good sound advice for eager individuals getting involved with the sport. We hope to come back often because our experience was awesome! Thanks so much from Tom and Jodi - Hood River/Portland Oregon

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Windsurfing Lesson at Kanaha Beach Park Kahului

What An Experience!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/05/15

I've never surfed, but the instructors at Action Sports Maui really take the time to teach you the basics. They know how important it is for you to feel safe before trying to windsurf out on the ocean. I never felt like I was going to blow away into the blue abyss. I've been sailing a few times, and windsurfing is a similar feeling, but with more of an adrenaline rush.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Stand Up Paddle (SUP) Lessons in Lahaina

Fun and Unique

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/05/18

Stand up paddling was a very unique experience. The instructors were great and really made it easy to learn how to stand up paddle. We are from the midwest, so we wanted to try a unique ocean activity, since it would be something that we would not be able to try back home. I wish we had easier access to the ocean, so we could use our newly acquired paddling skills.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

Surfing!!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/05/10

Our dream of surfing in the warm Hawaiian water has finally come true! We (first timers from midwest) were able to catch some wave, and if we can, you can. The instructor (sorry, forgot his name) was excellent. He made sure that everyone is safe and having fun during the lesson, and was full of information on where to eat, play, etc. Thanks!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

Awesome

Reviewed by: Surfa Boy, 2008/08/09

Me and a couple of my friends took their lesson. Their instructor was very helpful and patient for us, 1st timers. We took some beach lesson before going into the water, and where they took us had perfect small & consistent waves, We each caught two or three waves! We are now hooked. We are coming back to Maui next year for sure. Thanks!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Action Sports Maui Beginner Surfing Lessons (Kihei)

Hanging 10

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/05/15

I surfed from when I was 7 until I was about 14. When I visited Maui I decided to try to get back onto the board. I took the intermediate surf lesson. The instructors at Action Sports Maui did a very good job of getting me back into the swing of surfing. It was a great experience and I hope that I will be able to surf again sometime soon.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kiteboarding Intro Lesson at Kanaha Beach Park Kahului

Exteme!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/05/15

I'm an athletic guy in his 20's. I took the 3-day course, and it was one of the best parts of my vacation. By the 2nd day I was riding the wind and ocean, and it is quite an experience. This is like kite flying for adults. If you want an adrenaline rush I would recommend trying kite surfing.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Group & Private Surfing Lessons for Beginners in Kihei

Great time surfing

Reviewed by: Paula Glidewell, 2014/10/26

This was a great excursion. I was a first time surfer. The waves were perfect. Not too big, but enough to where I was able to get up a lot. The instructors were very helpful. We surfed in an area where my friends were able to get some good pictures. I really enjoyed this.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

What a blast!

Reviewed by: Charlie, 2008/09/06

My wife and I had a great time learning to surf. We had never done anything close to surfing, but managed to look pretty good by the end of the class. The instructors (we had 2 for a group of 5) were very knowledgeable, patient, and supportive. I would highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

Surfing

Reviewed by: Alex from Napa, CA, 2016/08/14

My kids love this activity we have in Maui. Their instructor are great too. They were able to enjoy and stand on the board and surf with the waves. They said its one of a kind things to do and experience. They will surf again and this time with pride. Awesome.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

Goofy Foot Surfing Lesson

Reviewed by: Ann Norman, 2015/02/10

Our instructors, Luke and Armadillo rock. They were so patient with us. I was able to ride more waves than anticipated especially never surfed before. Two of my friends are 75 . And were all able to get up and ride a wave

Comments from activity operators

We had a blast taking you out! Thank you for choosing to surf with Goofy Foot Surf School!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Windsurfing Lesson at Kanaha Beach Park Kahului

So fun!

Reviewed by: Ellen, 2013/10/05

Martin was a great instructor! Windsurfing was physically challenging but in a fun accessible way! Perfect spot to learn (shallow water, minimal waves, just enough wind). We definitely want to try windsurfing again!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Ellen! Thank you for the great review, I will be sure to share it with Martin. Please keep us in mind for your next visit to Maui. We also have 3 and 5 day windsurf courses available.
Mahalo for choosing Action Sports Maui.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2013/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Group & Private Surfing Lessons for Beginners in Kihei

Fun

Reviewed by: Samantha , 2015/06/09

It was an absolute great time. The instructor provided such eat direction and assisted in giving you the most successful attempts at learning to surf. They also provided amazing professional photographs.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

Excellent fun

Reviewed by: Kim, 2014/05/17

We had a wonderful time. Luke our instructor was fantastic, he was patient and encouraging and spent the time to make sure we knew what to do. It was a fantastic experience.

Comments from activity operators

We are so glad to hear that! Thank you for choosing Goofy Foot, and we hope you come back on your next visit to Maui!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Stand Up Paddle (SUP) Lessons in Lahaina

Owner

Reviewed by: Wanda Mattiace, 2013/08/09

Excellent. Our instructor was named Rafael. He was patient and kind. Took time with our 12 and 10 years old. Also talked a lot about the environment as well as sea life

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2013/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Javababi, 2014/04/05

This was our first time and our instructor Kevin was amazing! He is a great teacher and super fun. We will be back for the more advanced lesson next year.

Comments from activity operators

Thanks for the positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you next year! mahalo!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kiteboarding Intro Lesson at Kanaha Beach Park Kahului

Thanks to all at Action Sports.

Reviewed by: John Arthur, 2010/06/23

Excellent organization.
Very professional, yet down to earth and friendly.
I learned a lot more than I expected and had a blast the entire time.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Group & Private Surfing Lessons for Beginners in Kihei

Surf, Surf and Surf

Reviewed by: Guest, 2014/09/24

It was fun and we were only 3 in a group and the instructor did everything to make sure we could stand up.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

Great Time!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/06/04

Our entire family had a wonderful time surfing! We cannot wait to do it again. Thanks for taking us out!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

Great Lesson and great instructors

Reviewed by: Mahalo, 2017/11/09

Overall, a good experience for new comers.

Our instructors were awesome.

Thanks Goofy Foot Surfing!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

Great first time surfing...even for the middle aged adults!

Reviewed by: Klhennessey, 2017/06/14

Sean was fantastic and really wanted us to do well! Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations