(All Reviews) Kayaking (Water Sports), Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

All Reviews for Kayaking in Maui

Overall Rating

4.70 4.70 / 5

Reviews

44 reviews

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Amazing Time

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2011/10/16

We Took This Snorkeling Trip Over The Molokini Crater Because We Wanted Something Different And Less Crowded. Well This Trip Was Right On The Nose. Our Guide Peter Was AWESOME. He Was Very People Friendly And Knowledgable About The Things He Showed Us And Talked About, It Was Nice To Not Be Sitting On An Over Crowded Boat But Instead In A Kayak With A Group Of 7 Other People. 4 Kayaks Total. We Went To 2 Different Snorkel Sites And Were Out On The Water For A Total Of About 3 Hours Or So.We Saw MANY Turtles And Lots Of Different Fish, Peter Even Showed Us An Octopus And Let Us Hold And Touch It. My Husband And I Really Enjoyed Ourselves On This Trip And Would Totally Recommend It To Anyone Thats Wanting Something Less Crowded. Sorry I Dont Have Any Photos, Were Still Here In Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayak Whale Watching Adventure & Snorkel Tour by South Pacific Kayaks

Best snorkeling tour there is!

Reviewed by: Margarita, 2017/05/15

Kayaking in Hawaii always sounds like a good idea, especially if your tour includes snorkelling wth turtles, seeing reefs and marine life. We have spotted a number of sea turtles that were swimming right next to us. Our guide was very knowledgeable as he shared some interesting facts, let us touch sea urchins and showed the best place to swim with turtles! We didn't manage to see any whales as we arrived quite late in the season, so these could only be seen from a boat that is able to travel further in the open ocean. Our tour guide has also offered refreshments during the trip so we had plenty of energy to keep us going for several hours. All in all great tour for those who like snorkelling.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Turtletastic!

Reviewed by: Karen & Randy, 2018/10/30

Our tour guide Matt was remarkably knowledgeable of both the local marine life and also local folklore, history and geography.

He guided us to two spots where we were snorkeling an arms length from some of the most beautiful sea turtles I have ever seen. The best part was because our group was small and coming off of kayaks, we had the entire area to ourselves for the most part. It was truly a breath taking experience.

Matt was engaging, funny, patient and willing to answer any and all questions we all had. I will definitely be doing this tour again, the next time I am in Maui. You will NOT be disappointed! Great value for money - an incredible experience!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Would definitely do this again...

Reviewed by: Kristi, 2011/02/20

This was one of my and my husbands favorite things we did our first time out to Hawaii. We were thrilled we were in whale infested waters and it was super cool to have the whales literally swimming under us, as we saw and heard them. It was awesome one whale swam right under our guide (Griff) who got amazing photos of the whole experience!

Would definitely do this again during whale season! Snorkeling to see the green sea turtles was amazing too. And all by getting a little exercise, rowing. Nice!

Thanks Griff and South Pacific Kayak!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Pure magic

Reviewed by: Sarah F, 2019/07/24

Cole was our tour guide, he was extremely informative and helpful. We were nervous not knowing how difficult the paddle was going to be but it truly was easy. We paddled over to the turtle cleaning station and we’re amazed at all the turtles we literally just hanging out with. Cole showed us different sea life and explained the history of the surrounding islands. It was the best tour we had during all our trips, clear waters, lots of coral and mostly turtles!!! We highly recommend

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular!

Snorkel & Kayak with Picnic

Reviewed by: Lois, 2014/02/12

A delightful small group of six experience. John was right on top of everything- He was knowledgable on how to use all the equipment and guided us to the best-ever reef for snorkeling.
We saw many whales and two even gently surfaced about 15 feet away from our kayak.
The reef was beautiful and very active with sealife- including giant turtles that hung around to greet us as we snorkled.
Refreshing fresh food picnic. Best deli-style turkey sandwhich ever!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

First time with whales & the best!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/12/20

Being from Kansas, my family and I don't exactly get too many opportunities to go kayaking in the ocean, so when my son asked if we could do the kayaking and whale watching, I was little scared but now I am so glad that I did it! This was such a great tour from the moment we met our guide up until we came back to shore. Seeing whales while in our kayaks was completely breathtaking and the professionalism displayed by the guides was top notch. Keep it up folks!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Kayak

Reviewed by: Kristy & Tim, 2012/03/31

We had an amazing time with our guide Finch with South Pacific Kayak!! We got to witness so many amazing, beautiful things! Whales breaching out of the ocean, Dolphines dancing 10 feet in front of us and the beautiful, colorful fish and turtles that inhabbit the ocean. Such an amazing time!! We wanted to go back the next day!! This was our first time Kayaking, it was amazing.

Thank you for an amazing adventure!!

Kristy and Tim

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Sports Lahaina Excursion Kayaking & Snorkeling Tours

Best Morning!

Reviewed by: M & C, 2017/05/08

My husband and I loved this adventure! Our guide Derrick was really knowledgeable about the islands and ocean, and since we had him all to ourselves he let us choose where we wanted to kayak and how long we wanted to snorkel. He took us to great spots and we got to swim with a Monk Seal and 3 Turtles, one of which came close enough to touch! It was amazing and we would definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

rusty was great!

Reviewed by: Matt and Alicia, 2015/02/23

Had a rainy start to the morning, but it ended up a beautiful day. Started with a trip out from shore to try and see some whales. Sadly we didn't see any, but we were able to hear them calling under us, which was amazing! Snorkeling was great, rusty was able to point out to us some of the reef life that often gets missed and was great about getting us into the water. Great time!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Peaceful and amazing.

Reviewed by: Alex Salmona, 2013/12/09

I have never kayaked or snorkeled before. The kayaking was great the instructor/guide went over everything with us. I liked it so much I will start doing it here at home. My wife loved the snorkeling. I had a bit of an issue in the begging because I sink in water so once I put the life vest on I was good to go. I recommend a gopro camera for some unforgettable footage.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2013/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular!

So much fun with whales.

Reviewed by: Yukiko Sagamihara, 2009/12/20

My first time in Hawaii and my husband and myself went on the kayak whale tour and I was nervous at first but the guide was so nice and he took very good care of us. Being in the open water and seeing the whales from a distance was very wonderful and I hope I can do this again soon. The kayaking was not very hard and I learned quickly thank to my guide and teacher.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Turtle Reef Kayak and Snorkel

Reviewed by: Mike and Lindsay, 2008/08/23

We had a great time Kayaking to the turtle reef and swimming with the awesome sea turtles. Our guide, Griff, did an excellent job with instructing us on proper Kayaking and snorkeling technique. He was very knowlegeable about marine biology and gave us a unique lesson on Hawaiian history and culture. A well rounded, fun trip!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular!

great trip

Reviewed by: ROBERT SINGER, 2007/09/27

Our guide Cal....... (Hawaiian name) was supurb. We went the year before but this year was diferent because this guy made our trip exceptional. He was with us every minute, dived to bring us up a octupus and taught us about marine life. No laziness. If we go again it will be because of this guide.

Thanks,

R. Singer

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular!

So GOOOOD!

Reviewed by: K. Morgan, 2009/12/20

Great great job to our tour guide kaleo!!! This was by far one of the best things we did on Maui! We saw whales from the kayak and we snorkeled with turtles and fish and a took a ton of pics with my underwater camera (disposable) so I gotta get those developed soon. I hope they come out good!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Fun day with Jake!

Reviewed by: Harris family , 2018/07/12

We had an amazing day kayaking and snorkeling with our fabulous tour guide Jake . He was so knowledgeable about the islands and the ocean and even gave us a Hawaiian language lesson ! He was super hands on and made us feel like he was our friend and not just our tour guide ! Fabulous !

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

South Pacific Kayak and Snorkeling

Reviewed by: Marcie, 2009/12/22

We had a wonderful time with South Pacific Kayak and Kelly - spent the morning enjoying the kayaks and snorkeling. Kelly was able to direct us to some awesome spots and plenty of turtles and fish to enjoy! Would definitely recommend the long trip to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Amazing Kayak Trip!

Reviewed by: Frank & Carly Wise, 2009/12/20

We had a superb kayak experience, first-time, and got to see some big fish (whales). Are they any good eating? I kid, I kid! If we ever make our way back to the beautiful islands we'd do this again in a heartbeat! Thanks for such an amazing day!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

One of the favorite things I did in Maui

Reviewed by: Kevin , 2017/11/13

Our guide, I believe his name is Roger, was helpful and informative. He made it enjoyable and a very memorable experience. Told us about the different islands and other facts about the sea life. We saw several sea turtles and other colorful fish.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Awesome guide

Reviewed by: Kim Hamilton , 2015/04/17

Steve was our guide who has 24 years of experience and knew exactly where to take us to find the best marine life. We saw an eel, octopus, lots of beautiful turtles and tons of fish! We will do it again next time we come back. Mahalo Steve!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular!

Awesome..

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/06

My wife and I had a great time. Our guide was excellent. She helped us navigate the reefs with great care and also took some great photos of us :)

Excellent activity that we would definitely recommend to others.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular!

exciting day

Reviewed by: kasing shum , 2015/05/28

Kayaking is fun. We were able to pedal along the shore line and check out different view of the island. We were also able to spot a few turtle along the way and snorkel with them. Highly recommend to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Great time!!!

Reviewed by: Rachel, 2015/06/28

My family and I had such a wonderful time! Our guide Rusty was awesome and was so informative. He made sure that everyone was enjoying themselves. Definitely will be booking with you again.
Thanks again

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular!

Outstanding

Reviewed by: clw, 2013/09/20

I highly recommend this tour. Our guide was exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable. If you want a fun and beautiful excursion book this tour! We saw sea turtles, many tropical fish, and even a shark.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular!

Wonderful Experience!

Reviewed by: Ashley @ Treasure Travel, 2012/11/03

Our guide Kaleo was really great! He led our snorkel, pointing out and educating us on all kinds of sea life. We saw turtles, an eagle ray, octopus, and lots of fish. The kayaking was fun, too!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Awesome guide

Reviewed by: Kim Hamilton , 2015/04/17

Steve our guide was so knowledgeable and took us to the best places to see marine life. We saw an eel, octopus, turtles and plenty of fish! Will do it again next time we come back :)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Ocean Sports Lahaina Excursion Kayaking & Snorkeling Tours

In my happy place

Reviewed by: mtk124@hotmail.com, 2019/04/16

Kayaking on the open ocean is my happy place! I was all set to snorkel as well on this trip but felt so at peace and comfortable kayaking that I just wanted to keep going!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

kayak &snorkeling

Reviewed by: swanson, 2007/10/04

We would highly recommend this adventure to everyone. The guide was awesome and made the experience just wonderful. We had a group of 8 which was really nice.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makena Bay Turtle Reef Snorkel & Kayak Tours

Great fun!

Reviewed by: Patricia, 2007/08/22

We thoroughly enjoyed our Kayak lessons and putting what we learned into practice. It was a bonus spotting the beautiful sea turtles while snorkeling.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Kayaks Makena and Wailea Explorer Eco-Adventure - Most Popular!

OCEAN KAYAKING

Reviewed by: MAINLAND SURFER, 2008/02/28

THE STAFF AT MAUI KAYAKS DID AN EXCELLENT JOB. WE WERE ABLE TO SEE TONS OF TROPICAL FISH AND SEA TURTLES. WILL COME BACK TO DO THIS AGAIN.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations