This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Heavenly Hanalei Bay in Kauai

Overall Rating

4.62 4.62 / 5

Reviews

28 reviews

Movie Site Tour - Film & TV Sets at Hanalei Bay, Opaeka'a Falls & More

If You're A Movie Buff, Sam's THE MAN!

Reviewed by: gsr, 2015/08/10

We took the tour on June 18, 2015. My husband and I were the first to be picked up, last to be dropped off, so this tour was much longer for us than it was for those picked up last/dropped off first. We were tired by the end, but happy to have been able to see the extra filming sites and watch more of the associated film clips in that time. it was nice that the very knowledgeable tour guide, Sam, did that. He also edited the clips, so he really knows his stuff. (I was a film major in college, so I had high expectations for this tour, and Sam not only met but exceeded them.)
Sam is a professional musician, and he also serenaded our group by singing and playing his ukelele several times at stops long the way, which was absolutely charming. I don't want to give away everything - you really will enjoy it more if you allow yourself to be pleasantly surprised. But this tour is jam-packed with film trivia and celebrity trivia and so many stops along the way, all accompanied by corresponding film clips.
Our lunch destination was AWESOME! The food was OK, not amazing or anything, but the ambience was TRULY OUTSTANDING, for film buffs!!!!!
My husband and I meant to take the drive back up to the North Shore of Kuaui again sometime during our 1-week stay, but we never did make it back up there. We weren't too upset, though, because we felt like we got to see so much of it on this movie tour.
This was our favorite tour of the vacation, by far. (We also flew to Oahu for a one-day tour which was basically a "Stop and Shop" tour), and on Kuaui we toured Allerton Gardens and went on a helicopter.) This movie tour is long, but well worth the time spent.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/07/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Movie Site Tour - Film & TV Sets at Hanalei Bay, Opaeka'a Falls & More

Alii Movie Tour in Kauai

Reviewed by: Nancy Ray, 2015/10/30

The Movie Tour with Johna, our Tour Guide was very informative and enjoyable because she was actually a native from Kauai. She brought in alot of details concerning the movie areas that we saw. I have been a movie buff for over 60 years and to see and hear about how the movie director used these areas was very exciting. The movie DVDs were very important for the touring people to identify the movies and with Johna explaining the how and wheres of each movie site , it made everything fit so perfectly. Each of the movies I have seen at least twice, even Lilo and Stitch and seeing the filming sites of "Jurassic Park", "Raiders of the Lost Arc" and "Dragonfly "were my favorites. Of course, "Elvis Presly", in my day, was the King and to see some of the filming sites of his movies and where he stayed was exciting. The Movie "Descendents" really showed the beauty and vastness of Kauai and the were got to eat at the same place the actors in the movie ate, Tahiti Nui. How fun was that!!!!!! The Hanalei Peir was very unique and I remember seeing it in several movies. The bridge that was in "Soul Surfer" was amazing and I really never thoght about it being only a one car at a time bridge. I hadn't seen one of those in forever.
The weather was awesome, at times it was sunny and then in the after noon we got some afternoon showers which made it even more fun and interesting.
This was the best tour ever. I could go on for days, but I won't. I have and will recommend this to to any and everyone I meet. Thank You for Your Tour Service and for our wonderful Tour Guide, "Johna".

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/10/26
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Movie Site Tour - Film & TV Sets at Hanalei Bay, Opaeka'a Falls & More

Kauai Movie Excursion and Hanalei Bay Tour Review

Reviewed by: Ayshe Murat, 2015/12/03

We loved, loved, and loved it! The movie tour on Kauai is the perfect treat for not only movie fans such as me and my husband but for those who love seeing the beauty of Kauai. As it combines clips of scenes from famous, and some not so famous, movies filmed on the Island. It’s an easy six hours of entertainment as the tour guide fills you with fun facts of the movies with the reality of what actually had to occur (or not occur in some cases) for the film to be made. Bleeps of scenes and inaccuracies are pointed out with amusement such as scenes that go from one far corner of the Island into the mountains with the flash of the camera such as in the Elvis movie “Blue Hawaii.”

For a modest cost, my husband and I enjoyed touring Hawaii and meeting other tourists and having lunch (choice of Burgers; Pulled Pork and Chicken Sandwiches and Salads for the vegetarians) at the wonderful restaurant, Tahiti Nui, used in the film “The Descendants.” We even got to meet Julia, the real bartender in the movie.

The tour guide was professional, courteous and funny and went out of his way to point out great restaurants and frequent stops for pictures.

We highly recommend this for anyone as a wonderful way to tour Kauai and enjoy movie making at its most magical.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/25
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Movie Site Tour - Film & TV Sets at Hanalei Bay, Opaeka'a Falls & More

Fabulous Time!

Reviewed by: Tom & Brenda, 2013/01/31

When Sam, our guide for the day, picked up my wife and I at our hotel, on time, we thought he was taking us to another location to meet up with a busload of other people for our movie tour. Instead, he said it was just the three of us on today's tour, off on a day of movie magic.
After sharing some of our favorite Kauai filmed movies with Sam, he made sure he highlighted several of the filming locations along the way. My wife and I never knew there were so many movies filmed on Kauai and so many spectacular locations to see. Sam was involved in pre-production scouting of locations for "The Descendants" and so was very knowledgeable about scenes from that movie and scores of others.
Sam personalized our tour for us, even fulfilling my request for a Bubba Burger and shave ice. He was a ukulele master musician and serenaded us at several stops along the way.
This tour made for a day in paradise that we will never forget!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

Absolutely a perfect experience for us all!

Reviewed by: Jill Dutra, 2015/08/05

This trip was one of our best yet! We have done several activities in Kauai and this one will be hard to beat. Jessie was our travel guide and he was wonderful. He was full of information about the island, he was easy to talk to and it's easy to see he loves what he does. We are a family of four with two teenage sons and all four of us enjoyed the entire day; that is not always an easy accomplishment! The kayaking was very fun, Hanalei Bay was amazing and the snorkel location was just beautiful. Our lunch on the beach was great and It was one of those memories that will last a life time. Jessie was very professional and made us feel very comfortable every step of the way. I would recommend this adventure to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【夏季限定4-10月】ナ・パリ ・コースト ラフティング シュノーケリング付き<ハナレイ湾発/昼食>

海から見る 最高のナパリコースト

Reviewed by: azzurro, 2018/07/28

ハナレイ湾から出発し、次々と現れるナパリの景観、朝の光に照らされる緑深い山々が素晴らしかった。ラフティングボートのため崖の近くまで行ってとても迫力があります。滝、ケーブ、海亀、イルカ、モンクシールが見れました。所々でとまって説明をしてくれました。シュノーケルもできました。
ランチのサンドウィッチ、スナック、飲み物がついています。
英語のためわからないところもありましたが、キャプテンやスタッフの方々が優しく話しかけてくれました。
大変満足しています!ありがとうございました!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

Rain can't stop a good time.

Reviewed by: Holly P, 2019/03/09

A warm rain fell, off and on during our float up the river, but since we were going to get wet anyhow, it didn't matter. Our guides, Web and Dan, were very attentive and funny. And knowledgeable about what we were seeing along the way.

One thing that was different from our expectation, but didn't matter too much, was that since the road past Hanalei is closed indefinitely due to a storm, the guides had to park and load things in different spots than normal, which added to the walk to the beach.

I would recommend this trip to anyone who likes fun flatwater kayaking, and great snorkeling on the north coast of Kaua'i.

  • Web (Hardy) and Dan (Laurel) our great guides

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Holly,

Thanks for your nice review. You were the beneficiary of our "dream team" , i.e. Web and Dan who also guide our all day sea kayak tour along Na Pali coast during the summer.

Thanks for warning others that, due to last years flood, has forced us to take a 1/4 mile walk along beautiful Hanale Bay.

Sometime in the next few months we are told that the road to the river mouth, where we generally launch, will be open once again.d

Thanks again for taking the time to share with others.

The Hanalei River and Bay has to be one of the more beautiful places on the planet.

A hui hou,

Micco

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

Jessie was the BEST tour guide. The ultimate professional and extremely personalable.

Reviewed by: Portland, OR Couple, 2014/07/26

What more can we say? Jessie made our kayak tour the most exciting part of our Kaua'i vacation. He's 100% passionate about the island & maintaining it's splendor. Jessie know the island flora & fauna, as well as very interesting tidbits about the history. He is also an excellent kayaker, who remained calm throughout our outing. One of the 3 couples in our party had their kayak turn over and the wife, a non-swimmer panicked. Jessie made sure all were safe with life preservers securely fastened, despite the slight "adventure." This tour is worth doing again, and again. Thanks Jessie!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

Spectacular adventure!!!

Reviewed by: MarkFlannery, 2018/02/12

Our daughter bought us this trip for our 30th wedding anniversary. We then added four of our good friends that we came with. Kayaking up and down the river was amazing, and on into the ocean. Our snorkeling adventure was awesome, as we saw a Sea Turtle and beautiful fish! Lunch was delicious too! Lisa and Steve did a great job! We were especially grateful for Lisa sharing her expansive knowledge of nature, surfing, and the Hawaiian culture! She was super accommodating taking pictures and setting up lunch! Many thanks!!!

  • What a great way to experience Kauai!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

HoloHolo Speedboat - Snorkel at Na Pali Coast & Explore Sea Caves (from Hanalei)

Amazing views and fun time!

Reviewed by: Missy W, 2019/05/31

My husband and I loved this tour. The boat guides showed us several great ocean caves, even backing our boat into them! We also lucked out and saw 4 groups of dolphins, which is almost unheard of, as well as two groups of sea turtles! We ended our boat ride with about a half hour of snorkeling on the reef. Then we got sandwiches, chips, and drinks as we headed back to shore. Overall, we had an incredible morning on the water!

  • One of the dolphins we spotted doing tricks for us!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

business trip break

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/07

Recently my buddies and I were on business in Hawaii and needed a break from work. We had the day off and decided to try this kayak thing out. It was awesome in every way.

A group of guys, we always like to be active and this provided us with the intensity we needed, and the sites were gorgeous and the guide was cool too.

Every guy who went agreed with me, this tour was the bomb.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

It was fun!

Reviewed by: Ms. Barb Langham, 2011/06/12

In spite of the downpour of rain the day of our kayak adventure (5/28), it was fun and we all had quite a workout. Our guide, Harley, was excellent in every way. Very informative, patient, skilled, and accommodating! It would have been nice if you had ordered more sunshine but then we would have been sunburned; this way, we were just wet!
Thanks again.
Barb Langham

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

River Kayaking & Snorkel

Reviewed by: Flo S, 2008/06/17

This was a really fun experience! Jonathan was our tour guide and since we were the only ones booked that afternoon, it was a really private tour. We snorkeled at Hideaways Beach, which was breathless. The kayaking back was a little tough because we were tired from the snorkeling but we finally made it. I would definitely do it again!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

Snorkeled with turtle

Reviewed by: Jim, 2016/01/26

This was a great excursion, which required a little grace and patience as it got started (van's battery was dead, had to switch vehicles), but was great overall. Fun to do both river and easy ocean kayaking. At the snorkel beach, we saw plenty of fish and also were treated to swim alongside a turtle. Steve was a great guide too.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Movie Site Tour - Film & TV Sets at Hanalei Bay, Opaeka'a Falls & More

An Interesting Tour

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/05/18

When I found out that parts of Jurassic Park were filmed on Kauai I had to visit the film locations. The tour guide was very informative and showed us movie clips to refresh our memory of what the scene looked like in the movie. The scenery of Kauai is just stunning, and you can see why people filmed at these locations.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

Awesome Excursion!!!

Reviewed by: MarkFlannery, 2018/03/05

We had such an amazing time in Kauai, but one of our favorite events was the Kayak and Snorkel excursion up the Hanalei River Anne snorkeling on the reef. Our guides, Lisa and Steve, did amazing jobs. I’d highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Great times!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

Great time!

Reviewed by: Brooke, 2017/03/20

This was one of my husband and I's adventures here in Kauai for our honeymoon! We had a wonderful time and would recommend! Great exercise, tan, and got to see lots of ocean life while snorkeling!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

Great experience

Reviewed by: Obami, 2013/12/29

Very nice and relax trip. This is our first kayak experience. The river is clam and beautiful. Snorkeling is good too, many fishes.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2013/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Movie Site Tour - Film & TV Sets at Hanalei Bay, Opaeka'a Falls & More

Reviewed by: David, 2013/09/08

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and lots of fun it was a great experience. Would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

Excellent Tour Guide

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2017/11/12

This tour was made awesome by the tour guide. He knew so much and he put us at ease the whole way through.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Kauai Tour - Deluxe Land Sightseeing, Riverboat Cruise & Airplane Flight

A little bit of Kauai from all aspects of transportation.

Reviewed by: Ericka Supplee, 2018/09/10

Airplane ride was amazing. We were able to see parts of the island you can't via car.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Movie Site Tour - Film & TV Sets at Hanalei Bay, Opaeka'a Falls & More

Jill and John Adventure

Reviewed by: Johnno, 2015/06/11

Fascinating, Informative, Fun, and all the other superlatives to achieve my fifty words!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【夏季限定4-10月】ナ・パリ ・コースト ラフティング シュノーケリング付き<ハナレイ湾発/昼食>

絶景!ナパリコースト

Reviewed by: hiro, 2017/07/26

プリンスビル宿泊で、小学生の子供が2人いるので、集合場所が近いハナレイ湾出発のこちらのツアーを選びました。集合場所まで車で15分程、ナパリコーストまでの距離も近く正解でした。
ツアー中いろいろ説明してくださってましたが、英語なので分からなくて残念、英語が出来ればもっと楽しめると思います。
ただキャプテンが声をかけて下さったり、分からないなりにも楽しめました。
ナパリコーストは絶景でしたし、ケーブも面白かった、カメやイルカにも会え満足です。
ボートなので、行き帰りはスピードがでて衝撃があるので、三年生の娘は怖がってましたが、六年生の息子は楽しんでいました。
ちなみに行きは、酔い止めのせいか子供達は爆睡。高いツアー代なのにもったいなく感じましたが、子供なんでこんなものでしょう。
また、酔い止めは飲んでおく事をお勧めします
朝早く、座る場所によって波がかなりかかり、寒ったので、薄いカッパは頂きましたが、長袖を持って行った方がよいかも。

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【夏季限定4-10月】ナ・パリ ・コースト ラフティング シュノーケリング付き<ハナレイ湾発/昼食>

ボートの揺れが

Reviewed by: 待ち時間と荒れる波, 2018/06/11

心配でしたが酔い止めを飲んでいけば大丈夫でした。北からナパリコーストに向かうのですが行きは揺れが少なく所々ボートを止めて説明がありました。帰りは波に向かっての移動なので揺れが半端ないし波がかかるときもあります。説明もほどんどなく通りすぎるだけでした。スピードがあるので体が濡れたりすると寒く感じます。あと記載にボートに乗るときは裸足とありましたがウォーターシューズは履いたままでよいと言われました。プリンスビルでの宿泊でしたので移動も楽でした。集合場所もわかりやすいしボートに乗ってる時間が少ないのが一番です。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Movie Site Tour - Film & TV Sets at Hanalei Bay, Opaeka'a Falls & More

Kauai Movie Tour

Reviewed by: Alice, 2018/06/02

It was a good way to check out some of the sites of movie scenes from Kauai. Relaxing and no stress, if that’s what you seek. Jonna was great, providing more of a local perspective and was also one of the founders of this movie tour. However note that due to recent flooding, tour won’t bring you to Hanalei Pier.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Movie Site Tour - Film & TV Sets at Hanalei Bay, Opaeka'a Falls & More

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Jacquie, 2017/12/30

We had Aunty Alicia as our guide and she was very knowledgeable and took us to extra spots! I was glad we got to see most of the north shore.

The only downside was the people flew in for the day and we were delayed waiting for them which cut our time short at some of our viewing sites.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Kauai Tour - Deluxe Land Sightseeing, Riverboat Cruise & Airplane Flight

Really enjoyed the tour

Reviewed by: The Barnetts, 2019/06/02

We wanted to give this tour 4.5 stars but couldn't. We really enjoyed the sights and the information that our guide Steve provided. He was attentive, informative, and entertaining. One suggestion would be to have a bottle of water available for each tour guest.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

great experience

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/07/06

Bucky was an excellent guide.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanalei River & Blue Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

Very bad service!

Reviewed by: SAEZELL, 2012/09/15

This excursion was fun, but staff at office was very rude. Acted like we were a burden to even help. Very short and snobby. Especially blonde lady. No one even smiled at us. I have never been on an excursion so unorganized and unfriendly. Our guide was nice enough, but no instructions for snorkeling. My sister had never snorkeled and he just gave us our masks and left us to snorkel on our own while he went spear fishing. As we were kayaking he got way ahead and never stopped and checked on the group. I was very disappointed. I have been on several excursions and the staff has always been wonderful, but not this one. I would NOT recommend this company to anyone!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Movie Site Tour - Film & TV Sets at Hanalei Bay, Opaeka'a Falls & More

No Hanalei Bay At All :(

Reviewed by: Jacky, 2018/12/22

The bus brought us to Hanalei town and Hanalei Lookout but no Hanalei Bay at all. So we are very disappointed. The title was v misleading.

  • Hanalei valley lookout

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations