This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Oahu Categories


Reviews by MeSoHappy
Last review on 2017/06/22
# of Reviews: 13

A Beautiful Day in West Oahu!

Posted on: 2017/06/22

The bus was on time to the Aloha Landing at the Sheraton and the driver was very nice. We got to the dock safely in Waianae after nearly an hour on the road. It was well worth the drive, because the weather was perfect and the waters were fairly calm for the late morning hours. The dolphins are easy to spot spinning and jumping in the air.

Lunchtime was filling, with a grilled burger and some veggies.

The snorkel was refreshing and it felt like I got a little exercise following around the guide. We saw some pretty fishes and I even got to hold a sea urchin! All in all a good trip and well worth the trek outside of Waikiki.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

A Happy Mother's Day!

Posted on: 2017/05/20

We had a quick and easy check-in at 9:00 and were seated at a table overlooking Waikiki beach. The views of Diamond Head were amazing and our table caught all of the lovely Hawaiian breeze.
All moms received a rose just for being there which was a nice touch to our breakfast! The buffet had all of your standard fare including eggs, bacon, sausage, and sweet breads along with the local-style Portuguese sausage and a breakfast quinoa. Shore Bird is the perfect place to take a date for breakfast (or dinner). Mikiko from Veltra made the process so easy that I will be booking with them again when I visit Hawaii.

Rating: star
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • The Shore Bird Bar. Margaritas for breakfast anyone?


  • A perfect way to start Mother's Day.


Fantastic Trip!

Posted on: 2017/01/30

This was a great trip to go on. The check-in went smooth and the staff were friendly. The ocean was rough but the boat was so stable that I did not even get sea sick. While we were not able to go snorkeling because of this, we saw a whale and lots of dolphins! The morning sunshine made for a beautiful backdrop to the Waianae coastline. Ocean Joy is environmentally friendly to the dolphins and we normally would get to snorkel- just not with the dolphins since it disturbs them.

Our photographer gave everyone a 50% discount on our normally $40 photo package and the photos turned out great! We appreciated the treatment of the crew and everyone had fun even though we did not snorkel. Drinks and lunch were served and everything was tasty. I had fun and look forward to going with this crew again someday. Thanks to Veltra for a smooth confirmation process. It could not have been easier to book a fun outing.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review


  • The dolphins on 'sleep mode'.


  • The beautiful Waianae coast.


  • A whale!


Fun Show & Excellent Food

Posted on: 2016/11/06

As soon as we came upstairs to the luau, we were promptly met by the luau staff and directed to our table. On the way there, the dancers greeted us with leis and we received welcome Mai Tais. They have regular and virgin Mai Tais, which were good! Our drinks were never empty and the buffet line went smooth. Try the salad, chicken, and the poi - an excellent combination! The best dessert was the haupia and I also tried some bread pudding - both were very tasty. The show started with the MC singing a beautiful rendition of an American melody in Hawaiian verse. The dancers were excellent and the whole show is well worth seeing if you are in Waikiki.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Nice Boat and Friendly Staff

Posted on: 2016/06/28

I liked the interior of the boat and the dining room was very elegant. Our photographer took our picture and we started the cruise off with a drink. They have excellent virgin lava flows and coffee! The boat was swaying to the nice jazzy tunes of the singer. I enjoyed the variety of songs and the musician was a talented ukulele and guitar player. Our waiter was attentive and they placed lightly sweetened iced tea and water in carafes at the table. Sodas and juices are complimentary but you have to order them from the waiter. I liked the salad, teriyaki chicken, cut fruit, and the coconut cake. They have an observation deck that is fantastic so be sure to bring your camera. Overall the cruise is a good value for the price and I recommend going especially on Friday nights to see the fireworks!

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • The comfortable couches in the lounge.


  • Yummy cake and coffee!


Run, Walk, Jog, or Wog!!

Posted on: 2016/06/25

The Running Tour is a good way to get a minimum of 4 miles of running in the morning. We started from the Starbucks on Ward Ave. Our first stop was at the Honolulu Fire Station. The fire station was the first in the entire country to be sponsored by a monarchy (it was originally built under the auspices of the Hawaiian Kingdom and commissioned by King Kamehameha III in 1850). Apparently, it's also haunted with the souls of the residents at the graveyard across the street.

The second stop was the State Building where we got a backstory behind the architecture of the building. It has an underground escape route and most of Hawaii's politicians including Gov. Ige work there. It was interesting to see the memorial for Hawaii's soldiers starting after the plantation era.

The most fun stop was to see Santa and Mrs. Claus at Honolulu Hale. The building was actually open on a Sunday! All the trees were lit and decorated, it includes themes like the minions and Star Wars. Very cool!

Our last stop was at Aloha Tower, where we could view the entire city from all sides. We even got a picture by Paul Allen's fancy boat with a helicopter on it.

It was all told about 4.5 miles and the route was pretty nice. I think that this is definitely a unique way to see Honolulu and the various routes that City Running Tours offers will allow a lot of tourists to see the area while getting some exercise.

I would give it honestly a 5 out of 5 stars. The tour was nice and our guide Yovo was accommodating with my wogging (a speed mix of running, walking, and jogging) abilities.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • Hula Statue


  • Mr. and Mrs. Claus at Honolulu Hale!


Beautiful Sunset & Whales!

Posted on: 2016/02/25

The Pride of Maui sunset cruise was the highlight of our trip to Maui! The crew was wonderful and welcoming and the drinks were plentiful. Dinner time rolled around and was served buffet style. Everyone was obliging and the food was tasty. I highly recommend the chicken and the onion tartlet! There were live musicians who played fun Latin jazz the entire evening, and the top deck plays more variety for the hip crowd. Needless to say, the whales were amazing! There were so many of them! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and Pride of Maui could not come more highly recommended. This would not have been made so easy without the booking process at Veltra. They made it super easy and we were happy with the customer service.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • A beautiful sunset on the Pride of Maui!


  • Great for couples and friends!


Maui in 360°!!!

Posted on: 2016/02/15

This is the best tour on Maui! I enjoyed doing the zip line but honestly was terrified to do it. Our guides Lana and Olivia made us feel safe and comfortable the entire time. After the first line I was excited for the rest of the tour. The first line is just a small taste of what the rest of the course has to offer. It gives you a variety of lengths and heights above the gulch. The last zip line was 2800 feet in length and over 700 feet in height, so it made for an exciting end to the excursion. Get in a little workout and enjoy the view, it will be an awesome ride!

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review





Excellent Breakfast Buffet!

Posted on: 2016/02/08

I really enjoyed this meal and rate it among the better breakfast places in town. The price, quality of the food, and menu are perfect for all tastes, including your vegetarian friends. The quinoa with cranberry was tasty! If you are looking for a nice place to eat, the Shore Bird is it!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date: 2016/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

See the Best of the Big Island!!

Posted on: 2015/10/08

This tour was a lot of fun! I had a great time considering that this was my first time on the island and I was skeptical about what I would see. Our guide Marcus was great. Our pick-up was on time and he was very patient the entire way. We learned a lot about some of the more recent lava flows on the Kona side of the island. My favorite part was stopping in Hilo for some light shopping and a big cup of hot Kona coffee to keep me warm in the wind and rain. It reminded me of home. Hilo is a very charming town with friendly locals and great shave ice too!

Our next stop was Akatsuka Orchid Gardens for lunch. A perfect place if you like flowers and see numerous varieties of orchids that Akatsuka is famous for. Afterward, we drove through Hilo to the amazing Volcanoes National Park! This was definitely the highlight of the tour. The view of Kilauea Iki crater was not so iki (small). It was enormous and highly worth going to again for the hike. I enjoyed the walk through the Thurston lava tube. I was able to view the lava formation and it is incredible to see that the earth is alive here. Halemaumau Crater was definitely the natural highlight of the tour. See the Jagger Museum and its (mostly) live seismograph! Cool stuff for volcano fans.

The last stop was by far the most delicious. The Punalu'u Bakery in Na'alehu was chock-full of tasty baked goods like coco puffs and their mango malasadas. Yum!

I recommend this tour for people who are short on time, like history, and want to see beaches, waterfalls, rainforests, and volcanoes (all on the same day as a matter of fact). I highly enjoyed this tour and so will you :)

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • Lots of falls at Rainbow Falls.


  • Ol' Smokey. Halemaumau Crater.


  • Na'alehu town. The real deep South!

Page Previous | 1 | 2 |