This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hawaiian Islands


Reviews by Silas
Last review on 2015/10/14
# of Reviews: 31

What the --, I can't ... OMG! I cried.

Posted on: 2015/10/14

Thank you to Jork our pilot for an amazing flight. After breakfast, me and my friends hit up the Volcanoes Winery for some wine tasting and then whipped through the Volcanoes National Park to get an idea of what we'd see from the sky before heading to the airport for our helicopter flight. The check-in was easy (I gained a few pounds from all the Hawaiian food I ate, but it was okay) and the ground crew was super friendly. Make sure you get a phone strap if you want to take pics with doors off, or you can't take your phone with you. I really didn't expect a lot but as soon as we were hovering over small lava ponds I cried a little bit. It was so epic - it looked like we were on another planet. The black lava landscape stretched to the horizon. It was cold up there but whenever we got over the bright orange lava spots you could actually feel the waves of warmth, so soothing! We finished with a fly over bubbling pots waterfalls and some of the towns. All the buildings and cars were so tiny and perfect like a miniature model city. Thanks again to Paradise Helicopters and HawaiiActivities.com. Definitely an unforgettable moment on the Big Island. Ah man!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Amazing Surf Sesh!

Posted on: 2015/10/14

Did a semi-private lesson with two friends which was perfect. Jordan man, so good, he was an amazing instructor, kind and supportive and super friendly, and he got us all up on our boards and surfing on our own within the first hour. The day was bright, waves were slow but incoming, and the view of Waikiki from the water was unforgettable! Thanks to Hans Hedemann Surf School and HawaiiActivities.com. Ah man, such a great way to spend the morning.

Reply from activity provider

ALOHA!! Nice to here!! and we are grad that you and your friends enjoyed surf with us!! Hope to see you again in Hawaii !!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Second Time - As GREAT as the first!

Posted on: 2015/10/13

Ah Man! What an amazing trip. I was a bit weary on the afternoon of since the weather report was not promising any sun. But the sunset was probably the most beautiful I have ever seen. The colors that crusted the clouds were just tear jerking. The crew was so friendly and laid back, food was healthy and tasty, beer was cold, the coastline was misty, water dark blue ... it felt so good to be there at that moment. Cheers to Ocean Joy and VELTRA for making this short trip back to the islands so much fun.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Aloha!

Posted on: 2010/07/02

On our recent visit to Hilo, my husband and I were thrilled with your hands-on training excursion. We were so happy that the training was part of the package. 20 minutes out, we were sailing like pros. It felt great! No motor noise or obnoxious diesel. I can't tell you how therapeutic it felt, with the beautiful sunset, the incomparable views, a steady but light wind, and even a little of the famous Hilo rain--just enough to be refreshing. We can't wait to do it again, next time we come back. It was the highlight of our trip to Hawaii. We are so glad you provide this great option for folks like us who are visiting and for the local folks who live near Hilo.

We are thinking about the possibility of a one-month sailing vacation within the Hawaiian Islands, with you as our Captain, of course. The Prelude is a fantastic boat, and very well appointed.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Hi, Capt. Dan.

Posted on: 2010/07/02

Thanks for the great sail inside Hilo Bay. We were worried about getting seasick, but you convinced us that it would be calm within the bay. It was like riding in a car with no motor! Most of the time we were well-balanced and the ride never caused us any problem at all.

Thanks again, so much. We'll be back to do it again, and we'll tell all our friends about you.

Rating: star
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

A BIG Mahalo!

Posted on: 2010/07/01

We just wanted to send a thank you to HawaiiActivities and Sunshine Helicopters for such an amazing helicopter excursion. This was our first helicopter experience and it surely won't be our last. Seeing waterfalls and green valleys and ocean cliffs from the angles we did was so heavenly. We wish you the best and hope to one day return and do it all over again.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

thank you

Posted on: 2010/07/01

Thank you for giving us a ‘local’ (shaka) tour. You live in a true abode where people smile and mean it. Growth is coming but with folks like you, ‘on guard”, we are assured that the beauty of “old Hawaii will continue to shine through.

Rating: star
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Hawaii, Maui

Wonderful Evening!

Posted on: 2010/06/29

What a wonderful way to cap our evening with this circus or I should say cirques! The kids loved it and we loved it even more!!! A few years back we visited the island Oahu and went to the Cirque in Waikiki, this is such a different show, but both were equally as good!

Rating: star
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Hawaii, Maui

Fun all around

Posted on: 2010/06/18

Actually, we think is the best deal one can get over here. Just think of this: one can go parasailing for 8-10 minutes or for the same price go jet skiing for the WHOLE hour! And you just have the machine for yourself, can do whatever you want.

My husband and I shared one wave runner, most of the time I was the passenger, though we could change drivers at any moment we wanted. It was the most fun experiences ever! Crazy speed, the sun, the pacific… And we got to see some dolphins passing by! How cool is that? We came back the other day to do it one more time and the guys over there they gave us a little discount as for returning customers.

They also have the photo service over there, which is 25 bucks for a CD of pictures. The first day we did not take the photos, because we had our own disposable waterproof camera… But when we developed it, pictures turned out pretty crappy. So the other time we got the photos and the photographer took the most awesome pictures ever!!! We totall

Rating: star
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Thank you from New Mexico!

Posted on: 2010/06/18

Just incredible…a spiritual experience…I’ll never forget

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |