MsTravelGal's activity reviews | Book tours, activities & fun things to do on HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Oahu Categories


Reviews by MsTravelGal
Last review on 2020/04/20
# of Reviews: 19

Successful Delivery - Happy Customer

Posted on: 2020/04/20

My husband recently celebrated his 30th birthday, and like many people whose plans have changed due to COVID-19, we had to cancel our celebration plans. Though I ordered a nice birthday present and made his dinner of choice, I wanted to do something extra, something that would remind him of a place that is special to both of us.

We got engaged and married in Hawaii and have many special memories there, so for his birthday I thought it would be nice to order a fresh Hawaiian lei. Honestly it was just as much for me as it was for him. Since we’ve been quarantined somewhere cold, all I’ve been thinking about is the warm Hawaiian air and tropical waters.

When the lei arrived, my husband was touched and appreciative but he knew it meant more to me; he’s not a flower kind of guy. So after presenting him with the lei and taking some pictures, he let me hang the lei so we could both enjoy the fresh flowers.

The booking process was simple and I received my tracking number when the delivery was shipped. The lei arrived exactly when it was supposed to and the flowers were in perfect condition. Not a single petal had fallen off. Now I just need to order one for my mom for Mother's Day!

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2020/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Delivery was on time and the flowers were perfect

  • Delivered with aloha!

  • A special gift all the way from Hawaii

  • I know you're supposed to put them in the fridge so they last longer, but I just love to look at them.


Best Zipline Experience!

Posted on: 2020/02/22

This was my first time ziplining and I had a blast! Ka'a'awa Valley (Jurassic Valley) is one of my favorite places on Oahu and the ziplining tour is the best way to see it! Soaring over the trees with breathtaking views of the lush green valley was quite a thrill. All 7 of the lines had amazing views in every direction.

The guides were fun and helped to ease the minds of anyone who was nervous. You can tell they really enjoy their job and are passionate about Hawaii.

On the ride to and from the ziplining base camp at the back of the valley we passed by numerous filming locations. We saw Hurley's golf course from Lost, Godzilla's footprint, the Jurassic Park log, and many others. It was so cool getting to see where so many great movies and tv shows were filmed.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date: 2020/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • My favorite part of the valley: Joe's mountain, featured in Mighty Joe Young

  • Breathtaking views of the valley


Five Star Luau in Heart of Waikiki

Posted on: 2020/02/20

This luau is in a perfect location for anyone staying in Waikiki. If you don't want a long drive to and from your luau, book this one because it's walking distance from most hotels in Waikiki.

Another great thing about this luau is the food. Of all the luau I've attended, this is only the second one to offer a dish with tofu. Any luau that has good vegetarian/vegan options rates very high in my book. My friends were also very pleased with the meat selection.

The entertainment was enjoyable and impressive. I especially enjoyed the fire knife dancing. I also enjoyed how each of the dance routines represented a different Polynesian island. So you get to learn a little about the culture and history of the island nations that populated Hawaii.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Relaxing & Romantic evening on the water - Perfect date night!

Posted on: 2020/02/16

We thoroughly enjoyed this dinner cruise! The Prince Kuhio is perfect for just sitting back with a good drink, relaxing, and taking in the views. I liked the choice of music; it really enhanced the aloha ambiance.

The servers were exceptionally attentive and friendly, they also doubled as the post-sunset entertainment--very impressive.

The water was a little choppy when we first got underway, but I like the feeling of riding over the waves. If you're prone to seasickness I would highly recommend going with the Prince Kuhio rather than a catamaran as the larger boat gives you a smoother ride.

If you're a sucker for imitating famous movie scenes, the Prince Kuhio is the best boat in Waikiki for reenacting the Titanic "I'm flying" scene where Jack and Rose stand on the bow of the ship. And the friendly crew were very obliging and took the picture for us.

Five stars for sure!

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2020/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Perfect double date on the Prince Kuhio.

  • Reenacting the Titanic scene.

  • View of Diamond Head from the harbor.


Honeymoon Highlight!

Posted on: 2020/02/11

I wouldn't give this tour five stars...I give it as many stars as there are in the Mauna Kea sky! This tour was easily the highlight of our trip on the Big Island! We enjoyed every minute of it. The sunset was absolutely gorgeous, and to see it from such a high elevation was quite remarkable. I was glad that we had plenty of time before and after the sunset to walk around, take in the view, and get some good pictures.

The dinner was very good but if you don't like lasagna there's a microwave at VIS if you want to bring your own food.

The road to the summit is a bit bumpy, but that's to be expected since it's a volcano. So take motion sickness meds if you're prone to carsickness. And if you get cold easily, definitely bring layers! They provide parkas and gloves but you might also want to bring a hat or scarf and thick socks.

Throughout the tour, the guide provided a very entertaining and educational narrative. It's obvious that he's passionate about Mauna Kea and Hawaii. He's basically a walking encyclopedia of Hawaii and provided all kinds of interesting information about Mauna Kea's geology and history, and also talked about Hawaiian culture and why Mauna Kea is a sacred place. He also did an excellent job of guiding the stargazing and pointing out constellations, star clusters, and planets, most of which we got to see through a telescope. I think my favorite part of the stargazing was getting to see the Andromeda galaxy through the telescope.

If you're going to the Big Island, this tour is a must!

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • View from the Visitor Information Station, 9k feet elevation.

  • The snow capped summit

  • Some of the Mauna Kea telescopes

  • Watching the sunset from above the clouds was surreal

  • This picture is nothing compared to the real thing!


Best way to see the island!

Posted on: 2020/02/06

This is by far the best (and quickest) way to see the whole island of Oahu! I was amazed that in just a little over an hour we were able to see all of the major attractions of the whole island!

We saw everything from Pearl Harbor and Waikiki, to Diamond Head, Jurassic Valley, and even a waterfall that's only accessible from the air! The views were beyond breathtaking and the pilot made sure to turn the helicopter so that everyone could enjoy the view. He also provided a knowledgeable narration of Oahu's culture and history.

If you're visiting Oahu (or any of the islands) a circle island helicopter tour is definitely a must! You won't be disappointed!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Spectacular view of Ka'a'awa Valley, a.k.a Jurassic Valley!

  • Bird's eye view of iconic Diamond Head

  • Ready to go!


By far the best shark tour in Hawaii!

Posted on: 2020/02/05

I have to admit, even though I knew I would be swimming safely in a cage, I was still a little nervous. But the crew did a good job of putting my mind at ease. These guys really know their stuff! They've been swimming with sharks and surfing in Hawaii their whole lives. They are like walking encyclopedias!

The tour was fun from start to finish. We got to see whales on the way to and from the dive site (and we could hear them when we were in the water!), we saw the Lost beach where the TV show was filmed, and the view of the North Shore coastline was breathtaking.

Last but not least, the sharks. There were at least five in sight when I got in the cage. It was a dream come true getting to be so close to them and watch them swim around us. And the best part is that this tour only takes out a maximum of 6 people so we got to stay in the cage the whole time!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Swimming with sharks in their natural habitat on the North Shore!


Best way to see Oahu's marine life!

Posted on: 2020/01/23

"We got no troubles, life is the bubbles, under the sea!" It was inevitable that "Under the Sea" from The Little Mermaid would be playing through my head on this tour. I've always been fascinated by ocean life and would love to someday learn how to scuba dive...but until then, this submarine tour is the perfect--and only--way to explore the world under the sea.
The shuttle out to the dive site not only provided great views of Diamond Head and Waikiki, but also gave us the chance to see exactly where we'd be descending and what part of the bay we'd be exploring.
I've actually done this tour twice and enjoyed it just as much the second time. On both tours we saw sea turtles, star fish, and tons of fish in various shapes, sizes, and colors. During the second tour we also got the chance to see two scuba divers exploring one of the sunken ships.
The crew were all very friendly and knowledgeable and provided lots of interesting facts and details about what we were seeing.
I highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in seeing a completely different world, so unlike what we see every day on land. Take Sabastian's advice and go "under the sea!"

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We love hearing that you were able to see some amazing views. We're also excited you were able to see some great marine life! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back aboard in the future! A hui hou (until next time).

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • We saw several of this species and some were much larger than this guy

  • So many fish!

  • Inside the sub just before everyone boarded from the shuttle boat

  • Very unique experience getting to dive beyond 100 feet without getting wet or having your ears pop!

  • View of Waikiki and the Ko'olau Mountains under the clouds

  • Diamond Head--Oahu's most iconic natural feature.


Go with the 5 Star!

Posted on: 2019/10/27

They say to shoot for the stars...so why not go for as many stars as you can? Now that I've been on the three star and the five star dining options, I can honestly say that the five star is worth the extra money. Both dining options were enjoyable and both exceeded my expectations. The quality of the food and service were excellent on both cruises, but I preferred the extra elegance of the five star. From the private welcome reception with the captain on the upper deck, to the live Jazz music, and the less crowded dining room, the five star was truly a luxurious experience.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • A delicious and lovely vegan option

  • A salad so pretty I almost didn't want to eat it

  • Private reception and hula dance


Off-Road Tour Stocked With Fun and Excitement!

Posted on: 2019/09/05

This tour was quite an adventure, complete with beautiful views, good food, and of course an exciting ride. Ty, our guide, shared all kinds of historic and pop culture facts related to the ranch. We learned a little about the original irrigation system from the ranch's early plantation days and even got to walk the full length of an irrigation tunnel and explored a small cave. We also saw a recent Hawaii Five-0 filming location, hand fed some cows, and ate fresh tropical fruit right off the plant. Ty also let us set the pace for the ride...we chose fast and rough and he did not disappoint. A couple times I thought we were going to spin out or flip over, which is exactly what we wanted!
I highly recommend this tour to anyone looking for a fun adventure.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for leaving us a kind review. We are so glad you had a wonderful experience with us here at Gunstock Ranch and Ty was able to share some fun facts and history with you. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you come again.
Mahalo Nui!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |