This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hawaiian Islands


Reviews by Chuck
Last review on 2014/04/30
# of Reviews: 7

hiking the volcanoes

Posted on: 2014/04/30

First of all I need to let future hikers know that this is not a hike where you will see flowing lava despite the pictures shown on the tour explanation. Our guide Richard told us that in order to view flowing lava it would take a 10 hour round trip hike! I know the disclaimer says that viewing flowing lava is not guaranteed but it should really state more clearly that it is not even a remote possibility! The hikes we took were interesting and a real workout but it was not what I was hoping for. Our guide was knowledgeable about the area but was in a hurry because there were only 2 of us in his tour that day.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2014/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Kalihiwai Falls Hike

Posted on: 2012/03/31

This was an easy hike. I had envisioned something more challenging on a mountainside vs. being in a valley. The crossing of the waterfall and the swimming under the waterfall was enjoyable. The hike through the cow pasture could have been cut out and this would have made it more enjoyable with less time wasted with nonessential hiking.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

ATV tour Kipu Ranch

Posted on: 2012/03/31

The information hinted that there would be opportunitie to swim in a pool with a natural waterfall but this did not happen. There was way too much time spent on safety training! Maybe groups could be separated into beginner vs. experienced to avoid this waste of time on the tour?

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Best activity on the Kona side

Posted on: 2011/03/26

This was a great tour! We saw whales, dophins and plenty of beautiful tropical fish. The boat was comfortable and the staff did a great job. We even got to listen to the whales singing with an underwater microphone!

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Zip Express

Posted on: 2009/03/26

This was an excellent adventure with a beautiful setting. My wife had heard horror stories about people Ziplining in Costa Rica and was a little anxious about the activity. We both ended up enjoying it despite the rain on the first part of the course.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

secret falls kayak and hike

Posted on: 2009/03/26

Josh was a great guide. He was very patient with our lack of skills with a kayak and he provided a lot of interesting information about the area, vegetation and history, etc. We were the only participants on our tour and we felt like we had our own personal guide. The kayak was top quality and even had a rudder to help with controlling the vessel as we rowed.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Untitled

Posted on: 2009/03/26

The adventure was great, however, the captain was too concerned about getting back to the harbor on time instead of actually trying to get close to the whales we were seeing in the distance on our way back.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Page Previous | | Next