a-chan's activity reviews | Book tours, activities & fun things to do on HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Oahu Categories


Reviews by a-chan
Last review on 2020/03/04
# of Reviews: 8

Amazing Time Spent With My Mom

Posted on: 2020/03/04

My mom had been wanting to do a whale watch cruise for a very long time now and she was very excited when I booked this tour to do with her. Once the boat had departed they had told us that lunch will be open the entire trip. We did not want to miss seeing the whales so we went to get lunch as soon as they announced that it was open. While eating our lunch the captain had announced that they had spotted a whale and that was the first time we were able to see whales on our tour. For the entire time we followed the same mother and calf whale that we had spotted in the beginning. We were able to spot them many times during the duration of the tour! My mom was also able to see some dolphins during the tour as well. It was such an amazing experience for both my mom and I and we both would love to go and do this tour again next whale watching season!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! We’re so happy you and your mom enjoyed your whale watch cruise with us! Thank you for sharing your experience and recommendation. We can't wait for you to join us again in the future! Mahalo!

Rating: star
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

A New Experience

Posted on: 2020/01/29

I did this tour with my friend who is not from the island. It was her first time on a submarine and she was amazed by how beautiful it was underwater. The boat ride to the submarine was very smooth and because the weather was so nice we decided to sit on the top deck. The view from the deck was amazing. Just as we departed we were able to see a sea turtle swimming next to our boat. The submarine ride itself wasn't so bad we were able to see turtles, sharks, and a lot of fish. It was a bit cold so I do recommend bringing a jacket since you will be underwater for quite some time. My friend and I really enjoyed the tour and we would love to go back and try it again!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience with us, from the shuttle boat ride to the deep-sea exploration. We love hearing from our guests and are thrilled to know you had a fantastic submarine adventure! Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback and recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back aboard in the future for another underwater journey! A hui hou (until next time).

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Very Entertaining from Beginning to End

Posted on: 2020/01/29

When I got onto the boat the weather didn't seem so nice and I thought it was going to be gloomy but as the boat departed the weather started to clear up and it was blue skies! The view from the boat was amazing. The island looked so beautiful from a far. I've been living here my whole life and I never realized how beautiful it was. The food they provided on the boat was very delicious. If I wasn't so full I would have definitely gone back for more. Sadly, I was not lucky enough to have spotted any whales, however, I did get to see spout a couple of times. Even though I wasn't lucky enough to spot any whales I was still very entertained. The music and activities they provided on the boat was so much fun. I got out of my comfort zone to participate in hula dancing. I was super embarrassed but I still had a lot of fun. I would definitely want to go back again and bring my family on this tour.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Educational Experience

Posted on: 2019/12/14

The last time I have been to Pearl Harbor was when I was in 6th grade. During that time I had only visited the USS Missouri and the Arizona Memorial. This time around I got to visit the two plus the Pacific Aviation Museum and the USS Bowfin. It was an amazing experience to get to learn about the history of what had happened at Pearl Harbor and to get to see what life was like for sailors living on a boat. I definitely do not think I could survive life as a sailor and I have a whole new respect for the sailors who are out at sea for a long duration of time to protect our country. I do suggest that if you go on this tour on a sunny day, I would wear light clothes and bring sunglasses because it can get hot real fast and it is very bright. Inside the bus is very cold though so I would bring a jacket as well.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Mighty Mo

  • Mountain view from the memorial

  • Arizona Memorial


Definitely Want To Go Again!

Posted on: 2019/11/25

Ziplining at Climb Works was the greatest experience ever. My friend and I are scared of heights but we felt very safe and had a lot of fun. Our guides Jackie, Reece and Aio were super kind and made us laugh the entire time we were there. They lightened the mood and helped me forget about how high up I was. Even after we finished ziplining my friend and I could not stop talking about the experience and the fun we had on our time during this activity. I really recommend going to Climb Works if you are interested in going ziplining. You will definitely not regret going! I definitely cannot wait to go again!!!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • What a view!!!

  • The longest line of the day!

  • Got safely retrieved!

  • Crossing bridges to the next zipline

  • Pulling myself up to the platform. Harder than it looks!


A Luau Like No Other

Posted on: 2019/11/11

I was able to go to the Rock-A-Hula Luau green room package. I got to go explore backstage and get a tiny glimpse of how all the action happens. I also got to take a picture with Michael Jackson before the show. The staff and crew members were very kind and made sure that everything was to my liking. I described this show as a Luau like no other because it was a Luau with a twist. All the music were the classics from Elvis Presley and Michael Jackson with the local culture included into the dance routine and into the stage outfits. The show also featured a local girl with a beautiful voice. For those who would like to watch a Luau in cushioned chairs and indoors I would definitely recommend this Luau to you!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Amazing performance done by a local siger


2 Amazing shows in 1 Night

Posted on: 2019/11/04

Luau food was amazing! I wanted to keep going back for more but I was so full I just couldn't. The Ali'i Luau was very educational and it reminded me about the history lesson I had when I was a kid about the overthrow of Queen Liliuokalani. The Ali'i Luau is very family friendly and it allows kids to engage with the luau which adds to the fun! After a great show and stuffing myself with good food I went to the Ha Breath of Life show. The show was so intriguing and kept me in awe all the way through. I was amazed to see the different traditional dances for each Polynesian island while following along to the story line about life. The breath of life show may be a little intense for some small children but I feel like it is a show everyone could enjoy. I am definitely looking forward to going back to the center to watch these shows again.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Friendly and Fun Luau

Posted on: 2019/11/04

Chief's Luau was such a fun experience. The chief was such a funny person and made me laugh the entire time during the luau. The show was very intriguing, the Chief likes to have the audience take part in the show which made the experience personal. The weather was great the day I went so there was no rain at all which helped make the experience more enjoyable. The food was okay it wasn't something extraordinary but it was still good. My favorite part of the luau was when the chief had a special segment where he recognizes couples on their honeymoon and couples who have been married for a long time. The chief also helped someone propose to his love. He really acknowledges family and makes sure that everyone has a good time while they are at the luau. I would definitely recommend this luau to families and couples. 

Rating: star
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • complementary mai tai

  • amazing fire show

Page Previous | | Next