This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Oahu Categories


Reviews by Randall F.
Last review on 2017/11/14
# of Reviews: 9

A Newfound Respect for Ukulele

Posted on: 2017/11/14

Saw Jake Shimabukuro recently at Blue Note Hawaii and was utterly blown away. I've never seen a musician with such complete mastery over their instrument. With a simple flick of the wrist, he can make the ukulele sound like a harp, koto or even an electric guitar. His original compositions are powerful and diverse, and everything is magnified by the great acoustics in Blue Note's venue. The food is worth a try too!

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

A Thrill Ride and a Natural Marvel

Posted on: 2016/12/06

I'm not a religious person, but something about this experience felt sacred; crashing through rolling waves along stretches of completely uninhabited shoreline, and then coming to rest with the boat surrounded by thick volcanic smoke. Looking out through breaks in the white clouds, you can't help but feel a vague sense that you've left the world you're familiar with behind—that you've breached some dividing line and are now in a place still under the control of something incalculably ancient. This tour is refreshing, in that the excitement of a new experience will invigorate you, but it's also physically demanding. The boat ride can be a bit difficult to bear at times. That said, I wouldn't let that discourage you. Trust your own judgement, but go into it fully aware that the trip out to the lava flow is not a pleasure cruise.

Reply from activity provider

Yes this is an ocean adventure out to see one of earths rarest attractions mahalo for joining us Randle and experiencing the magic of lava touching the sea.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • The surrounding water is actually hot to the touch


Learn About Hawaiian Sea Life Through Experience

Posted on: 2016/11/28

I was impressed to find that many of the exhibits at Sea Life Park are hands-on, or at least offer some level of interaction. My wife and I had a great time experiencing each of the attractions, and particularly enjoyed the bird sanctuary, where you can feed love birds and other tropical species. Getting to meet a trained dolphin was definitely the highlight of the trip. It's easy to underestimate the intelligence of these creatures until you see them respond so quickly to simple words and gestures. Overall, a great day on the east side of the island.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Certainly the Most Unique Show in Waikiki

Posted on: 2016/11/28

Whatever your preferences are, you'll probably only have one chance in your life to see Elvis perform live on stage with a group of talented Polynesian dancers. Throw in a pretty great luau dinner and you can begin to see why this show is so popular. Personally, I'm not a huge fan of the artists that were featured that night, but it is still really entertaining to see a group of people so devoted to their craft. I highly recommend this for couples staying in Waikiki.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Seeing Oahu Like Never Before

Posted on: 2016/11/28

This was a simply breathtaking afternoon. Oahu is extremely varied, with cliffs, valleys and beaches, alternating between shades of blue, green, white and red. You don't really notice it from the ground, but seeing it all from high above has given me a new appreciation for the island. Our pilot made us feel safe and secure the entire time, and the chance to do an exciting landing along a narrow ridge at the top of Ka'a'awa Valley only made the experience that much more incredible.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Get Acquainted with Honolulu's Bar Scene

Posted on: 2016/08/20

I hate crowded clubs, but still wanted to go out for a few drinks and meet some new people. This turned out to be an awesome way to do it. The bar stops are all top-notch choices, and the kind of places only locals really know about. If you think you might want to try drinking craft beer in a WWII museum or sucking soju out of a watermelon in a Korean karaoke pub, all while mingling with total strangers on an outrageous bike trek around Honolulu, this is definitely, without a doubt, the tour for you.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

A Taste of Something Different

Posted on: 2016/08/20

This was my first time doing anything like this, and I have to say, it defied my expectations in a good way. I had prepared myself for something flashy—bordering on gaudy, even—but what I got was something casual and relaxing, yet still elegant. There were no forced performances or over-the-top dramatizations, just a well-prepared dinner, prompt service and outstanding views. In a word, the whole experience felt genuine. It didn't feel pre-packaged or manufactured. I highly recommend it, especially for a group.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

The Best Way to See it All

Posted on: 2016/07/13

First, I have to say, our guide was great. He mixed in personal stories about his life with explanations of each of the destinations we stopped at. It was more than just entertaining, it lent a sense of reality to what we were learning.

There's a lot to take in and a lot to see on this tour, but afterwards I definitely felt like I had gotten closer to knowing the island.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Well Worth It - A Memorable Sail

Posted on: 2016/07/13

Our crew was prompt and courteous. They gave us plenty of space and privacy, but showed up exactly when someone needed something—we never had to ask. The service was excellent.

Catamarans can be a bit bouncy on the water, but our boat was surprisingly smooth, and we didn't really feel the waves even in the cabin.

The captain brought us out for a great view of Diamond Head, and then turned us around just in time to watch the sun set in the west. What a view.

The crew dropped a fishing line off the back just to see if anything would bite, and we were lucky enough to watch them pull in a pretty big catch. All in all, it was a fun time out. I would definitely do it again.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • Even the captain was surprised

Page Previous | | Next