(All Reviews) Food & Farm Tours (Sightseeing / Guided Tours), Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

All Reviews for Food & Farm Tours in Maui

Overall Rating

4.64 4.64 / 5

Reviews

47 reviews

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Perfect filler between beach days!

Reviewed by: tahnzu, 2020/01/03

The submarine ride was amazing! We saw so many fish and quite a few sharks (which made the whole trip for my kids). The guide was knowledgeable and friendly, although I think they could pull back on the jokes about the submarine or boat sinking etc. it is sort of funny as an adult but my kids got a little freaked out. Don't let that deter you. It was an amazing experience and my kids talk about it non-stop.

The following day we went to the Maui Ocean Center. WOW! It is a beautiful facility, the variety of fish was simply amazing. My kids especially loved the deep water exhibit (sharks - are you sensing a theme here?) It was really cool to watch a feeding of the sharks, stingrays and other large fish. The staff is amazing and happy to answer any question you can come up with. It was a very interactive experience, surprisingly.

The Maui Tropical Plantation was very low-key and beautiful. The tram ride was informative, although our guide was softspoken and it was sometimes difficult to hear what he was saying.

This package was well worth the money and time spent. I would recommend. It was great for us having younger kids who are quite ready for the other types of tours.

  • Plantation

  • Maui Ocean Center

  • Plantation

  • View of the reef from inside the submarine

  • Approaching the submaring by boat.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2019/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Summit, Lavender Farm & Vineyard Deluxe Tour

thank you

Reviewed by: Keith & Candy, 2010/06/18

I am writing to thank you for the wonderful tour we booked through your company. My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary in Hawaii, and while we were there, we went on your Summit Lavender Sojourn. The tour was unbelievable, and every single detail was well thought-out and well-executed! The limo-van was very clean, and your guide spent his entire day just trying to make our tour to Haleakala the best part of our vacation, succeeding wildly! He was personable, polite, thoughtful, and HARD WORKING the entire day. He went WAY out of his way to do anything and everything he could to assure that we had a great time. He spent as much time as he could with each individual, while making sure he didn’t neglect the group as a whole. Great service was clearly your guide's goal and he absolutely achieved it! After traveling for 9 straight days, in and out of hotels and airplanes, and taking SEVERAL different tours, it is still RARE that you feel totally and completely “pampered” at the end

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

4 Great Activities

Reviewed by: Hobomike, 2012/11/14

Did all 4 of the activities and enjoyed them all. The submarine ride was nostalgic as we had walked on the sunken ship on previous trips to Maui. Very cool as we cruised past the fish and reefs. Got to take a lot of pictures and the sub went down to 129 feet below the surface.
The Ocean Center was very informative and we got to see so many beautiful fish with varying colors. Turtles, sharks, eels, and sea horses were among the sights. We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed the lunch.
The Maui Plantation was very informative with sights of the many produce that are grown on the island. The tram took us past some towers that we later did the zipline on them. The guide on the tram was very knowledgeable and gave a great presentation. Learned a lot about the pineapples and coconuts grown on the island.
The Bailey House contained many relics of old days and pictures of old Hawaii. Very informative and we were glad that we visited and learned a lot.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Favorite tour on Maui

Reviewed by: Mauilover, 2014/11/03

I booked this tour upon recommendation from friends and family. I had moderate expectations as I am not a "walk through the farm" type of girl, but this was a favorite of my boyfriend and myself. First of, you are driven for the majority of the movement through the farm, so sandals were fine to walk in. Our tour guide Brett was very informative and explained everything about pineapple farming from planting to harvesting and distribution, and how to pick the perfect pineapple. We tasted pineapple at three separate stages and picked a pineapple straight from the stalk. You receive a free pineapple packed and ready for transport back to the states at the end of the tour and let me tell you these pineapples were HUGE. We saw the same two pack that we received for free at the airport for sale for $30. Brett also taught us how to use the pineapples we received to grow our own pineapples at home. Definitely a must go to tour if you are on Maui.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Confusing but fun

Reviewed by: Dana, 2012/06/28

The only problem we had is we used your transportation to the Submarine ride. It was VERY confusing. We were staying at the Whaler Condos in Maui and when I booked it she said they would pick us up at the Whaler Village next door, I specifically asked if she meant where the shops were or the condo and she said shops. We were at the front of the village 25 minutes prior to our pick up, at 10 minutes past our pick up we called and were on the phone for 10 minutes back and forth...STILL saying we were at the right place when all along the driver was in front of the Condos. Needless to say our driver was not happy, we almost missed our submarine ride and it was very stressful. You need to clarify when making reservations in Maui at the Whaler whether you want people to meet at the VILLAGE or the CONDOS.
After all of that we all LOVED the Atlantis submarine ride and the Maui plantation was great as well. Highly reccommend this to families.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Maui Gold Pineapple Express Tour 10/21/14

Reviewed by: Ramona Marcelo, 2014/10/29

The Maui Gold Pineapple Express tour was amazing. My husband and I went there and had a great time. We enjoyed the tour very much, especially the part where we were brought to the processing plant. It was very fascinating to see the quality control, packing, and shipping from start to finish. We took a lot of pictures of the exciting tour of the pineapple fields too. It was eye-opening to see the process for how pineapples are grown, especially since my family is so used to picking them up from the supermarket. It was also different eating them fresh from the field--an experience I'd recommend to just about everyone. We really enjoyed being given pineapples to bring home to California as well, one of my favorite souvenirs from my trip. We ended up sharing it with the whole family and some friends, and it was definitely the juiciest and sweetest pineapple we've ever had.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Summit, Lavender Farm & Vineyard Deluxe Tour

introduction to nature

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/30

My husband brought our family to Maui for vacation and it was the first time our little girl had ever been out of California. We live in LA in the middle of the city, so needless to say...it was an amazing experience for us to introduce her to beautiful nature so unlike back home.

My husband let me pick the tour we would go on from Hawaii Activities site, and I chose the Lavendar fields b/c my daughter just loves going through my lotions and perfumes every morning and trying them on...and lavendar is her favorite. To see her getting out of the limo and SEEING the beautiful lilac blossoms en masse was truly a gift. To show her that what we have in a bottle at home came from the earth, and grows, and is wild and lovely...was priceless.

The drive there was also really relaxing and filled with beautiful scenery. I would even do this tour again, it was that good!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Pineapple heaven

Reviewed by: matt m, 2014/10/23

My wife and I were delighted to find out that there was indeed a pineapple plant with a tour on maui. We signed up and had no issues finding where we needed to go (a short drive from the airport pretty much). Our tour guide lined us out on a few items we needed to sign and we were off. We started off going right to the plant where we learned a ton of stuff about pineapples (did you know that the fruit is actually native to Brazil?). Really neat to see the whole process from picking to packing. They even give you two free packed pineapples ready to go through the airport! After the plant you go out to the fields to see the different stages of pineapple growth. You'll even get to sample some of the freshest possible pineapple you'll ever eat. Really awesome experience. Highly highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Super Tour !

Reviewed by: Anu, 2014/12/04

This was one of the best tour at Maui. The tour is very informative with respect to the history of pineapple in Hawaii. The guide provided us so much of information and was very good. The tour includes trip to the Maui Gold pine apple processing plant and also to the place where pineapple are actually grown. We got to taste the great Maui gold pineapples and also got to take one home for each one of us. The tour begins at a place which is so cool, got some wonderful pictures at this place.

Overall, it was a tour beyond my expectation. My kids loved it . My son who does not like pineapple started eating pineapple after this tour.

It is a tour which should NOT be missed when you are at Maui

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2014/11/25
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Awesome pineapple tour

Reviewed by: Vish, 2014/12/04

This was one of the tour which brought in pleasant surprise . The tour guide Steve was very courteous and started the tour on time. We got to see the Maui Gold factory where they are processed and packed. Free pineapple for each participant was awesome ! Then the guide took us to the farm where the pineapple are actually grown . The farm is so beautiful, we got a chance to look at pineapple in various stages . The guide,Steve, helped us taste pineapple and showed us 3 different varieties of them . On the way back we learnt many things about pineapple and sugar cane .

I would recommend this tour for everyone , specially for the group with children.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2014/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Great way to tour the island, especially for first timers

Reviewed by: LittleBuddyBE, 2019/08/31

The Maui Value Pass was a terrific deal, and a good first introduction to Maui for my family. The highlight for us was the submarine tour. The tour took us out to a shipwreck, and we saw lots of curious fish, black tip sharks and moray eels. We probably would not have sought out the plantation tour by itself; we would have missed out. We made a point of going because it was part the pass. It was a lot of fun, beautiful grounds, and a great place to get some fresh fruit. We really enjoyed the tram ride and tour, and the hosts were very friendly. Overall this pass is a great value, and I'd recommend it to others.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

I became a Pineapple Professional at the Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting Tour

Reviewed by: Sally Zeiberg , 2018/08/13

I had an incredible time at The Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tastiing Tour. To be honest, the only reason I went in the tour was to take pictures of pineapples. However, by the end of the tour, I learned so much about Pineapples. I learned when to pick the pineapples, what colors are the sweetest, the various parts of the pineapples, how to cut a pineapple and so much more. It was time well spent and yes, I took incredible pictures! The tour guide was also the best. He made the tour a lot of fun and definitely knew his material. The tour is fun for the entire family. Definitely worth it!!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Value Pass

Reviewed by: Sam M, 2009/10/10

We have been to Hawaii a few times, but never with all the kids. We have a 3, 6, 14 and 16 year olds. We bought the value pass and have to say that it was totally worth it. The sub ride was awesome and my daughter has been excited about the shark she saw. We went to the Ocean Center and it was a great experience also. I would recommend this to everyone so they get a nice well-rounded list of activities to do and see. Hawaii Activities were extremely professional and even sent reminder emails for the activities we had coming up. Thanks.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Summit, Lavender Farm & Vineyard Deluxe Tour

AROMATIC AWESOMENESS!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/19

My hubby knows I LOVE LOVE LOVE lavender. It is my favorite scent by far...and on my birthday or any holidays he always knows lavender lotions and smelly good things are a sure bet....so when he booked us for this tour, he knew he was racking up the brownie points!

And he did good! I adored visiting the lavender fields so much, and the rest of the trip was great too. We will definitely be telling our friends about what a unique tour this was....especially all my girlfriends who love lavender as much as I do!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Summit, Lavender Farm & Vineyard Deluxe Tour

Fabulous tour!

Reviewed by: Chris, 2015/11/10

We had a great time on this tour! Our tour guide, Al Jangl, was incredible. He was knowledgeable, entertaining and fun. We had a beautiful day and amazing views from the summit, loved the lavender farm and winery and were served a delicious picnic lunch. We also enjoyed the visit to the Upcountry town of Makawao. It was the highlight of our week in Maui!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Sub Tour was Great

Reviewed by: Ed and Linda in LV, 2009/05/03

We purchased the inclusive package (sub tour with plantation, sea center, etc.) The sub tour is fantastic. Great ride and crew. We went to the plantation and Maui Ocean Center. We did not have time to go to the nature center. The plantation was OK but the ocean center is GREAT. You can easily spend a half a day at the ocean center alone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Pineapple Visit

Reviewed by: Floyd Wilson, 2016/06/24

This was one of the best tours we have ever attended. We got to see how the pineapple makes it from a small plant, and on the table. The tasting of the different pineapples in the field was wonderful, and there is no way to get the taste of a fresher pineapple than hand picked in the field, cut it and eat it in the field.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

A really great time

Reviewed by: alsbrat, 2008/11/20

The submarine was terrific! A very unique adventure and well worth the money. The crew was very knowledgeable and enteraining. The Maui Ocean Center was beautiful and I learned a lot. I didn't get a chance ti visit the platation, but hope to get there the next time. I highly reccomend these two venues for everyone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Outstanding tour!!

Reviewed by: Matt , 2019/07/18

Went on the tour with my wife. I didn’t know a pineapple tour could be so much fun! Our tour guide, Tim, made the trip fun such a good time. After touring and eating all the pineapple we could handle he even gave us a special performance on the ukulele, “Pineapple Princess”. 10/10 tour 10/10 performance!!

  • Tim’s idea

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Summit, Lavender Farm & Vineyard Deluxe Tour

A Maui Adventure

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/05/18

Traveling to the top of Haleakala is like going to another world. The whole landscape on the summit is like something you would expect to find on Mars or the Moon. The panoramic views of the island are sublime. The lavender farm provokes your senses with it's aroma and elegance.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Pineapple Lover

Reviewed by: Diane, 2014/03/23

Steve was an excellent tour leader. We enjoyed our trip through the processing plant and fields immensely! We were surprised that we got to taste pineapple on the tour. Delicious! The next day it rained so we were lucky to book the day we did!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Maui Gold Pineapple Tour

Reviewed by: Bob & Kids, 2018/03/17

The tour was fantastic! Our guide was well versed in the entire operation from planting till harvesting....great experience!! The distillery portion was an added bonus as well..samples were excellent...purchased 4 bottles of their vodka!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Atlantis Submarine

Reviewed by: Karen Yip, 2014/12/06

My husband really wanted to go, I'm not to keen on going underwater, however once on and down, it was amazing! This is a real submarine, not a boat with glass bottom. The crew is very entertaining. Everyone should try it :)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Submarine tour

Reviewed by: Floyd Wilson, 2016/06/24

I have done this tour many times and this one was the best. Lots of fish to look at this time. Such a beautiful tour. We need to add Nemo at the end. I think the children would get a kick out of finding NEMO. Just a thought.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Your was fantastic!

Reviewed by: Coral Carey, 2018/08/30

This was one of the highlights of our trip! Our tour guide Jacey was fun and very knowledgeable! Had a great time and look forward to enjoying our Maui Gold pineapples at home! Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Awesome tour!

Reviewed by: mtk124@hotmail.com, 2019/04/12

Delicious pineapples, interesting history telling by the tour guide, very strong alcohols to sample, even had a song sung for us!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Well worth the money

Reviewed by: Joe C, 2012/04/08

I found it very interesting and well worth the money. The total cost was what the cruise ship charged for the submarine alone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Fun and informative

Reviewed by: BrianW, 2019/01/10

Beautiful views, fun little tour and learned a lot We had no clue about. Make sure you do the tasting also.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Maui Gold Pineapple Express Tour

Reviewed by: gracie0413, 2014/11/09

Very interesting tour..definitely worth the money and time! Very knowledgeable and friend tour guide too!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Value Pass - Submarine, Maui Ocean Center, Tropical Plantation & Museum

Best time at all places!!!

Reviewed by: Carla Vertrees, 2018/10/16

Highly recommend it. Even though they were all good. That Maui Plantation was our ultimate favorite!!

  • Plantation

  • Plantation

  • Plantation

  • Bailey House Museum

  • Atlantis Submarine

  • Atlantis Submarine

  • Atlantis Submarine

  • Ocean Center

  • Ocean Center

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations