This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Four Winds Molokini Snorkel Tour on Glass Bottom Boat (from Maalaea Harbor)

Nice Time!

Reviewed by: Wendy R, 2018/04/05

This is an excellent company to tour with. The weather could have been better, but that is out of their control. They were very friendly and professional, and the boat was clean and fun. Would consider them again, snorkeling was okay, I've had better and worse.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Four Winds Molokini Snorkel

Reviewed by: Tim Takach, 2018/01/17

By far the best snorkel excursion we ever took. Safety was the Captain's first priority and it was greatly appreciated.

The Four Winds offers just about everything possible from small boats for children, life jackets, other floating devices, and under water camera rentals. The crew was awesome.

What to expect? A crew that knows how to have a great time. Don't worry if you forget something because honestly they have everything including wet suits and eco friendly sun screen. On the way to Molokini, we seen a double whale breech which is the best I have seen yet. The captain was very knowledgeable about whales and turtles and was quite funny as he cracked a few jokes along the way. Upon boarding breakfast was served. Later lunch and on the way back a few beers. Great way to end a fabulous day.

I would highly recommend this activity for couples or families. Can't wait to do it again next year.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Michele , 2017/01/22

Very knowledgeable crew! We saw so many whales on our tour which was a bonus. We couldn't snorkel molokini because of the swells being too dangerous so we were able to snorkel at the Coral Gardens which were great as well. Loved everything about this excursion and recommend it for everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect we'll be back

Reviewed by: Steve, 2016/08/29

Perhaps the best excursion I've been to in Maui or any other destination. The staff was incredible, all friendly and fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Four Winds Snorkel BBQ to Molokini

Reviewed by: John Mandy, 2016/06/08

Very disappointing. We paid for a trip to Molokini. We were told that it was too rough to snorkel there. Instead, we were taken to Coral Gardens. What they didn't tell us was that Coral Gardens can be accessed from the beach off of Hwy 30. It was very close to the harbor and even though the water was clear, there were few fish. I felt as if I had been cheated. We spent over $100 each and expected to snorkel at the Molokin crater. We talk with some other visitors who went with a different company. They told us how wonderful it was. I don't recommend this company. We booked ahead. Next time we will book when we get to Maui.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha John,

While we understand your disappointment at not going to Molokini, our web site and all of our literature does state that Molokini is weather dependent; our morning trips get there 95% of the time. Nobody offers a 100% guarantee as it is simply unsafe under certain conditions. As for Coral Gardens, it is actually not accessible unless you are on a boat. It is at the base of a very steep cliff wall and we go there because it is protected from the wind. Coral Gardens is actually listed in the top 10 snorkeling spots in the US by Conde Nast' (12 years in a row), Coastal Living and Travel & Leisure and most guests enjoy seeing the turtles you wouldn't see at Molokini.

We do hope you'll join us again and that we can get you to Molokini!

Mahalo,
Kelly

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Staff!

Reviewed by: Shelley Gehlbach, 2016/05/27

I snorkeled out at Molokini when I was 10 years old and was really happy to make it back 30 years later. I did notice a big difference in the reef and diminished marine life, however, and would suggest for the benefit of that particularly sensitive environment, that it be strongly suggested to guests to buy reef-safe suntan lotion.

That said, the captain was a riot, the staff was all very friendly, and the experience was well worth the money and time spent :)

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the kind words! Eco friendly sunscreen is something we also highly recommend! We hope to see you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A fantastic way to spend the morning!

Reviewed by: Trevor , 2015/12/28

I cannot recommend the Four Winds enough! The crew are all fantastic and make you feel welcome right from the outset. Captain John is worth the price of admission alone! We were provided a great breakfast and later lunch with all drinks included, we were well looked after. The equipment used is sanitary and of a high quality and the boat itself is very comfortable.
We were lucky enough to see several wales on the way out to Molokini and the crater itself provided some of the best snorkelling you can do. The other patrons were of all ages and ethnicities and got along famously - this is a great option for those with kids too.
I find it hard to believe you could find a better way to go to Molokini than with the four winds!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Trevor,

A big mahalo for the great review! We hope to see you again soon and promise an equally wonderful experience. :-)

Sincerely,
Kelly Stoneman
Sales, Marketing & Social Media Manager
Maui Classic Charters
Four Winds II

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful trip

Reviewed by: Ray. L, 2015/12/16

It's a wonderful trip. We saw Whales on the way there and identify turtle near the harbor on the way back. the morning trip is pretty nice for the weather. The people on the boat are very nice. Thanks Zack/Reed. You got to try Snuba since it's easy and fun. You will have multiple chances to get into the water in the 2 hour period. What you can see depends on the season and what kind of fish are active there though.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo Ray! We are so glad you had a wonderful time and hope to have you out with us again in the future! I am posting some underwater whale footage from today on Facebook right this minute! :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Freemans loved the Four Winds!

Reviewed by: The Freemans, 2015/06/30

Captain John served as a great captain, host, comedian, server, tour guide he does it all! We did the snuba with Jamie, it is extra, but is definitely worth it, he gives a good tutorial before you go out, and makes it relaxing and enjoyable. The rest of the staff on board was great, and Trey the photographer was very professional as well. We rented a digital underwater camera and purchased a Cd that had all our pictures on it, and it turned out great! 5 stars for Four Winds!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointing

Reviewed by: Jerry, 2015/04/04

Advertised as a catamaran, may have been in the truest sense...but not a sail or mast on the boat. Unable to go to Molokini due to high seas(6' swells), took us to a site a mile away from the harbor.

I understand the reasoning for not going to the atoll, however, a chance to get off the ship and get a refund were never offered.

All was not lost, hence the reason for not demanding a refund or a rescheduling, the crew was attentive, polite, and amusing. The relocation for snorkeling was quite nice with some beautiful fish.

Ultimately, I would not book again...sorry.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice tour

Reviewed by: Guest, 2014/09/24

It was a good sail to Molokini and the crew was super. It was a little crowded there and not as many different fish as i had hoped.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Customer

Reviewed by: Melanie, 2014/08/19

We attended with 11 other people that we were traveling with. All of us had a great time. The staff was so funny, friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this excursion.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

excellent

Reviewed by: excellent, 2014/06/07

Molokini snorkel was amazing, recommend to everyone

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

snorkel

Reviewed by: id4das, 2014/05/28

Crew was very friendly and helpful. Great place to go snokeling. Even food was good. Well wirth money and time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best molokini experience

Reviewed by: Jay, 2014/02/09

Molokini is one of the best spot for snorkel/snuba the water is way more clear then the beaches, tons of exotic fish for you to swim with and this group of guys are the best. Delicious food, ice cold drinks and everyone are very friendly, the best customer service I have encountered. With the captain's guidance we were able to spot lots of whales and sea turtles as well. If you decide to go to molokini make sure you go with these guys, you will not regret it.


  • This guy snuck up right next to us!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

These guys were just great!

Reviewed by: Robert S, 2013/07/09

We had gone on a Molokini excursion once before using another company, who were great as well, but this time we had a 5 year old with us and the glass bottom boat was very appealing. The entire cruise and snorkel/snuba was fantastic. If you're planning on getting a disposable underwater camera, save your money. They had underwater digitals for rent and the rental fee includes transferring your photos to a disc for you.

The crew really was fantastic, but I must give special mention to a young woman named Anna! We weren't planning on taking our 5 year old in the water and didn't even bring her bathing suit. Anna saw her and asked if she wanted to get in the water. When told of her lack of swimsuit, Anna said to just "go Hawaiian" (underpants and shirt) she gave my daughter her own diving shirt and then took her out on one of the snorkel rafts with the window. I didn't even know they had these rafts. She was great and if you read this Anna, your friend Adison says hello!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable

Reviewed by: Lawrence, 2013/06/29

The sail and food served was enjoyable. Molokini snorkel was fun. We especially loved the photographer taking underwater pictures/video.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome

Reviewed by: Sue & James Nivens, 2013/06/24

This was our first time and it was sooo amazing. The crew was great and the bbq was on point! Tre did an awesome job on the video and pictures. We will definately book again. We are planning on coming back next year with our son.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Morning Trip 12/26/12

Reviewed by: Doug MN, 2013/01/12

I chose the four winds II because of the glass bottom viewing. We are a family of 4 and 2 swim and 2 do not. All had a great time. Snorkeling was great and saw some whales and turtles on our way back. The pulled pork sandwiches they serve onboard after snorkeling were the best. Would do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snubs

Reviewed by: Janet, 2012/11/07

We have snorkeled many times, but the snuba was a first. We absolutely
Loved it. Our instructor, James, was helpful and patient. The whole crew was friendly and made us feel welcome. We highly recommend this trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Bill and Cheryl, 2012/10/13

We took the morning cruise. Great staff and we had a great time. we only wish we could have stayed all day five hours didnt seem to be enough. We will definately be back



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun

Reviewed by: Darshan Patel, 2012/06/21

I really enjoyed this cruise with my wife. We went on an afternoon cruise and had burgers for lunch. It was a different experience having lunch on a cruise after snorkeling. The staff was very nice and friendly and made sure we enjoyed and had fun. If we go back to Hawaii, then will definitely take this cruise again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

dissapointing

Reviewed by: brian, 2012/05/17

The cruise started off with a simple but nice breakfast and coffee. The staff is great and very friendly. The boat is also very large and roomy. Things went downhill when halfway to molokini it was announced the wind was to high and we were going to a second location. We got to this location about an hour into the cruise and went out snorkeling. I hate to say it, but it was DISSAPOINTING. We had better snorkeling at the beach outside our hotel. We stayed in this location for several hours, but after about 1 hour we had seen everything. We got back on the boat and they had a great lunch, tons of food. Then we just sat around for 2 hours waiting for all the children on the boat to finish up. On a side note, it seemed like the kids all enjoyed it. Personally, for this amount of money, it would be nice if they mentioned they dont always go to Molokin and offered some kind of rebate. Additionally, they need a better location to go as a backup plan. Obvioulsy our trip was differen

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great day!

Reviewed by: Ross & Brenda, 2012/04/20

We took advantage of the opportunity to try snuba. Jamie was great! He helped us feel comfortable very quickly so that we could enjoy ourselves. He was a perfect tour guide under the water, pointing out unique bits of corral and things living within the corral, dusting things off as we went.

The Captain worked hard to help us find unique and interesting things to see as we sailed - made for great pictures and gave us a better understanding of the wildlife and the environment they live in.

The crew on board were fantastic hosts! So helpful and cheerful! They all worked really hard to make sure we were safe and happy and well fed...all with a smile! We really appreciated all of their efforts to make us welcome!

Mahalo! Mahalo! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW! So much FUN!

Reviewed by: Mrs. Montague, 2012/01/11

My husband and I recently went on the afternoon snorkeling cruise on the Four Winds and it was fantastic! The price was spot on and we felt it was the best value for our money of any activity we did. The cruise was very safe and very fun too. We went during January and we got the added perk of seeing the humpback whales. It was such a great added bonus that we didn't have to take a whale watching cruise in addition. The crew was so friendly and embraced the laid back Hawaiian attitude. The Captain was very knowledgeable about the whales and gave us lots of information while we were watching them. The wet suit add on (for $5) was also a good thing to get as it helped me not to be quite so cold in the water. The optional lunch for $7 was also a decent quality as you could choose from chicken, burgers, hot dogs, or bar-b-que as well as chips. The complementary sodas, beer and wine were also pretty nice. They also had a hose with a shower nozzle on board so you could rinse off af

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snuba was great !

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/12/14

This was my son's first snuba experience and he loved it. He's 9 and didn't have any trouble. The guide, Jamie, was awesome.

The crew, especially Captain John, was also great. We even spotted some whale during the excursion.

I'd recommend it to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snuba was fun

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/10/16

I enjoyed the sail to Molokini on the Four Winds. It was a one-hour sail to the crater, however in that short timespan, I started feeling the effects of the water motion. This was partly due to the fact that we had spent 25 minutes listening to the snuba instructor's instructional briefing, which kept us focused on him, inside the boat. By not keeping our eyes on the horizon during that time, we started feeling queazy earlier than expected.

The snuba itself was fun, although I had difficulty sinking down to the bottom despite the weights. I guess my technique needs improvement. The water was beautiful and warm, and the fish were fun to see.

Both breakfast and lunch were provided on the catamaran. Breakfast was served at 7:30 am, when the boat departed the harbour, and lunch was served at 10:00 am upon arrival at Molikini. It was a little odd to have hamburgers and hot dogs served at that time, and we weren't really hungry due to the queasiness, so we didn't eat. Luckily, I had br

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Snorkeling tour for family

Reviewed by: Mash, 2010/09/10

Great tour! Staff was extremely friendly and entertaining. The tour began on time. Food and drinks were served and circulated around..
All the people we looked after well during the snorkeling. Underwater video and photoshoot was a great experience. Highly recommended for family. Had a three year old daughter with me. She had great time as well.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Activity!!!

Reviewed by: SFarmywife, 2009/09/14

My husband and I just went snuba diving at the Molokini Crater. This was my first time being in the ocean yet alone dive 20ft under the ocean. It was way better than snorkeling! Now I'm hooked on snuba and willing to do it again in the future! I recommend this to everyone who wants to experience a whole different world!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snuba is awesome!

Reviewed by: Craig Beasley, 2009/08/14

We had a wonderful time with this group! The staff was very welcoming and friendly. The snuba instructor was very patient and competent. We had fun with the videographer on board who made a disc for us by the end of the trip. Fantastic! Highly recommended!!


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |