Page 4) Spectacular Haleakala Summit Sunrise Tour with Breakfast & Transportation reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Spectacular Haleakala Summit Sunrise Tour with Breakfast & Transportation

Overall Rating

4.47 4.47 / 5

Reviews

144 reviews
Post a review

Sunrise tour

Reviewed by: The Halls, 2013/09/17

Would recommend more information given to guests for example Winter clothing needed PARKA GLOVES. Breakfast not so good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Recommend It!

Reviewed by: Mexirican, 2013/08/27

Service was great. Pick-up and drop-off in a timely manner. Clean van/bus. Friendly and knowledgeable driver. Delicious breakfast. Incredible sunrise!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect Sunrise for our Honeymoon

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2013/07/10

My husband and I heard wonderful things about the Haleakala sunrise, and knew that it was going to be one of our activities on our honeymoon. However, we knew that the bike tour option was a little more daring than we had hoped. After doing some research and finding this tour, we knew that this was the route we wanted to take.

The tour picked us up EARLY (just before 2am), and we boarded the bus. On the way up, our driver gave us the "disclaimer," that nobody can control the weather except mother nature, and it will either be crystal clear and beautiful...or...cloudy and disappointing. Luckily for us, it was, quite literally, PERFECT.

As the sun rose, the colors changed so beautifully and two native Hawaiians sung a traditional chant. We stayed for a few more pictures, then took the bus from the lookout point to summit (quick drive), then stopped at another lookout point before heading down to breakfast.

If you are going to Maui, make sure you take this trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great staff

Reviewed by: Bianca Larsen, 2013/01/18

This was an ultimate favorite trip with Hawaii activities. The most interesting part for us was the star sky and our two guides Greg and Chris. They were so impressive good to tell about the stars and volcanoes. So Hawaii activities be sure to keep those two guys as loooong as possible. Worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Tour

Reviewed by: Nick, 2013/01/05

Our guide Glenn was really great. Not only was he a excellent driver ( and the mountain driving can be challenging), he was very knowlegable about Maui, Hawaii and talked us through most of the tour. He was very polite, informative and over all was great. We were on time for everything and he kept everyone interested. I'm glad we chose to do this, because being our first time in Hawaii I would not have wanted to drive the mountain in the early hours of the morning. I would definitely go back again. The Haleakala sunrise and crater are a wonder to be seen. Thanks Glenn for making it even more enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Trip

Reviewed by: Mark Adamski, 2012/11/30

This was a completely unique experience. The beauty and grand experience of the sunrise over the volcano was breathtaking. Bob, our guide, was prompt, courteous and entertaining while being very attentive to the difficult road conditions. He also gave us suggestions about places to eat and things to do during our stay.We throughly enjoyed the tour and would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour guide!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/03/25

Bob was so entertaining and informative! He made the early morning quite pleasant. However, I think arriving at Haleakala 75 minutes before sunrise was a bit too soon. Too much time to stand around and be cold. Also, the bus was a little small and cramped for leg room. The payoff, the spectacular sunrise, was exceptional.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just Awesome!

Reviewed by: Shankar, 2011/09/04

Wonderful experience. Everything was perfect the day we were on Haleakala. The ride was comfortable and the guide was very knowledgeable. Worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well worth getting up for!!

Reviewed by: Hoffmans (Nebraska), 2011/02/10

This was spectactular! We watched the sun come up over the clouds at 10,000+ feet. Before the sunrise the stars were so wonderful. We could see so many. The sunrise itself was breathtaking. This is an experience well worth the early wake up call. Bob is a very knowledgable and entertaining tour guide. I reconmmend you ask for him too!! This is an experience we will never forget. One that all visitors to Maui should do!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haneakala Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: DrSteggy, 2010/11/15

This was the first thing my husband and I did on our first trip to Maui--we did it the first full day we were there, and that turned out to be best because we were sort of awake to catch our 2:15 am tour bus (we are from the east coast, and were very early risers the whole trip)

Our guide was very knowledgable about the volcano and surrounding area, and took us on a very nice tour. he even slowed and pointed out a pair of nene for us. On the downside, there were some spots we would have liked to spend more time, but this can't be helped with an organized tour. On our next trip, we'd likely do this on our own, but its smart to take the tour your first time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

COLD!!! but great!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/09/28

Polynesian Adventure Tours was fabulous - great, knowledgable guides and they pick you up super early so that you get there before the big crowd for a front row seat (it gets surprisingly busy).
BRING WINTER CLOTHES (if you think to book it before traveling) otherwise buy sweaters or a jacket or blankets or all of the above...the 3x suggestion of warm clothing on your "to bring" list is not kidding - i wore 4 sweaters and was just comfortable - pants, scarves, gloves a must!!!
Stunning views, definitely a must see

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Haleakala Sunrise

Reviewed by: Deb Stuckey, 2009/08/25

An absolutely incredible experience!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunrise tour Mount Haleakala Crater

Reviewed by: usd82, 2008/11/27

We had a good time at the crater. We were a little bummed because we didn't get to see the sunrise but it is unpredictable and we understand that. It was still a great experience and we did get to see some sun rising behind the clouds.

If we make it back to Maui we would definitely try it again in hopes to see the sunrise the second time!

Thanks for an informative tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]