Maui Spectacular Haleakala Sunrise Tour - Polynesian Adventure Tours reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Maui Spectacular Haleakala Sunrise Tour - Polynesian Adventure Tours

Overall Rating

4.48 4.48 / 5

Reviews

162 reviews
Post a review

Worth waking up for!

Reviewed by: Darrell, 2022/09/25

Wayne is awesome! Smooth driver and insanely knowledgeable. Not going to lie, I was tempted to sleep in and miss the tour but I’m glad I didn’t. You’re able to catch some z’s on the way and on on the way back.10 out of 5 star!. Highly recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great one

Reviewed by: azurofj@ymail.com, 2022/08/06

At first I was a bit disappointed because we thought they have forgotten about us,only to find out that they were waiting for us in the other hotel roundabout-there was a little misunderstanding with the pick up location. Our hotel and the next door hotel names are almost the same.Other than that,the trip was amazing. At first,it was all covered by clouds and fog but our guide did not give up and tell us to wait a little longer. True enough..while all have left,we stayed to witness the sunrise. It was amazing! Our guide did not disappoint us!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Sorry about the confusion on your pick-up. It can get a bit confusing with hotel names. Happy that you enjoyed the majesty of seeing the Sun rise from Mauna Haleakala. It quite the site to see! Our guides work hard to show all our guests the best time on their dream vacation! Mahalo nui! Polynesian Adventures

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Preston is an absolute asset!

Reviewed by: Angelina23, 2022/04/06

Preston has to be the most amazing tour guide I've ever had the privilege of touring with! From being knowledgeable, to witty, he's got it all. He wants to ensure that EVERYONE no matter what season it is layers up, wears clothes toed shoes (toe warmers like the ones used in Tahoe would be the best idea ever!) and BRING A BLANKET! Whatever size you want, fluffy, non fluffy donuts matter. But, this awesome tour guide lets you leave you items safely on the bus so all your have to comfortable carry the very few far steps you actually have to walk, is the blanket and your camera for beautiful views. Keep your positive attitude when waking early, plan ahead with an energy drink or snack to keep you going until you reach to Kula Lodge (TRY THE LOCO MOCO JUST TRUST ME) and you'll be good to go!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth It!!!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/03/25

Can't miss this tour- the top of Haleakala is like a different world compared to the beach!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A different thing to do in Maui

Reviewed by: Roxanna, 2021/09/23

Love this trip! Our driver was fun and talk to the group the whole trip, was worth waking up so early to experience this. Highly recommended! Just wear a winter jacket because it is really cold! Almost like a NY winter

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great spectacular experience

Reviewed by: Ernie, 2021/07/29

Great spectacular experience especially when they begin to sing a chant while the sun is coming out of the clouds. Our tour guide Alfredo (aka Al Pacino) is really knowledgeable and funny and entertaining. Great tasty food too during our breakfast with nice botanical gardens. I will definitely recommend this tour. Cheers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing! A must do when in Maui!

Reviewed by: Roxene Gascoigne, 2021/07/23

Our driver Al was simply the best. This was a private tour for my family of seven. Highly
Recommend it! He was attentive and knowledgeable about the timing and when to go out to see the sunrise and where to stand to avoid the crowd. The breakfast at Kula Lodge was delicious!! The whole experience was first class! Will highly recommend.

  • 5am

  • 5:16am

  • 5:20am

  • 5:46am

  • 5:50am

  • 5:46am

  • 6am

  • 6:45! We did it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful sights with an amazing guide!

Reviewed by: Jamie H, 2020/12/27

We had a great time on this tour. Our guide, Kama, was absolutely superb. He was kind, kept the transportation clean and safe, was a great driver and provided a wealth of knowledge along the way. The kids didn't mind having to wake up so early after seeing the beautiful sunrise.

It was cold at the top but our hotel was thoughtful enough to send us with blankets once they learned where we were heading out to. I would recommend bundling up at the top because it is chilly and you are there for a while.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Naddy is awesome guide

Reviewed by: Manjunath, 2020/02/24

Naddy was awesome guide..we r happy n njoyed ..

breakfast is was yummy

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One Maui Morning

Reviewed by: jqgossard, 2019/12/25

As early as the pick up times for this tour, it was worth it!! The experience to watch the sunrise over Maui and right above the clouds of Haleakala was absolutely amazing!! Shuttle ride up the mountain was perfect to take naps before arriving to the summit. Pick a spot along the fence line as soon as you can because it gets crowded very fast!!

Now...all visitors, PLEASE understand that you are a VISITOR into the home of Hawaiian Islanders, RESPECT their boundaries on their land!!! DO NOT hop over fence lines!! There are barriers for a reason!!
1) They are protecting their island plants and animals as they aren’t very many anymore.
2) STAY OFF SACRED LAND!!! They welcomed you into their home, respect the places you are not allowed to enter!!

Don’t be ignorant!! Respect the land you travel!
There were MANY ignorant people that even when the park representatives came out to get people back over the right side of the fence were ignored!

They opened their home and welcomed you so that you can experience an amazing view, enjoy it by appreciating their hospitality and respecting their boundaries.

The natives will chant as the sunrises, it would be nice for everyone to quiet the conversation and bask in the chant and take in this spectacular experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala was Amazing, Tour Guides Were Awful

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2019/11/13

We selected this trip because we were unable to secure tickets to drive ourselves up to the summit for sunrise. We expected to be picked up early so we weren't surprised by the 2:40am pickup time. We were also prepared for the cold so no problem there. The biggest problem is that from the time we woke up to the time we were eventually released from our hostage situation, our guide did not stop talking. The problem wasn't even the talking - it was the fact that what he was saying was the dumbest minutiae that added no value to the trip, including saying one of the more ridiculous claims that Haleakala (approx. 10k feet high) is taller than Mt. Everest (approx. 29k feet high) because Haleakala has over 20k feet of it's height below the water which makes it over 30k feet. Our guide (as well as another guide from the same company we eventually met up with at the summit) also continually said "Haleakala is the world's second tallest mountain in the world after the mountain on the big island of Hawaii." "The world's second tallest mountain in the world." At that point I was so frustrated listening to these people talk that I was likely to be annoyed by anything but for two people to say "world's tallest in the world" over half a dozen times cut me to the core like fingernails on a chalkboard. Breakfast also offered 3 options with no substitutions at a golf course in the middle of the island. I would have been paying more attention but thankfully I had headphones to try to escape the idiocy being spewed by our guide on the way back down the mountain.

The views from the summit were amazing but the temperatures were frigid and the wind chill probably dropped the overall temperature another 10 degrees so be prepared. I would absolutely recommend the experience of going to the summit but do anything in your power to avoid doing it with this company.

Haleakala Summit - 5/5 stars
This Tour - 1/5 stars

  • View into the Crater at sunrise

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mount Haleakala

Reviewed by: Lynda, 2019/09/01

Great tour. Ask for tour guide, Neddy. That’s all I have to say! She was awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Sunrise

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2019/08/07

I highly recommend this tour rather than driving. Our guide, Star, provided us with great insight and experience regarding Haleakalā, the surrounding area and Maui. The sunrise was spectacular!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So early! Worth the lack of sleep.

Reviewed by: 1st Time Visitors, 2019/07/22

Totally worth the lack of sleep. You wake up early, however you can sleep on the bus. The sights were amazing and our tour guide/ driver was extremely knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth it !!

Reviewed by: Smita, 2019/07/10

If you dont get the parking pass it’s worth to book the tour.
The guide was amazing and knowledgeable.
He shared many deep facts about the place, showed us variety of flowers and plants and shared interesting facts about them.
He stopped at other view points on the way while coming back.
The breakfast place they stopped was level up and the breakfast was very good.
I surely recommend to book the tour.
Thank you for we got an opportunity to view this mesmerizing view by booking last minute.

  • Breakfast place

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super

Reviewed by: Pia , 2019/06/08

It was a very nice tour. We realy recommend it for everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful

Reviewed by: Adriana, 2019/01/02

The tour started at 3 am. First stop was in a store where we were supposed to buy water and chewing gum to make the way up the mountain easier. The bus was new and confortable. We arrived at the top of the Haleakala around 5:30 am and stayed freezing outside the bus until 6:40 am, for the sunrise. It was cold and windy, around 0°C... Other companies provided blankets and jackets to their customers. Ours didn’t. The view was fantastic even in that cloudy morning. It’s worth waking up that early! After the sunrise, we started our way down, with two great stops to see the view. Breakfast was served in front of golf course around 9:30 am. We arrived at the hotel at 10:45 am.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mount Haleakalā Sunrise. Maui

Reviewed by: Tlm , 2018/11/18

Weather is unpredictable for seeing this sunrise but fortunately for us, our sunrise was outstanding. Our guide was very informative. Get us so much useful information about the island in whole as well as mount Haleakalā and the history behind it. So glad we booked this trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Weather did not cooperate. Hazy, rainy at top.

Reviewed by: Bernice , 2018/07/18

If I had it to do over again I would have driven myself. Not worth the expense. Buses can not go all the way to the top because they can’t park up there. The breakfast was nothing special.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Matt1322, 2018/06/13

Preston was awesome! Best driver and very polite with people. Very fun and enjoyable trip! I highly recommend giving him a raise he deserves it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakalā Sunrise

Reviewed by: Adlers, 2018/05/21

Our guide was informative and was really great about giving us all time to see things and ask questions. We really enjoyed our trip and would recommend to friends

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular sunrise

Reviewed by: Alberich, 2018/05/19

Der Sonnenaufgang über dem Haleakala ist definitiv einen Ausflug wert. Wer nicht mitten in der Nacht eine unbekannte und kurvenreiche Strecke fahren will, sollte diese Tour buchen. Der einzige Nachteil ist, dass alle Busse auf den Parkplatz am Visitor Center halten und es entsprechend voll dort ist. Außerdem ist eine organisierte Tour die einzige Möglichkeit den Sonnenaufgang zu sehen, wenn man keinen Parkplatz mehr über die Website des Nationalparks buchen kann... Ohne reservierten Parkplatz kein Zutritt!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don’t miss this trip!

Reviewed by: Owens-Johnson, 2018/04/26

If you go to Maui you must see the sunrise at Haleakala, and if you are lucky enough to ride with Nettie, your experience will be perfect!
This was our second time seeing the sunrise at our feet but our first with the best guide Nettie - she is almost as spectacular as the mountain!
Knowledgeable, personable and entertaining!
We were on this trip to fulfill the “bucket list” desire of my husband’s sister and her husband and were hoping they were pleased; they were ecstatic!
Thanks Nettie - you are a huge part of a great memory!

  • Sunrise at Haleakala in April!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

no sunrise

Reviewed by: Hoeffgen, 2018/04/14

It rained all the time, from the beginning till the end of the tour. The tour operator knew, that there were only clouds around the crater, nevertheless they didnot cancel the tour. .

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fog

Reviewed by: Mark, 2018/04/10

While the tour and tour guides were excellent the weather was not. It looked as if we were going to have s great sun rise when the fog moved in and blocked the view.

Nettie one of the drivers was a distant relative to a Hawaiian process and gave a chant to the rising sun. This was beautiful and the best part of the trip.

All you need to do to make this a perfect adventure is pay Mother Nature more so that she will cooperate.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful experience!

Reviewed by: Jayne, 2018/03/26

Thoroughly enjoyed this experience despite the early start and the freezing temperature! Collected from our hotel at 3am by Netty. Very informative time on the coach, which was very comfortable but also allowed some time to nap before arriving at the mountain top. It was very cold despite wearing lots of layers ( we had been warned!) and our hotel had lent us blankets. Had about an hours wait before the sun started to come up. The sunrise was beautiful. We stopped for a good breakfast on the way back and returned to our hotel around 11am.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW!

Reviewed by: Amy L, 2018/03/25

THIS TRIP is worth waking up in the middle of the night to catch the sunrise ABOVE CLOUD Level. Beautiful! Thoughtful bus driver also brought hot water and coffee and packaged pastries for visitors to snack on before the actual breakfast. Thank you Nettie, bus driver, for an awesome experience!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Experience!

Reviewed by: Jennifer, 2018/03/20

Preston was our driver for the tour and he was hilarious. He managed to make our entire group laugh and stay engaged on our ride up to Haleakala. We felt safe with him as our tour leader and driver and would assure anyone going with Preston that you would have a great time. I HIGHLY recommend anyone considering the visit to view the sunrise to go with a tour group as the drive up is completely dark, on extremely narrow roads, and quite difficult to navigate. We had a care rental for our entire trip but were incredibly glad that we went with the route of having an operator take us up and down the mountain. The tour was informative and just so easy--from pick-up to drop-off.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Deb I, 2018/02/24

Wake up early, super early, for the most amazing sunrise you’ll see, if you are an adventurer. It’s cold up there, super cold so prepare for that. Before sunrise, marvel at the stars. They’re so cold you can touch them. Gloves, hats and warm coats needed, but its soooooo worth it!! The sunrise is spectacular! And once it comes up, the crater is like nothing you’ve ever seen. Turn to your right and look up at the science stations there also. You’ll want to stay!

  • Sunrise

  • The crater

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Couldn't be happier

Reviewed by: Steve, 2018/02/10

Even with the government shut down, tour glide still gave us an outstanding experience. Have memories and photos that we will treasure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Categories