Spectacular Haleakala Sunrise Tour

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Kurt Summers, 2017/09/11

Wow! What an incredible and awesome experience! Special thanks to Nettie! I understand why she is highly requested! Her aloha spirit made us feel like family. God's creation was on full display, praise Him from whom all blessings flow!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!

Reviewed by: D Gard, 2017/09/05

Had a great time on our sunrise tour. Driver was knowledgeable and talked much of the trip. The sunrise itself was spectacular. You arrive in the dark and I have never seen so many stars. It is definitely a good idea to bring warm clothes. I had a hooded ski jacket and gloves so I was comfortable. On the way back you can see beautiful views you will have missed on the way up due to darkness. Before heading back to your hotel there is a breakfast stop at the golf course. The food was good. We had a great time and recommend this tour for anyone looking to view the sunrise.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience but guide was frustrating

Reviewed by: Katy, 2017/08/30

We are delighted we got to have this experience. The view was breathtaking, honestly. That said, the driver/guide was nice but pretty frustrating. The tour picked you up around 3am, and the driver promptly announced he preferred to chat the whole way to the crater and turned the mike volume way up. Every person on that bus tried to sleep (it was 3am!) but he liked the sound of his own voice, and we heard his opinions on topics ranging from cyclists to what the beetles are doing now. He was nice, but frustrated every person and didn't seem to care ("haha, oh hope I didn't stop anyone from sleeping!") aside from that, I would have given a great review.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Taumhaft schön

Reviewed by: Andrea , 2017/08/29

super Tour,professionell grführt, taumhafter Sonnenaufgang, gerne wieder-

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala sunrise tour

Reviewed by: Roland, 2017/08/26

It is certainly an experience not to be missed if visiting Hawaii. Price is a bit high for the tour.
Tour guide was knowledgeable and somewhat entertaining. Included breakfast was pretty good.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nettie was the best tour guide ever

Reviewed by: Katie best, 2017/08/20

Nettie went above and beyond to ensure that we experienced the best Hawaii. She's a local and added so much charm. Not only did she get on the ground to take our photos she insisted on multiple photos in different poses all of which we couldn't live with out now that we have them. Nettie was by far the best we've seen in Hawaii! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The most touching sunrise in my life!

Reviewed by: LEE NAHUI, 2017/08/11

It's a wonderful sight! I was impressed. I'm very happy to participate in this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Average tour

Reviewed by: Mary Lou , 2017/07/11

Our tour bus driver, Nettie, was personable and knowledgeable but this tour didn't really measure up to info as presented in your ad: "We'll make an approximate one-hour stop at the "House of the Sun" visitor's center. Includes breakfast at one of Maui's premier restaurants after descending Haleakalā."
The "sunrise" that morning was dismal and I realize this is beyond your control. However, I was expecting the visitor center stop to be a more formal educational experience with a park ranger or naturalist; it was just a stop where Nettie took pictures of those on the bus. Breakfast was mediocre at best and the "premier" restaurant was actually a golf course dining area with a cafeteria feel. They actually weren't ready for us when we came down the mountain so Nettie drove to a "scenic stop" to waste some time. She actually did all she could to make us comfortable but I felt this tour was not worth the expense. Please include in your add that participants should bring chewing gum or ginger or will be able to purchase these things along with coffee or other beverages at a stop before the drive up to the summit.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing sunrise!

Reviewed by: Joyia Lytle, 2017/06/07

Seeing the sunrise come up over the clouds was a spectacular site! Truly a once in a lifetime moment. It was super cold! I thought I was being silly packing gloves and a toboggan in with my luggage but I appreciated them once I was at 10,000 feet. Our tour guide driver was the best! I remembered so much information he shared about the history and facts of the island.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unfortunately no sunrise

Reviewed by: Lianne & Ron, 2017/06/03

The tour on itself was nice, but no sunrise for us and that was a pity, but it's nature and with it you can't play.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome sunrise tour

Reviewed by: Bob n Kathy Carlson, 2017/05/23

This was breathtaking. Our tour guide Nettie was spectacular. She made the tour outstanding. Her positive attitude and her story telling was amazing.


  • Here is one of the pictures of the sunrise

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunrise tour

Reviewed by: Jan, 2017/03/01

Wayne was a great tourguide. He gave us a lot of useful information. There was just a sliver of sun to see on our morning and it was a bit chilly but the hot chocolate and watching how the sun comes up each morning was totally awesome. Despite having to get up at 2 a.m. it was an absolutely awesome tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Antonio Solano, 2016/12/23

Great trip , wonderful views and time
Nellie great driver makes a very special experience


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!!!

Reviewed by: Anonymous , 2016/11/14

This is a must do. There is nothing like it. You are picked up early but it is well worth it. Once you get up to the summit and watch that breathtaking sunrise and view, you will not regret it. Our tour guide,Gary was fantastic.He was very knowledgeable. The morning ended with a delicious breakfast. Glad we didn't miss this experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cold and rainey

Reviewed by: Linda Mathias, 2016/10/22

We didn't get to see the sunrise due to the weather, but our bus driver was informative and kept us warm with hot coffee, hot chocolate or hot tea. It was still worth going! The breakfast was fantastic!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/10/03

Despite getting up a dark o'clock, this trip is worth doing. The sunrise is spectacular and the pictures you get are just wonderful. The guide was excellent and cheerful from the start at 2 am! Breakfast is good too and you are awake for it. Recommend you do this one when you visit Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

trip been amazing

Reviewed by: phyllis, 2016/08/30

Overall, well organized and professional. Nellie our guide was amazing and took great photos for all of us. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour with Rory

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2016/08/24

No one likes being pick up at 3am for a tour, but Rory made it worth it! He was pleasant, cracking jokes, and really knew the history of Maui and Mt. Haleakala. I would highly suggest this tour to couples. Bring warm clothes, not just a sweatshirt!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too many hours for a tour you can do by yourself

Reviewed by: Olaia (Spain), 2016/07/28

We regret to have expent so much money in this tour. Our guide was really good but we were too many hours in the bus just to reach the top of the mountain. This can also be done by yourself, and it will be much cheaper

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience all around.

Reviewed by: Honeymooner, 2016/07/03

Our driver Rory was absolutely wonderful. He was very energetic and informative. The breakfast after the sunrise was also very good with huge portion sizes.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala sunrise tour

Reviewed by: Gena Driver, 2016/06/21

Our tour guide,Rory,was awesome. He was entertaining and knowledgeable. I felt safe with him driving(if you drive to Haleakala or The Road to Hana, you know why this one is important. Just remember it is very cold
At the summit and you will be outside in it standing in one spot for over an hour. I wasn't prepared for 25 degree wind chills in Hawaii in June.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply Majestic!

Reviewed by: Susan K., 2016/06/05

This was a once in a lifetime experience. It was truly a wonderful way to watch the sunrise. The colors of the sunrise were unlike any other I've ever seen. Rory, our host, was full of knowledge about the island and very personable.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beware of your chances

Reviewed by: Gina, 2016/04/29

It was a total disaster for us as we had to endure extreme cold, gusty wind, rain and sleet for over an hour and end up seeing nothing. We were warned of the low temperature at the top of the mountains but was totally unprepared for how COLD it actually felt. I feel lucky that we didn't fell sick for the rest of the trip. I wish the tour company would show statistics of how often this happens so people can weigh their chances.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good tour. Terrible pick up!

Reviewed by: Toby, 2016/04/19

First off our tour guide and driver Peaches was excellent. The view from Haleakala didn't disappoint and the breakfast provided was tasty with a good range of choices. That being said the pick up was a complete nightmare. We waited for 60 minutes from 2:30am ( our scheduled pick up) until 3:30 am awaiting a pick up. We did not receive any word from the tour operator of the late running of the pick up service. The instructions on the ticket told us to call in if the pick up was 10 mins late, which we did. Guess what both the numbers on the ticket went straight to out of office voicemail, even the one labeled emergency! Thinking we had been swindled, we began google searching the tour company to see if others had been treated similarly. This search turned up a completely separate number for Polynesian adventure tours MAUI, as opposed to the main office number printed on the tickets. Ringing this number we finally got through to a gentleman able to help us and call the driver. We were told ( at this point 30mins past our pick up) that the driver had run into delays with late passengers, our pick up would be in 10mins. 20mkns later no one had shown up, we range back and were told they would be there any second, 10mins later in the cold, we were picked up. Zero stars for initial communication and pick up. 5 stars for the tour guide and sunrise experience itself. 3 stars overall.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Eylee, 2016/04/15

너무 좋았어요 친절하셨구요
한국분들 여행으로도 추천합니다
1시간 반 기다렸는데 시간 잘 갔어요
따뜻한 옷 꼭 챙기시고요
감사합니다 감사합니다


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow this tour was spectular

Reviewed by: Paula, 2016/03/08

Our tour guide was named Rory and he was fantastic. As we drove to Haleakala Rory provided us with so much Hawaiian history, it was fabulous learning and hearing so much about the culture. The sunrise that morning was spectular we were able to see Venus and Mars clearly and once the sunrise began it was just beautiful. We were also treated to a fabulous breakfast. We highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breath-taking

Reviewed by: Lynne T, 2016/02/28

There are no words to describe this sunrise tour. It was absolutely amazing. The driver and tour guide was so experience, she made driving 10,000 feet a truly magical, comfortable and safe experience. A once in a lifetime experience.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderfull tour

Reviewed by: Stephane, 2016/01/20

It was a really amazing tour. What a great expérience we had. We will recommand this for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular show by Mother Nature

Reviewed by: Longhornhammy, 2016/01/18

I was not looking forward to a 2:50am pickup at the hotel, but the transportation was very comfortable and Rory, our tour guide, was exceptional. He talked most of the way over to Haleakala about Hawaiian culture & traditions so it was informative. When we got to the observation area, Rory took us to 'the best spot' for viewing which also blocked off the wind that was blowing. It is strange at first because the darkness hides the landscape. But the stars were as beautiful as I've ever seen them. Then the horizon began to glow and things moved pretty quickly until full sunrise. We then moved to the 10000 ft observation area and the view was breath taking. Tour finished with a nice breakfast at Café O'lei and we were dropped back off at our hotel in Lahaina. This is a spectacular event and really different from other Maui activities. Pack some warm clothes!


  • top of the world

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala sunrise

Reviewed by: Laura, 2015/09/27

Lovely morning at Haleakala. Was cloudy at first, but eventually the beautiful sunrise appeared. Breakfast was great and they offered a choice of three selections.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI