Spectacular Haleakala Sunrise Tour

Couldn't be happier

Reviewed by: Steve, 2018/02/10

Even with the government shut down, tour glide still gave us an outstanding experience. Have memories and photos that we will treasure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Schöne Tour

Reviewed by: inlovewithhawaii, 2017/12/30

Die Tour war gut arrangiert. Wir wurden überpünktlich abgeholt und unsere Busfahrerin / Tourguide war super freundlich. Sie hat während der ganzen Tour sehr viel über die Gegend erklärt, auf Pflanzen hingewiesen und uns einige alte Legenden näher gebracht. Es gab viele Stopps zwischendurch. Die geschätzte Gruppengröße war 15 Personen.

Der Sonnenaufgang war spektakulär! Den muss man gesehen haben! Eine dicke Jacke bzw. Zwiebellook und geschlossenen Schuhe sind mehr als angebracht.

Das folgende Frühstück im Golfclub war solide. Hätte man aber, da die Tour mit einem frühen Aufstehen verbunden ist, auch gut auslassen können und dafür ein früheres Ende vorsehen können.

Insgesamt hat mir die Tour gut gefallen und ich empfehle sie weiter.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime sunrise

Reviewed by: Callie, 2017/12/23

A few things to be aware of before you book this excursion:
1) The road is very windy: consider ginger candy or Dramamine if you're prone to motion sickness.
2) Cell phone reception will be terrible.
3) It's very cold at an elevation of 10,000 feet. It was 40degrees for us. Dress warmly.
4) The air is also very thin at 10,000 feet: look out for shortness of breath and dizziness.
3) You may not see a picture perfect sunrise. No one can control the weather or even perfectly predict it. There will also be tons of other people there enjoying the view with you.

With all that in mind, we had a great time. At 3am, our driver picked us up and drop us off right in front of our condo in Kihei (pick up may not be available for your particular location - verify with PolyAd/GrayLine first if this is a dealbreaker for you). Stopped at a Kahului convenience store: buy snacks here if you don't like the pastries/coffee onboard.

Uneventful drive up. The 25-ish seater van/bus is heated, but once we arrived in the parking lot, our driver obviously had to turn off the engine/heat to conserve gas. We arrived 1 hour prior to sunrise, and in that 1 hour, the weather went from so clear and being able to see thousands of stars to sprinkling rain to so foggy I could barely see a few feet in front of me and back and forth. There is a tiny visitors center with giftshop, and restrooms (with ice cold water toilet seats), but not much else to explore. So we hung out on the bus until just a few minutes before sunrise.

The sunrise was partially obstructed by clouds, but the sky and landscape was still so beautiful. 30 minutes after sunrise, our driver drove us up a wee bit higher to the next parking lot for more photos, and then down to a golf course for breakfast. Breakfast was ok - I would have much rather saved my appetite for something else. We were dropped off at our condo at 11am.

We had a great driver and saw a beautiful sunrise from the top of a volcano. It was AWESOME.


  • The view after sunrise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Sunrise Tour :)

Reviewed by: Aryan SKP, 2017/12/13

All in all a very good experience.. even though when we started it was raining at 3 AM in the morning.. but up there at the Haleakala summit point, weather was just too perfect to have the glimpse of rising sun :)..

Glenn, thanks for keeping us engaged n providing loads of information.. kept us awake most of the time ;)..


  • Captured from my Samsung S6..

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour guided experience

Reviewed by: Valeri, 2017/12/03

My husband and I did this for our hunnymoon and it was great. Great tour guide. He was very good, funny and very knowledgeable.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Sara, 2017/12/03

Wayne was excellent, a lot of knowledge and made the trip very fun! Would recommend this trip and service to others, only negative was that the breakfast was ok, service and decent and core of the golf course was nice. Overall excellent t experience

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Haleakala Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: Karla, 2017/10/24

This is a must for anyone traveling to Maui. Wayne was our driver and guide. He is full of all sorts of information and kept us entertained the whole trip. The view of the sun rising above the clouds high atop a volcano, made this one of our most memorable moments in Hawaii. The trip concluded with an awsome breakfast .



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Everyone should do this!

Reviewed by: D. Dickenson, 2017/10/23

This is so worth your time and money! Awesome! The view was spectacular and the driver made it so much fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing morning

Reviewed by: Amy Collier, 2017/10/18

After the very early start, we made our way to the top of the volcano. The tour drivers name was Bessie, and she was very enthusiastic, sometimes going overboard. The sunrise was a bit late but the whole experience was great, but very cold. After the tour, we were taken for breakfast at a golf club, which was very nice. We then were loaded on another bus for our drop of at accommodation. This was a very slow time. We did not get back to the resort until 12 noon, and this turned out an extremely long day.


  • At the very top- 10000 feet above sea level

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Damien, 2017/10/14

Had a great time on this trip. So informative and the view at sunrise was breathtaking.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Haleakula

Reviewed by: Laura Palmer, 2017/10/09

This was such a spectacular trip. Our tour guide Netti wend over and beyond to make this experience special for everyone. I highly recommend this experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: P and B, 2017/09/25

This was a great Tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable as well as helpful.
I would recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Kurt Summers, 2017/09/11

Wow! What an incredible and awesome experience! Special thanks to Nettie! I understand why she is highly requested! Her aloha spirit made us feel like family. God's creation was on full display, praise Him from whom all blessings flow!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!

Reviewed by: D Gard, 2017/09/05

Had a great time on our sunrise tour. Driver was knowledgeable and talked much of the trip. The sunrise itself was spectacular. You arrive in the dark and I have never seen so many stars. It is definitely a good idea to bring warm clothes. I had a hooded ski jacket and gloves so I was comfortable. On the way back you can see beautiful views you will have missed on the way up due to darkness. Before heading back to your hotel there is a breakfast stop at the golf course. The food was good. We had a great time and recommend this tour for anyone looking to view the sunrise.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience but guide was frustrating

Reviewed by: Katy, 2017/08/30

We are delighted we got to have this experience. The view was breathtaking, honestly. That said, the driver/guide was nice but pretty frustrating. The tour picked you up around 3am, and the driver promptly announced he preferred to chat the whole way to the crater and turned the mike volume way up. Every person on that bus tried to sleep (it was 3am!) but he liked the sound of his own voice, and we heard his opinions on topics ranging from cyclists to what the beetles are doing now. He was nice, but frustrated every person and didn't seem to care ("haha, oh hope I didn't stop anyone from sleeping!") aside from that, I would have given a great review.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Taumhaft schön

Reviewed by: Andrea , 2017/08/29

super Tour,professionell grführt, taumhafter Sonnenaufgang, gerne wieder-

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala sunrise tour

Reviewed by: Roland, 2017/08/26

It is certainly an experience not to be missed if visiting Hawaii. Price is a bit high for the tour.
Tour guide was knowledgeable and somewhat entertaining. Included breakfast was pretty good.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nettie was the best tour guide ever

Reviewed by: Katie best, 2017/08/20

Nettie went above and beyond to ensure that we experienced the best Hawaii. She's a local and added so much charm. Not only did she get on the ground to take our photos she insisted on multiple photos in different poses all of which we couldn't live with out now that we have them. Nettie was by far the best we've seen in Hawaii! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The most touching sunrise in my life!

Reviewed by: LEE NAHUI, 2017/08/11

It's a wonderful sight! I was impressed. I'm very happy to participate in this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Average tour

Reviewed by: Mary Lou , 2017/07/11

Our tour bus driver, Nettie, was personable and knowledgeable but this tour didn't really measure up to info as presented in your ad: "We'll make an approximate one-hour stop at the "House of the Sun" visitor's center. Includes breakfast at one of Maui's premier restaurants after descending Haleakalā."
The "sunrise" that morning was dismal and I realize this is beyond your control. However, I was expecting the visitor center stop to be a more formal educational experience with a park ranger or naturalist; it was just a stop where Nettie took pictures of those on the bus. Breakfast was mediocre at best and the "premier" restaurant was actually a golf course dining area with a cafeteria feel. They actually weren't ready for us when we came down the mountain so Nettie drove to a "scenic stop" to waste some time. She actually did all she could to make us comfortable but I felt this tour was not worth the expense. Please include in your add that participants should bring chewing gum or ginger or will be able to purchase these things along with coffee or other beverages at a stop before the drive up to the summit.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing sunrise!

Reviewed by: Joyia Lytle, 2017/06/07

Seeing the sunrise come up over the clouds was a spectacular site! Truly a once in a lifetime moment. It was super cold! I thought I was being silly packing gloves and a toboggan in with my luggage but I appreciated them once I was at 10,000 feet. Our tour guide driver was the best! I remembered so much information he shared about the history and facts of the island.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unfortunately no sunrise

Reviewed by: Lianne & Ron, 2017/06/03

The tour on itself was nice, but no sunrise for us and that was a pity, but it's nature and with it you can't play.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome sunrise tour

Reviewed by: Bob n Kathy Carlson, 2017/05/23

This was breathtaking. Our tour guide Nettie was spectacular. She made the tour outstanding. Her positive attitude and her story telling was amazing.


  • Here is one of the pictures of the sunrise

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunrise tour

Reviewed by: Jan, 2017/03/01

Wayne was a great tourguide. He gave us a lot of useful information. There was just a sliver of sun to see on our morning and it was a bit chilly but the hot chocolate and watching how the sun comes up each morning was totally awesome. Despite having to get up at 2 a.m. it was an absolutely awesome tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Antonio Solano, 2016/12/23

Great trip , wonderful views and time
Nellie great driver makes a very special experience


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!!!

Reviewed by: Anonymous , 2016/11/14

This is a must do. There is nothing like it. You are picked up early but it is well worth it. Once you get up to the summit and watch that breathtaking sunrise and view, you will not regret it. Our tour guide,Gary was fantastic.He was very knowledgeable. The morning ended with a delicious breakfast. Glad we didn't miss this experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cold and rainey

Reviewed by: Linda Mathias, 2016/10/22

We didn't get to see the sunrise due to the weather, but our bus driver was informative and kept us warm with hot coffee, hot chocolate or hot tea. It was still worth going! The breakfast was fantastic!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/10/03

Despite getting up a dark o'clock, this trip is worth doing. The sunrise is spectacular and the pictures you get are just wonderful. The guide was excellent and cheerful from the start at 2 am! Breakfast is good too and you are awake for it. Recommend you do this one when you visit Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

trip been amazing

Reviewed by: phyllis, 2016/08/30

Overall, well organized and professional. Nellie our guide was amazing and took great photos for all of us. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour with Rory

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2016/08/24

No one likes being pick up at 3am for a tour, but Rory made it worth it! He was pleasant, cracking jokes, and really knew the history of Maui and Mt. Haleakala. I would highly suggest this tour to couples. Bring warm clothes, not just a sweatshirt!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI