Haleakala National Park Sunset Tour Experience - Polynesian Adventure reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Haleakala National Park Sunset Tour Experience - Polynesian Adventure

Overall Rating

4.51 4.51 / 5

Reviews

41 reviews
Post a review

Haleakala Sunset Tour

Reviewed by: Mike E, 2022/11/04

Cousin Mitch did a great job explaining the culture, history and beauty of Haleakala on our sunset tour on Saturday October 29.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The experience was amazing but I thought we were spending more time there

Reviewed by: Laura J, 2022/10/03

The Haleakala National Park possesses a unique landscape and a variety of species only found there.
All the stops we made on our way up were worth it, however, our guide told us that the restaurant and visitor's center were not operating because of a lack of personnel, so it'd be nicer to have these options available.
According to the description of the tour, we were supposed to get back to our pick-up place/hotel after 10 pm but we got back at 8:30 pm. I was expecting to do some stargazing up there in the mountain but there was no time, our guide asked us to be back n the van at 6:45 pm...so this is was I liked the least!!
Other than that, our guide was very polite and helpful, and he gave us a lot of information about the places we were visiting.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gorgeous Experience!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/09/05

Sunset seems to be just as beautiful! Happy I chose tis tour to get up the volcano

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Heaven on earth

Reviewed by: Matt, 2022/06/20

Once in a life time experience!! The views were unbelievable! Very friendly driver who made frequent restroom or snack stops. Attentive to groups wants and needs! Pray you get a good group! Dress warm!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Experience!

Reviewed by: Lindsay , 2021/09/27

Really memorable experience! Driver/guide was very accommodating, polite, knowledgeable, and had a great sense of humor! Word of advice for attendees- bring motion sickness medicine and take in advance! Very winding road going up and coming down, elevation makes it worse and people who typically do not get motion sick got motion sick! Tour guide had ginger chews, and barf bags, which helped, but wish I had remembered my Dramamine! The summit was absolutely breathtaking and we stopped at every cool place to take pictures! They had us stop at a perfect little shop to buy snacks and souvenirs and it was by far my favorite shop from the whole trip! Lots of Hawaii home grown products! Would recommend this tour 100%!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome sunset

Reviewed by: Greg, 2021/08/26

Michael was the perfect host/guide/photographer! He is full of knowledge about Hawaii history, geography, flora, and fauna, AND was the perfect complement to an amazing natural display of light. My family (wife and two adult kids) highly recommend.

  • Sunset at 10,000 feet

  • Fading light over crater at 10,000 feet.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala National Park Sunset Sightseeing Tour

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2021/08/14

The sunset sightseeing tour was amazing! It was a great experience to be above the clouds. I rated 3 stars because the road is winding and the tour guy drove pretty fast. I took Dramamine before the trip but still got motion sickness and a terrible headache!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful day on Haleakala

Reviewed by: Jennifer Weigel, 2021/08/11

Wonderful experience. We were told to book early for any tours that we wanted to do while in Maui. We thought Haleakala was off the table because we could not find a sunrise tour. Fortunately I kept looking and found this sunset tour. Even better, didn’t have to wake up before 2 AM. Bonus. Kama our tour guide was wonderful and had lots of great information about the mountain and it’s rare plant life as well as tips for the rest of our trip. He treated us like we were family. I would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: BeachWoman, 2020/03/14

Our driver, Judy, was cautious and humerous. She made our trip up and down Haleakala crater so enjoyable. The sunset was beautiful and the dinner was surprisingly good. Definitely worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very knowledgeable funny and friendly bus is extremely comfortable,

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2019/07/15

Tour guide was Very knowledgeable and friendly , bus is extremely comfortable, dinner was delicious

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The guide made it

Reviewed by: R. Turner, 2019/06/17

We were picked up at our resort within one minute of the scheduled time in a brand new very comfortable tour bus and the guide Henry immediately set a wonderful tone for the tour. Our entire time together his comedic delivery was flawless but he mixes it with very interesting facts about Maui history and culture which really kept our interest. His content and delivery was perfect and completed the tour rather than overpowered it; a perfect mix.

The tour stops were excellent in timing and again, Henry's information really made the difference. Of course, once we got towards the top his focus was on safety but not overpowering. He's also an excellent photographer!

The scenery of the tour by itself is breathtaking but combined with Henry's expertise it was truly memorable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just Beautiful!

Reviewed by: The Clouser’s , 2019/05/02

Absolutely amazing experience! Comfortable ride with stellar views and good company! Watching the sunset on Haleakalā is just breathtaking! Don’t let the clouds fool you. Guide was knowledgeable regarding the area and dinner was delicious! Would definitely do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great and informative tour guide. Gorgeous view of the sunset.

Reviewed by: Leslie, 2018/11/27

This excursion was the perfect way to experience the sunset. The ride to the crater was also enjoyable. Our Tour guide was informative and funny. It looked like we were floating on the clouds. It was unlike anything I had ever experienced. The view of the crater was great and surreal as well. Unbelievable colors. Bring a jacket! It was cold up there. The dinner was good as well. I highly recommend this excursion!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Hmorris , 2018/11/24

We loved this tour! The summit is breathtaking, and our tour guide was wonderful. We would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting to see the crater at sunset instead of sunrise

Reviewed by: Guy, 2018/10/22

This was a fun trip, and we had an informative, engaging driver in Michael. My only gripe is I didn't really care for the Spacemonkeys video on the way back down.

  • Taken from the parking lot of the Haleakala Visitors Center

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Sunset

Reviewed by: Kathy from PA, 2018/06/30

Our Tour Guide Henry was very well versed on all aspects of the Island and to Haleakala in general. He was patient with our entire group and encouraged questions.
Dinner was meh-My husband and I have eaten several times at Cafe O'Lei in Kihei,but this was not up to those standards.

  • Haleakala Sunset-the clouds are hugging the sun

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Views were great. Judy not so much.

Reviewed by: Nancy Gianotti, 2018/06/02

Our driver Judy wasn't the most pleasant of people. When we first got on the bus we sat in the handicap set behind her. My sister in law has a knee brace on so it was easier. Judy told us we couldn't sit there. We moved and a little bit into the ride she asked if anyone was prone to motion sickness. She said they could come up front. That made me mad. Then when we stopped to order our dinners a couple complained they couldn't understand her. We couldn't either. She got better speaking after that. She also told use we had 15 minutes and then disappeared for a half hour leaving us in the hot van. People start getting off so they could get air. Just not the greatest of drivers.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful experience

Reviewed by: Cyndy, 2018/05/27

A chance to see some of the beauty of this location. Caution, you lose approximately 3 degrees F per 1,000 ft of altitude. You must also expect to experience wind chill as they wind is blowing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Summit sunset is beyond words

Reviewed by: spmelbeach, 2018/05/06

Beautiful drive to Haleakala! Our driver, Judy, was both pleasant and extremely informative. She is truly an attribute to the company? She made the trip to and from the crater a good one.
Sunset was awesome!! The dinner at the golf course was more than we expected!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Review of Haleakalā

Reviewed by: Edward and Claire , 2018/04/09

We really enjoyed it!!!! Judy was an amazing tourguide! It made our honeymoon awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Tour!

Reviewed by: D. Stern, 2018/03/31

A Wonderful experience! The day was beautiful, the guide was knowledgeable, the bus was comfortable, and the food was very good. We are not the sort to get up in the middle of the night for a sunrise tour, so we signed up for the sunset version instead and will view the video in reverse:-) But seriously, we enjoyed the spectacular as-advertised views, along with the narrative. Our only discomfort came with the cold temperature at the summit. Despite the fact that we were prepared, it still got pretty chilly! If you're going, take the suggestions regarding warm clothing seriously!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed the tour in spite of the weath

Reviewed by: Dewjr, 2018/03/11

Our driver (Jason?) made for a great trip. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate on the day we took the tour, but Jason’s commentary and fantastic sense of humor were sunshine on the rainy day. If (when) we return to Maui, we will definitely take this tour again in hopes of seeing the sunset from Haleakala.

  • Haleakala through the misty rain.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Tour

Reviewed by: Jennifer Kiser, 2018/02/17

I really can't say enough good things about our tour guide Henry; he was the best! He was very knowledgeable and funny. He even took some amazing pictures of us once we got to the top. One of the best memories of our trip was this tour. If you are planning a trip to Maui, I recommend doing the sunset tour.

  • #abovetheclouds

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

If only the clouds parted....

Reviewed by: Podre71, 2018/01/29

Only thing we missed was the view of the surrounding areas due to the clouds...only saw the western peaks poking up thru the clouds
...but the sunset was one of a kind.....Bring your winter Jacket & gloves....

  • my hands are frozen!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding!

Reviewed by: Christina , 2017/09/30

This tour was absolutely amazing! Our driver was phenomenal, knowledgeable, entertaining and definitely made you feel safe on the long road up and down the mountain. The views were breathless, there are no words to describe how absolutely stunning the sunset was. Mahalo Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sun set tour

Reviewed by: RaySarkees, 2017/02/15

Our driver was very knowledgeable. My wife and I were not dressed for the elements but because he knew there would be quests who would not be prepared he had a couple of jackets and we were very thankful for him. The dinner was very good as well. We would recommend this company for this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Sunset tour

Reviewed by: Scott J., 2016/11/14

If you haven't had the chance to view the sunset at Haleakala it is worth the trip.. allowing someone else to drive while you sit back and relax, is the way to go. the Dinner was ok, My wife ate the vegetarian fare and passed on most of it. The driver was great, full of knowledge and passed it freely. Its nice to know some the history of Maui..

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Susanna, 2016/11/06

Well organised trip to Haleakala. Good drivers with their commentary. Would have liked a little more information about the volcano and the island, nothing that Google can't answer though, so that's alright. The dinner was ok.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: John J, 2016/05/03

Tour driver was great. Sunset at the top was great. Overall enjoyed the entire experience

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Sunset!!

Reviewed by: mblock, 2016/02/24

I enjoyed every moment of the tour, Haleakala is definitely a must-do in Maui!
I'm glad that Polynesian Adventure Tours offers the Sunset tour, I would not be able to do the sunrise tour because of my tight schedule.

The local tour guide Kama was was excellent, very entertaining and knowledgeable about the Island of Maui. He gave us a map and shared interesting facts about Hawaiian history, geology, geography, ecology and legends.

After the pick up we stared our journey to the top of the Haleakala. We made a quick stop at the small, but beautiful Lavender Farm for a bathroom break and to get the coffee and pastries.
We arrived at the visitor center, approximately one hour prior to Sunset, and we had enough time to explore around and take nice pictures of the landscape. I absolutely love sunsets and being able to watch it above the clouds was amazing!
The last stop was at Cafe O Lei, we had a delicious family-style dinner and it was a great way to end the night.

The Sunset tour is great because it is not as crowed as the sunrise. I had a great experience visiting Haleakala with Polynesian Adventure Tours!

  • Haleakala Crater

  • Amazing SUnset

  • Lavender Farm

  • Haleakala Visitor Center

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Categories