(All Reviews) Private Guided Tours (Sightseeing / Guided Tours), Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Private Guided Tours in Big Island

Overall Rating

5.00 5.00 / 5

Reviews

35 reviews

Private VIP Tour & Volcanoes National Park After Dark (from Hilo)

Fascinating Guided Tour of an Incredible Island

Reviewed by: Jen Bianco, 2016/08/07

We did not really know what to expect with this tour and was very pleased with our private VIP tour with Lee from Wild Orchid Tours. He showed us many hidden gems on the island, as well as gave us quite a lot of background info on Hawaiian culture. We came away well versed in the lore of Pele, the Volcano goddess and the history of Kīlauea's activity.

The visibility at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park was bad the day of our tour, but Lee came prepared with rain ponchos and walking sticks. We were thrilled he took us out to see the lava flow after sunset. We saw so much, the waterfalls don't seem worth mentioning.

The bonus is that Lee is fascinating himself. He's knows his Big Island, but that's just the beginning. After our tour, my friend and I almost wanted to extend our stay so we could take Lee and his wife, Renata, out to dinner.

Well worth the money. I highly recommend Wild Orchid Tours.

  • Lee showing us the Pahoa Lava Tube in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

  • Moody weather on the crater didn't dampen our spirits. Lee still was an excellent tour guide!

  • One of the waterfalls near Hilo we saw on our tour with Lee.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private VIP Tour & Volcanoes National Park After Dark (from Hilo)

Beautiful experience. Got so much to see and learn.

Reviewed by: AkshathaSriramprasad, 2018/04/25

Lee, our tour guide was super friendly. He also teaches at a local school hence has a great skill for storytelling. He not only showed us some pretty amazing stuff like live volcano, volcano tubes and the waterfalls, he also told us a lot about Hawaii, Hilo, Hawaiian culture, heritage and people.
If you are someone who wants to know more about all these places and the legends and stories associated with them, go for this tour. Lee has so much knowledge to share and we felt like school kids on excursion. He encourages questions and appreciates them too!
He showed us the Hokule'a which was in town for 2 weeks. And took us to the amazing Rama paintings exhibition. He gave us a brief tour of the town and showed us several historic sites and took us to the Volcano on time.
He customizes the tours based on your interests.
We had a great time and wish Lee and his family the best!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha folks....
Mahalo nui for the opportunity to be with you and your dynamic questions, curiosity and love for the island of Hawai'i.
Our intimate tour is the way we have specialized through the years. It has enabled us to have tours that are a constant
cultural and educational stimulus.
Please pay attention to Madame Pele through the national volcanoes' park website.
She is dancing and rumbling and shaking the island right now.
all blessings
lee

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

100% Recomendable cultural private tour!!

Reviewed by: Jose and Claudia, 2016/11/04

This tour is way better than group tours! The tour was confortable and we stoped at points where group tours wont stop, so we watched more things. Lee is an amazing person, his knowledge about the hawaiian culture and history is extremelly enriching, that guys in other tours took advantage and prefered listening to him than their tour guides.
We stop in every point of the Island such as waterfalls, rainforest, lava tunels, museum of the volcáno, craters, steam points, volcanic beaches, neiberhoods, and on every points and he told us enriching history of that part. We have some time for lunch at the volcano hotel, and he took us back to the airport on time.
In general we recommend this tour rather than groupal tours. Lee is a guy you can trust, dont hesitate in booking this vip private tour.

  • Volcanic crater

Comments from activity operators

what a beautiful photograph of you two trouble-makers and Madame Pele....Mahalo nui for such a wonderful tour together.
thank you for your respect and love of the Hawaiian culture.
Blessings, Lee

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

So great!

Reviewed by: the Bowens, 2019/04/23

Lee was totally accommodating. I so much wanted to see the results of the 2018 volcano eruption, as I had followed it on the internet daily (was a Geology minor in college). After the perfunctory Hilo sights, we were off to the east coast. Everything was amazing (including the newly formed beach, Pohike) and Lee never ran out of explanations and stories. Topped off the day with a fabulous late lunch in Paloha (an old "hippie " town) at Kehole's (again, at our request). Lee knew locals wherever we went and information was always shared.
Specifically, we were with Wild Orchid Tours, and Veltra was the agent.
Next time we'll go to Volcanoes Nat'l Park (and hopefully the museum will be reopened) - we were just too interested in the new stuff (and unfortunately, devastation).

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

Private VIP Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls Sightseeing Tour from Hilo #3973560

Reviewed by: Bill and Kathy, 2018/04/01

This was a tour which we will never forget! My husband, Bill and my brother Gary and his wife Deb thoroughly enjoyed this and Lee was the perfect guide. He was very knowledgeable about the culture and being a native new the area well. He answered all our questions an excellent host to us and friendly to everyone who we met on the way. He was also very personable and a family man talking about his family and sharing with us how he helps the children in his spare time on the island. He is a true asset to the company and to his heritage of the island. Taking a private tour is definitely worth your money and time spent on the island! Mahola! Lee

Comments from activity operators

Aloha folks! Wow, so much has happened here in Hawai'i, since we toured together. the 13 climates of the planet showed up;
we had an extra-ordinary range of weather : from monsoon rains with hail and rolling, crackling thunder from Mauna Kea and
Mauna loa. Then clear, blue quiet skies. rolling waterfalls and quiet heavens...and then thunder and lightning and wind from the sea...
Mahalo for the memories.
Lee


Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private VIP Tour & Volcanoes National Park After Dark (from Hilo)

OMG Lee is an amazing guide and host

Reviewed by: The Ertl Family, 2018/04/04

We went on the tour and when we saw it was pouring rain we were worried. Well, never fear with Lee as your guide. We saw so much and learned so much it was crazy. My 15 and 10 year old have been talking all the next day about what a nice and knowledgable person he is. When we hugged goodbye with someone who was a stranger 6 hours earlier, it was hard to leave. He was able to weave the incredible history of Hawaii throughout our trip by tyin flowers, lava, Hawaiian history, and his own story together to make an amazing tale we will NEVER FORGET. I highly recommend spending a day with Lee!

Comments from activity operators

aloha ohana of adventure...wow. thank you for your energy and interest as we made our way through sunshine liquid that makes rainbows.
every tour is different. the weather is different. the lava flo, the ocean currents; the waves of wind and sea.
mahalo nui for sharing the most beautiful element of Hawai'i: change.
lee

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

Fun tour

Reviewed by: Meredith, 2017/11/19

We really enjoyed our trip to Volcanoes National Park! We walked in a lava tube with headlamps on at night and the kids absolutely loved it. Then we saw lava from a viewing deck at the museum using binoculars and I will never forget that. We also felt the steam from several steam vents coming out of the ground, and we hiked through a rain forest down to the bottom of a crater and walked on an old lava flow. Very memorable visit! Our tour guide was very informative and made sure we got to see and do everything.

Comments from activity operators

Yes, The world Heritage site of the Hawai"i Volcanoes National Park is a complete treasure and never is the same. We experienced a beautiful day together and the Ohana will return through the beautiful website that the park maintains; 24/7
Mahalo Nui Loa for finding Wild Orchid Tours.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private VIP Tour & Volcanoes National Park After Dark (from Hilo)

Best part of our week long trip

Reviewed by: Erica, 2018/04/15

Spent a week in Hawaii and this was the best thing we participated in! Lee, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable about Hilo and the volcanoes. We saw waterfalls, black sand beaches, and of course the volcano. Our 9 year old son could have climbed on lava rock all day! Wish we could have spent more time in the park itself, but we saw it all in 6 hours!! Well worth the money to do a private tour. Even had a picnic sitting amongst old lava flows!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha ohana of a junior ranger!
Yes, the weather changes all the time and the guide can be guided by the weather and local happenings.
It has rained for nearly 3 weeks know and very little sun,
However, the 'liquid sunshine' is refreshing; everything is so green and the magma is rolling about.
the island of Hawai'i is alive.
thank you for sharing with us.
lee

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

The Big Island Hawaii

Reviewed by: T. Kenny, 2019/07/10

What a GREAT day!! 14 passenger van was very clean and our driver was very knowledgeable and professional. We had teenagers with us who stayed totally engaged. We enjoyed lunch at a wonderful little mom and pop restaurant along the way - Sharky’s. Our private party of 8 visited waterfalls, overlooks, a black beach, learned history of the island and spent time at Volcano National Park. Thank you for a wonderful day!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private VIP Tour & Volcanoes National Park After Dark (from Hilo)

Natural High

Reviewed by: Fi & Guy, Nov 2015, 2015/11/28

We booked a Private Volcano Tour in Oct 2015 and experienced so much more than just 'a tour'. Our guide, Lee, was friendly, knowledgeable, listened to our interests and tailored our afternoon/evening accordingly. We'll never forget the beautiful scenery, sights and our volcano experience - particularly the added pleasures of owls above steam vents and the Milky Way above glowing Kilauea. Truly outstanding visit to Hawaii.

  • Lee and Fi, Volcanoes National Park Oct 2015

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

a great big MAHALO!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/07

Just wanted to offer up a great big MAHALO for the amazing hospitality that you showed us....the fantastic pictures that we were able to take....and the island aloha that you so generously shared with us! I really can't thank you enough...this is sure to be one Hawaiian adventure that I will never ever forget...especially since I have all my snapshots to remind me too! Again, MAHALO (which YOU taught me means thank you!)

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

First Class!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/05/27

Mahalo for your projection of your personal feelings and stories of hawai’i. It was like having the best waiter at a first class restaurant. Your care of us was wonderful. Our tour with you was an invaluable souvenir of the islands of Hawai’i. We learned a great deal on your tour- it was intense. Thanks for sharing your time, your perspective and your love for this corner of the world with us.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

Picturesque Beauty

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/05/18

We took some amazing pictures on this tour. You can tell that the tour operators are artists, because they take you to some very awe inspiring sights. The beauty I witnessed on this tour will stay with me for the rest of my life. The island has such drastic changes in it's beauty and scenery. I believe that everyone should come here and see this at least once in their life.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

Private VIP volcano tour

Reviewed by: Renee H., 2015/10/27

We had an amazing time! There is no way we could have seen or learned as much as we did without this private tour! Our guide Lee was fantastic. He was a wealth of knowledge from history to current events and even local legends. Our group consisted of 4 adults who wanted to go and see it all and we did. I highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private VIP Tour & Volcanoes National Park After Dark (from Hilo)

FANTASTIC DAY IN HAWAII!!

Reviewed by: The Labbe Family, 2015/07/29

We had the most amazing day ever! Lee (our tour guide) was so informative and engaging with all of us. My 16 and 18 year old loved our day! He asked us what we wanted to do and we did it! For us it was a complete day of learning about the volcanos, lava flow and national forest! Mahalo! We will be back!

  • Lee and my family - having a great time!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

family activity planner

Reviewed by: hbell, 2011/03/24

Well spent time with Wild Orchid Tours. They are knowledgable about the geology and plant life of the island. Enjoyed visiting a small local plantation and sampling the chocolate and coffee wares. Would recommend to those visiting the island wanting a comfortable 'sit down' tour. Very personable hosts.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

Great tour with Lee

Reviewed by: Lianne & Ron, 2017/05/27

We had an awesome tour with Lee, passionate how Lee tells about the history of the vulcano. Private tours are much better then a group one in this case is my opinion. It's well worth spending money for a private VIP tour and Lee is the person for it, mahalo and aloha from the Netherlands

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Lianne and Ron! It was an absolute pleasure to serve you both and we are truly happy that you enjoyed our tour and services. Mahalo from the Big Island and have a wonderful rest of your summer! Wild Orchid Tours

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

Untitled

Reviewed by: Jeremiah Wilson, 2010/07/01

I was absolutely stunned by the beauty of East Hawaii. Hilo can often be a victim of superficial judgments. I know it is the rainiest city in the USA and that it is routinely beset by tropical downpours but we saw rainbows, waterfalls and green, green, green… Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

Thank you so much

Reviewed by: Isaac Kroger, 2010/06/18

We are thankful for a well-informed guide who made our experience so eventful. Thank you for projecting your love and values for this “Healing Island” of Hawaii .We especially appreciate your preparing us for the beauty that lies ahead in all the other islands…

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

Volcanoes & Waterfalls Tour

Reviewed by: Clarice Jane Fisher , 2015/01/10

Top notch tour led by insightful and delightful Lee Michael Walczuk. Tour was well paced and every venue provided greater understanding of the natural events / wonders, past and present, that make the Big Island such a diverse, beautiful, and inviting destination.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha folks. Mahalo for your continuous joy of our unique life here on the Island of Hawai'i. We shared a beautiful time together. Madame Pele and Mother Nature give us such delights that we will continue and hope to visit with you again. E Komo Mai!.......................

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2014/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

thank you

Reviewed by: Betty Connors, 2010/07/01

Thank you for giving us a ‘local’ (shaka) tour. You live in a true abode where people smile and mean it. Growth is coming but with folks like you, ‘on guard”, we are assured that the beauty of “old Hawaii will continue to shine through.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private VIP Hilo & Haumakua Coast Sightseeing Tours

Private Hilo 6 hour tour

Reviewed by: Amy Glaser, 2019/07/29

Excellent
Lee took us to many off the beaten track places as well as the more popular tourist ones. He was knowledgeable and so very pleasant. We had a ball!!! He was punctual and ended the day with a surprise visit to a chocolate factory!!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

Private VIP Volcanoes & Waterfalls Sightseeing Tours (from Hilo) Half Day Private Guided Tour

Reviewed by: Leung, 2015/06/21

Excellent experience, learned a lot about Hawaii culture, especially pleased to taylor making to cope my cruise departure time. In addition, the guide was flexible to bring us to the local fruit market to buy papaya and see the turtles.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you so much for your comments! We always thrive to make our guest's Hawaii vacation the most memorable. Our itinerary can be flexible to meet your interest and comfort.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private VIP Tour & Volcanoes National Park After Dark (from Hilo)

A must do!

Reviewed by: Amy B., 2016/07/04

Wow! Lee was an awesome tour guide for us. He shared so much information on the island and the volcanos. With 4 adults and 2 kids (12 & 14), everyone learned something. It was an incredible tour for all of us. The time went fast!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

Wild Orchid Private Tour of National Volcano Park and Hilo, Hawaii

Reviewed by: Mary R., 2019/01/09

Memories of a life time! Lee's knowledge of all aspect of the Big Island was very impressive. He depth of different stories of Hawaii were very revealing and factual. Lee's welcoming personality draws you in. Five Stars!!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/12/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

Mahalo!

Reviewed by: The entire Bennington Fam, 2010/05/27

To tell you the truth we chose your tour because of your enthusiasm and a beautiful vehicle. We were then transformed, mesmerized and smitten with aloha and awe for Madame Pele and her friends who live at her feet.” Mahalo...

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private VIP Tour & Volcanoes National Park After Dark (from Hilo)

Lee for Private Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Chris Golden, 2015/07/12

Lee was an absolutely amazing tour guide. I would recommend him to anyone going to the Big Island. His insightful and knowledgeable commentary in addition to the beautiful sights are a must see for any visitor. Thank you Lee!!

  • Lava Flow!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

Private VIP Volcanoes and Waterfalls (Hilo)

Reviewed by: Deb, 2016/10/24

Thoroughly enjoyable day - guide knew his area's content and history and imparted it very well - not too many crowds as Lee appeared to know the times to go to the specific areas - would highly recommended

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Deb and ohana for sharing a beautiful journey together...

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

Perfect Private Tour

Reviewed by: D Booth, Minnesota , 2018/10/19

Veltra arranged a private volcano tour for my wife and I. Lee with Wild Orchid did a fantastic job bringing to life the impact of volcanic activity into the daily life of those living on Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Volcanoes Park Tour & Recent Lava Eruption Adventure (from Hilo)

National Volcano Park Private Tour

Reviewed by: Bill, 2017/05/26

We had an exceptional time. Our tour guide was well versed on all the sites we visited. He interacted with our family and made the tour very informative as well as fun. Would definitely recommend.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Bill and family! Mahalo for your comment and review. We are a family business and therefore have a natural appreciation for other families, thank you for trusting our services. We are so pleased that your family had fun - it was simply a lovely pleasure to welcome you to the Big Island. All the very best, Mahalo nui loa

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/05/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Hawaiian Islands