Volcanoes National Park, Black Sand Beach & Waterfalls Explorer Tour (from Kona)

Overall Rating

4.764.76 / 5

Reviews

21 reviews (Post a review)

Volcanoes National Park Tour, Thursday May 12, 2016

Reviewed by: Jill and Bruce, 2016/06/06

A fantastic day!! We want to thank Kapohokine Adventures, especially Mike D. for a wonderful day! Mike was GREAT!! He was a wealth of information and we had a really fun day with him!! We highly recommend this tour!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Evening Big Island Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Elaine, 2016/02/07

It was very informative and very fun. I enjoyed letting someone else do the driving, so that I could take in the beautiful countryside. The evening volcano viewing is not to be missed.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best way to see the island in one day!

Reviewed by: Ms. Ems, 2015/10/13

Tour was fun and educational! Marcus was an amazing guide, very informative and full of knowledge! Would definitely recommend this tour.

We were picked up in Kona then drove north to pick up other passengers on the tour. On our way there, we could immediately see these huge acres of lava rocks and we learned that these were formed during the eruption of Mt. Hualalai.

We took the Saddle Road to Hilo which took us a good 2.5 hours of a drive so make sure use the restroom before your pick-up. We only had one bathroom break in between. It was an interesting drive as we were able to view different landscapes; from green pastures to plain black; different climates from hot humid, to breezy wind, then drove through clouds to pouring rain as we were approaching Hilo. Our first stop was at Rainbow Falls, and it was beautiful! Then, we drove to the Akatsuka Orchid Gardens and saw great assortment of gorgeous orchids! This is also where we stopped for lunch, my tuna sandwich was huge and delicious!!

Finally, our visit to the Volcanoes National Park! We got to view the Kilauea Iki Crater and walked through a small trail full of ferns, and blooming flowers that I've never seen before. We also visited the Thurston Lava Tube, the experience here is just amazing and unique! It's pretty steep though so make sure you are in your comfortable shoes. Then, we were off to steam vents, where we could see smoke coming out from the ground. The Jagger Museum was absolutely informative and I liked it that it was placed right next to the crater with such an amazing view of the Halemaumau Crater! Maybe when I return one day, I would come here at night to see the glow of lava.

We also stopped by Punalu'u Black Sand Beach, another unique place I've seen where we also had a free coffee tasting! Then finally, a visit at Na'alehu, the "Southern Most in the USA" and made sure to taste the popular malasadas and cream puffs at Punalu`u Bake Shop, just perfect to end the day..Soo Yummy!











Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

See the Best of the Big Island!!

Reviewed by: MeSoHappy, 2015/10/08

This tour was a lot of fun! I had a great time considering that this was my first time on the island and I was skeptical about what I would see. Our guide Marcus was great. Our pick-up was on time and he was very patient the entire way. We learned a lot about some of the more recent lava flows on the Kona side of the island. My favorite part was stopping in Hilo for some light shopping and a big cup of hot Kona coffee to keep me warm in the wind and rain. It reminded me of home. Hilo is a very charming town with friendly locals and great shave ice too!

Our next stop was Akatsuka Orchid Gardens for lunch. A perfect place if you like flowers and see numerous varieties of orchids that Akatsuka is famous for. Afterward, we drove through Hilo to the amazing Volcanoes National Park! This was definitely the highlight of the tour. The view of Kilauea Iki crater was not so iki (small). It was enormous and highly worth going to again for the hike. I enjoyed the walk through the Thurston lava tube. I was able to view the lava formation and it is incredible to see that the earth is alive here. Halemaumau Crater was definitely the natural highlight of the tour. See the Jagger Museum and its (mostly) live seismograph! Cool stuff for volcano fans.

The last stop was by far the most delicious. The Punalu'u Bakery in Na'alehu was chock-full of tasty baked goods like coco puffs and their mango malasadas. Yum!

I recommend this tour for people who are short on time, like history, and want to see beaches, waterfalls, rainforests, and volcanoes (all on the same day as a matter of fact). I highly enjoyed this tour and so will you :)


  • Lots of falls at Rainbow Falls.


  • Ol' Smokey. Halemaumau Crater.


  • Na'alehu town. The real deep South!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small Group Circle Island, etc.

Reviewed by: Betty Latiolais, 2015/10/02

This was a great trip and our guide was marvelous! The "Big Island" was having a small tsumai alert! Lot of water but fun anyway. It was misting rain at Volcanoes National Park but we dried off fast. About 5 minutes after leaving the park the alert was raised on Kilauea . . . but only one level. Enjoyed the entire tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road trip on Big Island

Reviewed by: CSWIMR, 2015/09/15

Excellent experience, Jeff our driver and guide was very knowable and informative and kept up a steady stream of interesting information.

Good day

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle Island

Reviewed by: Sandra, 2015/09/13

Informative relaxed day trip, very nice lunch provided.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Ckd214, 2015/07/06

Jeff the guide was great. Very courteous
What a beautiful place.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a fabulous day!

Reviewed by: Bridgett Zelasko, 2015/03/24

We had an amazing day with our guide Rose who was very polite and very knowledgeable.
We were very impressed and would recommend te tour.


  • In front of the Rainbow Falls!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth every penny

Reviewed by: V. Martinez, 2015/03/01

Worth every penny. Since this was our first time, we didn't know what to expect. We had John as our tour guide and he was assume. We even got to see turtles at the black sand beach. The dinner was great and the view of the glowing lava at night was amazing. If I ever get to go to the Big Island again I will be adding this tour to the package :)




  • Black sand beach


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saw many interesting sights

Reviewed by: Sue , 2014/10/13

Our guide Kelsey was lively and cheerful. She took us to several really interesting places and gave highlights and histories along the way. The van initially had some issues but worked ok all day so happy about that. Loved seeing the waterfall and huge Banyan tree in Hilo, the orchid Farm and there were several turtles at the black sand beach. No red lava to see but did find some of Pele's hair and lots of steam with a huge rainbow. South end of island was different and fascinating too. A day well spent.



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Tour to Volcano National Park

Reviewed by: Rhon & Brendan, 2014/06/07

Our day with Rose as our tour guide went from brilliant to fantastic. She was extremely friendly, professional and informative, with an excellent grasp on the local environment both flora and fauna. The bus was very comfortable and lunch was great. Rose fitted in as much as she could on our tour with plenty of stops at interesting places. It was our first trip to Hawaii and the Big Island will remain one of our favourite places. Definitely value for money and an excellent day all round. We loved it!!


  • Thurston Lava Tube entrance


  • Akatsuka Orchid Nursery at Hilo


  • Turtle resting on the black sand beach at Punalu'u


  • Kileaua Crater

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Day

Reviewed by: msblock, 2014/05/14

What a fantastic day!
Me and my friend were flying for the day and this tour was perfect for us!
Our group was small and the guide Marcus was very knowledgeable and friendly, sharing with us valuable information and keeping us entertained during the whole day.

It was a day full of wonderful surprises! To drive from Kona to Hilo we took Saddle Road and WOW! That's crazy how the landscape changes so fast along the way.

The first stop was at Rainbow Falls, we took many pictures and a short walk around the area. Next we headed to charming Hilo Town. Make sure to try their shaved ice!
For lunch we stopped at a Orchid Nursery and had a delicious sandwich.

The highlight of the day for sure was the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
We hiked around Iki Crater. It's an easy short hike and there are many lookout points along the way. We also walked through Thurston Lava Tube and stopped to check the steam vents on the way to Jaggar Museum.

At Jaggar Museum you have perfect view from Halema'uma'u Crater and great pictures opportunities!

After the National Park we stopped at the incredible Black Sand Beach and our last stop was at a delicious bakery, Marcus got us delicious Malasadas!

On our drive back to Kona we could witness a beautiful sunset.

I recommend this tour for everyone staying in Kona! It definitely exceed my expectations.










Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Above and beyond my expectations!

Reviewed by: Lana Banana, 2014/05/13

This was a great tour!!! From the moment we were picked up, till we got dropped off, our guide Marcus made sure that everyone on the tour had a fantastic time. My friend and I were picked up right on time from our hotel in Kona, and we were immediately told a bunch of fascinating facts about the area and the Big Island in general. Our group was even smaller than usual, so we had a lot of one on one attention which made the tour even better.

The drive across Saddle Road was insane! The weather kept changing every few miles and so did the landscape. Once we got to Rainbow Falls, we got to take lots of beautiful photos and take a nice little walk around the area as well.

We got some free time in Hilo and munched on some shaved ice (lychee, guava and strawberry with vanilla ice cream! YUMMM!!!) and picked up a few snacks and gifts. The town is just so cute and quaint. Love it! After resting at the Kapohokine store for a bit, we headed to the Orchid Farm for a totally delish lunch. You can totally tell that each sandwich is handmade with love :D

I am not much of an outdoorsy person (seriously, computer nerd here!) but the hike was perfect! Like a mile around the rim of the crater in this rainforest-jungle place with a ton of plants and flowers. The stop at the lava tube really showed how awesome our tour was compared to the others I saw there. Whereas the other tour groups were flooding off of these HUGE buses and just getting pointed in the general direction of the tube, Marcus guided us and gave us a great experience!

The stops at the Jaggar Museum and steam vents were incredible and then when we went to the black sand beach? Way too cool. Oh, be sure to stock up on cookies and some sweetbread when you are at the bakery. The best I have had!


  • Hilo town!


  • Yummy shaved ice!


  • Guava flavored yummers!


  • Hiking time and some lehua blossoms


  • Chilling on the black sand beach

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day even though main attraction was closed

Reviewed by: John, 2013/10/06

Our guide Marcus, took us on a tour of the island and visited some off of the beaten track locations, due to the national park being shut. This was due to US government in shutdown. All in all a great alternative custom tour that was thoroughly enjoyable and could be set up as a tour in its own right.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

a great day out.

Reviewed by: michelle, 2012/08/31

I very much enjoyed this day out. I did the same tour last year with a different company but it was short, felt rushed,and not informative. This tour was completely the opposite. The guide was very friendly and answered all questions. The chocolate eclairs from the bakery are to die for.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very informative

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/08/22

The tour was very informative. And enjoyable. Get to see the rainbow waterfalls and sight see the volcanoes.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to see the Island!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/05/06

This was highly enjoyable and our guide Fiona was so knowledgeable and friendly! We were fortunate to be joined by only one other couple so it was basically a private tour. Not recommended for young children as it is a long day of driving and walking (12 hours). It was a great way to get some info on the island and was very scenic and unique!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to take in the sights!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/03/26

This was a great way to see a lot of the island in a single day. Our guide was very knowledgeable, helpful and informative. I liked the variety of waterfalls and volcano sights. Also, our guide pointed out some local stops for Hawaiian coffee, pastries and fresh fruit - I went back to a couple of those places and she was right! They were great places to go. Almost anyone would enjoy this day.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Dirk, 2012/01/30

This was a great activity. Our tour guide, Franny, did a wonderful job in explaining everything in detail. She was extremely knowledgeable. This is a very long day and you should be prepared to walk on some uneven trails and also for weather changes from sunny and warm to rainy and chilly. If you really want to learn about the Big Island in depth and what affect we have had and can have on its environment, then this is the tour for you!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WHIRLWIND DAY OF FUN

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/10/17

From the beginning of the tour's pretty drive along the coast...where everything was green and blue and really jungle-like.....all the way to the National Park where it was rocky and arid and just seemed like a completely different island OR WORLD in itself....this was a remarkable day...and really showed the diversity of the Big Island that I really didn't know was there before.

Glad I went on this tour and would definitely tell others to go on it. thanks.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI