Volcanoes National Park, Black Sand Beach & Waterfalls Explorer Tour (from Kona)

Overall Rating

4.764.76 / 5

Reviews

21 reviews (Post a review)

Volcanoes National Park Tour, Thursday May 12, 2016

Reviewed by: Jill and Bruce, 2016/06/06

A fantastic day!! We want to thank Kapohokine Adventures, especially Mike D. for a wonderful day! Mike was GREAT!! He was a wealth of information and we had a really fun day with him!! We highly recommend this tour!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Evening Big Island Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Elaine, 2016/02/07

It was very informative and very fun. I enjoyed letting someone else do the driving, so that I could take in the beautiful countryside. The evening volcano viewing is not to be missed.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best way to see the island in one day!

Reviewed by: Ms. Ems, 2015/10/13

Tour was fun and educational! Marcus was an amazing guide, very informative and full of knowledge! Would definitely recommend this tour.

We were picked up in Kona then drove north to pick up other passengers on the tour. On our way there, we could immediately see these huge acres of lava rocks and we learned that these were formed during the eruption of Mt. Hualalai.

We took the Saddle Road to Hilo which took us a good 2.5 hours of a drive so make sure use the restroom before your pick-up. We only had one bathroom break in between. It was an interesting drive as we were able to view different landscapes; from green pastures to plain black; different climates from hot humid, to breezy wind, then drove through clouds to pouring rain as we were approaching Hilo. Our first stop was at Rainbow Falls, and it was beautiful! Then, we drove to the Akatsuka Orchid Gardens and saw great assortment of gorgeous orchids! This is also where we stopped for lunch, my tuna sandwich was huge and delicious!!

Finally, our visit to the Volcanoes National Park! We got to view the Kilauea Iki Crater and walked through a small trail full of ferns, and blooming flowers that I've never seen before. We also visited the Thurston Lava Tube, the experience here is just amazing and unique! It's pretty steep though so make sure you are in your comfortable shoes. Then, we were off to steam vents, where we could see smoke coming out from the ground. The Jagger Museum was absolutely informative and I liked it that it was placed right next to the crater with such an amazing view of the Halemaumau Crater! Maybe when I return one day, I would come here at night to see the glow of lava.

We also stopped by Punalu'u Black Sand Beach, another unique place I've seen where we also had a free coffee tasting! Then finally, a visit at Na'alehu, the "Southern Most in the USA" and made sure to taste the popular malasadas and cream puffs at Punalu`u Bake Shop, just perfect to end the day..Soo Yummy!











Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

See the Best of the Big Island!!

Reviewed by: MeSoHappy, 2015/10/08

This tour was a lot of fun! I had a great time considering that this was my first time on the island and I was skeptical about what I would see. Our guide Marcus was great. Our pick-up was on time and he was very patient the entire way. We learned a lot about some of the more recent lava flows on the Kona side of the island. My favorite part was stopping in Hilo for some light shopping and a big cup of hot Kona coffee to keep me warm in the wind and rain. It reminded me of home. Hilo is a very charming town with friendly locals and great shave ice too!

Our next stop was Akatsuka Orchid Gardens for lunch. A perfect place if you like flowers and see numerous varieties of orchids that Akatsuka is famous for. Afterward, we drove through Hilo to the amazing Volcanoes National Park! This was definitely the highlight of the tour. The view of Kilauea Iki crater was not so iki (small). It was enormous and highly worth going to again for the hike. I enjoyed the walk through the Thurston lava tube. I was able to view the lava formation and it is incredible to see that the earth is alive here. Halemaumau Crater was definitely the natural highlight of the tour. See the Jagger Museum and its (mostly) live seismograph! Cool stuff for volcano fans.

The last stop was by far the most delicious. The Punalu'u Bakery in Na'alehu was chock-full of tasty baked goods like coco puffs and their mango malasadas. Yum!

I recommend this tour for people who are short on time, like history, and want to see beaches, waterfalls, rainforests, and volcanoes (all on the same day as a matter of fact). I highly enjoyed this tour and so will you :)


  • Lots of falls at Rainbow Falls.


  • Ol' Smokey. Halemaumau Crater.


  • Na'alehu town. The real deep South!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small Group Circle Island, etc.

Reviewed by: Betty Latiolais, 2015/10/02

This was a great trip and our guide was marvelous! The "Big Island" was having a small tsumai alert! Lot of water but fun anyway. It was misting rain at Volcanoes National Park but we dried off fast. About 5 minutes after leaving the park the alert was raised on Kilauea . . . but only one level. Enjoyed the entire tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road trip on Big Island

Reviewed by: CSWIMR, 2015/09/15

Excellent experience, Jeff our driver and guide was very knowable and informative and kept up a steady stream of interesting information.

Good day

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle Island

Reviewed by: Sandra, 2015/09/13

Informative relaxed day trip, very nice lunch provided.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Ckd214, 2015/07/06

Jeff the guide was great. Very courteous
What a beautiful place.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a fabulous day!

Reviewed by: Bridgett Zelasko, 2015/03/24

We had an amazing day with our guide Rose who was very polite and very knowledgeable.
We were very impressed and would recommend te tour.


  • In front of the Rainbow Falls!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth every penny

Reviewed by: V. Martinez, 2015/03/01

Worth every penny. Since this was our first time, we didn't know what to expect. We had John as our tour guide and he was assume. We even got to see turtles at the black sand beach. The dinner was great and the view of the glowing lava at night was amazing. If I ever get to go to the Big Island again I will be adding this tour to the package :)




  • Black sand beach


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Hawaii, Big Island Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI