This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Twilight Volcano Expedition, Waterfall, Black Sand Beach & Night Lava Viewing

Must do tour in your trip to Big Island

Reviewed by: Tanuj, 2018/03/25

Really good tour! The guide was very knowledgeable, helpful and insightful. He ensured that each one of us has a very good and personalised experience. The inclusions were just optimal and good quality also very good. If we happen to come back, we will definitely do it again...


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day, great guide

Reviewed by: Georg, 2018/01/19

The tour gave a fantastic insight into especially the nature on Big Island. The guide (Kala) was excellent in explaining lots of things about Hawaiian Plants and volcanism while instilling the right respect for the specialties of Hawaii's plants and animals. We spent 12 hours, none of them boring and we saw quite a lot. There is certainly more to see on Big Island but if you have never been there before it is a perfect start. You would not believe it unless you have seen it and without such an outstanding guide you cannot see as much in 12 hours. In the volcanon national park we were taken to just the right places to get a perfect impression.


  • View of the lava glow at night at the end of the tour

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Twilight Volcano review 3948391 with Chris

Reviewed by: Vickie and Doug, 2017/12/05

Chris led the tour with enthusiasm and was very engaged with our group. He provided unique insights into the nature of volcanoes and the islands with his background in geology, and as a former teacher. His approach was very sensitive to the Hawaian culture and the environment. We gained a greater appreciation for the folklore and some of the legends of the Islanders.

Chris tried his best to make sure we all had a good experience and the opportunity to ask questions. The only thing that would have made it better was the weather conditions. If only Chris could have done something about that I bet he would have.

Overall a very positive experience we would recommend!


  • Nene: The endangered species but Chris found 2 for us!


  • Rainbow Falls after a lot of rain!


  • Turtles...something else Chris found for us!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

See, learn, enjoy...

Reviewed by: HCPRO1, 2017/10/19

From the get-go this tout was great. Chris explained so much about the local volcanic history in clear, understandable detail that we were able to immediately see the formations he was describing. The enormity of the local volcanoes was astounding. The different types of volcanoes was something new to all 3 of us. There was no "Rush-Rush" and we were able to cover everything and more that was promised in the tour. The van was very comfortable despite the many changes in climate during the tour. We experienced warmth, cold, wind, rain in the space of a single day.

Rather than give it all away I'm going to suggest you make this tour a centerpiece of you Big Island visit and bring a camera (GoPro or it's ilk) as well as you Smartphone and external batteries. Get a large SSD card. I took many gig's of both photos and video. If your battery is running out of charge AND you have a charging cord, you can charge it in the van.

Food (both lunch and dinner) were provided. Lunch was a nicely boxed affair that was eaten at a bay where we were able to see sea turtles! Dinner was served at a restaurant which had a lounge for adult beverages (Adult beverages were not included in cost of the tour). There are raincoats and warm jackets on the van. Bottled water was available whenever you asked for it. Bathroom stops were appropriately timed. Everything was done professionally and with a warmth that comes from genuine interest in the many topics covered.

This tour is all-ages appropriate so you can bring your 2 year old and your 70+ year old (like me). I think that you, like me and my family, will enjoy every moment and come away with a lasting memory of the Big Island that will bring a smile to your face for years to come. I am a picky reviewer and I give this tour my highest recommendation.


  • View at night.


  • Arch NOT formed by erosion.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must see activity

Reviewed by: Randy, 2017/08/18

The best place to go to see a active volcano and the Milky Way! The tour guide was a degrees Geologist and taught us a lot about the area and the local culture!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour review

Reviewed by: Karina, 2017/04/24

Hi

We had a great experience, Darian made the whole trip from beginning to end very enjoyable, he is very knowledgeable, his love fir the Islan and the culture is contagious.

We for sure will recomend him and your company to all my friends that are planning to visit the big island.

Regards,
Karina


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Long Day great time

Reviewed by: Michael Weldon, 2016/09/15

Interacting with our guide was amazing. My wife and I learned so much about the culture and history of the state. At the end of the tour We forgot to get his card as we wanted to look at his Facebook page to see some of his photographs. I would love to find a way to get in touch.


Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We will definitely get you the contact information of the guide.

We hope that you can someday return to Hawaii and visit the beauty of the other islands.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories