This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Oahu Categories


Reviews by Anne Veghel
Last review on 2018/11/21
# of Reviews: 9

so much fun and loved the sights as a major fan

Posted on: 2018/11/21

As a major fan, accompanied by a moderate fan indulging me, we both had a great time. Amy made sure all had fun. We had a lot of laughs, she shared some fun stories and we got to see all the sights. All of O'ahu seems to be a Hawaii Five-O set, but the key spots and how those get adjusted for better TV are all in the tour. High light of course is the time we got to spent at the mcgarrett house. The owners of the bayer estate are so lovely and welcoming, a hugh Mahalo to them. We were extra lucky, because as soon as we got into the car we were invited to a preview of the 200th episode 3 days later at the mcgarrett house. that was the highlight of our trip. We had such a good time and got to talk to Dennis Chun and his lovely wife Laura. Both were so friendly. The Episode was amazing and at our tour we already saw the house which was used in filming that episode. We were just in time to also see the restaurant before the plot line ended. Even if you only know about the show and are not a fan the tour is highly recommended because you're guaranteed to have fun and see lots of O'ahu As a fan you're guaranteed to have the best time of your life, because apart from an actual meet and greet this is the best way to connect to your favourite show. what other show has real life sets you can actually visit?!? Amy, you rock! Next barefoot bottle is on us :-)

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date: 2018/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • Best seat in the house....


Great day, seen and learned lots

Posted on: 2018/11/21

We had a great time and seen so many sights! Our guide Brett had great knowledge and could answer all questions.
Because we had extra time we got to see the rainbow falls and got to go into a lava cave. Sadly the stargazing didn't happen due to clouds and rain.
Snacks, water and food were all plenty and good. Especially dinner at kilauea lodge was excellent, be it a bit rushed.
After the recent eruptions there was no lava activity, but we can only imagine how much more beautiful the sites would be with active lava flows.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date: 2018/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • beautiful landscape at volcano park


easy way of transport

Posted on: 2018/11/03

We arrived an hour early, but we could get our transport right away. roberts checks arrival time based on flight number. driver is accomodating, very nice and a safe driver.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date: 2018/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Best time ever on Segway tour!

Posted on: 2014/10/05

I was at the wrong pick-up spot for transport, but the tour organisation and Veltra have called and directed me to the right place so I could still make the activity (just twenty minutes late... sorry fellow travellers). Thank you Veltra and Segway tours for the great service.
The busdriver/tourguide spoke Japanese which was great for the rest of the company; all Japanese, but for me not so much. Arriving after a beautifull ride to Kailua we split up and since I was the only one that booked a 1 hour tour I had a private tourguide: Rick.
I really had a blast. He made me relax by joking around and made sure I felt secure on the Segway before we got on our way. After a while you really get the hang of it and it feels amazing. It's a comfortable way of exploring the land and it is SO MUCH FUN!! The way it handles and how fast it can go if you want it to. I can't point out enough how much fun it is and how easy. I wasn't sure before what I should wear and ladies listen to this: wear a skirt or a dress. Anything that looks a bit flattering, because if you opt for the DVD (which you totally should)you already have the disadvantage of wearing a helmet, you don't want to add that look with baggy pants. trust me.
The surroundings are beautiful and I recomment to go for the two hour tour. Youll get the same instruction if needed and you get to spent more time on the Segway adn also see much more of the Island. Lanikai beach is not included in the 1 hour tour and you really don't want to miss out on that. i also recomment to bring swimsuits and if you can try to stay the whole day at Kailua, because it really is a piece of Paradise. It's a very small village with the most amazing beaches of Lanikai and Kailua. Enjoy the Crystal clear waters and bask in the Aloha spirit.
Thank you Rick for one of the best tours I had all holiday! I will definitely join again if and when I return to Hawaii, I'll just go for 2 hours than.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • Kailua beach


  • Kailua beach


  • Mokulua islands view


  • Lankikai Beach


  • Lanikai Beach


  • Kailua Beach


  • Tour guide Rick


  • Mokulua islands view at Lanikai Beach


amazing hike and the view is unbelievable

Posted on: 2014/10/05

It is a very early pick-up, but totally worth the lack of sleep. There were only two hikers and I was very lucky with my hiking partner. We had a lot of laughs. Our busdriver/tourguide Ric was awesome. He is very knowledgeable and could tell all about Hawaii and the Krater. Of course safety is very important, but he also made light conversation, which I really liked. We had a fun trip up to KoKohead Crater, before realising that with a sunset hike, you walk up the trail in the dark with a headlight on! Maybe it helped to not see how high it was, because we really got to the top fast(45 min. before sunset). We took some minibreaks to catch our breath experienced a little burn in the legs, but didn't have a lot of trouble reaching the top. I did bootcamp twice a week to prepare and that is way harder and the reward here is far greater. The view and feeling of accomplishment is amazing. The sunset.... wow! At the top there's a bunker and I recomment having your picture taken up there. The way down was even easier. If you have problems with your knees, this will get you though. I loved that we could finally see the trail and the island while going down. After a very nice breakfast (where we could not only get a great cup of coffee, but were also able to change into our swimsuit), we drove to the Haluma blowhole. Sadly not a lot of blowhole at that time, but still a nice spot to look at the power of the ocean. We had a relaxing time swimming at eternity beach before heading back. I flew out that same night and suffered some muscle pain after my journey and also my feet had some swelling after a 21 hour journey, but not to bad for such a workout.
Very, very great tour with a very, very great tour guide. Ric, thanks for one of the best tours of my holiday and Jillian thanks for your fun company. I totally recomment this tour, but please make sure you work out a little before doing this in order to enjoy it properly(and afterwards).

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • only 50 ft to go


  • sunrise at KoKoHead Crater


  • on top of the KoKoHead Crater bunker


  • awesome view from top of KoKoHead Crater


  • way less scary in the dark


  • yet it is very doable


  • Hanuma blow hole


  • Eternity beach


  • Eternity beach


  • Lava cave at Eternity beach


Shark tour is good, transport not so much

Posted on: 2014/10/05

Got caught in the "hang loose" spirit of Hawaii. The activity was booked for transporation at 9.45AM. The day before the activity a message was left at the hotelphone that transport fell through and I had to confirm (before 6PM) new transport time of 5.15AM! Of course I got back at my hotel after 12PM and wasn't able to confirm early pick-up. So I decided to go to the meeting point anyway, but no transport. Office opened at 6AM when I could finally phone in. Service level was low, merely a "No transport, sorry, reschedule please" Since that was not an option for me we had to come up with a solution. After a lot of back and forth (cab will cost you 200 one way!!)I decided to go on a citybus for 2.5 hrs which cost me 2.50 dollars and I made it with an hour to spare. Veltra was very service friendly. They contacted me and booked transport money back right away, without me even asking for it. So lesson learned: No pick-up service for shark tour!
I never even got a sorry from the Shark tour operator and the captain didn't know my name I had become a plus one!
The harbour of the tour itself was a bit dingy at best. The public toilet was filthy with bloodstains and glass bottles, but the boat had no changing option, so you have to use it.
The boat is very nice and the boat ride is awesome (unless you have motion sickness, in that case you will get sick, trust me!)The shark cage is not big, but big enough for the six per group that went in. Pay for the DVD, taking pictures yourself is very hard. The life vest will keep you floating and the ocean slams you into the cagebarrier.
The sharks are amazing and worth every bit of inconvenience. The crew is friendly and knowledgeable. They care for your safety and for the ocean wild life. It's not scary at all. When you get back I recomment getting lunch at Halewa Joe's. Just sit there and review your tour. If you can visit North shore or Turtle beach on your way back. The total tour is highly recommendable (without transport)

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • great crew


  • sharks all around


  • sharks within touching distance (don't!)


  • sharks all around


  • sharks all around


  • shark cage


  • Even on the boat you'll see sharks all around


good and safe transport

Posted on: 2014/10/05

Driver was on time and after another pick up delivered us at the airport on time and safely. The driver was very chatty and I had a great time talking to him. Thanks for a nice ride.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Good fun, amazing experience, good show

Posted on: 2014/10/05

When travelling solo it's easier to book guided tours and especially combo's. The Dolphin tour was so much fun! Mark and "Dammit"-Travis, had us laughing to whole time. They make sure the Dolphins and all ocean wild live is left undesturbed and care about preservation. Unfortunately the Dolphins were out in deep waters and it was decided to not go in the water. Bummer for me as an experienced diver, but there were too many beginners in our group, so I got it.
We did see the Dolphins up close and that was amazing, as was snorkling.
Lunch was tasty and after that I had 3 hours to kill before Paradise Cove.
Paradise Cove is very nice. The show was great (as expected): hula dancing, singing, fire- act and even the audience joining in hula dancing. The food was good and there was more than enough of it. Drinks had to be bought (besided coffee and water) You receive enough value on your card at entrance for 2 cocktails and you can also spent the value in the gift shop. The first hours you can walk around the beautifull scenery and watch the sunset. There are some old-school hawaiian activities to try yourself. Canoeing, speer throwing, making leis, getting a (fake) tattoo. It is a good way to spent your time and I really enjoyed it. Only downside is that it is very touristy and sometimes the Aloha feels a bit fake. After the Luau the busride back was a bit confusing because you have to get into a number bus they gave at entrance and it is not done by name, so I was worried to be in the wrong bus, but that worry went straight out the window with our tour guide. He gave us a full stand-up comedy show. I was laughing so much it had me in tears the whole hour it took to get back to the hotel. We were litterally lining up to give the man a tip, that's how much fun we had with him on our bus. Good tour, a lot of laughs, a good show, good food and an amazing day at the ocean. Definite thumbs up, I recomment to go for it!

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • sunset at Paradise Cove


  • show at Paradise Cove before dinner


  • show at Paradise Cove during dinner


  • Dolphins swimming all around us


  • Dolphins in groups all around us


  • People getting on and of the boat for snorkling


  • Hawaiian activities at Paradise Cove


  • Amazing snorkling


  • Blue Hawaiian at sunset Paradise Cove


good service

Posted on: 2014/10/05

arriving at the airport you have to find the courtesy phone. they are easy to use, but one of them didn't work when I arrived spt 2014. You get directions to pick up location(very easy and nearby) and you are picked up and safely dropped of at the hotel. I didn't have any other passengers on the way in, so got full "guide" attention from the driver and was at the hotel very fast. The way back we had another pick up, so took a bit longer, but still very fast. Driver was chatty and very nice.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Page Previous | | Next