VScott's activity reviews | Book tours, activities & fun things to do on HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Oahu Categories


Reviews by VScott
Last review on 2017/06/27
# of Reviews: 4

Good show!

Posted on: 2017/06/27

This was our first luau and we both enjoyed it.

Husband and I chose the Golden Circle package. We were given leis when we arrived, seated next to the stage, and were among the first to go up to the buffet.

The buffet was typical buffet foods with some Hawaiian additions. It was nie to taste new flavors but, the meats were overcooked and dry. Typical steam tray buffet. There were some nice vegetable options and the desserts were good. I don't recommend the poi. Try it somewere else.

The show takes the guests on a tour of the Polynesian islands through dance. The dancers play to all 3 sides of the seating so everyone gets a good show. Woo! The dancers were great. The musicians were great. The emcee was great. Yes, we enjoyed the show. I was mesmerized by the skill of the dancers.

My biggest complaint is the seating. We were very cramped at the tables. The chairs are uncushioned wood and tightly packed. It kinda reminded me of a wedding-type seating.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2017/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Snorkeling with dolphins and fish

Posted on: 2017/06/27

I'll start with the positive.

The crew is young and enthusiastic. Everyone had smiles and was helpful with the gear.

This is a great excursion for tourists and beginner snorkelers. Great vivews of the Eastern part of the island and a pleasant swim with sea life. The crew teaches everyone how to use the equipment and will help people in the water. They spend about 20 minutes at each site so, for experienced snorkelers, it can be a little dull.

The hotel pickup was on time and the driver was good. The van is new and the ride was smooth.

You will be visiting with Spinner Dolphins. They are small dolphin and swim in pods of 30. The captain knows their favorite spots and will make sure you get to swim with them. By law, you will need to be wearing a life jacket to do this part of the swim. We got to see two pods. It was delightful. This tour company was knowledgeable about dolphins and is conerned with their safety.

We stopped at two more snorkeling locations. The fist stop was a small cove and the second had turtles.

The lunch at the Spinner cafe was good. I had the breakfast burrito and it was tasty and well prepared. The menu is small but the portions are big. The pancakes looked really good.

The reason for my 3 stars is not the quality of the company but an incident I had. The crew should be better trained in basic fist aid. I ended up treating myself with the supplies I keep in my bag. After asking if I was okay, no one helped or checked on my for the rest of the trip.

I would recommend this for people visiting Ohau and beginner snorkelers.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your experience. We are sorry to hear about your incident.
Your feedback has been shared with the activity provider to better serve future guests.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Fun and Fancy

Posted on: 2017/04/11

I had a great time at my Makeover Experience. Everyone was friendly and helpful. I got to choose from many pretty gowns, wigs, backgrounds and colors. I got to watch myself change from an everyday housewife to a gorgeous femme fatale. There are many different choices so, take a look at the pictures on the experience page to go with a few ideas.

I was given a DVD with my pictures that I treasure.

I would highly recommend the makeover photo packages! Packages are available for everyone.

When I left the photo session, I felt confident, pretty, and very happy.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Fun for families and groups!

Posted on: 2017/04/11

We really enjoyed making plastic sample Ramen. Our instructor had a lot of knowledge about the process and was a lot of fun. All of the employees were nice.

The location was easy to find. We were greeted at the door and began work on our ramen. The process was easy and and gave a great result. All three of our bowls of ramen looked different and reflected our ramen artistry. :-)

A family with younger children came in later to make colorful parfaits, they also had a great time.

I would highly recommend this for families, groups, couples and singles. The sample food makes a great souvenir from Japan. Be sure to pick up a few extra pieces for friends at home.

Dad: Awesome! Friendly!

Boy: Much wow! Very nice! Can we do it again?

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting our store this time.
It was finished in delicious ramen.I am pleased at times of memories in Japan.
We are waiting for you to visit us again.

Rating: star
Attended as:Families
Activity Date: 2017/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • It looks real!

  • Our happy faces and great ramen.