JackyDaniels's activity reviews | Book tours, activities & fun things to do on HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Oahu Categories


Reviews by JackyDaniels
Last review on 2020/10/06
# of Reviews: 15

Our first time going on a sunset cruise since the pandemic started

Posted on: 2020/10/06

This was the first activity/cruise my boyfriend and I went on since the pandemic started in March. Now that things on Oahu are opening up again we wanted to get out and have a nice evening. When we checked in on the beach, one of the crew members (wearing a mask) provided hand sanitizer and had us both sign in. Then we boarded and were served drinks right away (corona beer or maitais). Oahu's current regulations allow boats to carry 25% capacity on tours, so manu kai is allowed to have 12 passengers on board now. This actually made it really enjoyable because there was so much room to spread out across the catamaran. As for masks, the crew didn't enforce face masks or social distancing to any extent. The only time you were told to put on a mask was at check-in, boarding, and de-boarding. Once you're on the boat, you were told you didn't have to wear it and none of the crew members were wearing masks during the cruise. Overall I'd say they did the bare minimum, if that, for preventing the spread of coronavirus so I'd recommend going for a sunset cruise that is really putting in more effort to keep their guests and community safe.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2020/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Fun, silly, creative game to have a good time with friends

Posted on: 2020/08/27

I had no idea what to expect for this activity, but it ended up being SO FUN! This was my first time doing an online experience like this so I wasn't quite sure how exactly this game was going to work. It was unlike anything I've done before, I can't believe you can have this much fun with friends/family even if you're all communicating over text/calls. Which makes it the perfect social distancing activity. If you're unsure how the game works, don't worry because Tara will explain everything to you beforehand. She was so lovely and you can tell how passionate she is about this! You will have different "challenges" that you each individually complete. For these challenges, you may have to do something creative, answer trivia, or do something silly! You will get to know the other people in the game and will have a great time. Go into it with an open mind and you and your friends and family will have a blast.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Getting crafty during quarantine!

Posted on: 2020/08/07

After months of social distancing and trying to stay at home as much as possible, I was ready to try something new! This dream catcher workshop was just the thing I needed: something to stimulate my creative side and learn a new skill. I'm not the most crafty/artistic person, but this online class was very manageable and the instructor, Keiko, was so helpful and she slowly showed on her camera how to make the dreamcatcher step-by-step. She uses 2 cameras: 1 pointing towards her, and 1 pointing towards her hands to show how to create it. She made it very easy to follow and she was nice to chat with! Keiko is very sweet. The whole process of this online class was very simple and organized. I made the booking, she confirmed it and the Zoom call information was updated on my voucher, she emailed me asking which color I'd prefer, and the package was delivered very quickly! I'd recommend this activity to anyone wanting to learn a new craft and have a fun time being creative. Perfect for a girls night, family craft activity, couples, or even by yourself like me!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Jacky Thank you for your comments, I truly enjoyed meeting with you and you creating your special dream catcher. Mahalo

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2020/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • The finished result!

  • All of the materials

  • Adds the cutest touch to your home!

  • Organized supplies, ready to make

  • Perfect as decor for your home or as a gift!


2020 grads don't get a graduation ceremony, but you can make up for it by sending them a beautiful lei!

Posted on: 2020/05/21

Last weekend I was supposed to walk across the stage and get my degree from the University of Hawaii, but due to the current situation in the world, my graduation ceremony was cancelled. I know this loss is minute compared to the big issue at hand, but I was still bummed to not be able to celebrate all of my hard work from the past 4 years! This lei completely made up for it, and it made me feel special and loved! Without this lei, it would've just felt like an ordinary Saturday. This gift materialized the fact that I was actually graduating! If you want to truly share aloha, a lei is the perfect way to brighten someone's day and make them feel beautiful.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Prettiest lei I have ever had!

  • It smelled soooo good!


The most beautiful place on earth!!!

Posted on: 2020/03/09

If you are on Kauai, Captain Andy's rafting expedition is an ABSOLUTE MUST DO. I have seen the Na Pali coast from the air (helicopter), land (hiking), and sea (raft). While all 3 perspectives are amazing, there is something extremely special about seeing it from the ocean. I love how this tour is on a smaller raft-style boat so you can actually go inside the caves. On this day the water was a bit too rough/murky to snorkel in the usual snorkel spot close to shore, so the captain took a stop further away from the shore where we could hop in the water with the beautiful mountains as a backdrop. Also several pods of dolphins came to greet us throughout the tour, and we even got to see a baby dolphin!

Rating: star
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • unbelievable views

  • mom & baby!

  • mom & baby!


Brought to tears by these MAJESTIC animals

Posted on: 2020/03/09

Yes, I was actually brought to tears by seeing these amazing animals so close. I unfortunately didn't get any photos of the whales themselves because I was so mesmerized by them. This Majestic whale watch cruise did a great job of spotting whales and getting closer to them (but not too close). We were able to have amazing sightings of these graceful creatures, even though weather and ocean conditions weren't ideal. I'd do this every single day if I could!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! We’re grateful to hear you had an amazing day witnessing these beautiful creatures! Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you'll join us again soon! Mahalo!

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Even on a windy day we were able to have great whale sightings!

  • Huge windows makes it easy for you to have a great view even from inside the boat

  • Comfortable seating inside and outside

  • Very nice atmosphere inside

  • Great views from the front of the boat, on the top deck, or inside


Makani is the most relaxing and romantic Waikiki sunset catamaran cruise

Posted on: 2020/03/02

Compared to other Waikiki sunset catamaran cruises I have been on, Makani was by far the most spacious and relaxing experience. This boat is much bigger so it doesn't feel crowded at all. There is ample space on the front of the boat to hang out and there is a big cabin inside if you would like to sit at a table with chair. Other booze cruises can have a party scene but this is the best option if you prefer to have a peaceful experience. This crew was SO engaged with the passengers and really wanted us to have a good time. The food included a really good local style dinner and they had a good selection of drinks.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Best cruise for a romantic evening

  • Great local style dinner

  • Front of the boat has a comfortable net to lounge on

  • First time I saw the green flash!


Great vibes and views to enjoy the sunset on the water

Posted on: 2020/02/27

My friends and I wanted a good-priced sunset booze cruise with drinks included so this was the perfect option for us. You depart right in front of Dukes restaurant on Waikiki beach so it's really convenient location if you're staying in Waikiki. Three drinks are included and we sailed all the way to Diamond Head. I am very prone to getting sea sick, but I took bonine 1 hour prior to the sail and I was completely fine. I would totally recommend this cruise for someone wanting a relaxing activity to enjoy the sunset on the ocean

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date: 2020/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Views of Diamond Head from the ocean


Experience Polynesian culture right in Waikiki

Posted on: 2020/02/21

This luau displayed music, dancing, and chants from cultures all over Polynesia, not just Hawaii. This luau was very engaging and was a great time with friends. One welcome mai tai was included in our package and additional drinks were available for purchase. The food was great, my favorites was the kalua pig and malasada dessert.

The view from the luau was beautiful, we were able to see the sunset from the rooftop at Hilton Hawaiian Village. Parking was validated so even if you are not within walking distance of the hotel it is not a problem to park there.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Perfect tour to see whole island of Oahu in one day!

Posted on: 2020/02/21

My grandma wanted to start our vacation with a circle island tour so we could enjoy the views without driving or navigating. It was also nice that this tour includes a visit to Pearl Harbor because that was also something we wanted to do. Our guide "Shorts" was very friendly/entertaining and provided us with history of Hawaii throughout the whole tour. Lunch was delicious and our favorite part of the day was the macadamia nut and coffee tour where we were able to sample everything. This is the best option to see the whole island of Oahu in a day.

Rating: star
Attended as:Families
Activity Date: 2020/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • view from the bus driving down east side

  • view from the bus on the north shore

Page Previous | 1 | 2 |