(All Reviews) Day Trips: Volcano Tours from Oahu (Inter-Island Day Trips), Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

All Reviews for Day Trips: Volcano Tours from Oahu in Oahu

Overall Rating

4.36 4.36 / 5

Reviews

106 reviews

Big Island One Day Sightseeing & Volcano Tour from Oahu [Open Soon]

I recommend this tour.

Reviewed by: dmcq, 2020/03/06

I am really glad to have gone on this tour, but I must say there were a few disappointments.
First, the write up says:
"This comprehensive inter-island tour starts and ends at Honolulu International Airport while circumnavigating the entirety of Hawaii's largest island in between!"
The tour actually does not circumnavigate the entire island, although there wouldn't have been time anyway.

Secondly, despite several phone calls informing me of change of time to be at Honolulu airport for my flight, I was "forced" to wait for the Polynesian tour person to come because the Hawaiian Airlines desk would not give me my boarding pass, even though I had been told I would not be joining a group. The group that did come was for a different tour and this resulted in my missing my flight. I got a later one and did join the tour, but it was stressful.

Third, the driver was very good and provided lots of information, and the stops at the various locations gave us plenty of time to enjoy. Best on the sunny side was the Place of Refuge.

The volcano section was very interesting. Unfortunately it was cloudy/raining although just at the end it cleared up and I could see into the crater. I opted to buy the set lunch at the Volcano House restaurant. But I thought it was pretty poor. I would not recommend it. Ordering a bowl of soup would have been better.
The lava tunnel was great.

All in all it was a worthwhile trip, with a nice group of 15, and very comfortable bus.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2020/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Visit Volcanoes National Park [Open Soon]

Best tour, best guide

Reviewed by: The Fords, 2020/02/04

This was by far the best tour we have ever been on! Anthony was so knowledgeable and entertaining we learned so much about the culture and the flora and fauna of the big island.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Good start for my vacation

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2019/12/30

First time riding in a helicopter, the ride was awesome. I did get to see a lot aerial coverage, especially recent destruction that occurred. Checking out the other destinations were ok, but the park was the real treat. True interaction with steam vents. Feeling the heat come from it is insanely hot; even walking a distance away from it and the wind picking up for a bit, my sunglasses fogged up.
This is an experience only you can take for yourself. The helicopter ride made the volcano national park that more interesting. I would do it again just for the helicopter ride.

  • Rainbow Falls

  • Black Sand Beach

  • Volcano National Park

  • Volcano National Park Sulfur

  • Volcano National Park Sulfur (With Filter)

  • Helicopter Ride

  • Helicopter Ride

  • Helicopter Ride

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

wow

Reviewed by: Australian , 2019/12/11

unreal amazing views and places how close you get is unreal
a must do
been to Hawaii before and missed out doing this
this time booked before we left home
this is the most eye opening thing you will do in your life
will do again again again if I get the chance

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Outstanding service

Reviewed by: Karishma , 2019/12/07

Didn’t know what to expect at the beginning of the tour as it was a long one including a helicopter ride. But everything was just perfect! We were picked up from our hotel on time. Had a wonderful guide at Big Island. The helicopter ride was simply breathtaking they actually did it before time which gave us time for an extra ride of the city after it. Would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Brilliant fabulous planned day

Reviewed by: sam, 2019/12/04

This tour was amazing although a long day well worth it. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Visit Volcanoes National Park [Open Soon]

Small Bus Excellent Driver

Reviewed by: Big Phil, 2019/12/01

There were only 7 of us on a bus built for 12. We were not rushed at the sites and the driver/tour guide paced our group appropriately. Driver was very smart and continually pointed out plants/trees and sites as we drove along. Those who were scheduled for helicopter lost out as the helicopter never took off.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island One Day Sightseeing & Volcano Tour from Oahu [Open Soon]

Tour of the Big Island

Reviewed by: Gwen from Texas, 2019/11/11

We started our tour with a slight snafu that nearly caused us to miss our flight.
The day before, the tour company called to confirm, and suggested we go straight to the airport instead if the prearranged pick up area. We arrived an hour before our scheduled flight. We were told to wait at the Hawaiian Airlines terminal. 20 minutes before our flight, I called to find out what was going on, as we hadn't seen anyone associated with our tour group, only to be informed we were at the wrong end of the terminal. We rushed to meet our tour representative, received our boarding passes, lumbered through security and made a running dash to our gate. We were told to look for others with the pink sticker, we were the only ones on this particular flight. We found that out after I called again.
When we arrived at Kono airport, we were greeted by Sal our bus driver/tour guide. We got squared away, and went to the McDonald's and had breakfast and conversation with him. Enjoyed his company immensely. Whatever your company is paying him, it's not enough!! He is worth is weight in gold!!
He was full of funny (and REALLY corny) jokes, and has a great knowledge of the history of the
islands.
Truly enjoyed ourselves. Thanks for a great tour Sal!! Mahalo!

  • Black sand beach

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Treat yourself!

Reviewed by: Lynette, 2019/07/18

We had a fabulous day on this tour. You do need staying power as it starts early and ends late but it is worth it. The bus tour of the Volcano Park was interesting but it was the helicopter ride that made the day. The professionalism of the company chartered for our ride was outstanding and our pilot had everyone feeling safe, secure and excited for the whole flight. Flying over the volcanos was amazing, even without any red lava on our day.
The one thing that was missing from the day was a little bit of time to explore Hilo itself - it looked so interesting and non touristy that we would have loved half an hour there.
This is not a cheap day, but certainly a once in a
lifetime experience we won’t ever forget and worth every cent.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Not all it was cracked up to be

Reviewed by: jen, 2019/07/04

Our land tour guide Hugh was terrific but a few things went wrong.
It was a long long day. Maybe we didn't have to wait 2 1/2 hours either end at the airports?
What really upset us was that we missed a lot that was on the itinerary including flying over and going on land to see the waterfalls.
Not enough care was taken to ensure that those on the tour doing the helicopter component all went at the same time.
Here we waited again for 2 hours and missed out on seeing the waterfalls.
Also a few things that were listed when we were choosing our holiday adventure were not available - understandably (eg Thurston tubes, lookouts etc)
We paid a lot of money for this tour and although some things were amazing i wouldnt call it good value for money.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Visit Volcanoes National Park [Open Soon]

Awesome! Educational! Fun!

Reviewed by: Cristy Brown, 2019/04/21

Our Volcano tour was great. John, our driver/guide was very knowledgeable of the area partly due to living in the area fir 20 plus years. We got to see 2 waterfalls, a little of Hilo, and a black beach! We would go it again.

  • Lava slide

  • Waterfall

  • Small waterfall

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Great tour for someone who wants to see the volcanoes.

Reviewed by: Ziad, 2019/04/11

The pilot flew the helicopter on top the volcano and turned around it. We were able to see deep inside it. Was a great experience!
Also saw a lot of hot gas from the volcanoes and walked on solidified lava. Great whole-day tour !

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Oaho to big island fly away tour

Reviewed by: Australian tourist, 2018/12/14

Spent a lot of time in the bus and not seeing much. Bus driver spoke more about Oahu and other islands rather than the big island itself. The macadamia farm visit was a rip off. No tour or discussion about it. Just a direction to the shop to buy product. Very disappointing. The helicopter flight was great. I would do just that. The land tour wasn’t worth it

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Helicopter was incredible, and saved what was becoming a disappointing day!

Reviewed by: Sam , 2018/09/21

This was the tour we were really excited for to go and see the volcano activity from the recent kileau eruption. It was an early start 3-30 from our hotel. Pick up and flights were well managed (a bit surprised we were flying to Kona airport as helicopter was on the far side of the island). The tour wasn't particularly great from arriving on the big Island at 7-30 we managed just two stops (not counting a McDonald's breakfast and lunch at quite a nice resort) at a coffee plantation and the black sands beach both were worth seeing. However the rest of the time was completely driving and boredom, to get to the other side of the island for a 2-30 helicopter flight from Hilo airport. The save and grace was the helicopter that was fantastic our pilot Daniel was amazing and took as close to the action. Definitely felt sorry for the people who didn't do the helicopter as there wasn't enough to have made this trip worthwhile (some waterfalls and a macadamia tour replaces the helicopter ride). I appreciate not entirely the tours fault as the biggest draw of the big Island is volcano park which was closed due since April. But this did cause a trip that was cobbled together and could have done with a couple more stops or flying to Hilo. However still glad we did the tour to have the chance to see what the big Island had to offer!

  • View of volcano crater from helicopter

  • Sea turtle on black sands beach

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Big trip

Reviewed by: Jeanette, 2018/09/14

Over all was a great experience and great day just a little cramped on helicopter for a 6fter was the only complaint. All operators were informative and friendly .

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Day Trip from Oahu - Visit Volcanoes National Park [Open Soon]

Special birthday

Reviewed by: C franco, 2018/07/17

Driver was very knowledgeable and our transport outstanding. Unfortunately while the National Park is closed you won’t be able to see the volcano unless you go on a helicopter

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Hilo tour

Reviewed by: Kazkiwinicbags, 2018/07/09

Amazing tour!! Kory was a great pilot! Captain rob was an awesome tour guide!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

An awesome tour!

Reviewed by: Pam, 2018/05/09

Unfortunately, the helicopter tour was canceled due to inclement weather. We were refunded that portion of our tour without even having to contact the booking agency. Captain Rob was a wonderful and informative tour guide. He went above and beyond to make our tour enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Rainy wet day

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2018/03/21

Unfortunately, the rain and fog prevented us from having the helicopter tour which is what we were most looking forward to. We had a fantastic tour guide and had a marvelous time at the orchid gardens. But with the weather, and being as this was an outdoor tour, it was disappointing and very wet.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

bad weather, canceled helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Tiwi, 2018/02/23

it could be better, but bad weather caused out helicopter tour be canceled. but the tour provider directly pick us and put us on the land tour. our tour leader and driver, John, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. he share us alot of things about big island. he is indeed a great driver too!

  • nice view

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Excellent Day Trip to Kona

Reviewed by: TravelNut, 2018/01/22

We wanted to save time but not transfer hotels so we booked a day trip to Kona from Oahu. It was an excellent overall experience. We were picked up on time but I'm not sure why it was so early because we waited a couple hours before the flight. Unfortunately, after boarding we had to board another plane due to mechanical problems. This made us too late to keep the 9 am helicopter appointment. We were able to rebook for 3:30 but this meant that we missed the last part of the land tour. The lunch was nice and we didn't mind missing the hike into the back country. Our driver was okay but a little irritable. The helicopter tour was exciting and gave us an entirely different perspective of the island. Once back at the airport we had to wait more than 2 hours for the flight. Not sure why these day trips are set up this way. It makes for a longer day than should be necessary.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Gonzo, 2017/12/18

The entire tour was incredible. We saw the active volcano with lava spewing out during the flight. The bus tour guide had lots of interesting stories. One person in our group was on a wheelchair and she enjoyed the entire tour as well. Highly recommended.

  • Active volcano with lava

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Joseph Commorato , 2017/09/28

Don't miss the helicopter tour, its something you will never forget

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Good day

Reviewed by: Natalie , 2017/09/10

Was a little disappointing to have helicopter tour cancelled but that was due to bad weather.
I wouldn't have booked this tour without the helicopter part.
The first part of morning was spent going from Macadamia shop and orchid shop which really didn't interest me.
However the second part of the day was very enjoyable - going through national park.

Overall it was an enjoyable day though it was a very long day and probably could have been an hour or two shorter

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Was good

Reviewed by: Natalie , 2017/09/09

Was disappointing that helicopter tour was cancelled but that was due to bad weather - so not much you can do. Probay wouldn't have booked tour without the helicopter part. The first part of island tour was a bit commercial so you can spend money at the macadamia shop and orchid shop. However the second part was very interesting - going through the national park and seeing the damage the volcano has caused.
It's a very long day and probably could have been an hour or two shorter. Despite the initial disappointment was still a fun day though probably wouldn't go back to this island again

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Great tour, loads to see, well organised

Reviewed by: Sally Robinson, 2017/08/31

Early pickup in Waikiki and flight to Hilo on The Big Island. Well organised with your group being led easily through the whole day. Exciting helicopter flight over the lava and craters and plenty of info given throughout. Coach tour for rest of day to see the National Volcano Museum, plenty of stops at different sites including the walk through the old lava tube, walking on old lava, seeing craters and steam vents. Also stopped at macadamia nut factory and fuschia gardens. It's a long day but well worth it. We were picked up at 4.30am and didn't get back to Waikiki until 8.30pm.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Long day but nice day.

Reviewed by: Amanda, 2017/08/09

I really loved the helicopter tour over Kilauea! The staff at blue Hawaiian were really helpful and our pilot Jeremy was really lovely. The flight went really quickly as there was just so much to see, we even got to see some lava in a crater. It's definitely not big pools of flowing lava on the surface but that would depend on your luck and Mother Nature. Loved it all the same. I found the coach part of this tour a bit too long, as did everyone on the tour. Honestly if it was 2hrs shorter it would have been more enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island One Day Sightseeing & Volcano Tour from Oahu [Open Soon]

Fun Tour!

Reviewed by: pdkf9, 2017/08/09

I really enjoyed the tour. It is A LOT of time on the bus, but you get to see a lot of sights and views, so you don't miss anything. I enjoyed our stops and felt like we got enough time, though I would have liked more at the volcano park. I personally wasn't a huge fan of the macadamia nut shop stop. Lunch at the Volcano House was excellent and our tour guide was enjoyable and informative. If I could change something, it would be the logistics for those coming from Oahu. It is a very early morning and I would have done without the breakfast stop and pickups for all those on the big island in order to be able to leave Oahu later.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

VOLCANO HELICOPTER TOUR

Reviewed by: Matthieu Boinel, 2017/07/24

Nice day & nice organization from VELTRA on that one.
Good comments & knowledge, full day spent on the big island, nice spots and nice knowledge overall.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure [Open Soon]

Helicopter trip

Reviewed by: Greg&AnnetteRob&Jean, 2017/07/03

Amazing day...a long day! But worth every hour we were up! Would thoroughly recommend! Our tour guide was super knowledgeable with a great sense of humor.
And just a wee tip...we found it better to buy lunch once at the restaurant rather than pre book.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Oahu Categories