(All Reviews) Day Trips: Volcano Tours from Oahu (Inter-Island Day Trips), Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Day Trips: Volcano Tours from Oahu in Oahu

Overall Rating

4.46 4.46 / 5

Reviews

110 reviews

Honolulu to Hilo One Day Fly Away Tour - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls

Oahu to Big Island in a day

Reviewed by: Michael Speight, 2023/04/01

Glad we did it but it's expensive and a very long day. Up at 3:45 to get a taxi to the airport for a 6:00am flight. The tour said lunch included, neither we nor anyone else on the tour thought it would be a packet of chips and a turkey wrap in a box on board the bus. It was. The tour locations were excellent, the volcano, lava tube, waterfalls were all spectacular. The guide was good.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Michael - Mahalo for allowing us to show you the Big Island! Mahalo for sharing your review. I will pass on you comments about lunch to the team and see if we can do better. Take care. Poly Ad 'Ohana

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu to Hilo One Day Fly Away Tour - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls

Perfect Trip

Reviewed by: Tom M, 2023/02/04

This was an awesome tour. It went like clockwork and our tour guide, Ernie, was very knowledgeable of the island and took good care of us. I would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2023/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu to Hilo One Day Fly Away Tour - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls

A little of everything

Reviewed by: Ev Marco, 2022/12/04

The tour guide gave information about all the stops and walked with us the whole time.
This was my most memorable tour in Hawaii.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Ev - We are honored to have helped you create lifelong memories of your vacation in Hawaii!

Me ke aloha pumehana,
Polynesian Adventures

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2022/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

Great Day

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/10/12

I wish the helicopter was first, as it gets cloudy later in the day which makes it harder to see what you are suppose to on the helicopter.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

Volcanoes and Waterfalls!

Reviewed by: Yes to Hawaii, 2022/09/29

Great way to see a lot in 1 day! We flew over from Oahu to Big Island and spent the entire day learning about Volcanoes National Park. Akaka Falls was gorgeous too!

We did the land tour and helicopter combo. Unfortunately, the helicopter tour cancelled because of weather. We joined the rest of the group who was doing the land-only option and saw a few really cool spots including Liliuokalani Gardens and other parts of Hilo town. I wore comfortable shoes (running shoes) and am glad I did because we did quite a bit of walking.

  • Stunning waterfall

  • Beautiful walk

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

So fun

Reviewed by: Logan, 2022/08/21

We had the very best time. I was a little nervous about the price but I would do it all over again.

Comments from activity operators

Glad you had an opportunity to enjoy our Island with us!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

Amazing

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2022/07/02

Everything was amazing. The employees were knowledgeable and kind.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2022/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

AMAZING!!!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/06/18

WHAT A DAY. Ground tour was awesome with stops both in Volcano Natl. Park and included stop at 450 ft. waterfall, famous beach, and local bakery. Guide on bus tour was very nice and knowledgeable of local areas, history, and culture. Company handled flights to and from Oahu, the helicopter ride, and pick up/drop off at airport. It made the whole day easy and breezy!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2022/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

Great Experience All Round

Reviewed by: Ron Atkins, 2022/06/06

We took the Big Island 1 Day tour from Oahu, comprising a Big Island tour, finishing with a helicopter flight over the volcano plain. Really well conducted tour and spectacular sight of the volcanos and the surrounding areas.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

OH MY GOODNESS!!

Reviewed by: Denise, 2022/04/18

We traveled from Oahu to the Big Island and were ready for our adventure. We boarded our helicopter for our sightseeing adventure of the volcanoes. I was extremely lucky to be chosen to be in the co-pilot seat!! What an exciting ride. Our pilot was awesome. He was very informative and answered all our questions. This is the only way to see volcanoes, from the air. When our flight was over we were to be picked up by the tour bus and continue our day. Somehow we were overlooked and no bus picked us up. I called the company and they immediately sent someone to Glenn to pick us up. He fed us lunch and then took us to meet up with Dexter, our tour guide and we enjoyed a day of sightseeing. Even with that little oops, we were very pleased with the whole experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu to Hilo One Day Fly Away Tour - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls

Excellent Time with Informative Guide

Reviewed by: Jennifer P, 2022/03/20

My daughter and I went on this tour, and had an excellent time. Our guide -- Dexter -- was highly knowledgeable about everything: history, geology, culture, botany, you name it. It rained the day we were there: pouring rain at some points that seemed to magically clear up each time we got off the tour bus. But we didn't mind, because Dexter did such a fabulous job of explaining where we were going next, why it was so significant, and what we were passing along the way (he seemed to know each and every different tree species) that we barely noticed the rain. Definitely recommend this trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2022/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu to Hilo One Day Fly Away Tour - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls

Lava Low

Reviewed by: Disappointed Cajun, 2022/02/25

Tour was not as enjoyable as expected due mainly to some within the tour group who created delays that impacted the tour. Tour guide was fine albeit somewhat "dry" with regard to "tales." The delays were beyond the tour guide's control but it did take away from the time we had to enjoy the various sites. For the cost, of which the airline fare from Oahu to the Big Island was the major cost involved, it was not worth it. If you're already on the Big Island, the cost is probably worth the tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

Incredible tour!

Reviewed by: Marty, 2022/02/21

Incredible helicopter tour along with great bus tour of Volcano Natl Park and surrounding areas. Pilot was fantastic and funny. The ride felt very safe. We even got to see whales as a bonus! Ground tour was awesome with stops both in Volcano Natl. Park and included stop at 450 ft. waterfall, famous beach, and local bakery. Guide on bus tour was very nice and knowledgeable of local areas, history, and culture. Company handled flights to and from Oahu, the helicopter ride, and pick up/drop off at airport. Well worth the price.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu to Hilo One Day Fly Away Tour - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls

Volcano National Park from Oahu

Reviewed by: Mike Drinkwater, 2022/01/18

It's not hard to complain about things, but honestly, the trip was spot on in most aspects, communication for the most part, although the email said terminal B in Honolulu, and it was actually Terminal 1, but it also put check in at 5:30am, and the flight was actually 7:30am, so plenty of time to adjust. Pick up directions spot on, lunch was provided and ok, I wouldn't write home about it, but there was a lot of walking, so maybe a lite lunch was better.
From a personal stand point, we were only allowed a certain amount of time at each location, I would have spent longer at other locations and less at others, that said, I don't feel like I missed anything, and had I gone on my own, I might have.
So overall, I think it was worth it, I didn't have to worry about booking flights, or getting transportation, lunch, and mapping out where to go, so a lot of headache was saved. I don't think when you book something like this you should expect the greatest trip, they need to balance what works for everyone who will be on that, and in return, we save ourselves a lot of work.
Overall, I would book another tour with Polynesian, it was worth the money.

  • This is ash coming up from the wall collapsing into the crater

  • This is the crater of kilauea

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu to Hilo One Day Fly Away Tour - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls

Amazing one day trip to big island.

Reviewed by: Narayan, 2022/01/14

It was a great trip and tour guide was very informative.
Seeing the steam vents and volcanic rocks was best part of the trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu to Hilo One Day Fly Away Tour - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls

Must not be missed

Reviewed by: Linda Daxon, 2022/01/14

You havent really been to Hawaii until you've done the Big Island Tour and seen Volcano National Park. This is how it all got here: volcanoes. We got to go right up to the edge of the Kilauea cauldera, saw many steam vents and walk through the 1/3 mile long Thurston Lava Tube. The whole Big Island is so different from Oahu: much less build up, black sand beaches, unbelievably thick tropical rain forests. Guide Hugh was born and raised on the island and is incredibly knowledgeable. I am so glad I sloted this day into my itinerar. Highlight of my trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2022/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu to Hilo One Day Fly Away Tour - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls

natural wonders

Reviewed by: Russ Cox, 2021/11/17

Our tour guide was Hugh and he was so nice and funny. We knew about the island and it's plant and animal life. We was knowledgeable about the volcano and the history of the area. He was pretty amazing and I learned a lot from him. We saw the beautiful black sand beach. The water fall and lava tube were both truly amazing. The steam vents and the volcano craters were spectacular. We were in awe at the magnitude of the volcano. There were a few hikes. Some with stairs and semi-steep grades. All in all this was very enjoyable and fun. We left a cell phone on the tour bus and I contacted the office. Hugh and Kris got the phone and had it returned to us with no problems. they truly went above and beyond. I would recommend this tour and we would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

Amazing.

Reviewed by: NancyL, 2021/10/22

We had a amazing time. Our pilot was great and answered all of our question. The check in was easy and the employees were friendly and so nice. I would recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Patricia , 2021/10/11

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The helicopter ride, while a.little too short was great and the land part was filled with beautiful scenery, excellent history and storytelling and fun comraderie. We got to experience so much of The Big Island:s hidden treasures. Highly recommend this excursion and would definitely do it Again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu to Hilo One Day Fly Away Tour - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls

Best tour, best guide

Reviewed by: The Fords, 2020/02/04

This was by far the best tour we have ever been on! Anthony was so knowledgeable and entertaining we learned so much about the culture and the flora and fauna of the big island.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

Good start for my vacation

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2019/12/30

First time riding in a helicopter, the ride was awesome. I did get to see a lot aerial coverage, especially recent destruction that occurred. Checking out the other destinations were ok, but the park was the real treat. True interaction with steam vents. Feeling the heat come from it is insanely hot; even walking a distance away from it and the wind picking up for a bit, my sunglasses fogged up.
This is an experience only you can take for yourself. The helicopter ride made the volcano national park that more interesting. I would do it again just for the helicopter ride.

  • Rainbow Falls

  • Black Sand Beach

  • Volcano National Park

  • Volcano National Park Sulfur

  • Volcano National Park Sulfur (With Filter)

  • Helicopter Ride

  • Helicopter Ride

  • Helicopter Ride

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

wow

Reviewed by: Australian , 2019/12/11

unreal amazing views and places how close you get is unreal
a must do
been to Hawaii before and missed out doing this
this time booked before we left home
this is the most eye opening thing you will do in your life
will do again again again if I get the chance

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

Outstanding service

Reviewed by: Karishma , 2019/12/07

Didn’t know what to expect at the beginning of the tour as it was a long one including a helicopter ride. But everything was just perfect! We were picked up from our hotel on time. Had a wonderful guide at Big Island. The helicopter ride was simply breathtaking they actually did it before time which gave us time for an extra ride of the city after it. Would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

Brilliant fabulous planned day

Reviewed by: sam, 2019/12/04

This tour was amazing although a long day well worth it. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu to Hilo One Day Fly Away Tour - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls

Small Bus Excellent Driver

Reviewed by: Big Phil, 2019/12/01

There were only 7 of us on a bus built for 12. We were not rushed at the sites and the driver/tour guide paced our group appropriately. Driver was very smart and continually pointed out plants/trees and sites as we drove along. Those who were scheduled for helicopter lost out as the helicopter never took off.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

Treat yourself!

Reviewed by: Lynette, 2019/07/18

We had a fabulous day on this tour. You do need staying power as it starts early and ends late but it is worth it. The bus tour of the Volcano Park was interesting but it was the helicopter ride that made the day. The professionalism of the company chartered for our ride was outstanding and our pilot had everyone feeling safe, secure and excited for the whole flight. Flying over the volcanos was amazing, even without any red lava on our day.
The one thing that was missing from the day was a little bit of time to explore Hilo itself - it looked so interesting and non touristy that we would have loved half an hour there.
This is not a cheap day, but certainly a once in a
lifetime experience we won’t ever forget and worth every cent.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu to Hilo One Day Fly Away Tour - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls

Awesome! Educational! Fun!

Reviewed by: Cristy Brown, 2019/04/21

Our Volcano tour was great. John, our driver/guide was very knowledgeable of the area partly due to living in the area fir 20 plus years. We got to see 2 waterfalls, a little of Hilo, and a black beach! We would go it again.

  • Lava slide

  • Waterfall

  • Small waterfall

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

Great tour for someone who wants to see the volcanoes.

Reviewed by: Ziad, 2019/04/11

The pilot flew the helicopter on top the volcano and turned around it. We were able to see deep inside it. Was a great experience!
Also saw a lot of hot gas from the volcanoes and walked on solidified lava. Great whole-day tour !

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure with Lunch

Big trip

Reviewed by: Jeanette, 2018/09/14

Over all was a great experience and great day just a little cramped on helicopter for a 6fter was the only complaint. All operators were informative and friendly .

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu to Hilo One Day Fly Away Tour - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfalls

Special birthday

Reviewed by: C franco, 2018/07/17

Driver was very knowledgeable and our transport outstanding. Unfortunately while the National Park is closed you won’t be able to see the volcano unless you go on a helicopter

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Oahu Categories