This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Pearl Harbor Tours & Tickets in Oahu

Overall Rating

4.72 4.72 / 5

Reviews

666 reviews

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Battleship Missouri

Great day at Pearl Harbour

Reviewed by: J. Martinez , 2016/09/26

The experience was excellent from beginning to end. The online booking through Veltra was straight forward and an email confirmation was promtly received. The staff was very helpful over the telephone in advance of the tour. The pick up was right on time and our driver was charismatic, professional and knowledgeable about the history of Hawaii. The city tour was great and would recommend it as a combination package with the Arizona Memorial entrance. The Arizona Memorial is a must see when visiting the island, the experience was both informative and emotional. We proceeded to visit the Missouri which is an absolute must see. We were driven to the Missouri in a very comfortable bus. Upon arrival we were greeted and welcomed aboard the ship. It was a real walk through time. Make sure you carve out enough time to walk through the ship, you can spend hours if so inclined. We participated in a 30 minute guided tour which was packed with information and then walked around the ship. The Missouri is a magnificent ship filled with stories of people who were present and lived moments of historical significance. Our driver gave us a pick up time for the return and he was on site promptly on schedule. Our driver was curteous, funny and provided us with additional information on our way back to our hotel. We were dropped off at our hotel entrance. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We had considered making our own arrangements to visit Pearl Harbour but we decided to book our tickets and tour through Veltra/Hawaiian tours after speaking to a group that had booked through them. We had rented a car for two days and toured other parts of the island. The booking of the Arizona Memorial and the Missouri through Veltra was definitely worth while and would recommend it to anyone visiting the island. No line up for tickets, excellent service and informative city tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Early Morning Arizona Memorial & Honolulu City Shuttle Tour

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Kathybee, 2014/07/03

This tour did not disappoint! My folks used to live in Mililani Town so I have been to Oahu many times. I didn't really think I could learn more than I already knew but I was wrong. Our driver/guide was phenomenal - I wish I could remember his name - and he was on the mic literally the entire time. He was funny and engaging, and shared island/culture stories and hilarious anecdotes. He answered the same boring questions I'm sure he's been asked a million times as though he was being asked for the first time. He spoke not only about the obvious "touristy" stuff, but shared "local" tidbits as well.

Pearl Harbor and the Arizona Memorial...haunting and beautiful. This was my 8th visit the Memorial and I learn something new each time. A very noticeable change is how quiet the Memorial itself is. During previous visits I was sad to hear the disrespectful chatter and laughter by some tourists. The staff does an excellent job of reminding everyone of respectful behavior and I could definitely hear the difference. The Visitor's Center has changed quite a bit since my last visit and many new exhibits/experiences have been added. I recommend it highly, even if you've been before.

A side note about courtesy and consideration. There is always one family/group who doesn't seem to care if they keep others waiting and we certainly had one on this tour. If you are directed to be back to the bus at a certain time, please plan accordingly. Nothing sours the mood faster than being made to wait more than 25 minutes for people we had seen in the gift shop on our way to the bus.

The journey back to Waikiki was just as lively and informative as the morning trip. I can't express enough what a pleasure our driver/guide was. He made the tour for us!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Downtown Honolulu Sightseeing

Pearl harbor deluxe motorcoach shuttle

Reviewed by: Kate, 2015/01/29

Our Pearl Harbor Deluxe Motorcoach shuttle tour was one of our favourite experiences on our hawaii holiday. We were welcomed by a friendly and humerous tour guide who made our tour fun and very informative. We started our information session on the Arizona memorial which included a screening of a video clip looking back into the era of the invasion of the japanese into pearl harbor and the demolage that was to take place. We learnt that on that fatal day the Japanese bombed that no one at pearl harbour that day were aware of the Japanese planes nearing and were not prepared for the carnage that was to follow. We then took the ferry over to the Arizona memorial where we got to look upon the sunken Arizona battleship and pay respect to all those who deceased on that ship. We then caught the ferry back and then took a bus over to the U.S.S Missouri ship where a tour guide explained the importance of the ships past etc. where the japanese signed the treaty with the u.s. to end the war and its use in three wars. We were then able to explore the ship by ourselves and see where the soldiers once bunked, ate, and took to everyday duties on the ship. We then bought a few items from the gift shop and met our motorcoach tour guide back at the coach to continue on to see the sights of Punch Bowl cemetary and Honolulu. Our tour guide continued to show us important sights and buildings around honolulu.
We got to see the beauty of the honolulu landscape which include tropical and international plant life and amazing architecture. We were then taken back to our hotel where we were dropped right outside and thanked our amazing tour guide for a great day had.


  • Punchbowl

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Arizona Memorial & USS Missouri Tour at Pearl Harbor

Very Humbling Day

Reviewed by: Dan B, 2017/12/03

We were picked up on time by a very professional and knowledgeable driver who explained everything we needed to know before entering Pearl Harbor. We had time to visit the museum buildings which included many relics from the era and the gift shop before entering the building where a short film is seen. We then boarded a boat piloted by military personnel who brought us to the memorial. Once we entered the memorial we we asked to keep conversations to a whisper to respect the souls below. It was a very humbling moment for us all. We were then taken back to shore and boarded our bus to head to the Missouri. We were told NOT to take any pictures while driving they the military base until we got to the Missouri, There are lots of places to have a quick meal before and after boarding the Ship. Once you're on the ship you can go out on your own or take a free guided tour which I would suggest. because all of the important areas like where the surrender took place. After the tour you will still have time to walk about the ship and to go beneath to view crew quarters and other areas of interest. After leaving the ship we boarded our bus, picked up our bags and purses at the locker area (not allowed at Pearl Harbor) and headed to the Punch Bowl for a short drive thru to pay our respects then to our hotels. This was a very informative tour done by a great drive who also acted as the tour guide. He didn't miss a thing and made us feel that we were back un the day with his presentation. His company would be very proud of him!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Downtown Honolulu Sightseeing

Moving and Amazing!

Reviewed by: Darryl & Tina P, 2015/07/31

Pearl Harbor is truly amazing. we must admit as Aussies, my family knew only the basics about the bombing of Pearl Harbor, After our day at Pearl Harbor we learnt and appreciated so much more.

Our tour from the moment of pick up to return was exceptional. Larry our coach driver was a wonderful guide. He was very informative on our tour of the city. Our adult & teenage kids were very impressed to see the High School that Bruno Mars went to. The drive through the National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific was both moving and respectful. Driving past Hawaii State Capitol and understanding the architecture as well as Iolani Palace and Kawaiaha'o Church and stopping at the Supreme Court were a highlight. Upon arrival at Pearl Harbor, Larry explained everything clearly and we completely understood all requirements.

Visiting the Arizona Memorial was a truly moving experience, both an honour and privilege. Upon return, we headed to the bus to take us to Ford Island to step aboard the Mighty Mo (Missouri). Exploring the USS Missouri was great. While there were free guided tours available, we chose to explore on our own and had so much fun, while still learning all about this amazing vessel. To stand at the very location where the Instrument of Surrender to end World War II took place was remarkable and a moment to reflect.

We didn't get to see all of Pearl Harbor, but what we did see was amazing and we will be back on the Full Tour to see the rest and pay our respects again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Battleship Missouri

Awesome day!!

Reviewed by: Anne Winch , 2016/10/01

My husband and and I made the trip to Pearl Harbour and visited the ship the Missouri and the very touching memorial. It was one of the best days spent on our Hawaii vacation. Our only regret was we did not get up and go as early as possible as there was so much more we could have seen if we had planned to spend the entire day there. The ship was amazing and definitely worth the ticket price. We didn't see the submarine or airport but we couldn't have squeezed anything else in that day. All round an excellent way to spend the day and have a real appreciation for the history.
One of the most amazing parts of the trip was the memorial. We were fortunate enough to have a WWII veteran visiting the memorial that day. It was very honerable how the staff escorted him on and off the shuttle boat and made way for him to the front the memorial. There were so many names you could not help but to look for a potential past relative on the wall and find your personal connection to history.
The Missouri felt like a time capsule. It was so interesting to see the way the sailers and army men lived on the boat. Very organized spaces in such tight quarters. One of the most memorable exhibits was the Japanese komakozi exhibit. They have letters written by the young men who sacrificed their lives in the Japanese Air Force. Very heart felt and it really hit home that all war is devastating regardless of the side you happen to be on.


  • Amazing ship!


Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Downtown Honolulu Sightseeing

Pearl Harbor made easy! Saved a lot of time by taking this tour!

Reviewed by: Dennis, 2015/08/03

What a nice tour! We took the Royal Star Hawaii Deluxe Pearl Harbor/Arizona Memorial and Historical City Tour.
This is a great tour because, regardless of what you read anywhere else, there is an advantage to getting a tour operator to take you. I was curious about how easy it would be to get tickets on your own, so I went over to the ticket counter and asked what the next available time would be (already having the ticket that our guide, Larry, gave us). It was 3 hours later than the ticket Larry got us! We saved 3 hours, allowing us the 2nd half of the day to go do other things!
Our tour guide, Larry, who is very knowledgeable, shared many interesting facts and insights about the area. As for the Pearl Harbor portion of the trip, he gave us helpful instructions in advance, walked us in as a group, went to get our tickets for us, and then gave us instructions on what to see and do. He was even available for us while we toured the visitors center and museum. When we came back to the bus, he even had a mint and handy wipe for each of us to freshen up!
We also went to National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific and to Downtown Honolulu to see the famous statue of King Kamehameha, again many interesting facts delivered by Larry.

Conclusion: quality tour, saved 3+ hours of our day. Easy pickup and drop off near major Hotels.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Downtown Honolulu Sightseeing

Fantastic tour - more than what we expected !

Reviewed by: Loi & Amy ~ Canada, 2015/07/18

We were in Hawaii for the first time celebrating our 30th anniversary and stayed for 7 nights in Waikikki. We booked this tour in advanced, paid total US$75 each, total $150.00 which included the admission and tour to USS Battleship Missouri via this site. So glad we booked this tour which we did on our 3rd day. We were picked up 5 minutes earlier, and the tour guide Marlon was most helpful and courteous. We got to stop and visit the Palace in Honolulu since we were early. The motor coach was very comfortable. A group with young children was late coming back, but the bus operator waited patiently for them. Marlon gave us very good instructions, for all the different visit sites at Pearl Harbour, and got us all our admission tickets very quickly and smoothly. This tour is well worth it as we got so many information which you would not have known had you just gone on your own. We did rent a car for 3 days, but we definitely made a right decision to purchase this tour and not drive there ourselves, just for the extra tour guide information is well worth it. Instead, we rented the car for our last 3 days in Waikikki and drove along North Shore, South Shore and West shore over 3 days. The Pearl Harbour, including Mighty Mo tour is a must do - we even got to take a picture with Mr. Hyland, a 98 year old survivor from Pearl Harbour. 5 stars for this tour !


  • Mighty Mo - USS Missouri


  • King Kamehameha Palace


  • Pearl Harbour Tour - always remember those who sacrificed for peace in the world.


  • So thankful for what all the allied forces did to end WWII.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One-Day Passport to Pearl Harbor - Official Full-Day Ticket (Admission Only)

This is ALL YOU NEED!!

Reviewed by: R James, 2018/09/11

Don't waste your money on a guided, "skip the line" tour. This ticket is all you need to see everything at Pearl Harbor. You will need to get your own transportation to/from Pearl Harbor but there are options, TheBus.org, The Waikiki Trolley, Uber/Lyft, etc.

We arrived around 8:00 AM on a Saturday and walked right up to the ticket counter to get our ticket and then again right up to the USS Arizona Memorial ticket counter to get this ticket. NO waiting, NO line, NO worry of not getting in on one of the 1300 free USS Arizona Memorial tickets.

The audio tours of the USS Arizona Memorial (note due to maintenance issues we could not get off at the USS Arizona Memorial but we still took the boat tour around it) & the USS Bowfin were great and allow you to go at your own pace. We took the guided tour of the USS Missouri and then you have time at the end to wonder around below deck on your own. There was one additional stop included but we chose not to get off there. This gives you complete flexibility of how to spend your day at Pearl Harbor.

There are a few food options. We chose the food truck at the USS Missouri. It was very good.

This is a Must Do for any American! Very educational and sobering.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Pearl Harbor Tour & North Shore by Platinum Limousine from Waikiki

Great driver, great vehicle, great information, great tour, great time!

Reviewed by: Dobergirl, 2016/03/31

Mark, our driver, met us at our hotel on time, and had our tickets ready to see Pearl Harbor. He gave us a brief overview of the attraction, and met us when we were finished with our tour of the Arizona memorial. Pearl Harbor is a must see. We had scheduled a 7 hour tour, but realized that we had 10 hours available, since our plane left that night late. Mark made it happen, with a call to Veltra, and our tour was extended. Mark knows the island well, and gives plenty of information. He makes recommendations, but also listened to our wishes. My husband is a photographer, and as one of our many stops Mark took us to a place he hadn't been for 30 years -- a "lover's lane" type overlook, where the city and Diamond Head and the sea were just mesmerizing. We also saw the Dole Pineapple Plantation, had the best burger of our lives in Hale'iwa, saw beaches and surf towns, mountainous rain forest areas, a wonderful coffee/macadamia shop run by Hawaiian locals, and more before returning to Honolulu. Our photos are fantastic! The Escalade Mark drove was very clean, smooth and nice, and the high vantage point made our ride and views even better. Veltra prices are great for this tour. You will be satisfied!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you very much for your great review. Im glad you enjoyed Hawaii and had a positive experience with Mark. We will convey this to Mark as he is one of our top drivers/tour guides.

If you have a chance, please also review us on Yelp.com

Thank you and mahalo,
Platinum Limousine

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Battleship Missouri

Pearl Harbor, the Arizona and The Missouri Tour

Reviewed by: Helen C, Ohio, 2016/09/22

We hadn't realized how difficult it was to get tickets into the Arizona and had originally planned to just go on our own. When we discovered we would really need a tour our concierge couldn't find space for us. I located the Hawaiian activities website by accident and they managed to get us on a tour the next morning.... Our driver, Larry, picked us up and took us through downtown, the punch bowl and gave us a great overview (entertaining too!) of everything we went by and what to expect when we got to Pearl Harbor. When we got there Larry took us through everything himself, making sure we got our tickets, making us aware of timing issues. It was a great trip and we couldn't of asked for a better guide. I left a bag on the bus by accident and Larry realized whose bag it was and since his next tour was going from near our hotel, he parked while he waited for them, where we could him see if we came by....so I got my bag back almost before I missed it! Thank you Larry! We really were extremely pleased with this company. It was very well run. Definitely would use them again....and hopefully I'll get a chance. Hawai'i was great.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Downtown Honolulu Sightseeing

Must do tour in Oahu

Reviewed by: Hugo Lopez , 2015/06/26

The Pearl Harbor tour was one of the best tours we did during our vacation in Oahu. Our driver Larry was very informative during the tour. We got a little taste of the history of Oahu. Larry made our tour very interesting and entertaining. He gave us lots of stories bout the history of Hawaii that previous to taking the tour we were not aware of. The city of Honolulu had numerous historical places to visit. Once we arrived to Pearl Harbor, we were very excited. Larry spoke about the historical importance Pearl Harbor had in American history. The movie that was played before the boat ride to the memorial was very well made. It was very interesting and educational. The fact that it had actual video footage from the attack of Pearl Harbor made it very real and emotional. Furthermore,the tour to the SS Arizona memorial was amazing. It's definitely something I would recommend to anyone visiting Oahu. Being on the memorial and seeing the names of all the people who lost their lives on the SS Arizona was very moving. The tour is very well organized that it's interesting for the whole family.


  • SS Arizona Memorial

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Battleship Missouri

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Jim Danford, 2016/09/20

I was pleasantly surprised by this tour. Since I am really not a history buff, I was not sure I would enjoy it, but I am so glad that we went. The trip was very well organized and our driver, Larry was fabulous. He was a wealth of knowledge and he explained a lot about the local history and he provided an entertaining vocabulary lesson. He also kept us in schedule and provided specific directions as to where we needed to be and the timeframes we had for each area. The tour itself was very detailed and I highly recommend the Arizona tour as well. The film prior to the tour was contained actual footage of the attack and painted a realistic picture of the magnitude of the attack. All of the guides were very knowledgeable and took time to answer all of the questions. The battle ship was amazing and you can pretty much go through the entire ship. I would recommend tennis shoes as the ladders can be tricky in flip flops. We have done several excursions over the past week and I highly recommend you include this one as a must do!


  • Pic does not do the guns justice.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Premium Pearl Harbor Tour - Battleship Missouri, Arizona Memorial & Local Lunch

Great Tour of Pearl Harbor, Punch Bowl, and Parts of Honolulu

Reviewed by: Chicago Travlers, 2019/05/17

Our tour guide Kaleo was absolutly OUTSTANDING. He was professional, friendly, funny, very knowledgable, punctual, and always made the entire group (most total strangers) feel comfortable and feel a part of a very special group. As a group we all sang the theme song from The Beverly Hillbillies, it was fun and awesome. The tour guide from the USS Missouri was very disappointing. He spoke so softly you could barely hear him, and when louder he spoke in such broken sentences he was so hard to understand. He gave us so many directions at one time, that no one had an idea of what we were to do or where we to go. Most of our tour was basicly self guided exploration. Not being able to go on the USS Arizona Memorial platform was also disapointing, but we were told prior to booking we could not go on to the platform. Hope it gets repaired soon so others can board and pay their respects. The lunch at the 604 restaurant was very good, had the burger, excellent. All in all we experienced a very good tour and would highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Downtown Honolulu Sightseeing

Great experience

Reviewed by: Tim, 2015/08/05

Found the trip on the internet, called the office and booked the 5 hour morning trip over the phone. Recieved a conformation number over the phone and an email with all of the details. A few days before my trip recieved a reminder email and a link to print out my voucher. The day of the trip, Mett the bus a the pick time and point. The bus was a luxurious tour bus with a restroom. The driver Patrick was very professional and very pleasent. As we start traveling through the city Patrick pointed out several different thing. He was very knowledgeable about the city of Honolulu. When we arrived at Pearl Harbor he lead us up to the gate and explained how the tour was to be conducted. He handed are tickets showed everybody where to meet and at what time. After the movie and boat ride to the Arizona we had an extra 1 1/2 hours to see the rest of the site. The tour was definitely worth the money, there was no standing in line to get tickets or having to find transportation to Pearl Harbor and back. Would recommend it to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Early Morning Arizona Memorial & Honolulu City Shuttle Tour

Early Morning Arizona memorial and Honolulu city shuttle tour

Reviewed by: Karen, 2015/01/03

I took this tour with my 18 year old daughter and we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our pickup was punctual and the tour from beginning to end was informative and entertaining. Although not enough time was spent at any of the sites due to the fact we only had half day tour, our guide made us feel like we learnt a great deal about each place we visited. It is possible to visit Pearl Harbor without a tour and also organise your own entrance to the Arizona memorial on line for a small charge but we felt as if the money we paid for a tour experience was very well spent simply because our guide was so lovely, welcoming and full of wonderful insight and information about Hawaii and the sites we visited.
We stopped at the Royal palace and were able to walk around to take photos. We drove through Punchbowl cemetery with little stories and anecdotes shared by Brayden our lovely guide and then onto Arizona Memorial where we were left to wander around for approximately 1& 1/2 hours.
Overall a great experience!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor Tour & Circle Island Sightseeing

Best day ever!

Reviewed by: Johanna from Sweden , 2015/11/28

After finishing our day with two big smiles on our faces, my friend and I agreed that it would have to be something extraordinary to top this! We had the time of our lives.
We met some lovely people, and we, being from Sweden, thaiught that it was really amazing that folks we're so understanding when we lost ourselves in translation sometimes.

The sights we saw were amazing with good variety. The bus was not full to the brim with people so moving in and out was easy and it did not take long to gather ourselves up when leaving a destination to go see the next. (Except when Kevin went out to look for our friend from hong kong haha)

The information we attained during the driving time was fun, entertaining and interesting.

Our tourguide, cousin Kevin, will forever and ever remain in our Hearts and memories. Because he is now a part of our international ohana, and what does that mean? Family. And what does family mean?

Nobody gets left behind or forgotten!

Until next time,
Aloha and thank you!



  • Cousin Kevin


  • Pearl harbour memorial

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo for the excellent review, Johanna! We absolutely LOVE your pictures and we're so pleased that you had a great time. We'll be sure to share this review with Cousin Kevin, as well :)

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Home of the Brave Pearl Harbor & Military Base Tour

History in the Making

Reviewed by: Russ & Barb, 2010/10/02

My father was stationed in Pearl Harbor for four (4) years commencing one (4) month after the attack. I wanted to at least have a hands on experience as to what he went through and the conditions during that specific timeframe.

Jim was the consummate tour guide. His knowledge of the "inside" and side-bar stories of the Pearl Harbor attack, many focusing on the US Army Air Corps participation, enhanced all of the stops we made: the USS Arizona Memorial, Wheeler Field, Schofield Barracks, Fort Shafter and National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific (Punchbowl National Cemetery). These stories fill in the spaces that most of us have in our knowledge of the attack. In fact, I was extremely impressed with Jim’s knowledge in areas that I had not heard and/or read about over the years of conversation with my Mom and Dad and/or studies associated with this part of our history.

I especially enjoyed Jim’s setting the scene at all of the stops. He wants to place you in that place at that

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor Tour & Circle Island Sightseeing

Very productive day

Reviewed by: Aimee, 2012/09/03

We got picked up by 6am by cousin Hana. When we reached Pearl Harbor, we were informed that you are not allowed to bring ANY bags past the entrance. You are allowed to bring wallet, camera and bottled water. You can store your bag for $3. We got about an hour to explore the museums and take pictures before we were admitted to the theater to watch a 23 minute video. From there, we were taken on a boat to go to the memorial. You get about 20 minutes at the memorial before heading back. Then you get another 20 minutes before it's time to go back on the bus. Side note: They do have a snack shop. Luckily, Hana was nice enough to let everyone bring back food on the bus.

It was 9:40am and time to explore the island. I loved every minute of it. Hana was very informative along the way and had a great sense of humor. We stopped for lunch at about 1pm. We made our way up to the north shore, back down the windward side and ending at Diamond Head before dropping everyone off at Waikiki. We made

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Home of the Brave Pearl Harbor & Military Base Tour

The best tour I have been on!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/09/03

I have taken ALOT of tours in my day, and this is by far one of the best I have ever taken. From the minute I got into the (very nice and very CLEAN) charter, the guide, Duke (who just happens to be the son of the owner!) just MADE the day. He was friendly, professional, and extremely knowledgeable of the rich history surrounding both Pearl Harbor and WWII in general.

Throughout the tour, he used humor and wit to share fascinating REAL stories of actual soldiers and events to really make this time in history come alive to all on board. I was just so impressed.

This tour was so much better organized than most other tours I have been on, yet they somehow managed to not make me feel like cattle being herded and pushed around....although we had a schedule to stick to, I never once felt rushed or hurried...it was such an enjoyable day. Duke had a great balance of giving us time on our own to look around the sites and exhibits (rather than treating us like children) yet he was always

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Mr. Anonymous,
Thanks for the 5 Star Review! We appreciate your positive feedback and will continue to do our best to keep history Alive!
Please join us again on Home of the Brave Tours and stop by our new Home of the Brave Brewseum next time you are in the islands.
Aloha,
Janet Tomlinson
Home of the Brave Tours

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor Tour & Circle Island Sightseeing

Excellent!

Reviewed by: Linda, 2011/03/15

Having lived on Oahu for 5.5 years in the 50s, my sister and I were anxious to visit old haunts, outside the Waikiki area and this tour certainy accomplished that for us. Our guide, Greg, went above and beyond the list of attractions/sights we were scheduled to see and had such a breadth of knowledge about the islands' history, culture and general Hawaiian topics that we came away from the tour much more informed than when we started it. He was witty, caring and very dedicated to his job, making all his passengers feel very special for a day.

From giving us hints about how to get the best seats on the boat for the Arizona Memorial in the morning until the time he dropped us off - exhausted - at the end of the day, touring with Greg was like being part of an extended family.

If there were more than 5 stars, this tour and the guide would get them. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves - on the first day of our 10-day trip - and set the standard by which we judged the others we took

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Complete Pearl Harbor Tour Experience (from Waikiki)

Pearl Harbor and USS Missouri

Reviewed by: Ron and Gayle Colby, 2010/09/29

This tour was booked as a surprise to me by my husband, Ron, and our daughter on the occasion of my 70th birthday, along with a two-week vacation to Hawaii. I have long wanted to see the USS Arizona Memorial, as my father and stepfather were both in the armed services during World War II. The tour is given by a sharp US Navy crew and the dignity and remembrance of our gallant fighting men of all armed service branches is preserved. There are always some in the tour group, usually under 30, who haven't a clue as to what the horrors of war are; their actions echo their folly. The Royal Star drivers were knowledgeable and humorous when appropriate. The tour on the USS Missouri was given by Marc and you would've thought he was there as he described the battleship's statistics and history. The reality of what war does to people who are in it, no matter what side they are on, was once again brought home. I am so glad this was arranged by my thoughtful family. It took awhile for me to

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Downtown Honolulu Sightseeing

Pearl Harbor & Missouri Tour

Reviewed by: The Metcalf Family, 2010/06/03

We took the Pearl Harbor tour with the Missouri. Sandy was our tour guide and she was fantastic! Very nice, fun and entertaining, plus knowledgeable. The bus was really big and comfortable (not like most of the yucky shuttles) and Sandy drove around Waikiki effortlessly. Amazing!

The Arizona Memorial is a must-see, although it is not exciting so kids are easily bored. On the other hand, the tour of the Missouri is great for all ages. We did the audio tour with the iTouch device, and my 13-year-old thought it was like an adventure to find the next location. We were able to explore and listen at our convenience.

The Punchbowl was closed for Memorial Day, but Sandy took us to Pal"i lookout, which was a beautiful sight and the drive up was very informational too.

Overall, a terrific tour that we are so glad we did and the price was VERY affordable. Many of the tours I saw were way over-priced, as I cannot see what they could offer over the tour we took.

We were much

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor Tour & Circle Island Sightseeing

"Cowboy" was fantastic!

Reviewed by: Jes, 2010/04/08

The 6 of us were in Hawaii at Christmas 2009. Our ages ranged from 60 down to 5. We enjoyed this tour & "owboy" was great. He was so knowledgable & definetly had a sense of humor. He treated everyone of us like very good friends. We all felt really special. He gave us many tips of beating the crowds & best seating areas at the Arizona Memorial. We were taken to many great places all around the island. It was nice to be able to get out of the vehicle to actually stand on the beaches & get wet. The Mac Nut Farm had free tasting. YUM... We witnessed a pineapple carving at the Dole Plantation. We saw new pineapple fields & a religious shrine area. The tops of the cliffs gave us awesome sights. We even saw some whales playing out in the ocean along with watching the blow hole. Cowboy even gave my grandaughters some very cute young coconut souveniors that he picked up & made faces/heads out of. He explained many different features of the islands including a lot of history to help us understa

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Downtown Honolulu Sightseeing

Well Worth the Money!

Reviewed by: Oregon Traveler, 2010/03/24

I looked at several sites trying to decide which tour to use for our Pear Harbor Tour and chose using Hawaiian Activities because they provided the best description of the tour companies. It was easy to book on-line and when I called to ask what time the bus would pick us up at the hotel, the customer service agent immediately called the company to find out. That to me is service so I booked with them. Booking before you arrive on the island makes life so much easier because everywhere you look, there are tours being promoted and it can be confusing.

The company I chose did a marvelous job. Our coach was clean and air conditioned and the driver/tour guide was marvelous. He told us so much about the history of Hawaii that his narration brought so much more value to the tour. The same applied to the tour guide we had for the USS Missouri. He brought the signing of the armistice with General McArthur, the Allies and the Japanese to life in ways no history book can.

I will def

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Home of the Brave Pearl Harbor & Military Base Tour

Home of the Brave Tour

Reviewed by: Ron, 2009/07/08

(Took tour on 24 April 2009) This is a wonderful tour to history buffs and non-history buffs alike. Brandon was the consummate tour guide. His knowledge of the "inside" and side-bar stories of the Pearl Harbor attack, many focusing on the US Army Air Corps participation, enhanced all of the stops we made: the USS Arizona Memorial, Wheeler Field, Schofield Barracks, Fort Shafter and National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific (Punchbowl National Cemetery). These stories fill in the spaces that most of us have in our knowledge of the attack.

I especially enjoyed Brandon setting the scene at all of the stops. He wants to place you in that place at that time ("Notice how quiet it is....")

The museum where Home of the Brave Tours is based (the visit is part of the tour) is amazing for the small space they occupy. WW2 memorabilia (including a Jeep and an Army motorcycle from the Indian Motorcycle Company). There is also a small USO stage and a 1940's bar with lanai. The best part of this

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor Tour & Circle Island Sightseeing

Don't skip this tour!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/12/23

This was an amazing tour! Our guide was a veteran that was able to give us a different perspective to Pearl Harbor. It was not sugar coated or one-sided either. Simply amazing. He informed us prior to stopping at places how much time we would have (and what we would have less time with if we went over) and gave us instructions on how to get the most out of our time (what to do first, what not to miss). The circle island portion was insightful, and we had just about as much time as we could want at most stops (excepting the Dole plantation - kids got caught up at the pearl table). The kids were tired as we had been out late the night before at a luau, but they had enough down time between stops and napped. Not that between stops were dull moments - but for the most part interesting facts, legends, history, and jokes were shared throughout the whole tour - they were just really tired from the late night before! We had thought about renting a car and driving around on our own agenda, but

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Arizona Memorial & USS Missouri Tour at Pearl Harbor

Unbelievable

Reviewed by: Dru, 2007/08/19

WOrds cannot explain this activity. My wife and I took a vacation to Hawaii as our yearly get away, no special occasion. I served in the military so this was a must for me to go experience. It was recommended for us to arrive early at pearl harbor. It's true that there is a massive line but I recommend that you go a little later than 6am because the line moves pretty quick. Let me explain the process because I did not see anyone mention it. The memorial opens at 7am and people enter inside the welcome center and get a card with a # on it, which puts you in a group. I estimate the group to be about 50 people. After that time, you just roam around the welcome center until your group # is called. Then you stand in line to go into a theater where you will see ACTUAL footage from the war and it's very touching and heart stopping. After that, you go outside to the water taxi (boat) which takes you out to the actual memorial. you can just feel the mood there. Some people can be disr

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Arizona Memorial & USS Missouri Tour at Pearl Harbor

USS Arizona, USS Missouri

Reviewed by: DMDVAUGHN, 2007/07/10

My family & I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. My husband is a HUGE history buff, my son - age 15 even enjoyed it, along with my parents (Around 60 yrs. old) and my husband & myself (late 30's) Therefore, you can see that it was interesting for all ages. It was a very spooky feeling standing on the Arizona Memorial, looking down at the sunken ship, seeing the oil still leaking into the water, and reading all of the names of those who perished that awful, fateful day. We also got to meet & take pictures with two of the survivors from that day. They were inside, sitting near the museum signing autographs. One of them was born in Macomb, Illinois, about 50 miles from our hometown of Rockford, so that was very surprising! We had an awesome guided tour aboard the USS Missouri. Took about 90 minutes, we even got to see inside. Saw the bunks where the sailors slept, the control room, radio room, the table where the declaration was signed to end the war, the "mess hall", stood under the g

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Downtown Honolulu Sightseeing

Highlight sight

Reviewed by: Jeremy , 2015/06/27

My girlfriend Constance and I were highly recommended to do this tour prior to our trip to Hawaii and we were not disappointed. This tour will now be top of our list of recommendations to other friends and family as it is as breathtaking and exhilarating as expected. The sights seen on this tour is truly unbelievable and needs to be seen to be believed. As a couple, we were slightly hesitant as we are more the adventurous type, however this tour still gave us a great look into history of the island which was some amazing stuff. It was very informative and interesting and really gave us Australians a little glimpse of what the U.S had endured back in the day. If and when my girlfriend and I return to Hawaii (I'm sure we will soon) we will most likely do this tour again, as the views and sights cannot be compared to anything else. We are so glad we went ahead with this booking and tour because the tour guide and transportation to and from were great also to make for a perfect day.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Oahu Categories