Makani Afternoon Fun in the Sun Sailing Cruise (from Kewalo Basin)

Awesome Experience

Reviewed by: Colin, 2017/08/01

My wife and I recently moved to the island and chose this cruise as our first adventure here. The crew is great and extremely knowledgable and they make you feel comfortable on board. They took us on a solid tour up and down Waikiki beach. Amazing view and perfect weather. The bartender was awesome and made some great drinks. The prices were reasonable, especially considering what drinks cost in the Waikiki area. Buy the souvenir mug if you're looking for a deal. They can make you 16oz cocktails for the same price as the little drinks. If you're looking for a couple hours on the water and a few awesome drinks, this is the cruise for you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sailing on the Beautiful Makani Catamaran

Reviewed by: Craig and Maureen, 2017/07/01

We definitely enjoyed our two hours of sailing on the beautiful Makani Catamaran. It’s the best escape from the sweltering midday heat. All aboard! The enthusiastic riders strolled towards the stretched tarp fronting the 60 foot catamaran, as others filled the inner cabin, or sat on the open air benches. Not to worry, all views satisfied a person’s thirst for adventure. After a brief introduction of safety, expectations and friendly crew introductions the big white $2million dollar catamaran slowly glided out of Kewalo Basin towards the majestic deep blue Pacific Ocean, passing other harbored yachts, catamarans and various tourist boats. At the mouth of the basin local fishermen on the shores cast their lines, hoping for a fresh catch for dinner. Beyond the ocean horizon a large cargo boat cruised along at a seemingly slow pace, and by the time the catamaran set at 1/4 mile out in the ocean it had traveled parallel to Diamond Head.
We were entertained, watching the skillful rigging of the main sail and sailing effortlessly along the fringes of the island. Excitement stirred when two large sea turtle surfaced on the dark blue waters, appeasing our anticipation for marine life. Feeling the ocean air against our face, listening to the rippling sounds of ocean waves gently splashing against the hulls, watching sailboats skimming across the blue horizon, parasail riders bobbing in the air, and surfer zealots zigzagging across 4-6 foot waves on Point Panics - What more could we ask for?

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Craig and Maureen

Mahalo for taking the time to share your Sail Makani experience with us. We are so delighted that you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to sailing with you both again. Sending you both much Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful sail

Reviewed by: Janice J, 2017/03/26

We arrived early and had a few problems getting on board because I couldn't find my eVoucher.
But, the staff was very friendly and helped me find my information.
While on board everything was very comfortable and there was plenty of room to walk around.
Food was OK but you can't beat the views of the island from the south shore.


  • View from the nearby beach

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great couple of hours

Reviewed by: Robert Crowe, 2017/01/08

Picked up exactly on time with a few stops on the way. Plenty of time to register and then get on the boat.

Good safety instructions by the 1st Mate and the captain with even better instructions from the barman.

Bit cloudy and short burst of rain but very enjoyable couple of hours just about saw a whale calf and lots of dolphins then over to diamond head and back.

Very enjoyable


  • Dolphins

Reply from activity provider

Sounds like you had a great time! We are glad you enjoyed yourselves, Thank you so much for choosing Makani Catamaran.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful relaxing way to see the beautiful Honolulu coastline

Reviewed by: Ian f, 2016/12/27

They use the motor to get the boat out of the harbour and then turn it off and you are moving swiftly along just by wind power - it's a wonderful experience, so calm but invigorating. The weather was perfect, sunny with clouds and a good breeze for sailing. The crew were great. Friendly, helpful and professional. Anna, the bar tender was especially good (and we all got a voucher for a free cocktail which I did not realize - nice!). She helped one person who was not feeling too good and gave him all sorts of great advice.
The boat sails along the coastline so you get the perfect view of the Honolulu coastline and Waikiki. We even saw a whale off the side of the boat which was really exciting. A great afternoon trip and great value.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha
We're so delighted to hear you enjoyed your time on Makani and with her crew. Many mahalos for taking the time to share your experience with us and Veltra.
Sending you much Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow!

Reviewed by: Joe and Sherstin Law, 2016/12/08

My wife, Sherstin, and I immensely enjoyed our sail on the "Makani" and it was one of the high points of our recent time on Oahu.
The day was mostly sunny with a few rain squalls which made for some interesting contrasts.
The catamaran was very stable and the captain was expert at reading the waves and currents which was a great relief to my wife since she is a bit prone to dizziness. But she was able to handle the voyage with no problem.
What a view of Diamond Head and Waikiki! We also got a kick out of seeing a couple of turtles, as well as some surfers and snorkelers.
Hats off to the captain, crew and shore personnel -- we had a great time!


  • Joe & Sherstin do old-guys selfie!


  • Fun on the net.


  • A big rock and a lotta water.


  • Our friend Rob and the Captain.


  • A hint of rainbow over Waikiki.


  • Another view of Diamond Head.


  • The Captain at the helm.


  • One of the crew and Sherstin and Rob enjoy the sea breeze.


  • A rain squall and sunshine off the starboard bow.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent family excursion

Reviewed by: Sandra Tesch, 2016/11/30

Such a fun excursion! I went with my family and this was fun for everyone. We got to see sea turtles and all sorts of native fish! The fish even came right up next to the boat. They took us out to where they saw dolphins the other day and while we didn't see any it was still a beautiful view. The staff were fun and informative and the boat was very clean and well maintained. The staff were quick to point out any local landmarks or points of interest and were very funny. I would definitely recommend this!

Oh, and be sure to try the house cocktail! They don't skimp on their pours ;) I'd also recommend getting the souvenir cup, you get twice the drink for your ticket and a cool cup to remember your trip by!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scenic cruise

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2016/11/18

Me and my husband thought about going to hawaii for our first wedding anniversary. I did our itinerary for hawaii and I am so glad that I purchased this! I got seasick cause im not used to cruising but overall it was very worth it purchasing this. My husband and i really had fun. They played music and sells alcoholic or non alcoholic drink which it made more cooler, they'll take you in the middle of the ocean and show you a very nice view of waikiki, you can see the fishes. it was very scenic!!!!! the staffs are really friendly, they'll give you instructions about what to do and what not to do. Make sure you follow 'em. I will surely try this again for our next visit to honolulu!! PS: bring your sunscreen!! :-)


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sail Makani

Reviewed by: Simon, 2016/09/17

When we went on the cruise for our 25th anniversary, the weather was clear and we felt very welcomed by the friendly crew. We also got offered a free drink at the bar as were the other guests. My wife and I enjoyed the relaxing breeze on the tour accompanied with the warm sun. On the boat, we saw gorgeous views of Diamond Head and Waikiki and also took a lot of pictures. While on the boat, we didn't feel any bumps and the trip was very smooth. When we go to Hawaii again, we'll definitely go on this cruise. I highly recommend this cruise for anybody travelling with friends, family, or as a couple.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride!

Reviewed by: Karen , 2016/09/15

The trip was amazing. We went the first week of September so there wasn't much turtles or whales. It wasn't the season yet. It was still extremely fun and enjoyable. I went with my grandma and her or I did not get seasick! I recommend this for anyone who wants to relax at sea with a bit of adventure! Really great for elders and little kids. They have a net you can sit on. They also have a bar you can purchase alcoholic beverages or sodas! You can also buy a sippy cup so you won't spill your drink! Highly recommend and there's a coupon on Groupon! Take everyone!!! I will be coming back with more family members! Definitely coming back in December for the whales!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Oahu / Waikiki Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI