Makani Catamaran Waikiki Afternoon Fun in the Sun Sailing Cruise

Great Fun

Reviewed by: Melissa, 2017/09/06

We went on the afternoon cruise and had a great time. Staff were excellent.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much! We look forward to having you aboard again! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Experience

Reviewed by: Colin, 2017/08/01

My wife and I recently moved to the island and chose this cruise as our first adventure here. The crew is great and extremely knowledgable and they make you feel comfortable on board. They took us on a solid tour up and down Waikiki beach. Amazing view and perfect weather. The bartender was awesome and made some great drinks. The prices were reasonable, especially considering what drinks cost in the Waikiki area. Buy the souvenir mug if you're looking for a deal. They can make you 16oz cocktails for the same price as the little drinks. If you're looking for a couple hours on the water and a few awesome drinks, this is the cruise for you.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad your enjoyed your Makani experience! We look forward to having you sail with us again soon! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sailing on the Beautiful Makani Catamaran

Reviewed by: Craig and Maureen, 2017/07/01

We definitely enjoyed our two hours of sailing on the beautiful Makani Catamaran. It’s the best escape from the sweltering midday heat. All aboard! The enthusiastic riders strolled towards the stretched tarp fronting the 60 foot catamaran, as others filled the inner cabin, or sat on the open air benches. Not to worry, all views satisfied a person’s thirst for adventure. After a brief introduction of safety, expectations and friendly crew introductions the big white $2million dollar catamaran slowly glided out of Kewalo Basin towards the majestic deep blue Pacific Ocean, passing other harbored yachts, catamarans and various tourist boats. At the mouth of the basin local fishermen on the shores cast their lines, hoping for a fresh catch for dinner. Beyond the ocean horizon a large cargo boat cruised along at a seemingly slow pace, and by the time the catamaran set at 1/4 mile out in the ocean it had traveled parallel to Diamond Head.
We were entertained, watching the skillful rigging of the main sail and sailing effortlessly along the fringes of the island. Excitement stirred when two large sea turtle surfaced on the dark blue waters, appeasing our anticipation for marine life. Feeling the ocean air against our face, listening to the rippling sounds of ocean waves gently splashing against the hulls, watching sailboats skimming across the blue horizon, parasail riders bobbing in the air, and surfer zealots zigzagging across 4-6 foot waves on Point Panics - What more could we ask for?

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Craig and Maureen

Mahalo for taking the time to share your Sail Makani experience with us. We are so delighted that you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to sailing with you both again. Sending you both much Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful sail

Reviewed by: Janice J, 2017/03/26

We arrived early and had a few problems getting on board because I couldn't find my eVoucher.
But, the staff was very friendly and helped me find my information.
While on board everything was very comfortable and there was plenty of room to walk around.
Food was OK but you can't beat the views of the island from the south shore.


  • View from the nearby beach

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great couple of hours

Reviewed by: Robert Crowe, 2017/01/08

Picked up exactly on time with a few stops on the way. Plenty of time to register and then get on the boat.

Good safety instructions by the 1st Mate and the captain with even better instructions from the barman.

Bit cloudy and short burst of rain but very enjoyable couple of hours just about saw a whale calf and lots of dolphins then over to diamond head and back.

Very enjoyable


  • Dolphins

Reply from activity provider

Sounds like you had a great time! We are glad you enjoyed yourselves, Thank you so much for choosing Makani Catamaran.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful relaxing way to see the beautiful Honolulu coastline

Reviewed by: Ian f, 2016/12/27

They use the motor to get the boat out of the harbour and then turn it off and you are moving swiftly along just by wind power - it's a wonderful experience, so calm but invigorating. The weather was perfect, sunny with clouds and a good breeze for sailing. The crew were great. Friendly, helpful and professional. Anna, the bar tender was especially good (and we all got a voucher for a free cocktail which I did not realize - nice!). She helped one person who was not feeling too good and gave him all sorts of great advice.
The boat sails along the coastline so you get the perfect view of the Honolulu coastline and Waikiki. We even saw a whale off the side of the boat which was really exciting. A great afternoon trip and great value.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha
We're so delighted to hear you enjoyed your time on Makani and with her crew. Many mahalos for taking the time to share your experience with us and Veltra.
Sending you much Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow!

Reviewed by: Joe and Sherstin Law, 2016/12/08

My wife, Sherstin, and I immensely enjoyed our sail on the "Makani" and it was one of the high points of our recent time on Oahu.
The day was mostly sunny with a few rain squalls which made for some interesting contrasts.
The catamaran was very stable and the captain was expert at reading the waves and currents which was a great relief to my wife since she is a bit prone to dizziness. But she was able to handle the voyage with no problem.
What a view of Diamond Head and Waikiki! We also got a kick out of seeing a couple of turtles, as well as some surfers and snorkelers.
Hats off to the captain, crew and shore personnel -- we had a great time!


  • Joe & Sherstin do old-guys selfie!


  • Fun on the net.


  • A big rock and a lotta water.


  • Our friend Rob and the Captain.


  • A hint of rainbow over Waikiki.


  • Another view of Diamond Head.


  • The Captain at the helm.


  • One of the crew and Sherstin and Rob enjoy the sea breeze.


  • A rain squall and sunshine off the starboard bow.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent family excursion

Reviewed by: Sandra Tesch, 2016/11/30

Such a fun excursion! I went with my family and this was fun for everyone. We got to see sea turtles and all sorts of native fish! The fish even came right up next to the boat. They took us out to where they saw dolphins the other day and while we didn't see any it was still a beautiful view. The staff were fun and informative and the boat was very clean and well maintained. The staff were quick to point out any local landmarks or points of interest and were very funny. I would definitely recommend this!

Oh, and be sure to try the house cocktail! They don't skimp on their pours ;) I'd also recommend getting the souvenir cup, you get twice the drink for your ticket and a cool cup to remember your trip by!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scenic cruise

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2016/11/18

Me and my husband thought about going to hawaii for our first wedding anniversary. I did our itinerary for hawaii and I am so glad that I purchased this! I got seasick cause im not used to cruising but overall it was very worth it purchasing this. My husband and i really had fun. They played music and sells alcoholic or non alcoholic drink which it made more cooler, they'll take you in the middle of the ocean and show you a very nice view of waikiki, you can see the fishes. it was very scenic!!!!! the staffs are really friendly, they'll give you instructions about what to do and what not to do. Make sure you follow 'em. I will surely try this again for our next visit to honolulu!! PS: bring your sunscreen!! :-)


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sail Makani

Reviewed by: Simon, 2016/09/17

When we went on the cruise for our 25th anniversary, the weather was clear and we felt very welcomed by the friendly crew. We also got offered a free drink at the bar as were the other guests. My wife and I enjoyed the relaxing breeze on the tour accompanied with the warm sun. On the boat, we saw gorgeous views of Diamond Head and Waikiki and also took a lot of pictures. While on the boat, we didn't feel any bumps and the trip was very smooth. When we go to Hawaii again, we'll definitely go on this cruise. I highly recommend this cruise for anybody travelling with friends, family, or as a couple.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride!

Reviewed by: Karen , 2016/09/15

The trip was amazing. We went the first week of September so there wasn't much turtles or whales. It wasn't the season yet. It was still extremely fun and enjoyable. I went with my grandma and her or I did not get seasick! I recommend this for anyone who wants to relax at sea with a bit of adventure! Really great for elders and little kids. They have a net you can sit on. They also have a bar you can purchase alcoholic beverages or sodas! You can also buy a sippy cup so you won't spill your drink! Highly recommend and there's a coupon on Groupon! Take everyone!!! I will be coming back with more family members! Definitely coming back in December for the whales!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun nice boat tour

Reviewed by: Lonna Denny, 2016/09/05

I would highly recommend this boat trip. It was fun and the drinks were surprisingly good. Although it rained, we still had a great time. The weather was warm enough to stay outside on the netting and enjoy the full sensation of sailing. The crew were very nice and attentive to everyone. There were no cheesy banter that I have come to associate with Hawaiian tours of any sort. The catamaran was large, so everyone had a lot of room to move around. It was clean and the head (restroom) was well maintained. Even though it stormed that day, the ride was incredibly smooth and no one got sick. The check in booth was at the entry to the harbor and the line went fast and effortlessly. The only caveat I have for others wishing to do this tour is that you have to have a hard copy ticket or be able to bring it up on your phone. Even though we booked online and they had our names, the lady in the booth needed me to pull the confirmation up on my phone . Unfortunately, this caused us to delay the line , which we hate to do.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great sail !

Reviewed by: Gail pinson, 2015/12/12

Great crew, nice boat, a great ride down Waikiki beach, beautiful views, smooth sail in and out. Pictures everywhere you turn, recommend this to anyone looking to take some really cool pictures. Relax and enjoy the ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simple and Enjoyable

Reviewed by: Ruth, 2014/10/22

I had a great time on this trip. We were running a bit late due to a road being closed,but that didn't seem to be an issue. I liked that they called to confirm that we were still coming. The crew was great and pretty much left us to just enjoy the ride after they went through safety and other useful instructions.

We went out a decent ways but not too far out to hit the really rough waters (granted I like big waves so I would have been fine with the rougher waters). If there was any interesting wild life, they pointed it out so everyone could see.There's a drink bar. I didn't really use this for anything beyond soda. I did buy one of their cups and still think it was worth it. It's a useful cup. As for space on the boat, there was never an issue with not having enough room to look out over the railing.

Things my husband and I enjoyed about the trip:
> The view - it was quite beautiful
> The fact that it was simple - we really didn't want to do a dinner cruise or be out on a giant boat. All we wanted was to get out on the water and enjoy the view and this was absolutely perfect for that.
> Meeting new people - we had several good conversations with the people on the boat. I rather enjoyed this and it made the trip that much better.
> Sitting on the netting - it was really neat to watch the water through the netting (also comfortable to sit on)

Over all it was a very excellent experience and was exactly what we wanted. I would have been happy spending all day out on the boat. If I ever end back up in the area, I would use them again.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Sail

Reviewed by: ddwddw, 2014/10/06

It seemed like the crew was bored to be there with us, they had no enthusiasm whatsoever. We paid $70/each for this cruise and did not even get to take a swim break. The 1st mate was the only one that would talk with us and that was only when we asked questions. The forward sail was torn and tatered, otherwise the boat was clean.
We were told we could leave items below deck so we would not get them wet. My wife left her shorts below and when we left she realized her lipstick and hand lotion had been taken out of her pocket. We could not beleive someone would steal personal items of no value. Unbelievalbe. Change the crew out find people that are excited to be there and care about your customers.
Luxury Afternoon Sail....no way did they meet their claim

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Luxury four hour day cruise

Reviewed by: Debi, 2014/09/04

This gets any star at all because we enjoyed the water and the sailboat. The ad for it is a total scam. It should say "come aboard our sailboat and let Mother Nature wave you around for exactly one hour and forty five minutes. ". It is a misleading ad as it says they have spared no cost in treating us to a lux cruise on board with Bose sound and large screen tv. Really? I think I may have heard a radio and who wants a tv anyway so why advertise it. They give you a drink ticket and when hmm husband ordered a Heineken she passed him some crappy off brand can. The Heineken was only available for purchase once you redeem your free ticket. The ad also talks about wildlife and don't really count on any. It is not a cruise to a specific place where there are known sea life. So, two stars one for the boat even tho the sail had a big rip in it and one star for the crew who showed us how to use a life jacket. The rest of it is the beautiful nature of the water which all of the scammers are taking advantage of as they steal tourists money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First Time sailing- loved it!

Reviewed by: Dela, 2012/09/06

It was mine and my parents' first time sailing and it was amazing and so fun. We got to see the beautiful blue ocean water and the sun was shining, and I would reccomend it! Worth the price.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't miss this great adventure

Reviewed by: E.L. & Debra Mahon, 2011/09/22

Although we lived in Hawaii for many years, we didn't decide to really enjoy ourselves until we came back for a visit this year. THis adventure on the Makani was the absolute highlight of this trip. It was fun, and most of all inexpensive. The crew was fun and very people friendly. The entire activity was just a complete joy.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran

Reviewed by: Jack, 2011/03/06

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip with Capt. Jon and crew. As a sailor, my enjoyment was enhanced by Capt. Jon's tales of building the vessel and sailing itr from the Caribbean to Hawaii. He is justly proud having built a beautiful and very comfortable boat. As hoped, we were able to watch whales within sight of the beautiful Hawaiian coast and also enjoyed some great sailing. Great trip, great boat and great crew and great value!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Happy

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/03/04

We took myself and three visitors from Japan. Yesterday PM trip. The ride on the catamaran was so smooth both coming and going. The capt did a great job! and the two mancrew.
He had so much patients steering the cat looking for whales. I tho't we would be disappointed, but he did not disappoint us. He finnaly found a mother and her pup. This was about an hour and half into our trip.
My cousin who asked for the trip was very happy. I don't know what she expected to see, but the whale did come up. she was satisfied. She may come back again next year. I know the whales don't leave until April. How will it be about this time next year? Would it have been if the trip were a little later?
By the way I have friends coming next week from Japan. How are the prospects. I can suggest your whale charter.
the capt. brought us back to Kewalo right on schedule.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Cruise!

Reviewed by: Priscilla, 2010/03/02

I went with three other girl friends on this breakfast cruise. The crew was friendly and fun. They made you feel welcomed instantly and made you feel cared for.
The cruise was smooth we were able to see whales and the Captain went out of our regular route to see more of the whales. It was a fun, relaxing, cruise - I would highly recommend it to anyone who has never been or who just wants to go out again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!

Reviewed by: Mr. & Mrs. Starr, 2009/12/20

The ride of very comfortable and the crew was just fantastic. We were so excited to see the whales!!! Definite must go!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW WAY AWESOME!!!

Reviewed by: GERRY-ANNE F., 2009/12/20

SO MY MOM WAS LIKE WE HAVE TO GO ON A WHALE WATCHING TOUR AND I WAS LIKE WHATEVER MOM BUT OMG I AM SO HAPPY I WENT! AND THE BOAT IS JUST SO SO SO WICKED! I SAT ON THE NET AND UP WITH THE CAPTAIN AND THE FOOD WAS YUMMY TOO. NOT GOING TO FORGET THIS TOUR ANYTIME SOON. THANKS FOR THE RECOMMENDATION GUYS!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/03/16

Beautiful boat and very well run. The staff was great and we got to see whales.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: John, 2009/02/25

Our cruise on the Makani was amazing! The crew was superb and really made us feel like one of the family. Captain Jon was highly skilled, very confident, which made us all feel very safe, which was even more important because we had small children on board. We thank the crew for their service and we will definitely return!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Sue, 2009/01/20

We did the Makani Catamaran breakfast day cruise as a family and it was one of the most relaxing activities we did in Hawaii. The views were beautiful and the crew was extremely accommodating and informative when we had questions. We were there in late December so we were hoping to see whales & turtles but only saw dolphins, but the dolphins were delightful, they were spinner dolphins and they gave us a show and also swam right alongside the catamaran so we were able to see them very close up and get pictures. My kids are 15 & 20 so they also enjoyed it. There was a family with a young child and he seemed to do well, but if you have children that do not like to be somewhat contained for 2 hrs or are prone to getting out of control I would not recommend it for them. This is not a place for toddlers and small children to be running around. I would do this cruise again if we went back and I highly recommend it to others.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best "must do" on the water!

Reviewed by: Jeff and Tesha, 2008/09/09

We thoroughly enjoyed our trips aboard the Makani (so good we did it twice)!!

The boat is modern and very roomy. The crew without equal (especially canine "Captain" Pal)! On our first sail, we were treated to a fantastic show by a large school of dolphins. Pal (all 9 pounds of him) dove off the stern to swim with his "buddies". Not expected, but nonetheless unforgetable.

The scenery, crew, and value of this adventure are unmatched anywhere on the island in our opinion. Thanks, John, for the great times. We'll be back soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI