Germaine's Luau - Traditional Hawaiian Luau with Fire-Knife Show reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Germaine's Luau - Traditional Hawaiian Luau with Fire-Knife Show

Overall Rating

4.40 4.40 / 5

Reviews

15 reviews
Post a review

Germaines Luau

Reviewed by: MissinHawai’i, 2021/11/07

We have done a couple of other Luaus since the pandemic, and this by far is best one so far that is closet to a normal luau prior to covid. We got the plumeria package, totally worth it. The show was spectacular and food was great! Compared to other luaus completely recommend Germaines and would do this again. Booked through Veltra, it was easy and seamless.

Reply from activity provider

ALOHA MissinHawaii, So happy that you were able to make a trip over to our beautiful island, and that you chose to spend an evening with our Ohana at Germaine's Luau!! We really appreciate you taking the time to write your comments about your experience! We also appreciate that you booked thru Veltra, as we love their staff as well, they do a great job there! If you have time, we hope you will post your comments online at Yelp or Trip Advisor, since we know you did attend our luau recently and maybe do #experienceohana, #germainesluau....We hope you will come back sometime in the future and visit us again! Sincerely, Germaine's Luau Ohana

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Good Time Indeed!

Reviewed by: Tito, 2021/08/16

It was a great time to bring my wife to this show. She had never been to a luau before and this was a great experience. The food was standard pre-prepared fare but the entertainment was excellent.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Tito,
Thank you so much for your comments, and for bringing your wife to experience our luau. Our food is a variety of island favorites, with some Hawaiian style prepared dishes, however, we're sorry you felt it was standard. When you're preparing food for such large numbers, it may not be up to your standards. It sounds like you enjoyed the evening overall, and for that I'm happy. Our entertainers work hard at their talent, so I'm so happy that you felt it was excellent! We hope you will share your photos and comments with your friends and family, and maybe even post some on our Facebook page at Germaine's Luau & Special Events! #experienceohana, #germainesluau....Mahalo, Germaine's Luau Ohana

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Boring

Reviewed by: xparisx08 , 2021/08/11

It was boring but well organized… food was not my tasting

Reply from activity provider

Aloha xparis08, So sorry that you felt the evening was boring, but we did have to take out a lot of our various interactive and audience participation type moments from our Luau format due to Covid mandates, and guidelines which has changed how and what we are allowed to do. Hopefully, you will return to our island one day to see our luau as we "normally" do it. Regarding our food, as you mentioned "not to your tasting",... most people really love our food, but when you're making food for 400+ guests,...some are not going to enjoy it, We hope that you will return to our island one day, and give us another chance to show you a much more enjoyable experience. Mahalo, Germaine's Luau Ohana

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such an amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Cecilla (Cece) , 2021/08/07

This is my first Luau in Hawaii and my boyfriend and I absolutely enjoyed it! The location was spot on. We loved the location, since it was in front of the beach. The venue gave us a tropical vibe. When it came to the food I wasn't too sure if I would enjoy the kalua very much because I am not a porky person. However, after seeing my boyfriend eat the kalua I gave in and tried it myself. Surprisingly it was quite delicious! Too be honest, the food at Germaine's was spot on! Despite the salad, I wasn't to fond of it. Other than that, it sort of reminds me of L&L's lol. I love the idea of giving each person a ticket for one free drink, I thought that was a nice gesture. My favorite part of the evening was the fireshow and the show's overall! The dancers, story, history, and the people were all beautiful. My only wish was that their were more males show haha. I mean, I love the hula girls but where are the mens! Overall, I will definitely come back here with my friends and families..venue, food, and the experience did not disappoint at all. Thank you Germaine's for your great hospitality! Aloha, Cece

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Cece, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our family luau. I'm happy you took the chance and tried our "Kalua" or roasted pig, that was cooked traditional way in our underground oven, called an "Imu". It does have a different taste when it's cooked that way. Our salad is made real "local" style, usually macaroni & potato together, and similar to L&L but glad you enjoyed everything else overall. We have added a few more male dancers, as several of our male dancers are also in the Military reserves so not always available. We hope you will return one day and visit us again!! Loved your photos, and hope you will post them to our Facebook page at Germaine's Luau & Special Events or post your comments on Yelp or Trip Advisor....#experienceohana, #germainesluau Mahalo, Germaine's Luau Ohana

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun for the whole family

Reviewed by: Chavez Family, 2021/07/26

Totally worth every penny, the food and entertainment made our vacation one to remember. Lot’s of fun for the whole family. Great way to end a beautiful family vacation.

  • Good view from any table

  • Fresh piggy

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Chaviz Family, Thank you so much for taking time to post your review of your evening with our family at Germaine's Luau. We have 3 generations of family members working there and hope you felt a part of our family that night !! We hope you will share your pictures and comments with us on our Facebook page...Germaine's Luau & Special Events. We hope you will be able to visit us again sometime in the future when we are back to normal. You will notice some additional fun moments that we weren't allowed to do at this time due to the guidelines in place for us to follow. We appreciate you choosing Germaine's Luau as a fun activity while on your family vacation here on our beautiful island!! Mahalo, Germaine's Luau Ohana...

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time!

Reviewed by: :)), 2021/07/23

Had a fabulous time with my friends. Very efficient with getting everyone food.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Show!

Reviewed by: Shani Freeman, 2021/07/20

The show was phenomenal, food was tasty and views spectacular. I misread and thought it was open seating, but it wasn't. It was well organized, staff were definitely hospitable and the show was truly entertaining even my kid who doesn't like anything like the whole experience. It is a must see! MAHALO!

Reply from activity provider

Sincerest "Mahalo" for taking a moment out of your busy vacation time to write this review, and for choosing our luau! We know you could have chosen anywhere else to spend your time, and hope you'll share your experience and photos with your family and friends back home. We appreciate you compliments, and so very happy to hear that you all had an enjoyable evening with our family at Germaine's Luau.
Warmest Aloha,
Germaine's Luau Ohana

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Grisel, 2021/06/06

This luau had some really good food. The drinks were ok but could be better. I had gone to a different luau and had our own table so when they told we're sitting with others I was surprised but wasn’t bad. Also the benches could use some cushion. By the time the show started my butt was already hurting.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: José A., 2021/06/05

Did the V.I.P table for my father’s Birthday and the whole family had a blast definitely would suggest booking the VIP because of the drink service and food service brought to you. It also includes a picture for every adult in your group.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Dances

Reviewed by: Natalia, 2021/05/26

The food can be better, also, the ticket said it was waiter served, but It wasn't like that, it was only for the VIP tables . Also, the ticket said open seating, and they didn't let us sit where we wanted and assigned us the farthest table, where we couldn't see very well.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Natalia, I'm sorry you were disappointed, however you purchased our basic package which does not come with Table Service, or "waiter served". The Vip package comes with the Table Service for beverages and dinner. We normally offer open seating in the Original package, but due to the covid guidelines when you attended our luau, we couldn't. We had to assign tables for Tracking purposes, to know where all our guests were seated. It's a difficult task to sit people at safe distance to each other, with limited seating capacity. If you were able to book a little earlier, your seats may have been better. Even our Vip tables,..if you booked early for a certain date, the odds of you being seated in the front row would be greater. We hope you'll give us another chance on your next visit to our beautiful island, after we pass through this unusual time in our lives.
Sincerely, Germaine's Luau Ohana

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Seating position

Reviewed by: California resident, 2021/04/30

It is our first time to attend evening luau? We bought plumeria package so we can sit in the middle front row but we were seated on the side front table where we only see sideview of the performer so disappointing won't go there anymore and our server is not attentive as we expected we were the last one to board on our bus because we couldn't find our complimentary pictures we were directed to different people we couldn't find our server who is supposed to bring it to us? No, not worth it to buy plumeria package

Reply from activity provider

Aloha California Resident, We are so sorry that your experience that night at our luau was not an enjoyable one. In the Plumeria Luau Package, we offer premium seating, but we try to reserve seating in that area based on when the booking was made. If someone books our luau early, its' only fair to try our best to seat them accordingly. I'm more sorry that you didn't get the service you deserved, and I'm not sure what the issue was regarding getting the photos to you but you could have called our office(info on your ticket) to inquire about them.. All the photos that don't get picked up, come into our office in case our guests call us. We could have at least helped you get them from the photo company, however photos from that long ago are deleted from the system now. Again, I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations, but we hope that you might give us another opportunity when you visit our beautiful island again. Mahalo, Germaine's Luau Ohana

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Germaines Luau

Reviewed by: Ruth Crawford, 2019/11/09

I thoroughly enjoyed Germaines Luau especially since it was on the beach.
The food was very good, the show was outstanding.
This has been by far the best luau that I have attended and would
come back and do it again.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Ms. Crawford,
First of all, we want to thank you for choosing to share one of you valuable vacation nights with our family at Germaine's Luau! I know you could gone any where else that night, but you decided to come to our luau. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope that you were able to take some pictures or at least share your memories with your friends and family at home. We look forward to your return visit to our luau again one day!!

Sincerely,
Paulette Watson
Executive Director of Sales
Germaine's Luau, Inc.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best In town

Reviewed by: Brent J , 2019/06/22

Great people and entertainment. Definitely recommend this show to anyone

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Brent,
Thank you for your comments about our luau, We certainly appreciate you taking time out of your valuable vacation to spend a night with our family! Yes, we have at least 3 generations of family members that work for the luau from our office staff, performers, and to our maintenance crew. We hope you will share you memories with your friends and family at home where you come from! Again, thank you for coming to our luau....we know you could have chosen to do anything else, but you came to visit us!

Sincerely,
Paulette W
Executive Director of Sales/PR
Germaine's Luau, Inc.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I call it a barefoot Luau....

Reviewed by: Ms.Ems, 2019/02/22

Exploring Oahu can be so much fun and Germaine's Luau is one of them! Mind you, I have been to mostly all the Luaus on the island but not for Germaine's. I was only convinced to try when many of my "social media" friends were posting and saying good things about it.
I'm a local resident here, and three of my friends from the mainland came to visit so we decided to join the Luau. They took the bus transportation from Waikiki provided by Germaine's and I drove to meet them there. I checked-in half hour early which gave me ample time to explore around the area and take photos. It’s actually a very nice place! Beautiful private beachfront setting with a view of the spectacular sunset!
We ordered the Hibiscus Package which included 3 drink tickets that I was given immediately at the time of check-in. We had a nice center seating section, which provided a better viewing of the Polynesian entertainment. On our way to the bar and to the buffet line, my friends and I decided to leave our sandals under our bench table and went barefoot through the sand because it was difficult to walk in. It was still a fun night, your feet touching the sand makes it a unique Luau experience.
Their drinks..I think their cups are small but since I got 3, it was just good enough for me! The food was delicious, and lots of Polynesian entertainment! All of my expectations were met. Definitely recommended.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Ms Ems,
Thank you so much for your comments about your evening with us. As a local resident we really appreciate you coming with your friends to enjoy a night out. Most locals are pleasantly surprised how relaxed & comfortable they feel. So sorry you weren't aware of the special with the Drink Glasses, but the Escorts on the Buses mention it to the guests on the way to the luau. The Gate person doesn't always have time with so many people checking in at the gate. It's a great deal with the glasses, no matter which package you choose. So happy you enjoyed the food, and our entertainment. You chose the most popular package, the Hibiscus Luau Package, and I'm so glad you were happy with your choice. I hope you will tell your family and friends about your experience, and bring more friends out to our luau again sometime in the future, we really love to have our Kama'ainas out there!!

Sincerely,
Paulette
Executive Director of Sales/PR
Germaine's Luau, Inc.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Luau!

Reviewed by: Dianna, 2019/01/30

Great for friends looking for a fun time & get your money's worth of booze! We got the Hibiscus package which includes 3 premium drinks.

Do not go to the bar first! Go to the gift shop, buy yourself a $10 Tiki cup and double the value of your drink tickets! I wish someone had told me that beforehand. My first drink came in a little plastic cup that was half the size of the Tiki cup (See photos).

Good food & lots of entertainment! You really feel like you crashed a local's backyard party right down to the sand caught in between your toes at this beachfront luau.

Highly recommend, would love to go again!

  • Beautiful sunset on the beach as we checked-in.

  • My first drink called Windex!

  • Gift shop also sells Hawaiian name bracelets.

  • Tiki cup is double in size! Bring your Tiki cup with your drink ticket & the bartender will fill the Tiki to the top!

  • Windex Tiki! A nice souvenir to take home too.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Dianna,
Thank you for choosing to spend your evening with us at Germaine's Luau, you could have gone anywhere else....So sorry you weren't aware of the Special with the drink glasses, as it's usually mentioned on the bus coming out to the luau, so glad you found out about it. We hope you will share your memories with your friend and family, and maybe someday come back and visit us again!! We really appreciate you posting your comments, and your photos, and if you have some time you can post it on Instagram too....#germainesluau, or #experienceohana....

Mahalo,
Paulette
Executive Director of Sales/PR
Germaine's Luau, Inc.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories