Waimea Valley Toa Luau & Free Admission Entry Ticket to Waimea Falls reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Waimea Valley Toa Luau & Free Admission Entry Ticket to Waimea Falls

Overall Rating

5.00 5.00 / 5

Reviews

38 reviews
Post a review

Best time ever

Reviewed by: Larry Vallejos, 2022/11/18

One of the most memorable things we have ever experienced. I genuinely felt like family! We will recommend this to everyone we know!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Valley Falls & Toa Luau

Reviewed by: DMF, 2022/09/10

Disappointed that the falls was not flowing, but the Luau was great. Learning about the hawaiian culture was interesting. The food was delicious and plentiful. The show was fabulous. You will not be disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time! Best luau experience! The family was incredible! Husband said it was the best pulled pork he has ever eaten!

Reviewed by: Shae, 2022/09/07

We had a great time, celebrated our anniversary! The family that hosted the luau was wonderful and we were impressed with every aspect of the luau. If you are staying on Waikiki beach, be prepared for an hour drive to get there. We didn’t account for that length of time so we didn’t get to appreciate the hiking available beforehand.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love the show!

Reviewed by: Wong, 2022/09/01

The host was funny and great knowledge about his own culture and traditions. It’s our first time so I wouldn’t be able to compare with other Luau. The show was about the different Polynesian cultures dance so just not only about the fire dance that gets everyone excited. It shows you the dance and the cultures. The Waimea fall is not flowing right now secondary the drought, ( last time occurred in 1992) so my family was little disappointed that couldn’t see the fall and swim in the pond. Look at bright side, this doesn’t happen all the time and I got to see a waterfall without water. Wished there was some warning ahead and I would have planned differently. Otherwise it was still a nice trail for family to walk.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time with the family!

Reviewed by: Alondra C, 2022/08/27

My whole family loved this luau! The fact that it also includes entry to the park is a steal; it's beautiful! Our host was very funny and personable. I loved that they have cultural activities like showing the people attending the luau how to open coconuts, and weave leaves into a headband. The food was good, and the host was giving special shoutouts to people who were celebrating things like anniversaries, graduations, etc. The people who were doing the dances did great! Even my sister that's 3 years old was super entertained. You really get a family feel at this luau; shoutout to the 9-year old kid who was doing some fire dancing as well! It was awesome and I definitely prefer giving my money here than some random resort doing shows. The vibe is 10/10!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!

Reviewed by: Mary, 2022/08/25

LOVED our experience. Everything was amazing! Due to no rainfall/drought the waterfall wasn’t flowing but the views were still Beautiful!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Hawaii "must do"!

Reviewed by: Stan C, 2022/07/30

A cultural and historical event that any and every visitor to Hawaii should experience at least once. Not only is it a smooth operating show, but they did an outstanding job of explaining the historical reasoning behind everything.

The food was great and the hospitality was first class. Their location on the north side of the island was amazing and a counterpoint to the the South side. There's also the added benefit of being just down the road from famous Sunset Beach!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great Luau

Reviewed by: Jody, 2022/06/05

The Luau was perfect from beginning to end. It was organized and the staff was very friendly. Was great to see the dancers were also the greeters, wait staff and doing the demonstrations as well. The Host was very entertaining. Loved how friendly everyone was. The food was wonderful. Would definitely recommend as the Luau to attend.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing !!

Reviewed by: Layonna I , 2022/05/06

Such an amazing experience if you come to Hawaii you have to go to Toa luau ! They really treat you like family, and the dancing and the story telling about the Polynesian culture is just a amazing beautiful experience. Me and my friends had such a great time !

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Jay, 2022/04/23

Went here for vacation, from the time you entered to the time they left they treated you like family. The dinner was great and so was the show!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo! You are family! ^_^ The reason why you felt it is because from when you came in you have let us in your hearts, and we are very thankful to you for it. We couldn't be any more grateful to you for that, and we sincerely hope to see you again! Much love, your Toa Luau cousins ^_^

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mahalo Toa LUAU!

Reviewed by: Jessica , 2022/04/13

This was one of our best experiences in Hawaii. Staff of Toa LUAU were genuinely welcoming, nice people. Food was over my expectations and the performance was just amazing. Would recommend this to anyone visiting Oahu!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Jessica, mahalo plenty for your review! we are more than happy to have been a part of your Hawaii experience, and we are happy to have been able to give you the best, from the food, to the service, and the activities. We hope to see you again when you're back in the island! :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Luau Experience!

Reviewed by: Valerie, 2022/03/18

This luau is an absolute MUST! Everyone was so welcoming and put on the best show! You have a chance to learn about Hawaiian culture and the comedy intertwined into the performances kept us rolling with laughter. The whole family helps with the performance and you can absolutely tell that they love what they do. It was the most fun that we had here in Hawaii! The food was delicious, as well! Highly recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and mahalo to you! to say we are an "absolute must" is indeed heart-warming. Please be assured that we will keep your kind words to heart to be able to always be at our best during the luau - we are sooo thrilled to have had you as a guest and we are hoping to see you again when you're back. We couldn't be any more thankful to you for your review. Mahalo, we really really hope to see you again! ^__^

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome luau, beautiful falls hike

Reviewed by: Michelle B, 2022/02/27

This luau was our first one but far superior to another one we did later in our trip. The food was great, the scenery gorgeous, and the performers were talented and entertaining. The MC Cousin Billy was truly funny and informative. We had a blast! The next day we did the hike to Waimea Falls and that was excellent as well. I could have floated in the waterfall all day. We spent part of each North Shore day at the Waimea Falls complex and I highly recommend it.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Michelle, and mahalo for your review! We are delighted to know you had a great time at the luau and we are so glad too that you were able to come back to Waimea Valley to tour the waterfalls and the botanical garden. Unfortunately, it's not something that everybody gets to do. I'm just so glad you made it. :-) Mahalo for your kind review really; it's something that we take joy from, knowing that what we have set out to do is meeting expectations, and we intend to keep it that way. We hope to see you again - come see us when you're back in the island. Until then, may God bless you and yours :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Cindy Coronado , 2022/02/27

This luau is the best! We were staying at the Hilton Hawaiian Village and saw the luau they had from our room. Toa Luau is 100times better that that one! I especially appreciated the intimate and gorgeous setting! The activities they had engaged my 5 and 2 year olds… and had them attentive the whole night! The intimate setting and the care and pride they take in their heritage shows up in the way they do it all! It was personable, intimate, and the wittiest host, Cousin CeCe! I am beyond words for this beautiful experience! Mahalo!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Cindy, and mahalo for the time you spent with us at the luau! We thank you for choosing us over other luaus, and we are delighted to see too that in the pics you sent us we see nothing but joy in everyone's faces including the kids. Mahalo! we hope to see you guys at the luau again :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

super fun MUST do experience

Reviewed by: rich crumley, 2022/01/03

Thank you for the great evening!!! Our family enjoyed everything and even learned a little Polynesian tradition and history - Thanks!!!!!!!!!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and mahalo for your review Rich! We are glad the whole family enjoyed at the luau. We hope to see you soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau on the Island. Not just a show, a real family experience.

Reviewed by: Michael B, 2021/11/22

Easily the best Luau on the island. Real hands on experience for the whole family.
This was certainly the highlight of our week in Hawaii. We stayed at the Hilton Lagoon Resort in Waikiki. Our condo overlooked their Luau which we watched twice from our balcony. I can only describe their Luau as trip to McDonald's. It was big and all but was certainly nothing special and nothing personal. They seat about 400 people with most tables seated far away from the stage. Compare that to our experience at Toa Luau and it was like fine dining as compared to a trip to McDonalds. Toa opens up with hands on experiences for everyone. While the guests do not get to climb a coconut tree they do show how it has been for hundreds of years. Guests are given the opportunity to peel off the husks, crack a coconut, and shred the meat. The above ground cooking oven was quite interesting. From there we started with the stage show and took a tour of the Pacific Islands. This is the Luau you want to attend, you will not be disappointed.

  • The after Luau Pic.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and mahalo for the good review Michael! We are glad to hear that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed the food we prepared for you guys. We would love to see you again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Experience

Reviewed by: Kara, 2021/11/07

This luau was super great and family oriented. The whole staff puts so much effort into a great show! As well it is so awesome to get a free pass to Waimea falls, great purchase for your buck!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and mahalo Kara for the great review and 5-star rating. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the luau and had a great experience at Waimea falls. We would love to see you guys again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tao Luau

Reviewed by: Lee, 2021/10/06

Tao Luau is the best outstanding food. Staff are friendly and welcoming

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lee and mahalo for giving us a great review! Glad to know you enjoyed the food we prepared for you and also enjoyed our company. We certainly hope to see you again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So welcoming

Reviewed by: Mr & Mrs Niles, 2021/09/10

Amazing hospitality!!! What a wonderful family that just wants to serve. Loved every minute of the dancing and music. Food was delicious and authentic. Thank you for having us.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and mahalo Mr. and Mrs. Niles for giving us a great review! We are happy to hear that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed every bit of the luau. Good to know you enjoyed the food we prepared for you, hope we'd see you guys soon and enjoy the dancing, music, and performances again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our trip!

Reviewed by: Joni, 2021/08/27

What a great intimate Polynesian experience! The luau was the highlight of our trip. Our host, Bill, was awesome, as well as Chris, who shared how they cook and serve their traditional meals. Beautiful and exciting dancing. The food was delicious. We really felt the Ohana spirit! Highly recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Joni and mahalo for giving us a great review. We are happy to know that our luau was the highlight of your trip. Bill, Chris, and everyone at Toa Luau would love to see you guys again soon and enjoy the food and performances the second time around. God Bless!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Toa Luau

Reviewed by: Jeannette , 2021/07/17

The Luau was amazing. The surroundings were beautiful. Highly recommend.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo Jeannette for giving us a great review and rating. We are glad you had a great time with us at the luau and enjoyed Waimea Valley. Hope to see you guys again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing!! A MUST DO!!!

Reviewed by: Monique , 2021/06/08

I can not recommend this enough!! If you are on Oahu it is worth the trip to Waimea Valley. This was my family & I's absolute favorite thing we did in Hawaii! It was incredibly personable, authentic, and overall an amazing luau. They were all very nice and made a point to come to every table and talk with all of the guests. They even went above and beyond by helping the table next to us and walking their baby around in the stroller so that they could eat their dinner. Everyone was in awe at how amazing the crew made this experience for everyone. They were truly enjoying teaching everyone about the Polynesian culture from the Polynesian Islands, and it made the experience that much better. Can not recommend enough! GO GO GO!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and mahalo Monique for this review! We are so thankful and glad to hear that you had a great time with us and enjoyed the luau, we want to make you feel welcomed and well accommodated and get the chance to enjoy every bit of the luau. We appreciate you guys for coming and hoping we'd see you guys again soon if you ever get to visit the island again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely loved it!

Reviewed by: Lisa P, 2021/05/01

Beautiful hike to a Waimea Falls. The botanical gardens were beautiful and.full of history too. Easy hike for my kids Got to swim in the lagoon under the falls at the top. I love that they provided life jackets. Once we came down and changed it was off to the luau. We had a great time participating in some of the cultural activities and learning the Polynesian history and culture. Dancing was amazing and food phenomenal. My family really enjoyed it -especially my 11 year old and 15 year old. Highly recommend!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, and mahalo for your review! We are especially delighted to know your children had fun at the luau, and we really hope to see you again when you're back in Oahu. God bless you and yours!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN

Reviewed by: eniigotcha@yahoo.com, 2021/05/01

fun interactive luau experience. cousin Billy was the funniest ever, we enjoyed our first luau with very friendly staff and night full of culture experiences.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and mahalo for your review! We'll be sure to tell Cousin Billy you left him a review - we find him to be engaging and hilarious too! ^_^

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Going back!

Reviewed by: Heidi, 2021/04/03

We were initially skeptical of going to any Luau after a previous experience we had on Maui. We were concerned it would feel like a crowded dinner show instead of an authentic experience. We live on Oahu and had guests who really wanted to go. Tao Luau appealed to us because Waimea Falls is a beautiful setting away from resorts, and it has way less occupancy for the event then the others (200 compared to up to 800!). We were pleasantly surprised at the warm welcome, hands on experience, delicious dinner, and stunning show. We have visitors coming in a week, and more in the summer, and have already booked for two more times!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Heidi, and mahalo for your review! We are pleased to know you had a great experience at the luau, which was initially not what you thought it was. We are glad we have changed your mind about activities like ours. We have planned everything about the luau having one goal - make it a great experience for everybody. Come see us again when you can :-) Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing, authentic experience!

Reviewed by: erkerk10, 2021/01/05

I lived on Oahu, and have attended many of the popular, industrial, Luaus on the island. Due to Covid, most were closed, so we went with Waimea Valley Toa Luau. I can say it was by far the most intermate, and authentic luau I've ever been to. The "cheaper" tickets still have a great, elevated view. The members/staff/performers are all family and the demonstrations they have are authentic to their history. With the admission to Waimea valley included, you can easily make an entire day of exploring the valley and concluding with the Luau. It truly felt like a family cookout (which is the true spirit of a luau) and not an assembly line of people and mediocre food (as most other industrial luaus are). Homemade coco drink, and no less than 5 fire throwers at once, put Waimea Valley Toa Luau over the top for me. Also, not a coconut bra in sight...

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and mahalo for your review! We are very glad to know you had a marvelous time at the luau! We hope to see you again ^_^

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best, authentic Luau!

Reviewed by: Brian & Jen, 2019/11/10

Very interactive - they do a wonderful job of showing you how things were done back then. You get to help cook some foods (I wish we could have eaten) and get a good look at how they lived! Cousin Billy was funny and very informative, even during our ride from Waikiki to Waimea Valley. The food and drinks did not disappoint either! After dinner the entertainment is second to none - they put on one heck of a show!

We booked VIP and loved sitting up close, but there is not a bad seat in the pavilion.

Our only complaint is that the Toa Luau ruined our other Luau. We attended Toa on Monday and then went to Diamond Head Luau on Thursday and it wasn't even close!!!

Thank you Toa Luau for one of our most memorable experiences while in Hawaii!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Jen, and mahalo for your review. We are so glad to hear that you had fun at the luau, but at the same time very sorry for ruining your other luau. LOL Your Toa Luau Ohana though wishes that you come see us again when you're back to visit. Again, thank you very much, and see you again, hopefully soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/09/05

We had a wonderful time! Not the typical luau where you basically eat, then watch a show. It’s very interactive, we are able to do things. Staff were so friendly and it really felt like a big family celebration. Highly recommended! Plus the free admission to the fall was breathtaking

  • The gathering

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the wonderful review! We at Toa Luau are doing our very best to make sure the experience is fun and memorable, and we are glad to have been able to share this with you! Your Toa Luau ohana wishes to see you again on your next visit. :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day out for whole family.

Reviewed by: Tim, 2019/07/18

Entertaining evening enjoyed by whole family. Plus bonus swim in waterfall during the day. Hard to beat.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Tim, and mahalo nui for your review. I'm glad that you had the chance to swim in the falls too. We hope to see you again when you come back to visit the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Luau with perks

Reviewed by: cawesome , 2019/07/09

The luau itself was amazing. My family and I enjoyed participating in the pre show activities while learning about true polynesian culture and traditions. It's a smaller luau with only about 200 guests but with the smaller number of patrons you really get to interact and learn from everyone involved.
The host for the activities, Uncle Bob, has a great sense of humor as do the men that do the "cooking" and food prep demonstrations. These men are no joke, they even climbed up the coconut trees. They teach you about a traditional tribe welcoming and uses the guests to act as the tribes while explaining the rituals associated with welcoming guests to their community.
Not a huge selection of foods to sample but everything there was delicious. Kalua pork, teriyaki chicken, macaroni salad, green salad with macadamia nuts, rice, rolls, chantilly cake from Teds Bakery and a coconut type of jello dessert.
The family band that played music during dinner was Amazing. Those kids can really sing! The dancing was very traditional, not just girls in coconut bras and hula skirts, but real polynesian dancing showcasing dances from a variety of the polynesian islands. I was a VIP guest and we were right at eye level with the stage but it looked like most people would have quite a good view of the stage. We also got to go to the buffet first and got great souvenirs. My husband and I got hand fans, my son got a wooden Maui-type hook necklace and my daughter got a wood beaded bracelet that said Hawaii with hibiscus flowers printed on it. After dinner and show on your way out you were able to speak more with the staff and dancers and take pictures with them.
If it was your birthday we all sang happy birthday and you got an extra piece of cake, if it was your anniversary or honeymoon they brought you onstage for a slow dance and gave you a nut lei.
All this plus you get entry into the Waimea valley where you can swim in a waterfall and see beautiful trees and foliage!

  • Fire dancers

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, and mahalo mui for your review. We are review. We are pleased to know that you had the best time at the luau. It is with delight that we read your review of your luau, which we have planned to be an Interactive one. I by the way also hope the band played and sang Blue Bayou. That song, sang by an of the kids is a real tear jerker.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories