Kualoa Ranch Movie Tour - Visit Hawaii TV & Hollywood Movie Sites [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Kualoa Ranch Movie Tour - Visit Hawaii TV & Hollywood Movie Sites [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.65 4.65 / 5

Reviews

23 reviews
Post a review

Lani was just OUTSTANDING!!! She made the whole movie tour so enjoyable...

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2021/07/23

The tour was so much fun and Lani, our bus driver was awesome. She bragged several times about her imaginary husband..(The rock).. ;)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch movie tour

Reviewed by: Honey, 2021/07/22

Not that perfect but its an experience thing especially the bones ....no thinking made of styrofoam, its cool though... talking about history kind of sleepy .
We holoholo going the place but coming back to waikiki we have to go on bus...memorable ..mmm one time only.........................
So windy place llbreath taking........
Thanks to the tour guide...........................
Shes good...........
She did her best....................................
She needs to be given a tip by the big group....

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth it!

Reviewed by: Angie, 2021/07/20

I had an amazing time! I would love to do it again !

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hollywood movies sites tour leaves much to be desired

Reviewed by: MCD, 2021/07/13

The movie tour was just underwhelming. I expected from the pictures to have more interaction with the sets, particularly for jurassic park for which a picture is prominently posted next the movie site tour online and even in the review panel. In reality they used the movie tour to try and up sell you to go on other tours where you can do what was in their pictures. Even if this were ok its a mute point as the up sold tours were not available even if you wanted to go on them. Really disappointed and feel a bit lied to. Beautiful location, otherwise i missed everything i actually wanted and expected to see.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Alicia, 2021/07/11

Our Driver/guide Leilani was the best. She was really funny which made our tour so much fun and enjoyable! This ranch had the most beautiful view of the valley, war remnants and its a movie and TV set.
Our guide really made it fun and funny touring us around. She was the best and we highly recommend her. What a memorable time we had here at the Kualoa Ranch!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had so much fun! Very tour guide was informative.

Reviewed by: Annette, 2021/07/11

We had a great time touring the Ranch. The tour guide was fun and informative. It was a great day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ranch tour

Reviewed by: Jovita, 2021/07/10

Awesome tour, enjoy the person that gave the tour he was very interesting and knowledgeable Would love to come back and do another tour

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and interesting.

Reviewed by: Alex, 2021/07/08

This activity was fun and interesting. The tour guide was very informative and all the stuff you see if very cool if you are into movies. This was my second time doing it and it was fun each time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great opportunity for beautiful scenery and learning

Reviewed by: R Winkler, 2021/06/30

This tour was fantastic. I had no idea Hawaii was used as the backdrop for so many movies and TV shows. Kimo was our tour guide and he was fantastic; very funny and informative. The scenery was fantastic: beautiful mountains and beautiful ocean views all in one place. My 15-year-old sons thought it was an amazing day. Couple of things for future visitors to know: 1) cell service is intermittent. Your phone searches when the signal is dropped and this eats up battery life. Bring a power pack with you just in case or a charger (this is especially important for item 2. 2) if you use Lyft or Uber to get out to the Ranch from Waikiki, try to arrange for pick up for the return ahead of time. Uber is nearly twice as expensive as Lyft. There is one Lyft driver, Jane, that picked us up. She actually lives in the area. Otherwise, you will be waiting for a while. So, save some phone battery for the driver search/wait.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour!

Reviewed by: Jennifer, 2021/06/07

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Lani our guide was very informative and personable. Highly recommend this tour to anyone who enjoys movies. The scenery is spectacular!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime experience!

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2021/05/11

Great to see for beautiful landscaping and scenery! Perfect set for movies like Jurassic Park! If you’re in Oahu, don’t miss it! The tour guide had a lot of information to share. And having our pictures taken was a good idea!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Movie tour

Reviewed by: AZ Family Trip. , 2021/05/10

Excellent Tour Guy. So much information, He was was so great Sharing all the info.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best sticking to the movies to see the sights

Reviewed by: KRS, 2021/04/09

Tour moves pretty fast and you're on this school bus. (Hope you're on the right side otherwise you won't get a good view of half of the things)

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was an amazing day, on a great tour, wonderful site! Somewhat relieved our stress and anxieties during this pandemic.

Reviewed by: Ms.Ems, 2020/10/21

My kids have been anticipating getting out after a couple of lockdowns in Hawaii due to COVID-19. Saturday morning, while their Dad was off for work, we decided to visit Kualoa Ranch. After reading more of their implementation of COVID-19 safety protocol, we felt safe and confident to take one of their tours, so we decided to book their Movie Sites Tour. I also love the fact that HawaiiActivities.com never fails to provide most up-to-date information which is how we found this to be available on that same day.
Upon entering the premises at Kualoa Ranch, numerous signs were displayed to remind guests and staff about wearing their masks, washing hands/ hand sanitizing, and practice social distancing. At the entrance, they checked our temperature and collected our information (first & last name for each of my party members, an email address, and a phone number for contact tracing. Staff & employees, including our tour guide, were wearing face masks. They also installed Plexiglas in every counter (information desks, check-in, ticket desks).
When we got through the gift shop, and the restaurant, hand sanitizers & disinfecting spray/ wipes were also readily available in many areas. We felt safe.
With everything that has been happening around us, it was a wonderful feeling to be out and explore again. We enjoyed our visit, and the Movie Sites Tour was fun! My son (8-year-old) really loved it and have been asking to go back and do horseback riding. My teenagers said they learned a lot! The tour guide was funny and informative, made us laugh throughout the tour! He has great sense of humor; he even brought a dinosaur toy with him for our photo taking at Jurassic Park and I loved how the photo came out!
It was a great day! We were there as a family 10 years ago and we will visit again in the future.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch Movie Tour, Oahu.

Reviewed by: John & Phyllis, 2020/03/28

The guide was fantastic, She was very informative and engaging. The bus tour and lay out of all the sites were very good. Well worth your time and money. The lunch buffet was very good. Souvenir shop was not over priced and a lot of memories to take home. Friendly and helpful staff. We will go again next year as we are already booked to return to your beautiful island home.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time at the ranch!

Reviewed by: Michael, 2020/02/11

Kualoa Ranch is beautiful and probably my favorite place on Oahu. There is so much to do there! This is a bus tour that offers an awesome experience driving through the heart of the ranch and listening to the guides commentary about the different movies that were filmed there. The bus makes multiple stops along the way so you can get out, walk around, and take pictures as you please. Overall good tour. The guide was very knowledgable and made it fun. Looking for something to do on Oahu, check out Kualoa!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun

Reviewed by: Mary, 2020/02/03

Our guide Lani was very fun and knowledgeable. She has worked there food 28yrs. We were able to see a lot of areas where films as TV shows were shot. We highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love it!

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2019/02/25

I went to one of the many Adventures at Kualoa Ranch with my grandson. I took him to the Hollywood Movie Site Tour and we love it! My grandson is 5 years old and he loves dinosaurs and was so excited to see the Jurassic Park movie site, and believe it or not he was so excited to see the sign that appears on the movie. Also, all that bones and of course the dinosaurs. He was so happy!!!
For me was much more then I expected, everything was so beautiful and the lady who was guiding us, I think her name is Fono, wow ... she was awesome!
Everything was so beautiful and we enjoyed it a lot! I highly recommend it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The VIP Tour given by George was FANTASTIC.

Reviewed by: Ken, 2018/02/25

The tour was great, George our tour guide provided an up close and personal look at the behind the scene props and WWII History of the Ranch. It was fun to see and stand next to some of the Jurassic Park sets which were used during the actual filming. Afternoon cruise was OK, but it would have been better if it sailed out to some of the sights highlighted like the Chinese Hat and the Island where Gilligan's Island was filmed. Food at their Buffet was very good and plentiful. All was well worth the money paid and I would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour for movie buffs

Reviewed by: BRW, 2018/01/13

This was a terrific tour well worth the cost. We were driven around the Kualoa Ranch in a comfortable Mercedes van for 2 and 1/2 hours by a guide who had great information, and we were shown filming sites from our favorite movies and TV shows. We were able to enter a site still standing from Jurassic World, and take pictures by the log from Jurassic Park where Sam Neill and the kids hid during the dinosaur stampede. We were able to walk around the bone yard from Kong:Skull Island and see locations from the new Jumanji film which opened and we saw in Honolulu 2 days later. We walked around a fish pond that was used in many movies and we were taken to a a WWII bunker on the side of a mountain that had a lot of movie memorabilia including the submarine from Lost. We were even given popcorn, candy and cold water to enjoy on the trip. We had a wonderful time and have many terrific pictures.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Premier movie tour

Reviewed by: David, 2017/09/22

If you only do one thing here do the premier movie tour.. The afternoon cruise was a nice way to finish the visit

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!

Reviewed by: Lisa Fatouros , 2017/06/01

Was a great tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and was very entertaining. Well worth the money. Definitely recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day out

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2017/03/28

this was a great day with plenty of variety. The guide we had was able to continue (seemingly without drawing breath) with an informative and entertaining history of the site. At the same time driving safely and ensuring that we didn't miss a thing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories