Blue Ocean Waikiki Bottom Fishing Cruise reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Blue Ocean Waikiki Bottom Fishing Cruise

Overall Rating

3.75 3.75 / 5

Reviews

8 reviews
Post a review

Fun morning

Reviewed by: Jenica, 2021/11/05

This is a nice quick activity for people interested in finishing whether your new or experienced. This can get real tippy on the waves so make sure you have anti-nausea just incase.

The small crew is great, fun and friendly, they're helpful and supportive.
We're used to some medium fish from rivers and lakes mainland, so these fish seemed small, but it was still fun fighting with some on the line, that's always the fun part.
However the water is so clear it's such a different experience.
They will teach you how not to get your weight stuck and how to get it out if you do, if not, they'll help you.

While moving from fishing spot to spot, we had dolphins swim along side our boat and saw a few turtles breach!!
Would love to see if there are bigger fish to catch depending on season but overall was fun, don't expect to be catching massive ocean fish though.


I do not recommend this for kids who either have not fished or are not interested in it before hand. It's fishing, there's a lot of waiting and patience involved, and most kids if they havnt fished before and know it's a waiting game, like on our tour will get bored within 10 minutes of holding a line and will either annoy the other guests or just simply won't enjoy it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good for the fishing experience.

Reviewed by: Jenn , 2021/08/09

Went on this fishing excursion on Saturday morning Aug 7, 2021. Boat was clean, poles were ready and all in working order, staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Maybe 5 fish were caught the entire trip out of everyone on board. On the way back one of the crew members said ‘I wouldn’t keep anything I caught here because it’s ‘dirty’ water’. If you’re looking for a fishing experience this is great as it’s just the right amount of time on the water and is family friendly. If you want to catch fish then this is not for you. My 12 year old had a good time so that’s all that matters.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Okay experience

Reviewed by: Anonymous , 2021/07/30

The 3 hour Fishing trip was just enough time in the water. It was an ok experience

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mr

Reviewed by: Mao, 2019/03/29

Good trip and having funs, beautiful views and the water was so clear that you can see the bottom

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun trip

Reviewed by: S. Crawford, 2018/05/26

Good time had by all. Fun Supportive and Helpful Crew

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing trip

Reviewed by: Ty Frazier, 2016/04/26

I guess we might have been to spoiled back at home! Our trip time was supposed to be at 8:00am. We got there on time, and for some reason I guess captain didn't show up? They asked if we could come back for the mid day or night cruise. So we agreed to come back for the night cruise. We had to reschedule our whole day. We were told that we would be picked up at 4:30pm at our hotel. We got a call around 3:45pm and asked where we were at and if we could met early. We were out and about and we're not planning on being back until 4:30pm. So I asked if we could just meet at our original time, and he said yes but we had to meet him at a different hotel. So we show up and he was late so I had to call him to get an email. Not to mention that our hotel was only 5 blocks away. So we get to the boat and the trip was ok. Still don't think that the captain showed up, but a young lady drove that we were never introduced to. Had to continually ask for bait. The fish that we caught was eaten before us by the crew and we were offered the leftovers. Also I left to get money from the atm for a tip the first time when the captain did not show, though my girlfriend was comfortable as a crew member grilled her like we made our reservationsite the night before, but I had made them 3 days before. So in a conversation she was having with the crew members while I was gone he told her how he had did time in prison?????? She was really uncomfortable!!! But they already had our money so we had to go. I the only reason I am writing this review is they said it would buy2 get 1 free if you write a review. But we made the best out of a horrible trip. MAHALO!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time fishing

Reviewed by: Hafaloha, 2016/03/28

We were looking for something the kids can do in Waikiki and found this fishing activity online. It is conveiniently
located right at the entrance of the Ala Wai Harbor and three hours out in the ocean was just enough for the kids to try their first
fishing experience-not too short and not too long. The crew member was friendly in assisting us when our rod got stuck and he said that its all about making the squid bait look delicious but
no luck! The person behind us was lucky and caught three fishes but because they were small they got released back into the ocean.
The big green sea turtle and the dolphin pod we saw on our way back to the harbor lifted our spirits at the end of the trip. We will definitely try again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Caught a fish!

Reviewed by: George from Denver , 2016/03/26

I've never been to a fishing cruise so this was a great excursion for a first timer like myself. The boat actually departed from right behind the Hilton Waikiki Hotel where we stayed, so we could just walk over to the check-in. The crew was super friendly and helpful. It did take a few tries to get a hang of it, and the fish kept taking our bait. After my 4th or 5th try, I caught my first fish! They did change the fishing spot a few times and one of the passengers got an edible fish so they cooked it right there and served everyone. Highly recommended for the entire family!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories