This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano Helicopter Flight & Hilo Adventure

Overall Rating

4.434.43 / 5

Reviews

23 reviews (Post a review)

Hilo tour

Reviewed by: Kazkiwinicbags, 2018/07/09

Amazing tour!! Kory was a great pilot! Captain rob was an awesome tour guide!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An awesome tour!

Reviewed by: Pam, 2018/05/09

Unfortunately, the helicopter tour was canceled due to inclement weather. We were refunded that portion of our tour without even having to contact the booking agency. Captain Rob was a wonderful and informative tour guide. He went above and beyond to make our tour enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rainy wet day

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2018/03/21

Unfortunately, the rain and fog prevented us from having the helicopter tour which is what we were most looking forward to. We had a fantastic tour guide and had a marvelous time at the orchid gardens. But with the weather, and being as this was an outdoor tour, it was disappointing and very wet.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

bad weather, canceled helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Tiwi, 2018/02/23

it could be better, but bad weather caused out helicopter tour be canceled. but the tour provider directly pick us and put us on the land tour. our tour leader and driver, John, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. he share us alot of things about big island. he is indeed a great driver too!


  • nice view

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Day Trip to Kona

Reviewed by: TravelNut, 2018/01/22

We wanted to save time but not transfer hotels so we booked a day trip to Kona from Oahu. It was an excellent overall experience. We were picked up on time but I'm not sure why it was so early because we waited a couple hours before the flight. Unfortunately, after boarding we had to board another plane due to mechanical problems. This made us too late to keep the 9 am helicopter appointment. We were able to rebook for 3:30 but this meant that we missed the last part of the land tour. The lunch was nice and we didn't mind missing the hike into the back country. Our driver was okay but a little irritable. The helicopter tour was exciting and gave us an entirely different perspective of the island. Once back at the airport we had to wait more than 2 hours for the flight. Not sure why these day trips are set up this way. It makes for a longer day than should be necessary.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Gonzo, 2017/12/18

The entire tour was incredible. We saw the active volcano with lava spewing out during the flight. The bus tour guide had lots of interesting stories. One person in our group was on a wheelchair and she enjoyed the entire tour as well. Highly recommended.


  • Active volcano with lava

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Joseph Commorato , 2017/09/28

Don't miss the helicopter tour, its something you will never forget

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good day

Reviewed by: Natalie , 2017/09/10

Was a little disappointing to have helicopter tour cancelled but that was due to bad weather.
I wouldn't have booked this tour without the helicopter part.
The first part of morning was spent going from Macadamia shop and orchid shop which really didn't interest me.
However the second part of the day was very enjoyable - going through national park.

Overall it was an enjoyable day though it was a very long day and probably could have been an hour or two shorter

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Was good

Reviewed by: Natalie , 2017/09/09

Was disappointing that helicopter tour was cancelled but that was due to bad weather - so not much you can do. Probay wouldn't have booked tour without the helicopter part. The first part of island tour was a bit commercial so you can spend money at the macadamia shop and orchid shop. However the second part was very interesting - going through the national park and seeing the damage the volcano has caused.
It's a very long day and probably could have been an hour or two shorter. Despite the initial disappointment was still a fun day though probably wouldn't go back to this island again

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour, loads to see, well organised

Reviewed by: Sally Robinson, 2017/08/31

Early pickup in Waikiki and flight to Hilo on The Big Island. Well organised with your group being led easily through the whole day. Exciting helicopter flight over the lava and craters and plenty of info given throughout. Coach tour for rest of day to see the National Volcano Museum, plenty of stops at different sites including the walk through the old lava tube, walking on old lava, seeing craters and steam vents. Also stopped at macadamia nut factory and fuschia gardens. It's a long day but well worth it. We were picked up at 4.30am and didn't get back to Waikiki until 8.30pm.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Long day but nice day.

Reviewed by: Amanda, 2017/08/09

I really loved the helicopter tour over Kilauea! The staff at blue Hawaiian were really helpful and our pilot Jeremy was really lovely. The flight went really quickly as there was just so much to see, we even got to see some lava in a crater. It's definitely not big pools of flowing lava on the surface but that would depend on your luck and Mother Nature. Loved it all the same. I found the coach part of this tour a bit too long, as did everyone on the tour. Honestly if it was 2hrs shorter it would have been more enjoyable.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

VOLCANO HELICOPTER TOUR

Reviewed by: Matthieu Boinel, 2017/07/24

Nice day & nice organization from VELTRA on that one.
Good comments & knowledge, full day spent on the big island, nice spots and nice knowledge overall.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter trip

Reviewed by: Greg&AnnetteRob&Jean, 2017/07/03

Amazing day...a long day! But worth every hour we were up! Would thoroughly recommend! Our tour guide was super knowledgeable with a great sense of humor.
And just a wee tip...we found it better to buy lunch once at the restaurant rather than pre book.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Time

Reviewed by: Matt, 2017/06/29

Had the best time doing this tour got to see so much of the island

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Katie & Ben, 2017/05/14

We had a blast! Beautiful views and the only way to really see the lava inside the volcano! I'm so glad we did the helicopter tour instead of the one without!








Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gorgeous

Reviewed by: Heather, 2017/04/18

The helicopter ride was amazing! Absolutely unbelievable and breathtaking. The motorcoach bus tour was a bit longer than we expected it to be plus you can only see so much volcanic rock in one sitting before you feel like you've seen it all. But the views were unforgettable. The guides for both the helicopter and bus tour were informative, knowledgeable and made the trip fun. I highly recommend it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome

Reviewed by: Jo and Russ, 2017/02/19

This company was everything they said. On time with an accurate description and follow through of the tour. Professional all the, from booking to the day of tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

check the weather first

Reviewed by: Pete J, 2017/01/31

Overall the tour was well organised and professional. However due to low visibility from low cloud and rain, the helicopter part of the tour was cancelled and refunded. Since the hotel pick up was 6am, we had already flown to the big island before that decision was made, therefore the package became just an expensive day trip bus ride. We would have preferred to cancel the whole trip if we had known the helicopter portion was not gonig ahead, althought that is the decison of the pilots.
The bus tour and guide was very good and knowleldgeable and could not fault what we did experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawai'i Helicopter Tour

Reviewed by: Erica , 2016/11/22

Absolutely amazing! Overall Tour was very well organized and the views breathtaking! Leroy our tour guide was the best!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu to big island, helicopter and sightseeing

Reviewed by: Jan B, 2016/08/30

Very well run tour. In and out of the airports very smoothly. Our helicopter pilot, Brant, was excellent and took us in quite close. Jane, the tour bus driver was terrific. Full of information and kept us all on time. Would certainly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Betsy & Gary, 2016/08/17

This was truly a bucket list experience! The helicopter ride was absolutely incredible, the view of waterfalls and the volcano just awesome! KUddos to our young female pilot.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best part of trip

Reviewed by: LeAnne, 2016/06/25

My husband decided we needed an excursion to the big Island to see the volcano. Did a helicopter tour and day trip. Everything was organized, convenient and no stress. Thank you.


  • Peering into the volcano

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Helicopter ride

Reviewed by: Norm, 2016/06/06

1st time riding a helicopter - a great experience. Everyone was professional and welcoming.
Enjoyed the ride immensely.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories