Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Oahu to Big Island - Volcano Helicopter Tour & Sightseeing Adventure

Overall Rating

4.67 4.67 / 5

Reviews

40 reviews
Post a review

Great Day

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/10/12

I wish the helicopter was first, as it gets cloudy later in the day which makes it harder to see what you are suppose to on the helicopter.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcanoes and Waterfalls!

Reviewed by: Yes to Hawaii, 2022/09/29

Great way to see a lot in 1 day! We flew over from Oahu to Big Island and spent the entire day learning about Volcanoes National Park. Akaka Falls was gorgeous too!

We did the land tour and helicopter combo. Unfortunately, the helicopter tour cancelled because of weather. We joined the rest of the group who was doing the land-only option and saw a few really cool spots including Liliuokalani Gardens and other parts of Hilo town. I wore comfortable shoes (running shoes) and am glad I did because we did quite a bit of walking.

  • Stunning waterfall

  • Beautiful walk

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So fun

Reviewed by: Logan, 2022/08/21

We had the very best time. I was a little nervous about the price but I would do it all over again.

Reply from activity provider

Glad you had an opportunity to enjoy our Island with us!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2022/07/02

Everything was amazing. The employees were knowledgeable and kind.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING!!!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/06/18

WHAT A DAY. Ground tour was awesome with stops both in Volcano Natl. Park and included stop at 450 ft. waterfall, famous beach, and local bakery. Guide on bus tour was very nice and knowledgeable of local areas, history, and culture. Company handled flights to and from Oahu, the helicopter ride, and pick up/drop off at airport. It made the whole day easy and breezy!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience All Round

Reviewed by: Ron Atkins, 2022/06/06

We took the Big Island 1 Day tour from Oahu, comprising a Big Island tour, finishing with a helicopter flight over the volcano plain. Really well conducted tour and spectacular sight of the volcanos and the surrounding areas.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

OH MY GOODNESS!!

Reviewed by: Denise, 2022/04/18

We traveled from Oahu to the Big Island and were ready for our adventure. We boarded our helicopter for our sightseeing adventure of the volcanoes. I was extremely lucky to be chosen to be in the co-pilot seat!! What an exciting ride. Our pilot was awesome. He was very informative and answered all our questions. This is the only way to see volcanoes, from the air. When our flight was over we were to be picked up by the tour bus and continue our day. Somehow we were overlooked and no bus picked us up. I called the company and they immediately sent someone to Glenn to pick us up. He fed us lunch and then took us to meet up with Dexter, our tour guide and we enjoyed a day of sightseeing. Even with that little oops, we were very pleased with the whole experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible tour!

Reviewed by: Marty, 2022/02/21

Incredible helicopter tour along with great bus tour of Volcano Natl Park and surrounding areas. Pilot was fantastic and funny. The ride felt very safe. We even got to see whales as a bonus! Ground tour was awesome with stops both in Volcano Natl. Park and included stop at 450 ft. waterfall, famous beach, and local bakery. Guide on bus tour was very nice and knowledgeable of local areas, history, and culture. Company handled flights to and from Oahu, the helicopter ride, and pick up/drop off at airport. Well worth the price.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing.

Reviewed by: NancyL, 2021/10/22

We had a amazing time. Our pilot was great and answered all of our question. The check in was easy and the employees were friendly and so nice. I would recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Patricia , 2021/10/11

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The helicopter ride, while a.little too short was great and the land part was filled with beautiful scenery, excellent history and storytelling and fun comraderie. We got to experience so much of The Big Island:s hidden treasures. Highly recommend this excursion and would definitely do it Again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good start for my vacation

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2019/12/30

First time riding in a helicopter, the ride was awesome. I did get to see a lot aerial coverage, especially recent destruction that occurred. Checking out the other destinations were ok, but the park was the real treat. True interaction with steam vents. Feeling the heat come from it is insanely hot; even walking a distance away from it and the wind picking up for a bit, my sunglasses fogged up.
This is an experience only you can take for yourself. The helicopter ride made the volcano national park that more interesting. I would do it again just for the helicopter ride.

  • Rainbow Falls

  • Black Sand Beach

  • Volcano National Park

  • Volcano National Park Sulfur

  • Volcano National Park Sulfur (With Filter)

  • Helicopter Ride

  • Helicopter Ride

  • Helicopter Ride

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wow

Reviewed by: Australian , 2019/12/11

unreal amazing views and places how close you get is unreal
a must do
been to Hawaii before and missed out doing this
this time booked before we left home
this is the most eye opening thing you will do in your life
will do again again again if I get the chance

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding service

Reviewed by: Karishma , 2019/12/07

Didn’t know what to expect at the beginning of the tour as it was a long one including a helicopter ride. But everything was just perfect! We were picked up from our hotel on time. Had a wonderful guide at Big Island. The helicopter ride was simply breathtaking they actually did it before time which gave us time for an extra ride of the city after it. Would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Brilliant fabulous planned day

Reviewed by: sam, 2019/12/04

This tour was amazing although a long day well worth it. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Treat yourself!

Reviewed by: Lynette, 2019/07/18

We had a fabulous day on this tour. You do need staying power as it starts early and ends late but it is worth it. The bus tour of the Volcano Park was interesting but it was the helicopter ride that made the day. The professionalism of the company chartered for our ride was outstanding and our pilot had everyone feeling safe, secure and excited for the whole flight. Flying over the volcanos was amazing, even without any red lava on our day.
The one thing that was missing from the day was a little bit of time to explore Hilo itself - it looked so interesting and non touristy that we would have loved half an hour there.
This is not a cheap day, but certainly a once in a
lifetime experience we won’t ever forget and worth every cent.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour for someone who wants to see the volcanoes.

Reviewed by: Ziad, 2019/04/11

The pilot flew the helicopter on top the volcano and turned around it. We were able to see deep inside it. Was a great experience!
Also saw a lot of hot gas from the volcanoes and walked on solidified lava. Great whole-day tour !

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big trip

Reviewed by: Jeanette, 2018/09/14

Over all was a great experience and great day just a little cramped on helicopter for a 6fter was the only complaint. All operators were informative and friendly .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo tour

Reviewed by: Kazkiwinicbags, 2018/07/09

Amazing tour!! Kory was a great pilot! Captain rob was an awesome tour guide!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An awesome tour!

Reviewed by: Pam, 2018/05/09

Unfortunately, the helicopter tour was canceled due to inclement weather. We were refunded that portion of our tour without even having to contact the booking agency. Captain Rob was a wonderful and informative tour guide. He went above and beyond to make our tour enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rainy wet day

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2018/03/21

Unfortunately, the rain and fog prevented us from having the helicopter tour which is what we were most looking forward to. We had a fantastic tour guide and had a marvelous time at the orchid gardens. But with the weather, and being as this was an outdoor tour, it was disappointing and very wet.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

bad weather, canceled helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Tiwi, 2018/02/23

it could be better, but bad weather caused out helicopter tour be canceled. but the tour provider directly pick us and put us on the land tour. our tour leader and driver, John, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. he share us alot of things about big island. he is indeed a great driver too!

  • nice view

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Day Trip to Kona

Reviewed by: TravelNut, 2018/01/22

We wanted to save time but not transfer hotels so we booked a day trip to Kona from Oahu. It was an excellent overall experience. We were picked up on time but I'm not sure why it was so early because we waited a couple hours before the flight. Unfortunately, after boarding we had to board another plane due to mechanical problems. This made us too late to keep the 9 am helicopter appointment. We were able to rebook for 3:30 but this meant that we missed the last part of the land tour. The lunch was nice and we didn't mind missing the hike into the back country. Our driver was okay but a little irritable. The helicopter tour was exciting and gave us an entirely different perspective of the island. Once back at the airport we had to wait more than 2 hours for the flight. Not sure why these day trips are set up this way. It makes for a longer day than should be necessary.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Gonzo, 2017/12/18

The entire tour was incredible. We saw the active volcano with lava spewing out during the flight. The bus tour guide had lots of interesting stories. One person in our group was on a wheelchair and she enjoyed the entire tour as well. Highly recommended.

  • Active volcano with lava

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Joseph Commorato , 2017/09/28

Don't miss the helicopter tour, its something you will never forget

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good day

Reviewed by: Natalie , 2017/09/10

Was a little disappointing to have helicopter tour cancelled but that was due to bad weather.
I wouldn't have booked this tour without the helicopter part.
The first part of morning was spent going from Macadamia shop and orchid shop which really didn't interest me.
However the second part of the day was very enjoyable - going through national park.

Overall it was an enjoyable day though it was a very long day and probably could have been an hour or two shorter

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Was good

Reviewed by: Natalie , 2017/09/09

Was disappointing that helicopter tour was cancelled but that was due to bad weather - so not much you can do. Probay wouldn't have booked tour without the helicopter part. The first part of island tour was a bit commercial so you can spend money at the macadamia shop and orchid shop. However the second part was very interesting - going through the national park and seeing the damage the volcano has caused.
It's a very long day and probably could have been an hour or two shorter. Despite the initial disappointment was still a fun day though probably wouldn't go back to this island again

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour, loads to see, well organised

Reviewed by: Sally Robinson, 2017/08/31

Early pickup in Waikiki and flight to Hilo on The Big Island. Well organised with your group being led easily through the whole day. Exciting helicopter flight over the lava and craters and plenty of info given throughout. Coach tour for rest of day to see the National Volcano Museum, plenty of stops at different sites including the walk through the old lava tube, walking on old lava, seeing craters and steam vents. Also stopped at macadamia nut factory and fuschia gardens. It's a long day but well worth it. We were picked up at 4.30am and didn't get back to Waikiki until 8.30pm.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Long day but nice day.

Reviewed by: Amanda, 2017/08/09

I really loved the helicopter tour over Kilauea! The staff at blue Hawaiian were really helpful and our pilot Jeremy was really lovely. The flight went really quickly as there was just so much to see, we even got to see some lava in a crater. It's definitely not big pools of flowing lava on the surface but that would depend on your luck and Mother Nature. Loved it all the same. I found the coach part of this tour a bit too long, as did everyone on the tour. Honestly if it was 2hrs shorter it would have been more enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

VOLCANO HELICOPTER TOUR

Reviewed by: Matthieu Boinel, 2017/07/24

Nice day & nice organization from VELTRA on that one.
Good comments & knowledge, full day spent on the big island, nice spots and nice knowledge overall.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter trip

Reviewed by: Greg&AnnetteRob&Jean, 2017/07/03

Amazing day...a long day! But worth every hour we were up! Would thoroughly recommend! Our tour guide was super knowledgeable with a great sense of humor.
And just a wee tip...we found it better to buy lunch once at the restaurant rather than pre book.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories