The Surf Bus - North Shore Beach, Water Activities & Turtle Tour reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

The Surf Bus - North Shore Beach, Water Activities & Turtle Tour

Overall Rating

4.61 4.61 / 5

Reviews

90 reviews
Post a review

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

Reviewed by: Alesia C, 2021/12/02

I had the best time!!! The staff was so friendly and nice and we even got a little special guitar performance on the way back to the island. The lunch was spectacular and if there are any leftovers, they will be given! But it is very filling! I can’t imagine what I’d do if I came to Hawaii and missed this tour! I wholeheartedly recommend this!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved this!!

Reviewed by: Awesome day!, 2021/10/02

Cousin G was awesome! We had a great day. The morning activity we chose snorkeling. Unfortunately for others, the falls were closing on Monday’s starting THAT day due to covid restrictions, so everyone had to do snorkeling. Had some food from shrimp truck, it was okay. We stopped at a macadamia nut and coffee tasting place, that was really cool. We did kayaking for our afternoon activity- not a lot of shade so definitely bring sunscreen or wear a long sleeve top, we roasted on the river. Then we stopped in town. Was a great day on the north shore, thanks again cousin g!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Tour

Reviewed by: Hannah McKinney, 2021/08/04

This was an amazing experience for our girls trip. If you are looking for fun activities that are self guided this is the tour for you. We did the snorkeling and paddle boarding both were extremely fun and we had plenty of time to do both. The price was great and included everything we needed. We got to see 2/3 of Oahu, which was beautiful. Our tour guide was Sam he was helpful and funny. Would recommend this tour/activity day to anyone!!

Reply from activity provider

We are very happy to hear that you had an amazing trip! And that Sam was helpful and funny! We hope to see you again on the surf bus, the original north shore tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surf bus on North Shore

Reviewed by: Civitastours.com, 2021/07/29

Cousin G was a wonderful driver and guide. He provided great local information and the activities were so fun that everyone was exhausted! This is a great addition to any first timer and well worth it!

Mahalo,

Civitas Tours

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Could be better

Reviewed by: Remy, 2021/07/01

First time taking the Surf Bus. Driver was on time. He was knowledgeable. Didn't like his attitude at first because he had a way of making you feel foolish but at the end, he turned out to be a nice guide. My family and I did the waterfall hike and kayaking. The waterfall hike was timed for three hours. It was a beautiful hike through Waimea Valley seeing tropical plants and birds. To my surprise, the waterfall was smaller than I thought. There were too many people swimming already and it was only 10am. My kids did not want to swim because of the amount of people in the water. Even after the hike, and the waterfall and even ate lunch at the cafe, three hours was too much. It could've been spent doing other activities. We went kayaking in the afternoon. My family enjoyed that even though we didn't see any turtles. We were disappointed that we couldn't walk to town and get shaved ice because the line was too long. All in all, my family had a decent time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had so much fun!

Reviewed by: Christy, 2021/06/12

This was so much fun! We got to see part of the island. I got to SUP for the first time. Learned a lot while on the bus. The driver was telling us about the scenery and where certain movies were filmed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The north shore surf bus.

Reviewed by: Roy Barnes, 2021/04/18

Kevin made the entire trip outstanding. He was funny, on time, very knowledgeable, even though I've been to north shore before, this was the first time I felt like it was not only fun but informative. He was very accommodating. I am telling my friends and family to put this on their list . Thanks Uncle Kevin!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/04/16
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful adventure

Reviewed by: Kellie, 2021/04/13

Sam was our tour guide and did a great job. It was the perfect balance between plenty to do and downtime. We did the falls and then paddle boarding up the river, where we saw sea turtles. The entire day was perfect. I would highly recommend it.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kellie, we're super stoked that you had a great time with Sam! He is truly a cool and informative tour guide! Mahalo and a Hui ho!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fina and amazing time!

Reviewed by: Denisse, 2020/12/17

Had a wonderful time w uncle Kevin!! He showed us a lot of places and haves the background story! Very knowledgeable and happy to share his experience and love for his Hawaiian culture.

  • Old train from Waimea

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Uncle kevin was the best!!!

Reviewed by: Kate , 2020/02/25

Uncle Kevin was truely an amazing bus driver/tour guide! Made the day feel as though you were a local :). Amazing commentary and local facts. A whole range of activities to choose from and by far was the best taking a surf lesson on the north shore!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kate, yes we are truly blessed to have uncle Kevin as part of our ohana! Hope to see you again on the Original North shore tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Better the first time

Reviewed by: Dassh, 2019/12/17

I had fun hiking to the waterfall and going swimming but the water was freeeezing!! I felt like the first time I did this activity we had a lot more time. I was able to snorkel, eat, stand up paddle and walk the town. This time I felt like going to the nut farm wasted a lot of time to do the activities. That part should be taken out and the time should go towards the actual activities. But all in all is was fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time again!

Reviewed by: Lisa H, 2019/07/26

This is our 2nd time on the surf bus. Cousin Kevin was great! He catered to all families. Gave us great info on what to look at and eat. I like this tour because I can relax and enjoy rather than driving and having to find parking, buy tickets, and do all the work that I usually have to do!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Creepy Uncle Kevin

Reviewed by: JJ and Che, 2019/05/17

We had a great tour with (creepy) Uncle Kevin today on the North Shore of Oahu! We've been touring all around the world and can seriously rank Uncle Kevin as one of the best tour guides. The Surf Bus has the right equipment, the right itinerary and an excellent attitude. The bus was on time at every stage and Kevin had good solid connections at every stage. He took the time to work with each group on tour to insure they had the right experience. Some of the stops had multiple options and he was able to call ahead to report those options to the vendor. Kevin recommended great food and knew how important this is to an all day tour. One unmistakable clue that Kevin really knows what he is doing is that he knew so many of the other folks involved with the tour on a personal level. He's a local. He knew all of the answers because he grew up here.

Great attention to detail makes for a great tour. Uncle Kevin obviously knows what he is doing and we look forward to going on another Oahu tour with him soon. Also, kudos to the bus company. They had the right equipment and marketing to make Kevin's expertise shine.

Thanks to my creepy uncle Kevin from Oahu. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Abigail, 2019/04/04

This was a great tour! The driver was very good & had a lot of knowledge about the island! We stopped at a Macadamia nut farm & we didn’t even know that it was a scheduled stop! It was pretty cool! We snorkeled & went kayaking as well! They were all exciting activities! You definitely don’t want to rush the experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Time

Reviewed by: Fatima , 2018/06/24

My daughters and I had a great time The tour bus picked us up on time . The tour guide /driver provided us a lot of information and history about the island, restaurants and all important sites we drive by . He was was funny too . He answered every ones questions.He allowed us enough time for breaks and photos. We had an amazing time at the Waterfall, my youngest had a foot surgery last year and she can’t walk too fast , we where having a great time swimming in the waterfall pool that we lost track of time . We had 15 minutes to make back to the bus , knowing my youngest can’t walk too fast or run my oldest said “ I’ll have him wait mom “ and took off running ( she runs track and cross country) . We had to be back by 12pm , we ( my youngest and I) made by 12:05 , My oldest daughter was happy the driver waited for us , we all were :). Then we drove to the snorkeling site , the tide was low and it was too rocky, I have never snorkel and I’m not a great swimmer, so we walked up to do some shopping and had a fresh coconut. We made our last stop at Haleiwa, the driver recommended some restaurants . The girls and I had a wonderful time , we ate and did some shopping. He was on time to pick us up . On the way back to the hotel we were tired and feel asleep. Overall we had a great time, we visited a few places and I didn’t have to drive through all that traffic I feel bad I forgot the drivers name , He was knowledgeable and I felt safe with him behind the wheel while the girls and I enjoy the activities and sites . The only reason I didn’t rate outstanding is because the snorkeling was not fun , the waves were too strong and the tide was too low , too rocky, but no one can really control that :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Explore the north shore without having to rent a car.

Reviewed by: Anon, 2018/05/05

Guide (Kevin) was very professional, informative and accommodating. This tour is a great way to explore the north shore area.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best way to the North Shore.

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2018/03/29

This is the tour for people who like to be on there own once they get there. This is broken into two parts morning activity and afternoon activity. You have a fully narrated ride over to the North Shore telling you virtually everything about the island. Also all landmarks are pointed out. You arrive get snacks if needed. You are then dropped off at your first activity. The falls etc. Pk up time is set you meet back at bus and your off to bike,kayak,shop or lunch or whatever. Your pk up time is set for your hassle free ride back to waikiki. All fully narrated back. Worth every penny. AC was our guide and knew everything about the island. Was the highlight of our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour was great! Weather was a downer

Reviewed by: Al Schroeder, 2018/03/02

AC was our guide for this tour and he was funny and full of information. The lunch at the waterfall was not the best and very limited. We heard from other people that the lunch at the burger place was very good. It started to rain right after lunch which cut short afternoon activities. AC took us to the Dole plantation to try to make up for the rain. AC really tried to make the day better for us.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Corinne, 2017/08/26

This tour was awesome! We had plenty of time to do the waterfall hike and swim in the morning, then a relaxing lunch hour, then AMAZING surfing lessons with Uncle Bryan's very capable instructors. Honestly one of the best experiences of my life!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Time but a little rushed

Reviewed by: Kim, 2017/08/05

This was a lot of fun but I think it would have been better if the bus would go to the waterfall and one beach place to allow more time to do activities. Our bus driver was informative but repeated himself alot which did get a little annoying at times.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really enjoyable tour to the North Shore

Reviewed by: Cmschwab, 2017/06/22

Picked this tour to the north shore due to the choice of activities and since it had pick up from Waikiki. Mike was our guide and informative. Snorkelled at Shark's cove then headed to Waimea Bay for some snorkelling and beach time. Then chose to paddle boarding down the river near Haleiwa instead of kayaking. Ended the tour at Haleiwa. Good tour for the time spent up north and activities you could participate in and p/u provided.

  • fish at shark's cove

  • busy Tuesday am at Shark's Cove

  • Shark's cove

  • Waimea Bay

  • Waimea Bay beach calm in summer;40 foot waves in winter

  • fish in Waimea Bay

  • Flowering tree in Waimea bay parking lot

  • Paddle boarding on the river near Haleiwa

  • Turtle beach

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surf bus

Reviewed by: Adrian, 2017/05/13

Good activities. Well organised
Bus driver/guide was very informative and friendly.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A day to remember

Reviewed by: Sandy, 2017/05/01

Such a great day! A fantastic way to discover the north shore, just the right blend between organized activities and free time! I would do it again without hesitation

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surf bus

Reviewed by: Susie, 2017/01/14

Sam was our driver and tour guide. He was very informative and we learned a lot about not just The North Shore but also Hawaii.
We were able to change activities if when we checked them out we changed our mind. Sam explained the activities well and made everyone feel comfortable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The "non-tour" tour of north shore

Reviewed by: Renee, 2016/09/23

The best of tour plusses without the negatives. You spend most of your time at the location you choose and doing the activity you choose. Justin was very knowledgeable and personable. He let us choose our activity on site and even let people customize it by picking 2 morning activites and no afternoon ones. It was awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun day

Reviewed by: Erin, 2016/08/28

Fun day off activities. Good driver and guide, well organised, good options of activities. Saw a variety of different beaches including sea turtles.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big disappointment

Reviewed by: cueno, 2016/07/06

Driver only spoke of food! Then it was not very clear on what was included so we missed the food trucks and NO lunch (after all talk and no food).

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Ms Cueno, we are very sorry to hear that the driver was not clear about things an only talked about food.
We will definitely talk to him about it.
Just to be clear, the tour package you bought included the kayak plus the admission to the falls park, but did not include a free lunch on us.
Some of the other customers use only one activity and have lunch on us -in lieu- of the second activity . Is this where the confusion started?
Our manager will call you to clarify everything with you.
Much aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Surf Bus

Reviewed by: Laura, 2016/06/06

It was great, i got picked up and he drove out to the northshore, showed us around the town and then the activities started. He was very available to pickup after each activity and drop you off where you wanted to go. Waterfall, snorkeling, shrimp truck, beach time & stand up paddle board, it was great. There are other activities to pick from. He even stopped because he saw a sea turtle was sitting on the beach, so we could see it and take pics, it was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding!

Reviewed by: Angela, 2016/05/29

This tour is a great way to see and experience the North Shore from the land and in the water. Our tour guide (HC) knew his way around the island like nobody's business. He went the extra mile to ensure we had a great time. Plenty of time for snorkeling, bike riding, checking out waterfalls, SUP or kayaking AND SHOPPING! I highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: Monty Magnet, 2016/04/25

Taking this tour was very helpful in making sure we made the most out of our visit. Our guide gave us a detailed review of the area so that we were able to make an informed decision on our activities. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories