Oahu to Big Island - Volcanoes National Park & Waterfall Tour on Motorcoach

Good tour of the volcanoes

Reviewed by: Nancy & Shirley, 2017/06/02

The tour tour was as described. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and presented various flowers and other botanical specimens common to the island. The lunch was also very good.
We had a wonderful time exploring Hawaii on this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcanoes national park & waterfall tour on motorcoach

Reviewed by: Popeye, 2017/01/27

It rained continually all day which was disappointing so we could not see a lot so I will not at any comments on the actual tour. Pre ordered a cheese burger for lunch but this was not on our menu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour

Reviewed by: Framy, 2016/11/11

We loved the Volcano tour! Captain Rob was the best tour guide that I have ever had!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

NO LAVA

Reviewed by: ugh, 2016/09/02

Stuck on motorcoach going to random spots that is not near any lava!

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. This activity is meant for those who have a limited time on the island, wishing to do a aerial and land view of the Volcano National Park. At this time, to see any active lava it would require you to do a 7 mile hike.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour

Reviewed by: GregZ, 2015/10/03

A bit of a rocky start as we were to meet group picked up at Waikiki at airport. Group was late and no contact with Veltra guide had us nervous for a while. Once settled and arrived at Hilo, 'Captain' Bob took over as our guide. Our group of 10 toured all sites as mentioned and Bob was an excellent guide throughout. He made the tour much more interesting with his extensive knowledge of the island history, geography, plant and animal life, food, climate, etc. He also shared quite a bit science knowledge related to the volcanoes. All was delivered with humor and was very enjoyable. Keep in mind Hilo is known for the amount of rain received - you are advised to bring appropriate clothing.






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Rodney, 2015/06/01

John Kala was our tour guide and made the trip well worth. We had so much fun and learned so much. It was very personable. I will definitely recommend this tour to any and all who inquire.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good basic Tour

Reviewed by: Jay C, 2015/05/05

The Tour was great. We only had a day so You cover a lot of ground in short space of time which suited us brilliantly. There was a lot to learn and the guides etc were knowledgeable. The only disappointing thing is that when we booked i felt you were led to believe you would actually see the Volcano up fairly close and your MILES AWAY. !! Also that if you were lucky you may see flowing molten larva...which is rubbish....YOU WONT. It is a HUGE day as the flying from Island to Island isn't made easy and you have far too much down time in the Airport with quite officious airport staff

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding Tour!

Reviewed by: Denni Littlefield, 2015/04/23

Jane was our guide on the Volcano Adventure bus tour and did an outstanding job. Not only was she very knowledgable, but also extremely courteous, friendly, and patient. It was also a good tour-group, and we had a terrific time. thanks for everything! :-))


  • Lava Fliw

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I had a wonderful time

Reviewed by: Daniel, 2015/04/19

Tour guide was very friendly an had a lot of cool and interesting things to talk about. I was lucky enough to be on the bus with only 11 other people so it seemed very private. While I didn't see everything I wanted to see, I still saw some incredible things. Overall, I would recommend this tour if your thinking about it.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano park

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2014/12/29

Be prepared for a long day (18 hours) and take a waterproof warm jacket. Hugh, our driver/ guide was great and the tour is outstanding.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great information but was a bit of a touristy bus ride

Reviewed by: dodger, 2014/08/02

Was very informative but spent most of the morning at touristy places and then the volcano park in the afternoon. Was bit disappointed we didn't see lava or get to go up the observatory on Mona Lua. The information the guide provided was worth it though.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Nat'l Park

Reviewed by: d52matthe, 2014/06/29

Really great tour that included so much of the island. Loved the stop at Mona Loa and the Orchid Producers. Jani, our driver was extremely knowledgeable and gave us a great deal of inside information about the island, Hawaii. The stop at Rainbow Falls gave us a beautiful view info about Hina's home. If I could change anything, I'd shorten the tour by about one hour. The kids (6 and 10 years old) were really exhausted by the end of the day. Then again, no trouble getting them to bed that night :-)


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour Hugh was the best

Reviewed by: Rafael Hernandez , 2014/06/27

Great tour, love it. The driver Hugh our tour person was informative and great. Would love to go on the Kauai trip soon as well hope to be able to visit again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too much bus

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2014/05/31

I was really excited to visit the big island since it was my first time. We were staying on Oahu but wanted to see volcanos. The trip was exactly what was published but they didn't mention that most if the time was on the bus. We were hoping when we got to the national park we would be able to hike a little but everything was very short stops. I would not recommend if you are an active person and want to explore.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Misleading Information

Reviewed by: Viviane, 2014/03/17

The name of the tour is Volcano Adventure but the actual volcano-related activities are very limited and a disappointment. They pick you up at 5:00 am and by 2:00 pm you have not done any volcano activities. It felt like we were being taken to places just to spend money: a dinner, a macadamia plant, an orchid greenhouse, another restaurant. And when the volcano activities finally start, you do not get anywhere near the active volcano. You can't see it at all. The tour's material show pictures of flowing lava and they say that "This tour company cannot guarantee the viewing of active lava flow". This is very misleading. The reality is that they know for a fact that you will not be anywhere close to the flowing lava because, as they explain once you are in the bus in the Big Island, there are simply no roads to get to it.
They kids got really bored and were very disappointed. So were we...

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour beyond expectations. FLIGHT WARNING!!!!

Reviewed by: dylanbarter, 2013/09/18

We had such an amazing time. We had Capt Rob as our guide and he was great. The volcano tour was great and Rob was very accomodating for breakfast and lunch needs knowing most of us had come over on planes from Oahu.

Flight was a huge disappointment. If you have the choice fly Hawaiian not Go! Airlines. We were dropped off at the airport in Hilo at 6pm and our flight back to Oahu didn't depart till 8:30. Not much to see or do at such a small airport. It ruined our day and destroyed our dinner plans for the evening. Everyone else on the tour were flying with Hawaiian and departed straight away. We were not given a choice in airlines but wish we had.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big island trip

Reviewed by: Kulvinder , 2013/09/07

Good. Well recommended Good guide. Slightly d is appointed with some commercial stops

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour was okay, Hawaiian Airlines may be better

Reviewed by: sofia, 2013/09/01

- It's a really long day and not sure it was worth it. The only thing you can get at the Big Island that you can't get at Oahu is the volcano.
- Flight was cancelled. Didn't notify us until we called them, after waiting for the shuttle for 15min at 5am. Then they woke us up again in the morning to reschedule. We later learned that it is common for Go! Airlines to cancel flights/be late. So I would recommend to go with Hawaiian Airlines instead; it's a bit more expensive, but likely because it is more reliable. FYI, the number listed on your voucher has normal business hours so if you have an early pick-up, you should call them the day before and get the dispatcher number in case you need to contact them early.
- I noticed they gave us longer times at spots with shopping areas (even if there was not much to see, e.g. the nut factory) and very little time at some of the nature vistas (like 5-7 minutes). so it felt a bit rushed.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Volcanoes Tour

Reviewed by: FPDoc, 2013/08/08

We very much enjoyed this tour, our tour guide Captain Ron was informative and entertaining and also attentive to our needs (appropriate bathroom breaks, breakfast needs, etc). The volcanoes are amazing! We have 3 kids (Ages 14, 11 and 8) and traveled with friends who have teenage/young adult children and a good time was had by all. My kids loved climbing on the lava rocks and it kept them entertained. The sites in Hilo that we went to were beautiful. Since there was 10 of us, we decided to save a little money and use Go! Airlines instead of Hawaiian Air. Big mistake. They were 2.5 hours late on the flight back from Hilo to Honolulu, which was a big deal with 10 very tired people who were already jetlagged. After reading the reviews for Go! Airlines, it seems like this is a very common occurrence. The ticket agent sent us to the wrong gate, and there was very little communication as the why the flight was late or when we were leaving. Spend the extra cash and fly Hawaiian.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

1 day volcano tour

Reviewed by: Yvonne Luk, 2013/06/30

this tour can't say it's bad, but can't say it's good.
we have spent a lot of times on volcano but some of the places we stop by seems repeated.

we have arrived to airport very early and wait for couple hours to fly back to Oahu.

the tour should be more well organised the time and make the tour more fruitful

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Volcano Adventure

Reviewed by: TalitaheJuno, 2013/06/11

The tour is amazing. See what the lava does is spetacular. Our guide is so funny. I really recomended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed the trip, room for improvement

Reviewed by: Robert, 2013/05/12

Positives: our flights were on time and without incident with greeters ready for us at the terminal.
Our tour guide was fun and enthusiastic.
We made it to all places on itinerary without being rushed.
Negatives: I found it unusual compared to other tours that the guide stayed with the bus which meant we didn't get any feedback while visiting sites, only in between.
The coordination of three different groups of customers on different incoming and outgoing flights a) took a lot of time b) distracted the tour guide

If I had to do it all over again I would look for a tour where all customers are on the same flight or leave if customers haven't arrived at designated time / spot within 30 minutes of start time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A jam-packed day

Reviewed by: Cathy, 2013/05/02

We took the Big Island Volcano tour from Oahu last week - it was a long but enjoyable day.

Leroy was our guide/driver, and he was everything you could want from a tour guide - friendly, knowledgeable and patient. All of the places visited were interesting. There was no lava to be seen, just steam rising from Kilauea, but we knew to expect this when we booked. Leroy allowed just the right amount of time at each stop, and told us a lovely story about Pele, the goddess of fire, on the trip back down the mountain.

The only slight downside was that the GO Airlines flight back to Oahu was delayed by 2hrs, so it made for a very long day.

Make sure you wear sturdy shoes and take a jacket as the temperature drops significantly when up on the mountain. We were blessed with good weather, but I am told that it does rain quite a bit on the Big Island, so perhaps also take a foldup umbrella.

Thanks for sharing your beautiful island with us !



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Tour

Reviewed by: K Moore, 2013/02/20

We enjoyed the tour of the Big Island and our guide John was very knowledgeable and pleasant. We did not appreciate having to wait nearly an hour upon arrival at the 'Big Island' airport for a second plane to arrive with further passengers. Also, as with all other tours, MANY fewer stops at commercial places where one is expected to buy would be great. There is more of value one could do in the time than trawl shops.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Tour

Reviewed by: Dale, 2012/12/20

It was our first time to visit the islands and we based out of Oahu. The flight on Go! Airlines over to Hawaii was excellent, I've been on smaller planes. Sharon our tour guide gave us a lot of history and knowledge about the islands and we were glad that we chose this tour at the beginning of our trip because every where we went after that was much better because of Sharon's explanations during the tour about the history of the islands, plants and even the hula dance. Thanks to everyone that made this tour a very enjoyable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best ever

Reviewed by: Jane, 2012/01/12

Me and my daughter recently did the Volcano Tour and we were lucky enough to have a wonderful, knowledgable Tour Guide by the name of Jane. I hope you relay to her once again how much we enjoyed the Tour. I have traveled 18 different countries and been on many tours but I enjoyed the casual way that she conducts her tour. She tells you what you need to know - answers all questions. She keeps you entertained full time and is very careful about what her people do and where they are. She stays with her visitors. I truthfully, enjoyed her tour better than any I have ever been on. She really is an asset to your company and good at what she does. I am really glad we took the tour as we have been to Hawaii 7 times and this is on the top of the list of what we have experienced. All other tours were good but this one was really good. Thank you and Thank Jane for such a wonderful - educational amount of entertainment you provided. Thanks again.......Audra E. LeGasse

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Autumn, 2011/11/08

Great day trip! I went on this trip with my husband for our anniversary. Our bus driver Dennis was very knowledgeable and friendly! Lots of different things to see and do from rain forest hikes, lava fields, black sand beaches, and an active volcano! Great for anyone who doesn't have a chance to stay on the big island.






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

vacationer

Reviewed by: Les Cord, 2011/09/22

The tour was outstanding and was a highlight of our vacation. It was seeing something new and so different from our normal area and it really showed how powerful mother nature and Pele really are.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun trip, glad we went

Reviewed by: Jillian, 2011/09/01

My husband, daughter, son-in-law, and myself went on this trip, and we had a great day. We flew over from Oahu, as we wanted to see another island, and "volcanoes" was on our bucket lists. The staff was friendly, professional, and always looking out for us. Dennis was our tour guide, and he was full of knowledge, and we especially enjoyed his coaching us on our usage of the Hawaiian language. The trip consists of a visit to Rainbow Falls, a waterfall park on the island(okay, but not awe inspiring), a stop at Mauna Loa nut factory (yum), a visit to a volcano field and a black sand beach(breathtaking), a stop at a orchid farm(they smelled divine), and finally the Volcano National Park. Don't go on this tour if you expect to see lava...all you will see is steam from vents in the park, and gasses far off in the distance. We knew this ahead of time and were not disappointed. We had a late flight, so Dennis dropped us off for a bit at a local shopping center, and then came back and to

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip to the Big Island

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/08/16

Captain Rob was very informative with great stories. His knowledge of the island, flora & volcano is amazing. He had a lot of patience with the stragglers.

Only recommendation for improvement would be to advise people not to buy any thing that is spreadable in addition to the liquids.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI