Hawaii Ocean Project Lahaina Whale Watching Cruise from Lahaina [Dec - April] reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hawaii Ocean Project Lahaina Whale Watching Cruise from Lahaina [Dec - April]

Overall Rating

4.50 4.50 / 5

Reviews

203 reviews
Post a review

The whole trip and experience was excellent.

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2022/04/11

The boat crew were friendly and very knowledgeable about the whales. The whole family had a good time. It was beautiful watching the ocean and getting a glimpse of the whales.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful morning whale watching!

Reviewed by: Denise, 2022/02/05

Our captain found great whale groupings. We watched mothers and babies play, tails out of the water and a couple of jumps. The boat had snacks/drinks and bathrooms. I went with my 11 and 8 year old children, it was a perfect morning.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Whale Watching Experience!

Reviewed by: Jaclyn, 2022/01/14

This was a wonderful whale watching tour, we loved every minute of it. The guide was very informative, we have done other whale watching tours, but non as thorough in their explanations of all things whale. Other tours we have been on have had more interactive crew members aside from the captain, this one did not. But it was kind of nice to have a very relaxed, more calm experience. We saw whales as soon as we got on the boat practically, and the captain was good about not waiting around for whales for too long, but we would keep looking. The captain said this boat is the largest boat on the island, and at one point during our trip, a whale went under our boat to find shade! There are chairs set up around tables on the top deck which is nice to just sit and relax. One recommendation is to leave extra time for parking, as it gets crowded near the harbor. And it can be a little challenging to find, it is a hut outside right by the boats, I think it’s the last one in the line of whale watching tours, right across from Pioneer Inn. We had a great time, we would definitely go on one of their tours again!

  • Leaving the harbor

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We got lucky and saw a breach close to the boat

Reviewed by: Gabriel, 2022/01/08

The captain does a great job of finding the whales and creating opportunities to let the whales approach. Very friendly staff made us feel welcome. The only thing I have concerns with is the lack of ability to social distance or avoid touching high traffic handrails due to safety, but luckily we brought our own hand sanitizer (which I recommend). Overall a great trip, and everyone in my group had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tourism that supports the scientific community

Reviewed by: Trini, 2022/01/07

We had a family excursion and it was perfect. As we had 2 elderly family members, we loved that the boat was double decked so there was always shade for them. We also liked that the excursion has a ton of great photo opportunities of the ocean and mainland, so we got some awesome family photos. The best part of the trip though was the fact that parts of the revenue goes towards funding researchers who are working on studying the whale populations, which makes you feel good at the end of the day about the purchase, even if you don't get to see the whales up close.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family activity while you're in Lahaina!

Reviewed by: Justin, 2022/01/07

I went on this trip with my family (6 adults, 2 of whom are a bit older). It was something we could all enjoy. The best part of the trip was seeing a close up whale breach, but it does come down to luck... I imagine some people might only end up seeing fins during their excursion, but even though we got to see an up close breach on our trip, the captain invited us to stay on for their second outing that day in case we missed it so we were guaranteed to be happy (super nice of him).

Recommend you to definitely bring sunglasses and a cap as its really bright out and fatigues the eyes.

  • You also get great views from the boat of the mainland.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Uneventful trip

Reviewed by: GaryAllen, 2021/03/24

We have had years of whale watch trips. Some were spectacular and others were just OK. This trip was OK. Not much activity from the whales. We normally go out on catamarans but this was a very large boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So many whales!

Reviewed by: Angie, 2020/02/20

By far the BEST excursion of our trip. We took the 7:30am whale watching tour. The Captain was fantastic... we had very close, and multiple, whale encounters. The water was calm, the boat was easy to navigate with a toddler and family members with some mobility challenges. There was so much to see; the two hours went by way too fast. Highly recommend this company and crew! Thanks for such a great adventure. What a trip to remember.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Up close encounter

Reviewed by: Beau Bojorques, 2019/03/21

This was well worth it. It was a great trip, whales came right up to the boat to say hi. Great pictures even for amateur photographers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice crew, 100% whale watching!

Reviewed by: Jasper, 2019/01/11

Captain is so experienced, we found whales right after departing from the harbo. Nice crew and we enjoyed a lot. Must come during whale watching season in Maui. And remember bring sunglasses, hat, and light jacket.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Afternoon cruise.

Reviewed by: Rachael, 2018/12/31

Saw a ton of whales. The ride was smooth. My kids all really enjoyed themselves.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching

Reviewed by: Stevens Family, 2018/05/12

Great crew, a lot of good information and got a good look at the final Mom and her calf of the season

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip !!

Reviewed by: Tony and Nellie, 2018/04/09

Loved the early morning whale watching cruise !! Not as crowded as it is later in the day. Saw lots of whales and had plenty of room to move around for good sightings.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time.

Reviewed by: Rcc1216, 2018/04/06

Had a great time seeing the whales. One of the crew ladies was a little rude but overall it was a great time. Would recommend it to anyone looking to see some whales.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Close up view

Reviewed by: Johnnyk, 2018/03/20

My family was blown away with how close the whales were to our boat. Two whales came right up next to our boat and lifted their heads for pictures. My family was very happy with the experience. It gets very rocky so a bigger boat for smaller kids would be suggested.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watching

Reviewed by: Bob & Kids, 2018/03/17

The experience was nice...the whales could have been a little more cooperative & shown themselves more, but that’s nature....we had a very nice time....not over crowded (16 guests), that helped!! Our guide was very informative regarding the whales as he travels with them back to Alaska every year....

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Tara W, 2018/03/11

This was the first time for everyone in our group of six! We all had an awesome time and really enjoyed getting to see the whales up close. We had been watching them from the shore all week and ended our trip with this experience! So happy we spent the money and took the time to do it!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible whale watching trip!

Reviewed by: Lisa S, 2018/02/02

We had an incredible time on this trip. The boat was clean and the staff was courteous, friendly, and knowledgeable. Our captain was great at locating whales and she was extremely skilled at maneuvering the boat so we always had the best view. Originally I had bought my ticket for 3 days earlier however, upon arriving in Maui my husband got sick and we were unable to go. I expected to have to just eat the cost of our tickets but I called the company and Sylvia was great and rescheduled us for later in the week with no penalty. I highly recommend this company and I would use them again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding Whale Watching Experience

Reviewed by: TravelNut, 2018/01/22

We did this tour during the whale mating season so we expected to see a whale or two but what we saw was amazing. At first the whales kept their distance but after awhile they began approaching the boat. Soon dozens of whales were surrounding the boat and showing off their dives, breaches and spouting. They were close enough to spout whale 'snot' on us!! The skipper said their nearness was very unusual and he prolonged the tour by 1/2 hour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watching

Reviewed by: Tim Takach, 2018/01/17

It is hard not to recommend whale watching. Had a great time with the family. Seen a few whales up close but most activity was from a distance. A few awesome whale tails. The crew was great. If you never went whale watching this should be on the bucket list.

What to expect? A great view from either side of the boat and a relaxing day with sun. Crew members explaining whale behaviors and pointing them out so you can follow and hopefully get some great photos.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Professional tour with knowledgeable experts— no luck with the whales this time

Reviewed by: Christina, 2018/01/15

Heads up: both parking and the stand for the whale watch tour was difficult to find. Luckily we were able to get ourselves on the next tour after missing the originally scheduled one due to the variables above. Tour guide was professional, but for a whale watching tour, and given our expections for the season, it was not up to par. Maybe next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

best two hours on the water EVER

Reviewed by: Ann Travers, 2018/01/07

Friendly and knowledgeable crew, really well organized expedition. We were told we were particularly lucky as we saw many whales and at least 6 breaching. Beautiful animals. We learned a lot and left the boat excited and happy.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding Excursion

Reviewed by: Angel, 2018/01/07

The whale watching experience was the best. The crew was patient answering questions from our granddaughters. We learned great information about why the whales come to Hawaii and the times best to see interaction between males and females.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Brandi, 2018/01/07

The crew was amazing. They went out of their way to answer any questions we had. They made the experience interactive and tried their best to make sure all sides of the boats had equal viewing time for the whales.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding whale watch

Reviewed by: Carol and Jim , 2017/12/30

We were totally impressed with the professionalism of the research staff on the whale watch of Dec 8. The pilot was extremely experienced and could pick up the behavior of the whales from afar to make an educated guess as to if they might come up more often than not. The attendants were knowledgeable as well providing much information as to the life cycles of the hump back whales. Many questions were answered to our satisfaction. They put a sort of a microphone to attempt to detect whale sounds although not successful they were willing to try all the technology to help us have the best experience ever. I really think luck played a big part in our amazing morning of whale watching but that being said it's worth taking a chance and we most appreciated the staffs attention to safety and providing all the education they did. The juvenile whales came right up to our boat and we're curious and playing around the boat so long the pilot had to call a sailboat over to distract them away so we could start our engine and return to shore. It was just amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching noon cruise

Reviewed by: Al & Kathy Rossi, 2017/12/22

The staff was courteous, on time, knowledgeable, and fun. We had a blast and were closer to whales than ever before. A fantastic value.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic trip, highly recommend for all ages.

Reviewed by: Shelli, 2017/12/20

I didnt really know what to expect...
What we got was a large, clean, well equipped vessel. A very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great weather and phenomenal views of several different pods of humpback whales.
We could not have asked for a better experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saw just a few whales, overall okay experience

Reviewed by: sunny, 2017/12/19

The cruise started off at the harbor where we checked-in, waiting to board. Once we were seated, the boat undocked and we were on our way to watch some whales. The narration was the best part of the trip. The narrators were very informative and would tell us stories. They were always on the lookout for whales and try their best to take the boat as close them as possible but it was our mis-fortune that around that time we could only spot a few whales that too for just a couple of seconds. On the other hand, the views were surreal from the middle of the ocean. They guarantee a sighting and that's exactly what we got but I wish it was for longer.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience for 3-year old daughter!

Reviewed by: Kenji Miwa, 2017/12/18

It was my daughter’s first time whale watching and I felt it was a great experience for my little one. We were able to see a couple of whales from far away, but since it was not during the peak whale watching season, we couldn’t get the full whale watching experience. I would love to come again during the peak season around February, which is what I heard is when there is the most whale activity. Other than that the view was great and I would recommend whale watching to anyone who haven’t experienced it yet. The water may be a little choppy at times so I would recommend people taking motion sickness medication for people who might be sensitive to motion sickness.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watching in Maui!

Reviewed by: Amber Walker, 2017/12/08

crew on the tour were professional and courteous right from the start. We were all anxious to see whales and our boat got right out there and we started seeing whale spouts. The boat was always on top of where the whales were. Through out the entire ride, the captain was incredibly knowledgeable and answered all questions. The boat itself was well stocked and very clean. There were plenty of tables inside and on top, as well as seats on the front and back. Everyone had a place to sit and could see the action from anywhere on the boat. The end of the tour was the most incredible. Two whales swam literally under the boat and came out in front of the bow. Seeing how big these amazing creatures were so close was a once in a life time experience. Both whales came up for air at the front of the boat. The whales seemed as curious about us as we were about them, and hung out around our boat for a good fifteen minutes. I highly recommend this tour and their company for an incredible whale watching tour!! The experience is excellent for couples and families with children of all ages. My one bit of advice would be to show up twenty five minutes before check in as it was very busy and took some time to find a parking spot.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Categories