Hana Highway Drive, Rainforest Hikes & Waterfall Swim (Easy to Moderate)

Had a great time, Sarah was a wonderful tour guide

Reviewed by: Stacie, 2017/07/13

My husband, myself and our 11 year old nephew had a great time on our hike. Pretty much everything was as described. We got to go to 4 different waterfalls, got to jump into 3 of them, included a pretty hefty peanut butter and jelly sandwich with a bag of chips, native fruit, lots of water and bug spray provided, and a backpack to keep everything in! The hike was definitely more on the moderate side than the easy side, I would say. My husband and I are fairly athletic and we were both sore and tired at the end of the hike. The nature is amazing. I took about 200 photos. The information that Sarah shared with us was interesting and insightful. She was a very nice, patient and informative tour guide. She was friendly and made conversation, but was not in your face, or invasive when people didn't want her to be. She was also very helpful because she showed the people on the tour the correct places and ways to jump off the waterfalls. I think this helped with some of the anxiety people had. I definitely recommend this hike. It is a little pricey, but it was worth it, and you really get your money's worth. I ended up messing up one of my ears when I jumped off of the third waterfall we found, so the end of the hike wasn't as pleasant for me as the beginning was, but I think that was a random thing that happened. My 11 year old nephew jumped a total of 7 times off the different waterfalls and never really complained about anything except that he slapped his hands and arms on the water (which was more his own fault). The one thing I didn't like was the number of people that were at the waterfalls during our tour. That was something we couldn't really control. There are some "private" waterfalls that we got to see, which, obviously had less people, but still had other people there. I think if you have a choice, go on a weekday, and it might be helpful to go during an off season. We went the day after 4th of July, so it was probably pretty busy.




Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: D & T, 2017/04/15

We had a great experience! The waterfalls at the original hike were not flowing due to not enough rain so our guide took us to some alternate falls and they were amazing! The road to Hana was breath taking!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would Do This Hike Again

Reviewed by: rachgabe, 2017/04/06

This hike takes you through the rainforest side of Maui. Our guide, Sarah, was very knowledgeable. She was able to answer our questions about the plants and animals along our hike. The waterfalls were beautiful. The jumps into the pools were a lot of fun and the guides gave good instruction on jumping which made me feel confident. The food was substantial for the duration of the hike. We were provided bananas and pineapple, both which were delicious. I had the peanut butter and jelly sandwich, which was hearty for a PB&J. My husband had the turkey sandwich, and the slice of turkey was surprisingly thick making for a filling meal. Take advantage of the bug spray they provide. My husband didn't get bit, while I, not being as diligent with coverage, got a few bites. This was the last activity we decided to add to our itinerary and it turned out to be our favorite tour of our vacation.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2017/03/17

Our guide Kate was very knowledgeable. Had a wonderful time. The hike was well paced for our family, ages 5-70.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Jody Degenhardt, 2017/02/20

If you want to sit back and relax and hear about the history of the island, then definitely book this tour! You get to experience the back side of the island, the hike is definitely worth the 1000ft climb, but it's not for beginners! It is muddy and there is rocks everywhere, so you definitely want good shoes and be able to hike uphill/steps for about 2 hours! The climb down only took about as hour but we didn't stop for any breaks! Tony was an awesome guide and if you are looking for a tour with waterfalls and history, do not hesitate to book this! Well worth the money!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Twin Waterfalls Tour

Reviewed by: Nova Scotia Friends, 2016/12/19

We had a very good time on this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. More mud than expected but very enjoyable just the same.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very informative & beautiful

Reviewed by: Linda Mathias, 2016/10/22

our guide was very informative of the plants & trees which made it a treat as he picked fresh guava which we all ate, delicious! The trail was a little muddy as it had rained the night before, no big deal. The waterfalls were beautiful, but the water was murky because of the rain the night before. So, we didn't swim in the pools, but the guide more than made up for it due to his knowledge an histories of the area. Very much enjoyed the tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome adventure.

Reviewed by: Jorge, 2016/09/14

Our guide George is a very cool and easygoing guy. He Made sure that we were having an awesome day and made us feel safe at all times.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana Rainforest Hike and Waterfall

Reviewed by: Dfree, 2016/04/30

Great adventure and the kids had a good sense of what a real hike involves!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best hike!

Reviewed by: Danielle Grey, 2016/03/06

Our tour guide josh was extremely friendly and personable. He seemed to know everything when it came to Maui and the environment in which we were hiking. The lunch was great and you couldn't beat the scenery! Would definitely refer a friend!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI