Lanai Island Guided 4x4 SUV Sightseeing Trekker Tour with Maui to Lanai Ferry reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Lanai Island Guided 4x4 SUV Sightseeing Trekker Tour with Maui to Lanai Ferry

Overall Rating

4.56 4.56 / 5

Reviews

82 reviews
Post a review

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/21

Lanai is such a gorgeous island, happy we got this amazing tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A good way to see all the highlights in a day.

Reviewed by: Shelly Stone, 2022/10/24

The initial booking was a challenge. I had tried several times, and three different days to book on the website. With each attempt I received a notice stating there was no availability. I did receive a call from the main office apologizing for the trouble, and I was able to book my preferred day/time. If you find you have the same issue, perhaps calling in might be a good idea, to check.
Our day was a bit of a whirl wind, as our guide, Jacob told us it would be. I didn’t pay for a 24 hour parking pass in Lahaina so, we had to make the first boat back. Jacob got us to the boat on time with no issue. As with all Hawaiian Islands, Lanai is special and has a unique story. We’d never been to this Island before, and visiting it was one of the main reasons I chose Maui as our vacation destination.
I would most definitely recommend taking this day tour. Enjoy the sights by folks who live, work, and can most appreciate this island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend!!

Reviewed by: Mikki & Bradley, 2022/09/29

Bruce and Kendra were amazing guides! We loved our Lana’i tour, we are so glad we did it. It was great learning about the history and seeing more of the island than just the city and beach. We’d highly recommend this tour and we have told everyone we have encountered about it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth it

Reviewed by: Squareone, 2022/09/25

The tour is probably the best way to see Lana’i. Our tour guide was very personable; he provided snacks and water, and even had a packet of pictures of the sites we saw and then some that we could take home with us. He went above and beyond. I was surprised how many people take the ferry to Lana’i for the day but have no plan for what they are going to do once they get there. We gave a few of them a ride to the only town on the island, which cost us a little bit of time. Highly recommend taking the tour vs. renting a keep and doing it yourself, since many of the roads that contain key sites are not paved.

  • Shipwreck Beach

  • Lana’i City

  • Inside the caldera heading toward Lana’i City. The trees along the ridge line were planted to collect groundwater from the clouds, as the island does not get much rain

  • On the road to Shipwreck Beach

  • Garden of the Gods

  • Shipwreck Beach, with Molokai in the background

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Hamit , 2022/09/03

Tour guide Joshua was amazing and would recommend this activity with him.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Life On Lana'i

Reviewed by: Karen & Joseph, 2022/08/20

We were in capable hands with Joshua, our born-on-Lanai travel guide. His enthusiasm and pride in sharing with us his homeland on this historically fascinating island was infectious as it was a pleasure.

We were picked up promptly at the ferry dock and whisked away upcountry into the hart of the island. The small town of Lanai City was a historical treat as Joshua pointed out many informative funfacts and things only personal knowledge can regale and recount.

We had a terrific time and will likely do it again when we visit. We highly recommend this tour for a close personal look at one of the jewels of the island state.

  • View from the top of Lanai looking towards West Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Review ferry schedules before you book a tour

Reviewed by: Fred, 2022/07/21

Our guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. Problem is with the booking agency. We booked a half day tour that turned out to be a on day that the coast guard had required maneuvers that cancelled the mid afternoon ferry from lanai to Maui. Veltra knew this months in advance but didn’t bother to change our schedule. They informed us that we would be back by 5:00 but given no other information we assumed that the ferry ride took that long. They repeated that we had a half day tour. Big problem if you have nothing to do for hours on lanai and/or have reservations on Maui at 6:00.
That’s half of it. If you read Veltra’s description of the tour it sounds like you’ll tour the town, the garden of the gods, the shipwreck beach, and more. No way, as our guide pointed out when we told him what we expected based on Veltras description. It’s a big island and you can’t fit all those places in a half day tour

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aloha and Mahalo to Joshua , How to visit Lani

Reviewed by: Harold W, 2022/07/05

Aloha friends, we just completed our private guided tour of Lani, and we were very fortunate to have Joshua as our guide. This gentleman makes your visit an Amazing learning tour, and lets you know your are safe and welcomed on Lani.
The Island is privately owned and maintained, but is is an great tour experience in order really understand the Ancient Hawaiian culture and Survival skills. It is a beautiful place, and offers many photo opportunities.

Mahalo to Joshua!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Learning about Lana’i

Reviewed by: W Funk, 2022/06/18

We were met at the harbor with plenty of aloha from our guide Joshua. He had an intimate knowledge of the island. From its long history to now, Joshua knew it all. He explained how the ecosystem has evolved through the years. We went to a great store and picked up some ono poke and a loaf of guava bread (cake) Joshua recommended. He dropped us off at an awesome snorkeling beach near the harbor. We spent the rest of our day on that beautiful beach snorkeling and enjoying our lunch. You’ve got to buy the guava bread! The ferry trip was easy and it was a perfect time to catch a nap. Well worth our time and hard earned money.

  • Great snorkeling adventure

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai’I 4x4 SUV Tour

Reviewed by: Chin family, 2022/06/11

Our family truly enjoyed this tour of Lanai’i. It was made even better as we had Josh as our tour guide and he did an amazing job as our host on this breathtaking island. He made us feel right at home and was always making sure we were fine and asked us for our input on what we wanted to do / see on the island! He drove us to some very special places and told us wonderful stories about the Hawaiian culture on Lanai’i as well as current information about the island and its current population. He also made a special stop at the cat Sanctuary and our daughters were absolutely thrilled about this! Thank you Josh for making this experience most enjoyable and memorable for our family!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Grwart tour and tour guide on an island we’ve never been to before, Lanai !!!

Reviewed by: R. Aeschleman , 2022/05/30

We boarded the ferry at the Lahaina main dock and took a very smooth 50 minute ride to the Lanai Harbor. We we greeted by our guide Josh. Josh was is an extremely passionate guide who explains current and past customs and cultures on this small but interesting island. He was very amenable to making stops in town to shop and to go to the world famous cat sanctuary for my wife! We had time to take in the beauty of the coastline as well as the mountain ranges. This guided tour is one of the best we’ve taken and Josh made all the difference. Thanks Josh!

  • Main beach area

  • Health resort

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Krisi, 2022/05/29

Joshua was our tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and fun to be with. He gave us tons of information and history. He answered all of our questions. He made the tour about us and showed us what we wanted to see. We loved it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Do this!! It’s the best way to get around Maui.

Reviewed by: Tvedt, 2022/04/25

Our driver was Josh. We was very knowledgeable about the island. He tailored our trip to what we wanted to do. Going to Lana’i with a guide is the best way to get around and to learn about the island. The tour of Lanai came with the round trip ticket from Maui. Totally recommend this trip!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Experience

Reviewed by: Molly D., 2022/04/08

Our guide Josh provided a wonderful tour on the island of Lana’i. He was very knowledgeable of the islands history as well as the areas vegetation. Josh was personable and professional. We would definitely recommend this experience with Expeditions.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing!!!

Reviewed by: PattiS, 2022/03/05

We loved our Lanai experience. Bruce was so knowledgeable and thorough. He knew so much about the island and history of Hawaii. We learned so much and had a great time. Thank you Bruce for everything. We will never forget our experience. It was a perfect trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lana Trekked Tour

Reviewed by: Pat, 2022/02/21

My husband, daughter and myself went on the 3 1/2 hour tour. Bruce was an excellent guide, very knowledgeable, not only showing us places on Lanai, but also giving us the history, customs, and pointing out the different trees, plants, and animals. We were also fortunate to see deer and whales. After the tour, we spent a couple of hours in Lanai City, having lunch and visiting the art galleries and stores. The half day tour was perfect, allowing us to go back to Maui on the 2:30 ferry. The only thing we wished we had more time on the island so we could have hiked some of the trails.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

If you want to see Lanai, take this tour!

Reviewed by: KEA, 2022/02/19

The tour of Lanai was amazing. Our guide, Clyde, customizes the tour based on his clients wishes, capabilities, etc. He was knowledgeable and shared the island’s stories. The island of Lanai is beautiful and has many distinct things to see (petroglyphs, Shipwreck Beach, native vegetation, Garden of the Gods and much more). We would not have had the same experience if we toured on our own. Take the tour with Clyde!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

1/2 day Lanai tour

Reviewed by: Sandi and Kevin Peck, 2022/02/15

Bruce was our guide and was awesome. It was just my husband and me. He took us around the whole island and shared so much history and personal knowledge. It was an amazing day. He even brought us Bananas from the tree in his yard which were super sweet. We highly recommend this tour and Bruce.

  • Garden of the Gods

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A hidden gem!

Reviewed by: Joe, 2022/01/20

This tour is one of the most interesting and enjoyable activity one can take while on the island of Maui. The tour includes the Ferry from Lahaina Harbor to the Island of Lana’i. Once there we were greeted by our tour guide Bruce and off we went in a Chevrolet Suburban. Bruce was so knowledgeable and shared his experiences living on the island.
He shared the history of the island as well as the myths of the gods in the valley of the gods. We were able to see the entire island which has so many different highlights.
This was our second time we have taken this tour and I would highly recommend it for everyone. There is so much to see. A real gem. .

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Tour - AMAZING Guide

Reviewed by: Kristi W, 2022/01/18

Isaac was outstanding. He was super knowledgeable about the island and its history. I cant imagine a better way to tour the island.

  • Sweetheart Rock!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great day trip to a wonderful island paradise

Reviewed by: Scott H., 2022/01/08

After years of annual vacations on Maui we finally planned a day-trip to Lanai. Out of respect for the native culture and not wanting to violate any sacred areas we decided to hire a local guide to show/drive us around. That was a great decision and great fun. We went all over the island hearing stories of the olden days and current events. If you are at all curious about how Maui (and other Hawaiian islands) looked and felt decades ago, than a trip to Lanai should be on your next itinerary. Like many other Maui adventures, you have get an early start as the first 45 minute Ferry run to the island leaves Lahaina at 6:30am. Enjoying sunrise on a boat in paradise can't be beat. We were greeted at the harbor by our tour guide, who has lived on the island for 20 years. He knew every inch, nook and cranny of the island. He told us about his growing up on the island, and stories old and new of life there.

After lunch in Lanai City we had time to shop in the few local shops and boutiques. Life is a much slower pace there, with way fewer cars and less people. We continued on our tour with a few more afternoon stops, ending at a beautiful beach a short walk to the harbor. We caught the last ferry back to Maui and enjoyed an evening ocean cruise back to Lahaina.

I would highly recommend a day trip and guided tour of Lanai. It's great fun and you never know who you might bump into on this unpretentious paradise island!

  • Cook Island and Norfolk Pines backdrop an equestrian paradise

  • An early ferry to Lanai

  • The varied landscapes of Lanai

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice overview of the island!

Reviewed by: Daniel, 2022/01/04

We did the full day tour with Isaac, a semi-retired local who knows the ins and outs of the island of Lanai. We're glad we took the full day tour otherwise you only get to see a glimpse of the island. Don't expect a beach day here, you'll rather get a ride all aroud the island with the history (old and recent) of the place on top of the usual sites: garden of the gods, shipwreck beach...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour cancelled

Reviewed by: Carleylayne, 2021/12/15

Our tour got cancelled the day of so we only took the ferry over then hung out at the beach We really wanted to see the shipwreck beach, cat sanctuary and Lanai City, it would have been nice to have seen more of the island .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience.

Reviewed by: Judy Kane, 2021/11/17

This was a awesome experience. It turned out to be the highlight of my trip to Maui and I have been five times to Maui. Bruce showed me 80% of Lanai'i and obviously cared about the island and it's people. If I ever return to Maui, I will try to take this tour again. Thanks Bruce.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great off-roading tour through Lanai

Reviewed by: Christian Poon, 2021/10/13

Isaac was a great tour guide who was very conversational and interested in learning about us. He also has a lot of knowledge about Lanai and told us fun facts about each stop. Overall, he was a friendly person and deserves praise for making the experience worth it even though we had a long day and were really tired from the morning drive to Lahaina from Kihei to catch the ferry. Thank you Isaac!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Guided Tour

Reviewed by: Laurie, 2021/09/06

Awesome tour with Bruce! He provided many interesting facts and information about the island. We saw areas of the island that we would have missed if we were on our own. He offered us the opportunity to spend extra time at the cat sanctuary with over 600 cats when we told him we liked cats, such an awesome place. I mentioned we hadn’t seen many turtles (honu) and he took us to a beach that had about 6 right along the shore. Though not guaranteed, we were able to see Maui, Molokai, Oahu, Big Island of Hawaii, Molokini and Kahoolawe from Lanai (per Bruce he’s only seen Oahu a few times from Lanai).
Definitely would recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Guide was very nice and knowledgeable

Reviewed by: TDM, 2021/05/01

Our guide was very nice and knowledgeable but I think it would have been more fun exploring on our own, not a ton to see on Lanai but if you go rent your own jeep for the day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had an outstanding tour with Isaac!

Reviewed by: Lea McSweeney, 2021/04/15

Isaac gave us a wonderful tour of Lanai filled with interesting facts and history. His intimate knowledge as a resident there was very interesting.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Isaac is awesome!

Reviewed by: Emily and Tatiana, 2021/03/03

We had a great full-day tour of Lanai with Isaac — he is such a cool, authentic, fun, and knowledgeable guy who made our visit very memorable, through his many personal anecdotes and off-the-beaten path spots explored at a very welcome leisurely pace. Mahalo Isaac!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun experience!

Reviewed by: Casey, 2020/01/06

Highly recommended! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and easy going. He took us to a lot of neat places. Definitely would recommend to anyone who wants to learn about Lāna’i

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Categories