This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Overall Rating

4.58 4.58 / 5

Reviews

45 reviews
Post a review

Maui to Lanai and half day island tour.

Reviewed by: Dave, 2019/06/21

Bruce our island guide was great and customized for us. Lanai is a special island and very worth seeing. One highlight was seeing two Indian spotted deer bucks with very large horns.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Day on The Non-Pineapple Isle

Reviewed by: Marcia Darm, 2019/05/11

For anyone who comes to Maui frequently an eventual day trip to Lana’i is a welcome diversion. The 45 minute ferry ride is relaxing with great cliff views approaching Manele Harbor. Our tour included a morning drive with high point and view stops and a tour of Lana’i City, a lunch/shopping break and another drive to cover some more points of interest. Lana’ Is a bit of a time warp with both an ancient history and a new future with its purchase by Oracle founder Larry Ellison. The best part was our tour guide, Bruce, who gave the day his all. Loved it! Take cash as it’s so tiny some places do not accept credit cards. We had a 5 year old in our group of 5 who did great. If you are curious take the whole tour. There is also one lovely beach you can walk to from the ferry if you just want to chill.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent guided tour of Lana'i

Reviewed by: John and Eva, 2019/04/07

We have been coming to Maui for years but have never ventured off the island to visit Lana'i. First of all, Veltra allowed us to change the tour date from a Monday to a Thursday with no problem since we had a conflict come up. The ferry ride from Lahaina was easy and took about 45 minutes. The sea was very calm and although they recommend taking sea sickness pills, it wasn't necessary for this trip. Our tour guide Bruce, met us at the ferry dock on Lana'i. He drove us around in an air conditioned Suburban which was very comfortable. It was just the two of us so the tour was really personalized. We took the full day tour which really gives you a great impression of the island. The tour was about 2 1/2 hours in the morning, then an hour for lunch and 2 hours in the afternoon. Bruce, our guide has lived on Lana'i for 20 years and was very knowledgeable. He has seen the positive changes that have occurred on Lanai' since Larry Ellison bought the island five years ago and thoroughly explained the evolution of the island through the current day. We were then dropped off at the ferry dock for the 4:30 p.m. ferry back to Lanai--note, you need to book the return ferry when you schedule the tour and for the all day tour, the 4:30 p.m. ferry is the one to take.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour guide

Reviewed by: Tom, 2019/03/08

Ron was a great tour guide. Very knowledgeable. Only suggestion is to remove the tint from the back windows. They were dark and we had to roll down the windows to see out.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exploring Lanai

Reviewed by: The Gees, 2018/12/07

We have visited Maui for many years. We have always said we need to do a day trip to one of the lesser visited islands. So we chose Lanai. The tour package was inclusive, so all we had to do was show up. The ferry ride was quite nice. Your your guide was very informative about the history of Lanai. It was nice to see the island that was not over developed. Who knows how long it can stay that way, but we really enjoyed it. As the guide mentioned there is not much to do on Lanai, so the half day tour worked out well for us. Never the less we enjoyed our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice way to discover lanai

Reviewed by: Elke, 2018/11/19

Garrett was the best guide to discover lanai. You can feel his love for his homeplace.
The tour was very good organized. Even the flexebility to rebook to the earlier ferry to return.
To our opinion it is almost impossible to find the ways on lanai without a guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour of the island and the lots of history of the island.

Reviewed by: Linda and larry frey, 2018/11/11

This was an awesome tour by Bruce. He was very informative and a wealth of knowledge of the island. We went places and saw scenery and beaches that we would have never gotten to if we would have been on our own with a jeep. We were very pleased and would recommend this tour to anyone. We really enjoyed it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a trip !!

Reviewed by: Dave Sturdy, 2018/08/10

Our guide Garret was excellent. A lovely local man And he eluded Aloha.
Great tour.
Mahalo and Aloha Garret.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tedious day on the island

Reviewed by: Unhappy, 2018/07/26

Too “tour bus” in style ( but it was Chevy). Tour went 2.5 hours with no food, water, or bathroom stop - family was not happy.

Tour and Island was ok, but it needs a mid point stop and event. Like swim in the ocean, or hike to some place, or zip line across a ravine, etc.

Needs more “ do it”, less sit.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lenai ferry ride and half-day tour of Lenai.

Reviewed by: Bob and Sue Santos, 2018/07/21

There was good coordination between the ferry boat ride timing and that of the tour. The tour guide, Garrett, is what made the tour great. He was very knowledgeable, personable, and very efficient in conducting the tour. He grew up on the island, knew its history personally--and this made all the difference in allowing for a great tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bruce is great

Reviewed by: Aloha, 2018/07/04

Amazing half day with Bruce.

Seems like we saw the entire island. Bruce knows everything about the island and was great.

Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome guide uncooperative weather

Reviewed by: 10th anniversary, 2018/03/03

Great tour at a reasonable considering the ferry was included. We maybe didn't get our full value but only because of the rain. The tour guide was great and tried hard and did well to make up for the weather.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great day on Lanai!

Reviewed by: Dirk Geuenich, 2018/02/03

Special thanks to Bruce who was a perfect guide for our half day tour on Lanai. Learned and have seen a lot, including shipwreck beach and garden of gods. Absolute worth doing this trip. Very well organized. Thanks to all and again a special thanks to Bruce!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good education on the island

Reviewed by: Podre71, 2018/01/29

Knowledgeable tour guide/driver who guided us over 80% of the unpaved red dirt roads and explained the economics of a unique area.

  • One of the best pix I was able to take..:)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely Lanai

Reviewed by: Naomi, 2017/12/31

Perfect half day - lots of drive time but able to see many different terrains and vistas - all stops perfectly chosen to show off different terrain and history. Drier guide was excellent.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth it

Reviewed by: C. H. Mok, 2017/10/13

Lanai is not well developed and roads are rugged so this is a good way to tour the island. Our driver and guide Ron knows the island very well and took us to places that I heard about but won't be able to reach by myself. He also told us the history and current state of the island. We learn and see a lot of the island via this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hidden Gem

Reviewed by: SNelson, 2017/09/25

Bruce was awesome. Swept us up at the marina and asked if there was something in particular we didn't want to miss. We were open to anything so off we went. Nice hidden beaches. Great views. Lots of places we could have never found (or wouldn't dared) if we were touring alone. Bruce was so informative and was just comfortable to be around. The only improvement would have been the 4x4 that was advertised. The Yukon we went around in wasn't the best ride and that's fine but all the advertisements showed a very different vehicle.

Thanks Bruce for a great day!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thanks Bruce 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Pegg Ders, 2017/09/17

We had a wonderful tour of Lania with Bruce. He's so knowledgeable about Lanai and we learned quite a bit about the island, it's history, beauty, hidden spots and what's happening there. We truly enjoyed the day and appreciated the beauty of the island!

  • Valley of the Gods

  • Valley of the Gods

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience

Reviewed by: Bebe Mireles, 2017/08/06

The tour was a great experience. Definitely learned a lot about the island and saw places we would have never found on our own. The only complaint my group had was the political commentary from the tour guide. He started early on referencing those "damn democrats" and a negative reference to ACLU. Being a group of very liberal people, we found it offensive but did not say anything for fear that he would not provide as good of a tour. This would have been a great experience without this extra commentary.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best day of our vacation

Reviewed by: Laura, 2017/07/28

We had Garrett as our guide and learned so much about the island. It was a pleasure spending the morning with him. We had lunch at the Four Seasons resort and the view was amazing. We had the shrimp tacos and the Macai salad. Best lunch ever.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great. Experience

Reviewed by: Jeffery Schmuhl, 2017/06/30

It was a great ecperience. The driver was very knowledgeable and showed us all the important sites. It would have been nice if the shuttle from Lanai City to the dock would have been included. Never the less, it was a beautiful place to visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour of Lanai

Reviewed by: Robert Stenner, 2017/04/13

Gary, our tour guide, was fun and very knowledgeable about the island he grew up on and shared with us. Good time and good company.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry-4X4 Guided SUV Trekker Tour (from Lahaina Harbor)

Reviewed by: Warren and Sue, 2017/04/03

My husband, my sister and I just got back from Maui yesterday. The highlight of our week-long vacation was our trip to Lanai and our tour with Bruce. We have been sharing our wonderful experience with the family. The trip is well worth the price and Bruce gave us lots of information about the island. Lots of fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai 4x4 tour

Reviewed by: Dave & Laurie, 2017/03/11

Ferry ride included whale watching going and coming. The tour guide was excellent as a long time resident who knew every corner of lanai. Best way to spend a day. This was our first trip to this island.

  • One of the awesome places you see on the 4x4 tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very informative tour

Reviewed by: Bob & Grace, 2017/02/25

We thoroughly enjoyed Bruce, his knowledge of the island was terrific. BTW, you can see Oahu from Molokai on a clear day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Guided SUV Trekker Tour

Reviewed by: Kim and Gary, 2016/12/03

My husband and I very much enjoyed the guided tour of Lanai. It's the best way to go. Our guide, Bruce, is very knowledgable about the Island and it's history (as he grew up on the island) and told us many, many interesting facts. He is very personable and accommodating. Best tour guide we've ever had. Highly recommend this tour for everyone.

  • Garden of the Gods

  • Four Seasons Resort

  • Beautiful pine trees

  • Theres's Bruce

  • Gorgeous views!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tour of Lanai

Reviewed by: Dina, 2016/11/26

I booked the full day tour based upon the reviews I read and I was not disappointed. Garrett was our guide and he was fantastic. My sister and I are very inquisitive and he was able to answer all of our questions and maintained a running commentary about the island and its history. Lanai is very different from the other Hawaiian islands that I've visited (Oahu, Maui, Kauai, the big island) and I'm glad I had the chance to tour Lanai.

  • Rock formation

  • Four Seasons

  • Surf

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great, fun day

Reviewed by: E Wong, 2016/05/14

everything went smoothly, fun day, Bruce our guide made it a great day and he was entertaining and was very knowledgable. saw a lot. Wiuld use this tour again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Personal

Reviewed by: Dakine96825, 2016/05/01

One driver, two of us, now that's personal service. What's more, the driver/guide grew up in Hawaii, not a malahini, so was akamai.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worthwhile Experience!

Reviewed by: MNH, 2016/03/06

Visiting Molokai through a guided tour was an experience that I will never forget! I learned about Molokai's history and was able to see the gems this island had to offer. An experience I am willing to do again!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]