Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour

Overall Rating

4.744.74 / 5

Reviews

34 reviews (Post a review)

Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour

Reviewed by: Kay , 2018/01/26

What a wonderful tour!! This was the highlight of our 10 days in Hawaii. Our guide, Gary was great, and the lunch was wonderful on the black sand beach at Hana! Our pilot, Glenda was great! I've never seen such a beautiful place. We will return and do this tour again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty Decent Combo

Reviewed by: RaD, 2018/01/17

The bus was pretty nice with USB chargers and what not and we made a lot of the stops on the road to Hana

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excelent tour

Reviewed by: Pablo, 2018/01/17

Worth taking , well organized & excelently executed

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent, well worth the money

Reviewed by: Don Henry, 2018/01/07

My wife, myself and my sister with her husband were able to get this trip. We were told that normally they like to do this trip with 6 people. We had only four in our group but they still ran the trip. We took the early morning van ride to Hana and the helicopter ride back. You can do this trip either way. We had a brand new GMC custom van, it was great. Greg our driver said that this company only has newer vans. The only thing better than a new van was a very experienced driver. Greg was great, he knew all the places to slow down and where you could get the best pictures. My wife and sister are very much into flowers, Greg was very knowledgeable on the subject. Many years ago I drove this road and I missed so much, having a driver/guide is the best way to to this. I have a commercial driving licence so I can recognize and appreciate a professional driver. Lunch was very good and light, you want that for the helicopter flight back. The pilot, Glenda was very smooth and safety was always a big concern. The helicopter company was Blue Hawaiian, top notch outfit. I could not think of one negative comment or even a constructive criticism. Is it cheap no, is it value for your money yes.


  • one of the many water falls on the road to hana


  • they is time to swim in one of the many waterfalls


  • Glenda was our pilot back , very good

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour

Reviewed by: HazenGirl, 2017/10/13

It's taken me several trips to Maui to make it to Hana. Why? The idea of spending all day driving my car on a dangerous road with 54 one-lane bridges and 600+ turns (meaning I couldn't even enjoy the scenery) just didn't appeal. But then someone recommended this tour...Instead of driving yourself on this treacherous road (and trust me, with all the amateurs out there it is treacherous), you ride in a comfortable passenger van with an incredibly knowledgeable and enjoyable guide. Instead of driving 3 hours to Hana and 3 hours back along the same route, you take a helicopter for one of the legs and see breathtaking aerial views of this gorgeous island. The tour is well planned, the meals yummy (even the vegetarian and gluten free options were fantastic), and the people were top notch. My only complaint was waiting almost an hour after check in at the heliport to get going. Otherwise, it was a perfect activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Dennis, 2017/09/14

Best way to do the road to Hana.
Steve is a great driver/guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Ladd Bodem, 2017/08/28

We loved our combo (Helicopter/Van) tour of Hana. It is the best way to do it. It is a rather long but beautiful drive to/from Hana so taking a helicopter one way and seeing the sights including Haleakala is best of both worlds. Our guide Scott Ferguson (Scotty) was terrific. He was fun, informative and engaging. The Hana area is so beautiful. Hint: if you plan to swim I suggest you bring reef shoes. This was one of the highlights of our trip. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Elbig, 2017/08/24

Great way to see Hana. Lots of fun. Very beautiful. Our guide Scotty was fantastic. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Maui

Reviewed by: Mary, 2017/07/10

The helicopter ride was fantastic, the Hana road trip was rushed, not really any swimming time and stuck with a family that had a kid throwing up all the time. Very unpleasant. Driver Gary was not the most amiable person.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana

Reviewed by: Sue, 2016/12/17

Your guide was the best. He knew the name of every tree flower and bush. He knew the story behind the water falls and how they feed the water system. It was a fun journey. Unfortunately we could not return on the helicopter because it was too windy and raining. Veltra was quick to give us a refund for the helicopter. This is the way to go if you want to see Hana and all the sights.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Jana and helicopter back.

Reviewed by: CINDY from Wisconsin, 2016/11/04

Susan was awesome and very informative. Lunch was great. Mike was a great pilot with the helicopter. When he was explaining areas he would say our names to make it more personable. I would do this again. Very happy Temptation tours and Blue Hawaiian helicopter tours. You get a ten.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely Incredible!!!

Reviewed by: Stacy Jackson, 2016/09/24

From check in to saying goodbye, this tour was a wonderful experience!!
Wayne, our tour guide during the road to Hana was very informative, kind, and funny. We were amazed at the amount of knowledge he shared about EVERYTHING Hawaii.
I wish I remembered our helicopter pilots name... he was very nice, entertaining, informative, and most importantly, confident. It was our first time riding in a helicopter... we were nervous... but he put our minds at ease with his calm demeanor and information he shared about the island.
Thank you for making our vacation so memorable!!! We want to do this again!
Stacy & Amanda :) xo

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent, this is a must do tour

Reviewed by: Peter and Donna, 2016/01/08

Loved this tour, it ticked all the boxes and was less stressful than driving all those bends and narrow bridges ourself. Just enough stops to get photos and food. Mike our driver was fantastic and interesting. Absolutely loved the comfort of the van. Our picnic lunch was delicious and the park where we stopped was beautiful. The helicopter ride was fantastic too and show a different look of the rainforest from above, if you haven't booked this yet, make sure you do. A great company to go with.


Reply from activity provider

Hi Peter & Donna,

Thanks so much for your kind words about your Hana Sky-Trek with Michael yesterday! We're so glad to hear that he really highlighted the Road to Hana for you, and obviously, you got some absolutely lovely photos! It's wonderful that you enjoyed your picnic lunch, and who could forget touring around East Maui via helicopter!

Please let us know the next time you're on Maui, and let us take you on another incredible adventure in Paradise!

A hui hou!
Temptation Tours

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luxury van tour guide Steve was super

Reviewed by: Janine. Carr , 2015/12/12

Thank you very much for putting a spectacular tour together.I saw the road to Hana and the Air view of rain forest.Staff had cold water and beautiful lunch set up for us.Very tasty for Vegitarian and diabetic people on tour.I saw so many different plants and trees.The road was winding through small towns and tourist attractions.Driver made it over the smallest bridges built in Early 1918's.All Steves tutorial is stuck with me like a history teacher.When booking I would ask for the same guide.He was retired and took course to do this job and always Looking for new info about Maui.


  • Rock used in movies


  • Many water falls that were not there in the morning.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ROAD TO HANA HELICOPTER TOUR

Reviewed by: Kris Bertuco, 2015/12/07

The Road to Hana / Helicopter Tour was perfect for my 50th Birthday Celebration, I was worried about getting air sick but the flight was so stable that I did not feel sick at all and would like to have flown all day : )

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Tour package

Reviewed by: Bill, 2015/07/01

The guide was knowledgeable and very informative on the drive from Hilo to Hana, making several stops along the way, including a nice picnic lunch, (but meager vegetarian lunch for 2 of us who are vegetarians). I did get the feeling that we were on a timeline, though.
The Helicopter trip back to Hilo was fun and interesting, but did not go up into the volcano area and just flew along the coast and up the side of the volcano a bit. The pilot was very thoughtful and helpful throughout the trip.

Overall, it was a good tour, and I recommend it.
To the tour operators: you need to improve on your vegetarian lunches (maybe do a wrap with a tortilla, instead of lettuce?

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana Luxury Van Sightseeing & Haleaka Helicopter Tour Combo

Reviewed by: Nick, 2015/06/20

Excellent Tour Guide and Pilot. Both were very knowledgeable and answered all questions

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BEST TOUR EVER !

Reviewed by: Robert & Sharon, 2015/06/15

Best tour we have ever taken anywhere. Very small group (only 4 of us). The tour driver was very Knowledgeable. Easy driving tour without having to rush. With ony 4 in the group, we stay longer on stops we liked and shorter on the ones we didn't. Lunch was good, again without having to rush off to stay on schedule. The same was true for the helicopter ride back. The polit was fantastic and always made sure we have our camera shots before leaving a givin area. He even spotted a whale (in late May no less) for us to see. Is this tour pricey? yes. Is it worth every penny? YES YES YES !

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A little dissapointing due to weather

Reviewed by: Jimmer Cassiol, 2015/06/03

The main reason for the helicopter tour was to fly over the crater at Haleakala. Unfortunately the clouds prevented us from doing that. The staff was unable to confirm that we would not be flying over the crater until we were actually in the air. Then on top of the bad address provided for the heliport and the lack of specific detailed information on getting to the helicopter location made for a very stressful and frustrating morning. Once landing and getting on the van to drive back from Hana things were much better. The tour guide in the van was very informative. I would only take this trip again if there were a discount included if weather conditions made it impossible to get to the crater.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Guides were amazing

Reviewed by: ccummins11, 2015/05/13

The guides for both the road to hana and the helicopter were wonderful. They really made the trip a million times better.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No need to drive yourself!

Reviewed by: Dave, 2015/03/21

It's by far the best way to see the hidden beauty of Maui and let everyone experience the awesome sights the road to Hana has to offer.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter and Hana Trip

Reviewed by: Judy, 2015/02/17

I loved this trip. The helicopter pilot was excellent and we saw inside of the Haleakala Crater. Then onto our van ride from Hana back to the airport. I have always wanted to see Hana and never made it there on my own. This was a great way to go with someone else doing the driving.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour for Families and Couples

Reviewed by: Hanlu, 2015/01/17

Attended the 7am tour: first van, then helicopter. We were paired with another family of three.

Beautiful scenery, articulate tour guide named Sue, delicious and filling light lunch, and the helicopter ride was unsurprisingly a treat (lasted around 20-30 min). See my photos of both the Road to Hana van ride and helicopter ride for reference. The best is going into the sky on a partially overcast day, because the pilot will take you cloud-surfing.

The whole tour lasted around four hours.









Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana and Helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Dave A, 2014/11/02

excellent tour, our luxury van tour giude,Kelly,was excellent. I highly recommend asking for him if doing the tour. He was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and catered to our needs.The helicopter tour was great. Justin was our pilot and he was excellent. The weather wasn't great so we didn't get to see the volcano. I would do a longer helicopter tour next time, it was amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow! What a Day!

Reviewed by: Ozzie's Mom, 2014/10/03

I will be forever grateful that a friend talked me out of renting a car and driving the Road to Hana. We are not spring chickens and weren't sure how we would like a helicopter trip to Hana with a road trip back to the cruise port in a 6-passenger luxury van. We knew we didn't want to do a 12-hour bus ride (cruise excursion) but we didn't want to miss Hana.

THIS IS THE BEST WAY TO DO IT!

We thoroughly enjoyed the helicopter flight to Hana and were able to see from the air the majesty of the island which would not have been as apparent from the land. Then we had a delicious lunch on the beach (provided by our tour guide, Surfer Sue) and experienced in all it's surface beauty, the road to Hana. There is no way we could have enjoyed this nearly as much had we driven both directions and certainly not at all had I decided to drive it myself. Sue taught me more about Hawaiian native flora and fauna than I would have learned in weeks on my own.

Because we wanted to make so many photo stops on the way back to port, we returned later than expected. Sue was kind enough to call the folks at Blue Hawaii Helicopters and ask them to send some articles we had purchased that morning and left behind at the shop for convenience sake, to us at the cruise port. No worries!

We could not have enjoyed this excursion any better than we did! Above and beyond treatment at every turn. Highly recommend for all ages.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/21
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun trip! Worth taking!

Reviewed by: kmc6889, 2014/07/31

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and we had a great time doing the Road to Hana and helicopter tour combo! Although the helicopter tour was shorter than we expected about 30 minutes, we saw many beautiful views and waterfalls! Our pilot was great and informative! We landed at the Hana airport and took the road "leaving" Hana for our tour so we did things a little backwards. Our driver, I believe his name was Kelly or Kerry, was awesome! A Hawaiian native and had tons of knowledge of the area and was very pleasant, friendly, accommodating, and informative. The drive back was long, but with stops a long the way it made it go fast! We stopped at several places on the Road to Hana including waterfalls, volcanic beaches, and shoppes. We were very glad we did this tour and would highly recommend if you rather have someone else drive the Road to Hana (it is a very narrow and twisty road!) It was nice that both my husband and I could enjoy the views and not have to worry about concentrating on driving.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana

Reviewed by: Monica , 2014/07/30

The drive was beautiful. Our driver was very knowledgable and made sure we were able to stop and take pics along the way. He took care of our every need. Lunch was amazing! Our flight back to the heliport was great. Unfortunately, it was a little cloudy and we didn't get to see as much as I would have liked. Also, our video only recorded 2 minutes of our flight. That was a bummer. I would definitely recommend this trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana & helicopter ride

Reviewed by: Steven Del Rio, 2014/07/21

Enjoyed Wayne's, (the driver)knowledge of Maui & ability to navigate smoothly the route to Hana. Spectacular view of the crater was well worth the experience. Wouldn't hesitate to endorse this activity. Aloha

Reply from activity provider

We're always happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour experience, Steven, but it's even more wonderful to know that you left having gained so much knowledge about Maui! We'll certainly pass along your praises to Wayne, and we hope you'll consider joining us for another adventure someday. Many thanks for the fabulous review and your recommendation.
Mahalo,
Dave and Kathy Campbell
Temptation Tours' Owners

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed the trip

Reviewed by: KHansen, 2014/04/28

We had a nice time - some surprises at the end made the drive worth it. Enjoyed the lunch and the helicopter ride as well. Beautiful scenery. Learned a lot about Maui's vegetation, very knowledgeable driver. Only reason I didn't give it the highest rating is that we were expecting to swim in waterfalls or wading pools (the seven pools?). Didn't see the seven pools and the waterfalls were not accessible (and would have been too cold anyway).

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter/van tour road to Hana

Reviewed by: Joan S, 2014/04/12

Breath taking views of Maui in the helicopter. Also on the van ride back we had some great photo stops. The trip was memorable and stress free. I would recommend it in a heart beat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI