Myths of Maui Royal Lahaina Luau - Open Bar, Polynesian Dance & Fire Knife Show reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Myths of Maui Royal Lahaina Luau - Open Bar, Polynesian Dance & Fire Knife Show

Overall Rating

4.27 4.27 / 5

Reviews

78 reviews
Post a review

Incredible Luau

Reviewed by: Luigi Martinelli, 2022/07/19

It was perfect in every aspect!. The food and show were amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Luau

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/07/01

Great entertainment, food is only okay! But hey you are paying for the show!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful evening!

Reviewed by: Melody, 2022/06/29

Nice atmosphere! Great dances which told stories. Engaging!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun night for the family!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/06/18

We had a great time at this one . There wasn’t a bad seat in the house . Tons of great food and the performers were fantastic !

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best part of our vacation

Reviewed by: Kassaundra , 2022/06/15

The luau was amazing. The food was excellent, the dancers were incredibly talented, and we had the best time. It was the best part of our vacation and is an experience that will last a lifetime. Must do if you’re in Maui!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Myths of Luau

Reviewed by: KMHT222, 2022/05/25

Nice place. Clean restrooms. Buffett simple but food was good. Show was good but little drawn out.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cultural Fun

Reviewed by: Jp K, 2022/05/14

Any luau is a fun time to learn the historical culture of Hawaii. My wife and I's experience is that we enjoyed the show, we did feel there was too much downtime between dances but maybe due to the rain. Buffet lines are well organized, your typical buffet quality food themed luau, and VIP amenities are not bad. Getting in and having priority is definitely very nice, front row seats is also nice, but you can also do without. It was enjoyable night.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely Experience!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/05/11

An awesome evening for me and my gal pal! Fun times.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun evening, but logistics could be improved!

Reviewed by: Tamara, 2022/05/05

I would like to give this event 4 stars or more, but I held back because we had to wait in line for a full HOUR before being seated. We arrived 10 minutes prior to the event check in, little did they warn us, the check in process would be excruciatingly long, and in a parking lot. We have 3 small children who were increasingly restless, and it was SO windy that evening (so much for dressing up right?). It was a very large crowd, unlike almost all the other Maui activities we participated in. Even if they would have offered a welcome drink while we waited, I would probably give it at least 4 stars, but they didn't and charged us $10 for parking. And finally, once we were finally seated, we were immediately ushered to go eat and had no choice in where we were seated. The chairs and tables were quite tightly packed together, except that the chairs could not slide back and forth on the fake turf making it near impossible for my kids to get in and out of their chairs. So like I said, logistics need some serious improvements.

That said, the SHOW itself was wonderful!! Good MC and performers. The lighting was tasteful and the band completely made the event. The food was what you would expect like at a wedding. No issues, but no Michelin stars either :) My favourite part was actually the guests themselves - the people brought the "aloha spirit" and it made for a fun, family-friendly evening. I was thankful there was plenty of kids who were all dressed adorably. I imagine they packed this venue as full as possible after struggling through Covid. Not a mask in sight as of April 2022. So, while my kids and I had a wonderful time, I wish they would've thought about some of the smaller details.

Finally, it was supposed to be a "knife fire show"... and all three of my kids were disappointed they didn't actually use any knives. The guy who performed the fire show at the end was still pretty amazing though! Major credit to the performers!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Luau!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/03/25

The sun was setting right as we were eating, it was awesome! Food is delicious and show was wonderful!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good show, food is okay

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/03/18

The show is pretty good and the dancers definitely give it their all, but the overall environment is okay

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Evening and Experience

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/02/18

Every worker made you feel right at home experiencing this culture with them! They engage really well and made my evening. Food is also delicious

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Catherine, 2021/11/18

Myths of Maui Luau was a truly memorable and wonderful experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Lisa MacCracken, 2019/07/26

We had a great evening. Only complaint is the seating is in the direct sun. They let us in at 545
Drinks good, food good. Main show started a 8 pm. They close down buffet pretty fast. We will do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show!

Reviewed by: Eddie, 2019/06/01

We loved the show it was amazing will do it again if we go to Maui. The food was amazing i ate a lot lol. Just need to get better looking girls and guys their aight but you guys can do a little better no offense

  • She was the cutest and hottest fell in love with here

  • The bald guy doesn’t look hawaiien he looks mexican

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not the best food. The pork was so dry you couldn't eat it and they didn't have many choices on the buffet.

Reviewed by: Liz, 2019/03/12

Not the best food. The pork was so dry you couldn't eat it and they didn't have many choices on the buffet. Show was ok. The fire dance was the best part.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pay for the VIP experience!

Reviewed by: Amy L, 2018/07/23

Cute local luau with good food. I suggest paying for the VIP experience, because VIP gets to the buffet line first, as the food goes quickly. Just 6-8 dancers total and a host, but adorable local luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Myths of Maui

Reviewed by: Denise, 2018/02/22

I went to see the show with my husband on our honeymoon. The show was great. The food was a little dry but not too bad. We enjoyed the night out and it was definitely a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Myths of Maui Luau

Reviewed by: Tim Takach, 2018/01/17

My family absolutely loved this activity. Great service, fantastic food and drinks. Great performance sharing the tradition of Aloha and the history. Luau was also in a great location overlooking the beach. Very close to where we were staying.

What to expect? A warm shell Lei greeting, photo for purchase, friendly staff, great service, great performance, great Mai Tai's, and a meal that will make you want to stay in Maui. This activity is recommended for anyone of any age. Great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Myths of Maui Royal Lahaina

Reviewed by: Kim, 2017/10/04

Fabulous show! Awesome food and wonderful staff! I would highly recommend and go again :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Lahaina

Reviewed by: Charles, 2017/09/17

Food was less than hoped for. Actually corroborated a review I had read prior. Chicken nuggets highlight of night. Youngest grandson said "best nuggets in the world" at least one of us ate. Dancers were outstanding. Really was about gsons and they loved it. Us not so much

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A bit crowded

Reviewed by: Cade, 2017/07/25

The food is pretty good for the most part,however their desserts are pitiful at best. I wonder if they got them pre-made at Costco. They pack as many people as possible in a small space which takes away from the true aloha spirit. The show is good... I miss the more intimate luaus of the past at the higher end resorts.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Julie , 2017/07/22

Our first visit to Maui...our first ever Luau and we were not disappointed!! The entertainment was excellent and the food was amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Jamie , 2017/05/25

Came to Maui for my honeymoon and of course had to see a luau. We had originally booked another luau but heard great things about the royal Lahaina so we decided to change it last minute. They were able to seat us in the second row as VIP. The ocean view was breathtaking, the dancing was amazing and the dancers were gorgeous. Unlimited food and drinks made it that much more fun. It rained during the luau but it was definitely an experience my fiancé and I will never forget. Would definitely recommend it to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Entertainment

Reviewed by: Shelly S., 2017/02/27

Celebrating our 25th Anniversary in Maui and this excursion was an amazing time. The entertainment, food and atmosphere was great. It's amazing how the culture plays such an amazing part of the show. Definitely worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

luau

Reviewed by: dee, 2017/02/16

was an amazing night !! great show, great food.. I have never seen anything like it

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Lahaina Luau

Reviewed by: Melissa, 2016/11/21

Fabulous Show! Everyone was so nice and went out of their way for our special occasion

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

VIP seats

Reviewed by: 20 yr anniversary , 2016/06/26

Luau was great, show was wonderful, however we paid for VIP seating & didn't get the front seats as expected but was sat with people that paid just for the luau so why did I pay 25.00 extra per person to get the better seats. All was great except seating. Food was good & drinks was good except you had to get your own when it stated in the VIP tickets they bring you the drinks you ordered. Overall would go again but not pay for VIP seating.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awful experience

Reviewed by: Elena, 2016/05/22

Show is fine but need wait 2 hours to start, not organized , it was huge line to buffet and bar, when we got food, saw big bugs eating dropped food next to food stand, this place needs pest control

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Xmas Eve Luau

Reviewed by: E Ruth PozerTelford, 2016/01/04

the organization was great for such a large crowd---food very good, drinks aplenty, and the best was the variety of dances---not just the hula but historical representations from the other Polynesian cultures!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Categories