West Maui Oceanfront Trail Horseback Riding Tour at Mendes Ranch (Wailuku)

You're in Good Hands!!

Reviewed by: Granny Tara, 2017/01/04

Butch and Destiny were outstanding with my 7-year old grandson, who had only ridden a horse with me walking next to him. He actually went for a trot - all by himself!! Between the views, the entertaining guides and aloha spirit, my daughter and I would recommend the Mendes Ranch to any and all riders, from beginners to advanced.


  • Bryson and his horse, Hoku


  • Brittany, Bryson & Granny Tara

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Guides Ruby and Sade were delightful!

Reviewed by: Shayna Dickey , 2016/12/26

It was a nice ride, beautiful scenery. The barbecue afterwards was delicious. :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic views

Reviewed by: Fishers, 2016/08/04

This was our first time riding horses and running with them. It was so fun. The guides Freddy and Taryn were awesome. They truly cared about the people they took out. The views from this ride were amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty cool first experience!

Reviewed by: paullette, 2016/05/25

I'd never been on the back of a horse in my life, so having this first experience in Maui was amazing! The crew were patient and friendly. The views amazing! It was a lot of fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride!

Reviewed by: Mirza Mughal , 2016/04/27

It was an amazing experience. The sights were something out of a story book. Best part about the ride was they got us through different terrains including a very narrow heavily vegetated area. My horse was spirit - intermediate level. And she was pretty free spirited. The runs were awesome with her. My wife had quick smoke who was very gentle yet her runs were fun too! Our guides were awesome as well. All in all definitely a thing to do in Maui.


  • Spirit and me and the beautiful landscape

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent!

Reviewed by: Coimp, 2015/09/06

This was our second trip to Maui as well as our second to the Mendes ranch! The staff was very informative once again. They also make you feel welcomed from the start. Thanks to the cowgirls and cowboy for being our guides on this ride! (Plz forgive me for not recalling the names right now)
Will do it again next time we're in Maui!!!


  • My friends and I having fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great with beginners

Reviewed by: Honeymooners, 2015/05/13

I was so afraid that I tried to back out, but the instructor was so sweet and gentle. She talked me into it and led my horse part of the way. She made sure that I was completely comfortable before she let me go on my own. We had a fantastic time! I would definitely recommend and I would definitely come back.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful views

Reviewed by: First Timers, 2014/12/14

The views during the ride were fantastic, but the ride itself wasn't extraordinary. I would recommend the BBQ lunch though. It was a very good lunch.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Amie, 2014/11/16

First time going to Maui and first time horseback riding. This was so fun! We did quite a few excursions during our 10 day trip and this was definitely my favourite! The guide was awesome, learned a lot, the people are so laid back and easy to talk to, and would definitely go back again. Both myself and my boyfriend has decided to take up horseback riding back home. The scenery during this tour is also incredible!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

horses

Reviewed by: diva, 2014/08/09

I would recommend this to people. It was a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWSOME ADVENTURE

Reviewed by: Jeannie, 2014/07/08

Our experience at the Menendez Ranch was awsome. They selected horses appropriate for the riders age and experience. The horses were well trained and made me as a rider comfortable. The view from the trail was beautiful. My 10 year old daughter had a wonderful time and our tour guide, Destiny, was so pleasant and knowledgable

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Javababi, 2014/04/05

This was definitely one of our favorite activities we did on Maui! We took the scenic route from Lahaina to get to the ranch and it was well worth it. The staff was fantastic , the horses well taken care of and a gorgeous ride with a view from every angle.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great View

Reviewed by: Kim, 2014/01/02

Very friendly staff, and great views of a spectacular landscape.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Riding

Reviewed by: Erica, 2013/09/17

I enjoyed the ride very much. It is a very beautiful ranch to see. I recommend taking the morning ride (the one we took), since it does get very hot as the day goes on. My horse was a very good follower and listened good. Our guild was fun, information, and funny. If we needed any kind of help he was right there when you asked. He also was a very good photographer for all of us when we stop to take pictures. I would also recommend being in the front so it isn't so dusty. I was in the back and got dusted out a few times so I just kept my distance from the person in front of me and it was fine after that. Did I mention how beautiful the views were? Also, the drive there seems like you've gone too far but you can't miss the gates with the Mendes Ranch name on it. Small parking lot so park by the entrance, for easy exiting. The whole staff was very nice and helpful. I would definitely do this again!


  • View from the waiting area.


  • The horses for the ride.


  • Another view from on the ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback riding

Reviewed by: Coimp, 2013/07/22

Had an awesome time riding! Our guide Butch was very helpful on explaining how to ride for us beginners. He also gave us history about plants and the island! Thanks so much! Will do again next time we go to Maui!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An Amazing Time!

Reviewed by: Jay, 2013/05/31

We love to horseback ride and this was the 2nd time we chose Mendes Ranch. The staff is knowledgeable and very much fun. The trails were great and we were actually allowed to gallop our horses! I would definitely recommend Mendes to anyone wanting a great horseback riding experience in Maui!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2012/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding experience

Reviewed by: mazarov, 2012/12/22

The staff at the Mendes Ranch was absolutely incredible. The lunch was excellent and the view was spectacular. It was the first time we had done something like this and found it to be something we would do again. Freddy and Roberta were just the nicest people. My husband and I walked away with memories that will last a lifetime. We will be back to do this again Dec. 2013. Until then Mahalo....

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend!!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/27

We really enjoyed the lunch, the ride, the views - everything!!! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. This was one of our FAVORITE activities while on Maui!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the highlights of our trip

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/08/15

We recently visited the Mendes Ranch with a group of 5 (two women in our forties, two 16 year-olds, and a 14 year-old). I owned horses while growing up, but haven't ridden in years, and the other members of our group have ridden once or twice on other trail rides. We all had a wonderful time. We were placed in an intermediate trail group with another couple, making our group total of 7. Butch was our guide and he moved along the line of horses throughout to the ride, checking in with everyone and chatting about the ranch. He took lots of photos with the riders cameras at two different photo locations and even took video of the final run. Other reviews have mentioned the dust on the trail and we did get VERY dirty, but we expected it. At times, Butch had some of the group veer off to other portions of the trail to try to limit the dust. I did not mind this, but our younger members got a bit nervous when they could not see the other horses.

The views were simply stunning, f

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Staff, Fun Event

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/28

Overall the event was fun. The staff was friendly and helpful. However, the trail was not the easiest of rides and the equipment could be updated. For example, my rein broke in the middle of the ride. Other than that, it was a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mendes Horseback Ride

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/12

While we all had a lot of fun and took some great pics, the 2-hour ride ended up closer to 3 hours. Although I'm not an expert on horses, it seemed to all of us that the horses were exhausted and hungry. The house and surrounding grounds are not well maintained with too much trash around and lots of tall weeds around the buildings and lots. There were two guides. Our main guide was the younger one, and he was very nice. The other tour guide kept coming back and trying to make the horses run and go faster, which was a little unnerving for beginners...especially since the majority of the ride was either uphill or downhill on very rocky terrain. There was very little pasture riding. As the tour description indicates, you will get VERY dusty. We are glad we went for the ride, but would much rather have taken a shorter, easier ride for our first time. It's definitely a great picture-taking opportunity.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A horse ride off my bucket list

Reviewed by: two inexperienced riders, 2012/01/13

I chose this activity for its uniqueness. You rode a horse high up to the mountain top and were given photo options using your own camera. You were matched to a horse that suited your riding experience. The riding was either up a mountain or down a mountain. Very little on the flat lie. Once to the bottom, the view of the ocean was fantastic. Again, photo options were great. The staff was most obliging. My only concern was that the
one guide's horse and the horse I was given did not get along. Everytime the guide came to check on me, my horse would fold its ears back, tremble and prepare to bolt and often broke into a canter. It was a very unnerving feeling for a beginner rider. There was only two times available to canter for the experienced riders and it was only going uphill for a short stretch. Our group had three such riders.
If you are out for fantastic views, great photo ops, then this is the ride for you.
If you are out for a lovely ride then forget this outing.
We



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horse Back Riding

Reviewed by: kelly, 2011/07/25

This was alot of fun the staff was really awesome and the views from the trails were truelly beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

mendez ranch april 30

Reviewed by: lori g, 2011/05/02

The staff made us feel so welcome. I was nervous about riding. Butch was our guide and he really went out of his way to make sure I was comfortable throughout the entire ride. He took a lot of pics for us and had a wonderful sense of humor. I will go back again for sure!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic horseriding experience

Reviewed by: adrian, 2010/08/14

My 13 year old grandson found this activity on the Internet and chose it for our trip to Maui. Both he and I, a 69 year old guy, were beginners. The guides were fantastic, the horses great, and the trail near the top of a mountain and descending to a beautiful beach, were outstanding!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback riding

Reviewed by: Patty B., 2010/05/27

I've never ridden horse before and was thrown off a pony when I was young. I was very nervous. Our guides were excellent and the horses were wonderful. I enjoed the ride very much and also apprciated the photo oppurtunities our guides gave us. We had the ride with the lunch included and I would highly reccomened you indulge in the meal also. I am so glad we did this on our visit to Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trail ride

Reviewed by: Bob and Cathy, 2010/05/02

My wife and I had a great time at the ranch.

The check in was straight forward and the waiting area was clean with friendly staff.

The lunch was great and the cook was very friendly.

I had Cowboy and my wife had Baily and they were great horses.

Butch and the other wrangler (can't remember his name) were friendly and knowledgeable.

We would recommend the Mendes Ranch to anyone who wants to have great trail ride while in Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Guide, views, & BBQ

Reviewed by: Patrick & Jessica Nygaard, 2010/03/17

Our guide "Frenchie" was very funny, entertaining, and courteous. He certainly made the 2 hour horseback ride enjoyable. We were taken to some locations that offered amazing views of both the mountains and the ocean. In addition, the BBQ lunch that was provided was excellent as well. Overall, it was a very good experience, and one that we would recommend to others.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our trip to the islands

Reviewed by: 4 friends in Hawaii, 2009/12/02

The 4 of us had a ball at the ranch. Everyone was so nice and helpful. Frenchi and Butch were great with us. Also liked the way riders were paired to the horses. Had my 50th birthday on your island and at the end of the ride I was the last to dismount due to friends signing Happy Birthday to me. Was a BIG highlight of our trip. Thanks again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Scenery & Value

Reviewed by: den, 2009/12/01

The 2-hour excursion with lunch was outstanding. The scenery of the entire East side of Maui, from Haleakala through Kahului to the three waterfalls of Mt. Eke was breathtaking. The opportunity for the horses to trot & gallop was a pleasant surprise that I was not expecting. The Paniolo lunch of barbecue chicken & ribs was very delicious.

Thanks for the experience!!!

Den

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI